Skip to content

Quinidine

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Quinidine does in the body

In normal Purkinje fibers, it reduces the slope of phase-4 depolarization, shifting the threshold voltage upward toward zero.

From the FDA-approved label: Mechanisms of action In patients with malaria, quinidine acts primarily as an intra-erythrocytic schizonticide, with little effect upon sporozites or upon pre-erythrocytic parasites. Quinidine is gametocidal to Plasmodium vivax and P. malariae , but not to P. falciparum. In cardiac muscle and in Purkinje fibers, quinidine depresses the rapid inward depolarizing sodium current, thereby slowing phase-0 depolarization and reducing the amplitude of the action potential without affecting the resting potential.

Why people take it. Some patients at high risk of symptomatic atrial fibrillation/flutter, generally patients who have had previous episodes of atrial fibrillat

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · ITX08688JL · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

A person wrote this explanation into the record, with the studies named in the path below.

The recorded use, written for a reader without medical training. Not signed off.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 122 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Formulation

A formulation is the exact made-up form a substance comes in.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the difference between a whole bean and instant coffee.

Where that stops being true. Coffee tastes different. A formulation can change how much reaches the blood.

What people get wrong. Two products with the same name are assumed to behave the same. They often do not.

The specific composition and physical form of a product, including salt, excipients and release profile.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Number of Participants With Composite of Total Mortality, Disabling Stroke, Serious Bleeding, or Cardiac Arrest in Patients Warranting Therapy for AF.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00911508
How many people
2204
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Late Parasitological Failure

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01374581
How many people
2117
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02446132
How many people
1197
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Treatment failure, defined as occurrence of atrial fibrillation or flutter after day 28 or failure to convert to sinus rhythm.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00007605
How many people
706
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change from Baseline to Week 12 in the Cohen-Mansfield Agitation Inventory (CMAI) Composite Score

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03393520
How many people
601
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

emotional control

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00056524
How many people
600
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Conversion of atrial fibrillation/flutter In patients with symptomatic atrial fibrillation/flutter whose symptoms are not adequately controlled by measures that reduce the rate of ventricular response, quinidine gluconate is indicated as a means of restoring normal sinus rhythm.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness of antiarrhythmic use in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · b0d6341b-d880-4f0b-8844-bc788c03004a · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Safety and efficacy of quinidine in elderly patients has not been systematically studied.”

    US prescribing information · b0d6341b-d880-4f0b-8844-bc788c03004a · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Category C Animal reproductive studies have not been conducted with quinidine.”

    US prescribing information · b0d6341b-d880-4f0b-8844-bc788c03004a · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Quinidine is present in human milk at levels slightly lower than those in maternal serum; a human infant ingesting such milk should (scaling directly by weight) be expected to develop serum quinidine levels at least an order of magnitude lower than those of the mother.”

    US prescribing information · b0d6341b-d880-4f0b-8844-bc788c03004a · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

A different form was studied

The studied form is not the form on the shelf.

On this record: This record is linked to 1 related forms. Evidence does not carry across all of them.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (10)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, tablet, extended release, capsule, injectable, given by the oral, injection route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 12 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 5 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 64597-301 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, capsule, gelatin coated, powder and tablet, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 64597-301 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is antiarrhythmic [epc], cytochrome p450 2d6 inhibitor [epc] and cytochrome p450 2d6 inhibitors [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 64597-301 · read 2026-08-29

  • 6 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 7028dcb7-f436-4cf6-9beb-23c1d215c798 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 7028dcb7-f436-4cf6-9beb-23c1d215c798 · read 2026-08-29

  • QUINIDINE SULFATE is oral at HOW SUPPLIED Quinidine Sulfate Tablets are supplied as follows: 200 mg - White tablet scored imprinted E511 NDC 42806-513-30 bottles of 30 NDC 42806-513-01 bottles of 100 300 mg - White tablet scored imprinted E512 NDC…, recorded as fda label in effect 2023-11-08 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · b0d6341b-d880-4f0b-8844-bc788c03004a · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

Names and forms linked to this record

  • Racemate of

    Quinine

    Evidence on this page does not automatically apply to this one.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Quinidine studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Quinidine are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
ITX08688JL
CAS registry number
56-54-2
PubChem compound
441074
ChEMBL
CHEMBL1294
ChEBI
28593
RxNorm concept
9068
EMA substance identifier
100000092616
European Chemicals Agency number
200-279-0
DrugBank
DB00908

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 53 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA012796, approved 19620221 to WYETH PHARMS INC.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA012796 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued, none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA012796 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19830120.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 64597-301 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Quinidine label: indicated for what?


