Skip to content

ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE does in the body

Erythromycin lactobionate for injection, USP is indicated in the treatment of infections caused by susceptible strains of the designated organisms in the diseases listed below when oral administration is not possible or when the severity of the infection requires immediate high serum levels of erythromycin.

From the FDA-approved label: Erythromycin diffuses readily into most body fluids. In the absence of meningeal inflammation, low concentrations are normally achieved in the spinal fluid but the passage of the drug across the blood-brain barrier increases in meningitis. Erythromycin crosses the placental barrier and is excreted in breast milk. Erythromycin is not removed by peritoneal dialysis or hemodialysis. In the presence of normal hepatic function, erythromycin is concentrated in the liver and is excreted in the bile; the effect of hepatic dysfunction on biliary excretion of erythromycin is not known. From 12 to 15 percent of intravenously administered erythromycin is excreted in active form in the urine.

Why people take it. Erythromycin lactobionate for injection, USP is indicated in the treatment of infections caused by susceptible strains of the designated organisms in the diseases listed below when oral administration is not possible or when the severity of the infection requires immediate high serum levels of erythromycin.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 33H58I7GLQ · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 209 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Formulation

A formulation is the exact made-up form a substance comes in.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the difference between a whole bean and instant coffee.

Where that stops being true. Coffee tastes different. A formulation can change how much reaches the blood.

What people get wrong. Two products with the same name are assumed to behave the same. They often do not.

The specific composition and physical form of a product, including salt, excipients and release profile.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

The primary end point was to determine the effect of erythromycin on gastric cleansing and thereby quality of endoscopic visualization, reflecting the ease with which the procedure was performed in a clear stomach.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01060267
How many people
102
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Overview of Adverse Events By Treatment Arm

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02605122
How many people
97
Study design
Phase 2/Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Relationship between gastric emptying and glycemia

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02755064
How many people
30
Study design
Phase 1
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change in hunger ratings from time of administration over 6 hours

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02633579
How many people
28
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

GBMI baseline

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04066231
How many people
5
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 5 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Erythromycin lactobionate for injection, USP is indicated in the treatment of infections caused by susceptible strains of the designated organisms in the diseases listed below when oral administration is not possible or when the severity of the infection requires immediate high serum levels of erythromycin. Intravenous therapy should be replaced by oral administration at the appropriate time.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “(See INDICATIONS AND USAGE and DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION ).”

    US prescribing information · c6f9565b-6d9d-40e3-87f8-9f38ede9173a · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Elderly patients, particularly those with reduced renal or hepatic function, may be at increased risk for developing erythromycin-induced hearing loss, when Erythromycin lactobionate for injection, USP doses of 4 grams/day or higher are given (See ADVERSE REACTIONS and DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION ).”

    US prescribing information · c6f9565b-6d9d-40e3-87f8-9f38ede9173a · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “There was no evidence of teratogenicity or any other adverse effect on reproduction in female rats fed erythromycin base (up to 0.25% of diet) prior to and during mating, during gestation, and through weaning of two successive litters.”

    US prescribing information · c6f9565b-6d9d-40e3-87f8-9f38ede9173a · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Erythromycin is excreted in breast milk.”

    US prescribing information · c6f9565b-6d9d-40e3-87f8-9f38ede9173a · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

A different form was studied

The studied form is not the form on the shelf.

On this record: This record is linked to 2 related forms. Evidence does not carry across all of them.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (10)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as injectable, injectable, injection, powder, lyophilized, for solution, injection, powder, for solution, given by the injection, injection, intravenous route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 6 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 6 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 68083-513 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as injection, powder, for solution, injection, powder, lyophilized, for solution and powder, taken intravenous.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 68083-513 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is decreased sebaceous gland activity [pe], macrolide antimicrobial [epc] and macrolide [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 68083-513 · read 2026-08-29

  • 4 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 4 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · c6f9565b-6d9d-40e3-87f8-9f38ede9173a · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · c6f9565b-6d9d-40e3-87f8-9f38ede9173a · read 2026-08-29

  • erythromycin lactobionate is intravenous at HOW SUPPLIED Erythromycin Lactobionate for Injection, USP is supplied as a sterile, white to slight yellow lyophilized powder as follows: Unit of Sale Concentration NDC 68083-513-10 Carton of 10 single-dose vials 500 mg…, recorded as fda label in effect 2024-11-20 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · c6f9565b-6d9d-40e3-87f8-9f38ede9173a · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

Names and forms linked to this record

  • Contains

    Erythromycin

    Evidence on this page does not automatically apply to this one.

  • Contains

    Lactobionic Acid

    Evidence on this page does not automatically apply to this one.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

How much did people take in the studies?

The sources RNAWiki checked hold nothing for this field.

Why it matters. A result belongs to an amount. Without the amount the result floats free.

