Skip to content

Verapamil

  • Prescription medicine
  • Given by a clinician
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Verapamil does in the body

In circuits that loop through that relay, blocking it stops the loop and the rhythm reverts.

The electrical relay between the top and bottom chambers of the heart runs on calcium rather than sodium, unlike most heart tissue. Verapamil sits inside the calcium channel and blocks it, so the relay slows and a racing pulse comes down. The same block relaxes artery muscle, which lowers blood pressure and eases angina, and it also weakens the squeeze of the heart itself — which is helpful in some conditions and dangerous in a heart that is already failing.

Why people take it. Chest pain, a racing or irregular heartbeat, and high blood pressure

What happened in people

Eighteen-month mortality after infarction 11.1% against 13.8%, not statistically significant at p=0.11

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The recorded finding that sits closest to something a person would notice. Written into the record, not signed off, and it carries no population or interval.

The limit that matters most

Still the reference oral drug for AV nodal reentrant tachycardia prophylaxis where ablation is not chosen

Where it acts
Atrioventricular and sinoatrial nodes, and vascular smooth muscle — the phenylalkylamine site inside the pore of the L-type calcium channel
Kind of result
The kind of result is not recorded
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • 26 registered substances share the start of this name, which is why a search for it can return more than one thing.

    FDA substance registry · 5002H7B3FO · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

A person wrote this explanation into the record, with the studies named in the path below.

The recorded use, written for a reader without medical training. Not signed off.

A limit recorded against this substance. Not signed off as a reviewed claim.

The four opening statements run to 122 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

Randomisation

Randomisation means chance decides who gets which treatment.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like a coin toss deciding the groups.

Where that stops being true. A coin toss is fair once. Fairness here comes from doing it for everyone.

What people get wrong. It is thought to make groups identical. It makes them similar on average, including on things nobody measured.

Allocation of participants to arms by a chance process, so that unmeasured factors are balanced in expectation.

Absolute difference

An absolute difference is how many more people in a hundred were affected.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like counting heads in two rooms of a hundred.

Where that stops being true. Heads are easy to count. Study results carry a margin of error too.

What people get wrong. It is confused with a percentage change, which can look far larger.

The arithmetic difference in event rates between arms.

Confidence interval

A confidence interval is the range the true answer is likely to sit in.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like a weather forecast giving a range rather than one number.

Where that stops being true. A forecast range covers tomorrow. This one covers what the study could resolve.

What people get wrong. The middle number is read as the answer. A range crossing zero means no change is still possible.

An interval estimate that would contain the true parameter in a stated proportion of repeated studies.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

All-cause mortality, and major events defined as death or reinfarction, up to 18 months after myocardial infarction

The study did not show it

Who was studied
DAVIT II (Am J Cardiol 1990;66:779-785)
How many people
1775
Study design
Phase 3, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled
Compared against
A dummy treatment
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Mortality 11.1% against 13.8%, p=0.11 (HR 0.80, 95% CI 0.61 to 1.05); major events 18.0% against 21.6%, p=0.03 (HR 0.80, 95% CI 0.64 to 0.99)
Repeated elsewhere
Partially Replicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. The benefit was confined to the subgroup without heart failure in the coronary care unit: mortality HR 0.64 (0.44 to 0.94) without heart failure against 1.05 (0.72 to 1.54) with it.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Immediate-release tablet, sustained-release tablet and capsule, chronotherapeutic overnight-release formats, and an intravenous bolus

Interval reported. 95% CI 0

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

First occurrence of all-cause death, non-fatal myocardial infarction or non-fatal stroke

The study showed what it set out to show

Who was studied
INVEST (JAMA 2003;290:2805-2816)
How many people
22576
Study design
Phase 4, randomised, open label, blinded endpoint
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
9.93% against 10.17%; relative risk 0.98 (95% CI 0.90 to 1.06) over a mean 2.7 years
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. Meeting one endpoint in one population does not carry to other goals or other people.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. A comparison of strategies rather than of molecules: by 24 months, 81.5% of the calcium antagonist arm was still on verapamil and 77.5% of the comparator arm still on atenolol, with trandolapril and hydrochlorothiazide layered onto both. Open-label design with blinded endpoint adjudication.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Immediate-release tablet, sustained-release tablet and capsule, chronotherapeutic overnight-release formats, and an intravenous bolus

Interval reported. 95% CI 0

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

Area under the curve for mixed-meal-stimulated C-peptide at 52 weeks from diagnosis of type 1 diabetes

