Skip to content

Erythromycin

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Erythromycin does in the body

To reduce the development of drug-resistant bacteria and maintain the effectiveness of Erythromycin Tablets, USP and other antibacterial drugs, Erythromycin Tablets, USP should be used only to treat or prevent infections that are proven or strongly suspected to be caused by susceptible bacteria.

From the FDA-approved label: Erythromycin acts by inhibition of protein synthesis by binding 50 S ribosomal subunits of susceptible organisms. It does not affect nucleic acid synthesis. Resistance The major route of resistance is modification of the 23S rRNA in the 50S ribosomal subunit to insensitivity, while efflux can also be significant. Interactions With Other Antimicrobials Antagonism exists in vitro between erythromycin and clindamycin, lincomycin, and chloramphenicol. Erythromycin has been shown to be active against most isolates of the following bacteria both in vitro and in clinical infections as described in the INDICATIONS AND USAGE section.

Why people take it. To reduce the development of drug-resistant bacteria and maintain the effectiveness of Erythromycin Tablets, USP and other antibacterial drugs, Erythromycin Tablets, USP should be used only to treat or prevent infections that are proven or strongly suspected to be caused by susceptible bacteria.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C37H67NO13, weighing 733.94.

    US prescribing information · f2efbc94-64f7-4130-ab23-e5983854f730 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 193 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Formulation

A formulation is the exact made-up form a substance comes in.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the difference between a whole bean and instant coffee.

Where that stops being true. Coffee tastes different. A formulation can change how much reaches the blood.

What people get wrong. Two products with the same name are assumed to behave the same. They often do not.

The specific composition and physical form of a product, including salt, excipients and release profile.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

All-cause mortality

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06358872
How many people
3300000
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Topical

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

All-cause Mortality (1-59 Months Old)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04224987
How many people
864493
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Topical

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

% of eligible population covered by intervention

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05016895
How many people
767535
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Topical

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

All-cause mortality

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04716712
How many people
694400
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Topical

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Ocular chlamydia measured in a population based age-stratified sample of the entire community

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03335072
How many people
320000
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Topical

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

All-cause Mortality Rate in Children Aged 1-60 Months

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02047981
How many people
190238
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Topical

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • & USAGE To reduce the development of drug-resistant bacteria and maintain the effectiveness of erythromycin tablets and other antibacterial drugs, erythromycin tablets should be used only to treat or prevent infections that are proven or strongly suspected to be caused by susceptible bacteria.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On older people, the label states: “Elderly patients, particularly those with reduced renal or hepatic function, may be at increased risk for developing erythromycin-induced hearing loss.”

    US prescribing information · f2efbc94-64f7-4130-ab23-e5983854f730 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Teratogenic Effects There is no evidence of teratogenicity or any other adverse effect on reproduction in female rats fed erythromycin base by oral gavage at 350 mg/kg/day (approximately twice the maximum recommended human dose on a body surface area) prior to and during mating, during gestation, and through weaning.”

    US prescribing information · f2efbc94-64f7-4130-ab23-e5983854f730 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Caution should be exercised when erythromycin is administered to a nursing woman.”

    US prescribing information · f2efbc94-64f7-4130-ab23-e5983854f730 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

A different form was studied

The studied form is not the form on the shelf.

On this record: This record is linked to 1 related forms. Evidence does not carry across all of them.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (10)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Topical

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as swab, solution, tablet, tablet, delayed release, given by the topical, oral, ophthalmic route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Topical

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 95 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 94 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72162-1443 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, delayed release, capsule, delayed release pellets, gel, ointment, powder and solution, taken ophthalmic, oral and topical.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72162-1443 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is decreased sebaceous gland activity [pe], macrolide antimicrobial [epc] and macrolide [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72162-1443 · read 2026-08-29

  • 59 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 58 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · b7d11564-c92d-4eed-bdd9-8fc355e7dfc7 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · b7d11564-c92d-4eed-bdd9-8fc355e7dfc7 · read 2026-08-29