What would answer it

A stored source that records it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
33H58I7GLQ
RxNorm concept
1668264

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 12 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA050182, approved 19640625 to HOSPIRA.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA050182 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA050182 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20050525.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 68083-513 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (8)

On the ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE label: indicated for what?


"Erythromycin lactobionate for injection, USP is indicated in the treatment of infections caused by susceptible strains of the designated organisms in the diseases listed below when oral administration is not possible or when the severity of the infection requires immediate high serum levels of erythromycin.…": indications and usage on ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE's label. DailyMed label · ca65a48f-5fe6-4b31-8359-51dbc31f6d4e · 2026-07-09

5 registered trials of ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
4 of 5

5 registered studies of ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE: 2 na, 2 phase1, 1 phase2, 1 phase3. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

24 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • na
    2
  • phase1
    2
  • phase2
    1
  • phase3
    1
  • completed
    3
  • terminated
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

2 of ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE's trials stopped: other?


other (2): ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Development not proceeding"; 2 of 5 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02605122
    terminated; "Development not proceeding"
  • NCT04066231
    terminated; "Investigational medical device no longer available"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 3 trials of ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE posted no result?


Posted no result
3 of 3 completed trials
Registrations
NCT02755064, NCT02633579 and NCT02381080
Completion dates
oldest 2013-11; newest 2016-06-24
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02755064
    2013-11
  • NCT02633579
    2014-08
  • NCT02381080
    2016-06-24

At the median, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE's trials enrolled 28 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
28
Largest enrolment
97
Registered trials counted
5

What do 47 spontaneous reports say about ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 47 reaction mentions were counted: drug hypersensitivity 16; drug reaction with eosinophilia and systemic symptoms 6; drug-induced liver injury 4; hepatic function abnormal 4. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200506 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug hypersensitivity
    16
  • drug reaction with eosinophilia and systemic symptoms
    6
  • drug-induced liver injury
    4
  • hepatic function abnormal
    4
  • caesarean section
    3
  • cerebral palsy
    3
4 more recorded rows
  • maternal drugs affecting foetus
    3
  • oligohydramnios
    3
  • toxic skin eruption
    3
  • intraventricular haemorrhage
    2

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE's label not list?


caesarean section, cerebral palsy and drug hypersensitivity and 7 more reported for ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200506 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; ca65a48f-5fe6-4b31-8359-51dbc31f6d4e

Show the evidence
  • caesarean section
    count not stated
  • cerebral palsy
    count not stated
  • drug hypersensitivity
    count not stated
  • drug-induced liver injury
    count not stated
  • drug reaction with eosinophilia and systemic symptoms
    count not stated
  • hepatic function abnormal
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • intraventricular haemorrhage
    count not stated
  • maternal drugs affecting foetus
    count not stated
  • oligohydramnios
    count not stated
  • toxic skin eruption
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE and CYP3A4, CYTOCHROME P450 and P-GLYCOPROTEIN: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4, CYTOCHROME P450 and P-GLYCOPROTEIN appear in ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE's recorded interaction sentences, 6 in all. DailyMed label · ca65a48f-5fe6-4b31-8359-51dbc31f6d4e · 2026-07-09

CYP3A4, CYP3A4, P-gp; 3 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Erythromycin administration in patients receiving 3-hydroxy-3-methylglutaryl-coenzyme A (HMG CoA) reductase inhibitors (statins) that are extensively metabolized by cytochrome P450 isoform 3A4 (e.g., lovastatin or simvastatin) has been reported to cause increased risk of myopathy, including rhabdomyolysis.
  • drug_interactions
    Colchicine is a substrate for both CYP3A4 and the efflux transporter P-glycoprotein (P-gp).
  • drug_interactions
    Erythromycin is considered a moderate inhibitor of CYP3A4.
  • drug_interactions
    A significant increase in colchicine plasma concentration is anticipated when co-administered with moderate CYP3A4 inhibitors such as erythromycin.
  • drug_interactions
    The use of erythromycin in patients concurrently taking drugs metabolized by the cytochrome P450 system may be associated with elevations in serum levels of these other drugs.
  • drug_interactions
    Serum concentrations of drugs metabolized by the cytochrome P450 system should be monitored closely in patients concurrently receiving erythromycin.

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen
  • P-gp
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Vincristine, Deoxycholic acid

recorded 2026-07-09 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200506
PubChem CID
71469
CAS number
3847-29-8
RxCUI
24347
InChIKey
ULGZDMOVFRHVEP-RWJQBGPGSA-N

Relations

Trade name
Erythrocin, Erythrocin Lactobionate, Erythrocin / Erythromycin / Erythrocin Lactobionate
Also called
Erythromycini lactobionas, Sterile erythromycin lactobionate
Sources (5)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 5 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.