The study showed what it set out to show

Who was studied
CLVer (NCT04233034)
How many people
88
Study design
Phase 2, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, factorial
Compared against
A dummy treatment
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Adjusted between-group difference 0.14 pmol/mL (95% CI 0.01 to 0.27), p=0.04, equating to a 30% higher C-peptide level at 52 weeks
Repeated elsewhere
Partially Replicated

What this does not prove. Meeting one endpoint in one population does not carry to other goals or other people.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. HbA1c did not differ: 6.6% against 6.9%, adjusted difference -0.3% (95% CI -1.0 to 0.4). The endpoint is a mechanistic surrogate in 88 children, and durability beyond 52 weeks is unknown.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Immediate-release tablet, sustained-release tablet and capsule, chronotherapeutic overnight-release formats, and an intravenous bolus

Interval reported. 95% CI 0

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

What we know
RNAWiki holds 3 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What it changes in the bodyRead from sources, not yet reviewed

The path through the body

From what a person takes to what changes. A solid line is a step measured in people. A dashed line is a step nobody has measured that way.

Where a source records it acting

  • Heart: Dilates the main coronary arteries and coronary arterioles and inhibits coronary artery spasm, increasing myocardial oxygen delivery

    US prescribing information · 006cf920-04ae-0b53-cb91-85481972abc2 · read 2026-08-27

  • Blood and vessels: Exerts antihypertensive effects by decreasing systemic vascular resistance

    US prescribing information · 006cf920-04ae-0b53-cb91-85481972abc2 · read 2026-08-27

  1. Start

    Verapamil

    What a person takes: Immediate-release tablet, sustained-release tablet and capsule, chronotherapeutic overnight-release formats, and an intravenous bolus.

    The measurement behind this step

    The intravenous route exists for immediate termination of supraventricular tachycardia and acute rate control, and delivers a different enantiomer ratio than the oral route because the more cardioactive S-enantiomer is preferentially removed on first pass. The chronotherapeutic formulations were designed to release drug in the early morning, when cardiovascular events cluster; the outcome hypothesis behind that design was not confirmed.

  2. Reaching the cell

    It reaches the channel from the inside

    Unlike the calcium blockers used for blood pressure, verapamil has to get into the cell first and then blocks the channel from within, and only while the channel is open.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    Verapamil binds the phenylalkylamine site within the pore of Cav1.2, accessible from the cytoplasmic face and only in the open state. Block is therefore strongly use-dependent: the faster the tissue is depolarising, the more of it is blocked.

  3. What it acts on

    The pacemaker and the relay slow down

    Two small regions of the heart run on calcium rather than sodium. Blocking calcium slows both, so the pulse falls and a rhythm that loops through the relay is interrupted.

    Measured in people. Written by a person from the study named beside the step. Not signed off as a reviewed claim.

    The measurement behind this step

    Sinoatrial automaticity and atrioventricular nodal conduction depend on L-type calcium current. Verapamil prolongs AV nodal refractoriness and terminates reentrant supraventricular tachycardias whose circuit includes the node. In digitalised atrial fibrillation trials, resting ventricular rates below 50 occurred in 15% of patients.

  4. The change it makes

    Arteries relax and pressure falls

    The same channel in artery muscle is blocked too, so vessels widen. That lowers blood pressure and eases angina by cutting the work the heart has to do.

    Measured in people. Written by a person from the study named beside the step. Not signed off as a reviewed claim.

    The measurement behind this step

    Reduced calcium influx into vascular smooth muscle lowers systemic vascular resistance, which partially offsets the negative inotropic effect. The label states that in most patients the negative inotropy is compensated by afterload reduction without net impairment of ventricular performance.

  5. What that does for a person

    The squeeze weakens, which is the whole risk

    Blocking calcium in heart muscle means each beat is less forceful. In a healthy heart that does not matter. In a failing one it can be the difference between compensated and not.

    Measured in people. Written by a person from the study named beside the step. Not signed off as a reviewed claim.

    The measurement behind this step

    Congestive heart failure or pulmonary oedema developed in 87 of 4,954 trial patients, 1.8%. The label contraindicates severe left ventricular dysfunction, directs avoidance below 30% ejection fraction, and directs avoidance at any degree of ventricular dysfunction if a beta-blocker is co-prescribed.

  6. What that does for a person

    The gut uses the same channel

    Bowel muscle contracts using the same calcium channel as artery muscle. Blocking it slows the bowel, which is why constipation is the most common complaint by a wide margin.

    Measured in people. Written by a person from the study named beside the step. Not signed off as a reviewed claim.