  • Erythromycin is oral at HOW SUPPLIED Erythromycin Tablets are supplied as pink, unscored oval tablets in the following strengths and packages. 250 mg tablets (debossed with EB): Bottles of 30 ( NDC 52536-103-03) Bottles of 100 ( NDC 52536-103-…, recorded as fda label in effect 2019-01-14 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · f2efbc94-64f7-4130-ab23-e5983854f730 · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 0.34807–1.72545 USD per one millilitre, across 16 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

  • Recorded price in US: 0.66115–6.71597 USD per one gram, across 10 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

  • Recorded price in US: 1.88311–2.58712 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 19 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

Names and forms linked to this record

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Erythromycin studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Erythromycin are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleNothing found in the sources checked

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No traced study record is stored for this substance.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 78 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA050368, approved 19640629 to DISTA.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA050368 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA050368 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19730806.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72162-1443 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Erythromycin label: indicated for what?


"To reduce the development of drug-resistant bacteria and maintain the effectiveness of Erythromycin Tablets, USP and other antibacterial drugs, Erythromycin Tablets, USP should be used only to treat or prevent infections that are proven or strongly suspected to be caused by susceptible bacteria. When culture and…": indications and usage on Erythromycin's label. DailyMed label · e54d66fa-93bb-4339-a75e-194a2e4488aa · 2025-10-20

76 registered trials of Erythromycin — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
57 of 76

76 registered studies of Erythromycin: 19 phase1, 17 na, 16 phase3, 13 phase2, 9 phase4, 5 na or unstated, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

1188 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase1
    19
  • na
    17
  • phase3
    16
  • phase2
    13
  • phase4
    9
  • na or unstated
    5
8 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    1
  • completed
    45
  • unknown
    14
  • terminated
    7
  • active not recruiting
    3
  • recruiting
    3
  • not yet recruiting
    2
  • withdrawn
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

9 of Erythromycin's trials stopped: futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, other?


futility/efficacy (1), accrual/recruitment (3) and other (5): Erythromycin's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"insufficient enrollment"; 9 of 76 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00467831
    terminated; "insufficient enrollment"
  • NCT01117376
    terminated; "The study was prematurely terminated because of unavailibility of Methylnaltrexone in the region"
  • NCT01323582
    terminated; "Original investigator left this institution, replacement investigator retired."
  • NCT01556334
    withdrawn; "Terminated before starting due to need for IND determined by FDA."
  • NCT01569633
    withdrawn; "very poor enrollment"
  • NCT02017379
    terminated; "Could not recruit any subjects"
3 further recorded trials
  • NCT02099240
    terminated; "Not enough patient enrollment and lack of staffing"
  • NCT02605122
    terminated; "Development not proceeding"
  • NCT03060473
    terminated; "Patient population that meets study criteria is insufficient to continue project in a reasonable amount of time. To continue is futile in resources, staff time, and effort."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Erythromycin used Erythromycin (400mg) — over how long?


Human studies of Erythromycin used "Erythromycin (400mg)". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

Show the evidence
  • human NCT04682691
    Erythromycin (400mg)

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Erythromycin could settle lifespan?


NCT06172296 measures Event free survival (EFS), reading out 2029-12-31.

2 open trials; n 478; "Dinutuximab With Chemotherapy, Surgery and Stem Cell Transplantation for the Treatment of Children With Newly Diagnosed High Risk Neuroblastoma"

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT06172296
    "Dinutuximab With Chemotherapy, Surgery and Stem Cell Transplantation for the Treatment of Children With Newly Diagnosed High Risk Neuroblastoma"; n 478; "Event free survival (EFS)"; 2029-12-31
  • NCT03126916
    "Testing the Addition of 131I-MIBG or Lorlatinib to Intensive Therapy in People With High-Risk Neuroblastoma (NBL)"; n 750; "Event free survival (EFS) (Arm A, B, D, and E)"; 2030-09-30

Which 23 trials of Erythromycin posted no result?