"Conversion of Atrial Fibrillation/Flutter In patients with symptomatic atrial fibrillation/flutter whose symptoms are not adequately controlled by measures that reduce the rate of ventricular response, quinidine sulfate is indicated as a means of restoring normal sinus rhythm. If this use of quinidine sulfate does not…": indications and usage on Quinidine's label. DailyMed label · b0d6341b-d880-4f0b-8844-bc788c03004a · 2023-11-08

36 registered trials of Quinidine — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
20 of 36

36 registered studies of Quinidine: 19 phase1, 10 phase2, 6 phase3, 3 phase4. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

394 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase1
    19
  • phase2
    10
  • phase3
    6
  • phase4
    3
  • completed
    31
  • terminated
    3
2 more recorded rows
  • unknown
    1
  • withdrawn
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

2 of Quinidine's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, other?


accrual/recruitment (1) and other (1): Quinidine's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Sponsor decided to stop study early"; 2 of 36 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01832350
    terminated; "Sponsor decided to stop study early"
  • NCT02496039
    terminated; "The study was terminated prematurely because of difficulty with recruiting."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Quinidine used dextromethorphan hydrobromide 20 mg and quinidine sulfate 10 mg — over how long?


studies of Quinidine used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

4 recorded entries; human; also "dextromethorphan hydrobromide 20 mg and quinidine sulfate 10 mg", "dextromethorphan hydrobromide 30 mg and quinidine sulfate 10 mg", "Nuedexta (DM 20 mg/Q 10 mg)"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00573443
    dextromethorphan hydrobromide 20 mg and quinidine sulfate 10 mg
  • NCT00573443
    dextromethorphan hydrobromide 30 mg and quinidine sulfate 10 mg
  • NCT01799941
    Nuedexta (DM 20 mg/Q 10 mg)
  • NCT03854019
    Dextromethorphan/quinidine 20mg/10mg (DM/Q 20mg/10mg)

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Quinidine's half-life is 6 to 8 hours — which schedules were studied?


6 to 8 hours, the half-life Quinidine's label states: "The elimination half-life is 6 to 8 hours in adults and 3 to 4 hours in children." DailyMed label · b0d6341b-d880-4f0b-8844-bc788c03004a · 2023-11-08

bioavailability 70 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life clinical_pharmacology
    6 to 8 hours; The elimination half-life is 6 to 8 hours in adults and 3 to 4 hours in children.
  • bioavailability clinical_pharmacology
    70 %; Pharmacokinetics and Metabolism The absolute bioavailability of quinidine from quinidine sulfate tablets is about 70%, but this varies widely (45 to 100%) between patients.
  • metabolism clinical_pharmacology
    Pharmacokinetics and Metabolism The absolute bioavailability of quinidine from quinidine sulfate tablets is about 70%, but this varies widely (45 to 100%) between patients.

recorded 2023-11-08 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 8 trials of Quinidine posted no result?


Posted no result
8 of 8 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00000518, NCT00000556, NCT01533155, NCT01712828, NCT03610945 and NCT03755778, and 2 more
Completion dates
oldest 1992-12; newest 2022-12-30
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00000518
    1992-12
  • NCT00000556
    2002-09
  • NCT01533155
    2012-09
  • NCT01712828
    2013-01-01
  • NCT03610945
    2018-08-21
  • NCT03755778
    2019-01-27
2 further recorded trials
  • NCT04783753
    2021-07-09
  • NCT05594602
    2022-12-30

At the median, Quinidine's trials enrolled 34 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
34
Largest enrolment
367
Registered trials counted
33

What do 65 spontaneous reports say about Quinidine — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Quinidine appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 6 most-reported reaction terms, 65 reaction mentions were counted: blood pressure decreased 17; ventricular extrasystoles 16; bundle branch block left 15; bundle branch block right 8. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200437 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • blood pressure decreased
    17
  • ventricular extrasystoles
    16
  • bundle branch block left
    15
  • bundle branch block right
    8
  • supraventricular extrasystoles
    5
  • torsade de pointes
    4

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 6 reactions does Quinidine's label not list?


blood pressure decreased, bundle branch block left and bundle branch block right and 3 more reported for Quinidine, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200437 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 6 reported and unlisted; b0d6341b-d880-4f0b-8844-bc788c03004a

Show the evidence
  • blood pressure decreased
    count not stated
  • bundle branch block left
    count not stated
  • bundle branch block right
    count not stated
  • supraventricular extrasystoles
    count not stated
  • torsade de pointes
    count not stated
  • ventricular extrasystoles
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200437
PubChem CID
94328
CAS number
7054-25-3
RxCUI
35220
InChIKey
LOUPRKONTZGTKE-LHHVKLHASA-N

Relations

Also called
QUINIDINE GLUCONATE, Dura-tab, Gluconic acid quinidine salt, Gluquinate, Quinidine mono-d-gluconate, Quinidine monogluconate, d-, .beta.-quinidine, Conquinine, Kinidin, Pitayine, QUINIDINE SULFATE, Quinidex extentabs
Trade name
Duraquin, Quinact, Quinaglute, Quinalan, Quinatime, Cin-quin, Quinicardine, Quinidex, Quinora, Cin-Quin / Quinora / Quinact / Quinidex / Quinatime / Quinalan, Nuedexta
Development code
NSC-757297, NSC-10004
Salt form
Quinidine sulfate anhydrous, QUINIDINE SULFATE COMPONENT OF AVP-786, Quinidine sulfate component of nuedexta, Quinidine sulfate dihydrate, Quinidine sulfate hydrate, Quinidine sulphate, Quinidine sulphate anhydrous, Quinidine sulphate dihydrate, QUINIDINE SULFATE TABLET
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.