    The measurement behind this step

    Constipation occurred in 7.3% of 4,954 patients, more than twice the rate of the next most common adverse effect. Reversible non-obstructive paralytic ileus has been reported infrequently. The effect is dose-related and is the leading reason for discontinuation.

  7. What that does for a person

    What the outcome trials found

    Two large trials looked for a survival benefit. After a heart attack, deaths fell but not convincingly. Against a beta-blocker strategy in coronary disease, the two were identical.

    Measured in people. Written by a person from the study named beside the step. Not signed off as a reviewed claim.

    The measurement behind this step

    DAVIT-II: 18-month mortality 11.1% against 13.8%, p=0.11; major events 18.0% against 21.6%, p=0.03. INVEST: primary outcome 9.93% against 10.17%, relative risk 0.98 (95% CI 0.90 to 1.06), in 22,576 patients over a mean 2.7 years.

No suggested links are held for this record, so nothing is hidden from this path.

What we know
The record describes 6 steps from taking it to an effect in a person.
How we know it
Each step names the study behind it in the technical detail beside it.
What this does not prove
A change inside the body is a reason to look. It is not a result in a person.
Why it matters
A reader can see exactly where the chain stops being measured in people.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim binds any of these steps to a named population.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Adults with angina including the vasospastic form, adults needing ventricular rate control in atrial fibrillation or flutter, adults with recurrent supraventricular tachycardia, and adults with high blood pressure. Not people with severe left ventricular dysfunction, and not people with pre-excited atrial fibrillation.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 5f665d08-e1e4-422a-88c2-d8834abf9e1a · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of Verapamil Hydrochloride Extended-release Capsules (PM) were not adequate to determine if subjects aged 65 or over respond differently from younger patients.”

    US prescribing information · 5f665d08-e1e4-422a-88c2-d8834abf9e1a · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Reproduction studies have been performed in rabbits and rats at oral doses up to 1.9 (15 mg/kg/day) and 7.5 (60 mg/kg/day) times the human oral daily dose, respectively, and have revealed no evidence of teratogenicity.”

    US prescribing information · 5f665d08-e1e4-422a-88c2-d8834abf9e1a · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “In case studies where verapamil concentration in human milk was calculated, the nursing infant doses ranged from less than 0.01% to 0.1% of the mother's verapamil dose.”

    US prescribing information · 5f665d08-e1e4-422a-88c2-d8834abf9e1a · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • DAVIT-II missed all-cause mortality at p=0.11 and reported the composite as its positive result
  • The post-infarction benefit disappeared entirely in patients who had heart failure at admission (HR 1.05)
  • INVEST found no advantage over a beta-blocker strategy in 22,576 patients with coronary disease
  • Constipation, at 7.3%, is the dominant reason the drug is stopped and is not a cardiac effect at all
  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Given by a clinician

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Immediate-release tablet, sustained-release tablet and capsule, chronotherapeutic overnight-release formats, and an intravenous bolus

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

The intravenous route exists for immediate termination of supraventricular tachycardia and acute rate control, and delivers a different enantiomer ratio than the oral route because the more cardioactive S-enantiomer is preferentially removed on first pass.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold. The rest of the recorded wording: The chronotherapeutic formulations were designed to release drug in the early morning, when cardiovascular events cluster; the outcome hypothesis behind that design was not confirmed.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Worth asking a clinician aboutWritten into the record from the studies named on this page

Contraindicated in severe left ventricular dysfunction, systolic pressure below 90 mmHg or cardiogenic shock, sick sinus syndrome or high-grade AV block without a pacemaker, and atrial flutter or fibrillation with an accessory bypass tract. Avoid below 30% ejection fraction and in any ventricular dysfunction when a beta-blocker is co-prescribed. Constipation affects 7.3% and paralytic ileus has been reported. Transaminase elevations occur, occasionally with hepatocellular injury. It raises digoxin levels and inhibits CYP3A4.

Nobody counted how many people took this and were fine, so this cannot be turned into a rate.

Where this came from

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Immediate-release tablet, sustained-release tablet and capsule, chronotherapeutic overnight-release formats, and an intravenous bolus

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

The chronotherapeutic formulations were designed to release drug in the early morning, when cardiovascular events cluster; the outcome hypothesis behind that design was not confirmed.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on which forms are sold and how they compare.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 166 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 162 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71872-7291 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, capsule, delayed release, capsule, delayed release pellets, capsule, extended release, injection and injection, solution, taken intravenous and oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71872-7291 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is calcium channel antagonists [moa], calcium channel blocker [epc] and cytochrome p450 3a inhibitors [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71872-7291 · read 2026-08-29

  • 99 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 98 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · df77b8d1-1d2b-4fea-a1e9-153bd25008a6 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · df77b8d1-1d2b-4fea-a1e9-153bd25008a6 · read 2026-08-29

  • Recorded price in US: 0.07108–0.11742 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 13 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Verapamil studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Claims that go past the evidence

Things said about this substance that sound reasonable, and the exact step that is missing between the evidence and the claim.