Posted no result
23 of 23 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00021671, NCT00318201, NCT01060267, NCT01342198, NCT01323257 and NCT01338441, and 17 more
Completion dates
oldest 2004-11; newest 2024-06-18
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00021671
    2004-11
  • NCT00318201
    2007-12
  • NCT01060267
    2009-08
  • NCT01342198
    2011-07
  • NCT01323257
    2011-08
  • NCT01338441
    2011-08
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01309438
    2012-03
  • NCT01659619
    2012-10
  • NCT00827216
    2013-04
  • NCT01946256
    2014-03
  • NCT02633579
    2014-08
  • NCT01668498
    2016-03
  • NCT02381080
    2016-06-24
  • NCT02622802
    2017-05
  • NCT02528760
    2017-08-31
  • NCT00334789
    2018-03-29
  • NCT05106803
    2019-10-01
  • NCT04714554
    2021-03-29
  • NCT00867178
    2021-12-22
  • NCT04665089
    2023-04-30

At the median, Erythromycin's trials enrolled 49 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
49
Largest enrolment
100000
Registered trials counted
73

What do 17 spontaneous reports say about Erythromycin — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Erythromycin appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 5 most-reported reaction terms, 17 reaction mentions were counted: deafness 5; ototoxicity 5; drug-induced liver injury 3; maternal drugs affecting foetus 3. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200510 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • deafness
    5
  • ototoxicity
    5
  • drug-induced liver injury
    3
  • maternal drugs affecting foetus
    3
  • mucosal hypertrophy
    1

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 5 reactions does Erythromycin's label not list?


deafness, drug-induced liver injury and maternal drugs affecting foetus and 2 more reported for Erythromycin, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200510 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 5 reported and unlisted; e54d66fa-93bb-4339-a75e-194a2e4488aa

Show the evidence
  • deafness
    count not stated
  • drug-induced liver injury
    count not stated
  • maternal drugs affecting foetus
    count not stated
  • mucosal hypertrophy
    count not stated
  • ototoxicity
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Erythromycin and CYP3A, CYP3A4 and CYTOCHROME P450: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A, CYP3A4 and CYTOCHROME P450 appear in Erythromycin's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · e54d66fa-93bb-4339-a75e-194a2e4488aa · 2025-10-20

CYP3A, CYP3A, CYP3A, CYP3A4; 4 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Serious adverse reactions have been reported in patients taking erythromycin concomitantly with CYP3A4 substrates.
  • drug_interactions
    These include colchicine toxicity with colchicine; rhabdomyolysis with simvastatin, lovastatin, and atorvastatin; and hypotension with calcium channel blockers metabolized by CYP3A4 (e.g., verapamil, amlodipine, diltiazem) (see PRECAUTIONS - Drug Interactions ).
  • drug_interactions
    Erythromycin is a substrate and inhibitor of the 3A isoform subfamily of the cytochrome p450 enzyme system (CYP3A).
  • drug_interactions
    Coadministration of erythromycin and a drug primarily metabolized by CYP3A may be associated with elevations in drug concentrations that could increase or prolong both the therapeutic and adverse effects of the concomitant drug.
  • drug_interactions
    Dosage adjustments may be considered, and when possible, serum concentrations of drugs primarily metabolized by CYP3A should be monitored closely in patients concurrently receiving erythromycin.
  • drug_interactions
    The following are examples of some clinically significant CYP3A based drug interactions.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Interactions with other drugs metabolized by the CYP3A isoform are also possible.
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    The following CYP3A based drug interactions have been observed with erythromycin products in post-marketing experience: Ergotamine/dihydroergotamine Post-marketing reports indicate that co-administration of erythromycin with ergotamine or dihydroergotamine has been associated with acute ergot toxicity characterized by vasospasm and ischemia of the extremities and other tissues including the…

CYP3A

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • CYP3A4
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2025-10-20 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200510
PubChem CID
12559
CAS number
643-22-1
RxCUI
24351
InChIKey
ULGZDMOVFRHVEP-RWJQBGPGSA-N

Relations

Trade name
Eryacne 4, Eryc, Bristamycin, Erypar, Erythrocin 500, Erythrocin acne pack, Erythrocin stearate, Ethril 250, Ethril 500, Pfizer-e, Wyamycin s, Akne-mycin
Also called
ERYTHROMYCIN STEARATE, Abboticine, Erythromycini stearas, Erythromycin octadecanoate (salt), Sk-erythromycin, Eritromicina, Erythromycine, Erythromycin estolate impurity, free erythromycin-
Development code
NSC-756747, J01FA01, NSC-55929
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.