Goes past the evidence

That verapamil reduces mortality after myocardial infarction — the trial that looked missed its mortality endpoint

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Goes past the evidence

That INVEST showed the verapamil strategy superior, when the published conclusion is that it was as clinically effective as the comparator

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Goes past the evidence

That preserved C-peptide in newly diagnosed type 1 diabetes will produce better long-term control, when HbA1c did not differ at 52 weeks

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Goes past the evidence

That the rate-control effect is interchangeable with diltiazem — verapamil depresses contractility substantially more at equivalent nodal effect

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Verapamil are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Every line above can be traced to the study named beside it. Follow the link and read it.

DAVIT-II: mortality missed at p=0.11, events met at p=0.03
In plain words
Nearly eighteen hundred patients were given verapamil or a dummy tablet from the second week after a heart attack. Deaths fell from 13.8% to 11.1%, which was not statistically convincing. The combined count of deaths and repeat heart attacks did reach significance.
What was measured
Eighteen-month mortality and major event rate after myocardial infarction, with a prespecified split by heart failure at admission
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
This entry records a failure.
From the source
The Danish Verapamil Infarction Trial II randomised 878 patients to verapamil 360 mg daily and 897 to placebo, starting in the second week after admission and continuing up to 18 months, mean 16. There were 95 deaths and 146 major events on verapamil against 119 deaths and 180 major events on placebo. Eighteen-month mortality was 11.1% against 13.8% (p=0.11, hazard ratio 0.80, 95% CI 0.61 to 1.05) — not significant. Major event rate, defined as death or reinfarction, was 18.0% against 21.6% (p=0.03, hazard ratio 0.80, 95% CI 0.64 to 0.99). The benefit was confined to patients without heart failure in the coronary care unit: mortality 7.7% against 11.8% (p=0.02, HR 0.64, 95% CI 0.44 to 0.94) without heart failure, and 17.9% against 17.5% (p=0.79, HR 1.05, 95% CI 0.72 to 1.54) with it. The same split found in the diltiazem trial appeared here in a different drug and a different country.
Source
Danish Study Group on Verapamil in Myocardial Infarction, Am J Cardiol 1990;66:779-785 (DAVIT II)
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
caution
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
INVEST: identical to an atenolol strategy in 22,576 patients
In plain words
The largest verapamil trial compared a verapamil-based plan against a beta-blocker-based plan in twenty-two thousand people with both high blood pressure and coronary disease. The rates of death, heart attack and stroke came out the same.
What was measured
First occurrence of all-cause death, non-fatal myocardial infarction or non-fatal stroke
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
INVEST randomised 22,576 hypertensive patients aged 50 or over with coronary artery disease, at 862 sites in 14 countries, to a calcium antagonist strategy based on sustained-release verapamil or a non-calcium-antagonist strategy based on atenolol, each with trandolapril and hydrochlorothiazide added to reach blood pressure goals. After 61,835 patient-years, mean 2.7 per patient, 2,269 patients had a primary outcome of death from any cause, non-fatal myocardial infarction or non-fatal stroke: 9.93% on the verapamil strategy and 10.17% on the atenolol strategy, relative risk 0.98 (95% CI 0.90 to 1.06). Two-year blood pressure control was similar, with 71.7% and 70.7% reaching below 140/90 mmHg. The conclusion is that the verapamil-trandolapril strategy was as clinically effective as the atenolol-hydrochlorothiazide strategy. As clinically effective is not more effective, and this trial was designed and reported as a comparison of strategies rather than of molecules — by 24 months only 81.5% of the verapamil arm was still on verapamil.
Source
Pepine CJ et al., JAMA 2003;290:2805-2816 (INVEST)
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
Constipation in 7.3%, heart failure in 1.8%, from a database of 4,954 patients
In plain words
The commonest problem with verapamil is not cardiac. Seven in a hundred become constipated, because the gut muscle uses the same calcium channel as artery muscle. Nearly two in a hundred developed heart failure or fluid on the lungs.
What was measured
Adverse reaction rates from a pooled clinical trial population of 4,954 patients
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
From the clinical trial database of 4,954 patients: constipation 7.3%, dizziness 3.3%, nausea 2.7%, hypotension 2.5%, headache 2.2%, oedema 1.9%, congestive heart failure or pulmonary oedema 1.8% (87 patients), fatigue 1.7%, dyspnoea 1.4%, bradycardia below 50 beats per minute 1.4%, total AV block of any degree 1.2% with second- and third-degree at 0.8%, rash 1.2%, flushing 0.6%. Reversible non-obstructive paralytic ileus has been reported infrequently. In the subset treated for rate control in digitalised atrial fibrillation or flutter, ventricular rates below 50 at rest occurred in 15% and asymptomatic hypotension in 5%. The label also records elevations of transaminases, sometimes transient and sometimes persisting, with several cases of hepatocellular injury.
Source
Verapamil hydrochloride United States prescribing information, Warnings and Adverse Reactions sections
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
Two contraindications that describe the drug own mechanism turning on the patient
In plain words
Verapamil weakens the heart squeeze, so it must not be used in a heart that is already failing badly. And it blocks the normal electrical relay, so in people with an extra pathway it can push the impulse down that pathway instead and make the rhythm faster, not slower.
What was measured
Not recorded
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
This entry records a failure.
From the source
Contraindications are severe left ventricular dysfunction; hypotension below 90 mmHg systolic or cardiogenic shock; sick sinus syndrome or second- or third-degree AV block without a functioning pacemaker; atrial flutter or fibrillation with an accessory bypass tract such as Wolff-Parkinson-White or Lown-Ganong-Levine; and hypersensitivity. The Warnings section directs avoiding the drug at ejection fraction below 30% or with moderate to severe cardiac failure symptoms, and in any degree of ventricular dysfunction if a beta-adrenergic blocker is also being given, because the negative inotropic effects are additive. Both contraindications are the therapeutic mechanism applied to the wrong heart: negative inotropy where contractile reserve is already exhausted, and AV nodal block where an alternative conduction route exists.
Source
Verapamil hydrochloride United States prescribing information, Contraindications and Warnings sections
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
caution
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
A beta-cell result in type 1 diabetes, on a surrogate, in 88 children
In plain words
Verapamil is being investigated for something with no connection to the heart: preserving the insulin-producing cells in newly diagnosed type 1 diabetes. A randomised trial in eighty-eight children found more insulin production after a year. Blood sugar control was not measurably better.
What was measured
That preserved C-peptide secretion at one year will translate into better long-term glycaemic control or fewer complications — the trial measured the surrogate, found no HbA1c difference, and says longitudinal durability is unknown
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
The CLVer trial randomised 88 children and adolescents aged 7 to 17 within a month of type 1 diabetes diagnosis to once-daily oral verapamil (n=47) or placebo (n=41), within a factorial design also testing intensive diabetes management. The primary endpoint was area under the curve for C-peptide stimulated by a mixed-meal tolerance test at 52 weeks. Mean C-peptide AUC went from 0.66 to 0.65 pmol/mL on verapamil and from 0.60 to 0.44 on placebo, an adjusted between-group difference of 0.14 pmol/mL (95% CI 0.01 to 0.27, p=0.04), equating to a 30% higher C-peptide level at 52 weeks. HbA1c at 52 weeks was 6.6% against 6.9%, adjusted difference -0.3% (95% CI -1.0 to 0.4) — not significant. Treatment-related non-serious adverse events occurred in 17% against 20%. The rationale is that calcium blockade reduces thioredoxin-interacting protein overexpression, which drives beta-cell apoptosis in preclinical models. This is a genuine randomised result on a mechanistic surrogate, in 88 children, with a confidence interval whose lower bound is 0.01, and with no measurable difference in the outcome patients experience.
Source
Forlenza GP et al. Effect of verapamil on pancreatic beta cell function in newly diagnosed pediatric type 1 diabetes: a randomized clinical trial. JAMA 2023;329:990-999 (CLVer, NCT04233034)
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
caution
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
Two calcium blockers, two countries, the same subgroup
In plain words
The Danish verapamil trial and the American diltiazem trial were run separately with different drugs. Both found the same thing: benefit in patients whose hearts were coping, harm or nothing in patients whose hearts were failing.
What was measured
That either trial subgroup result stands alone — each is a subgroup analysis, and what makes them credible is that they replicate each other across drugs, countries and endpoints
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
DAVIT-II found post-infarction mortality of 7.7% against 11.8% (HR 0.64, 95% CI 0.44 to 0.94) in patients without heart failure in the coronary care unit, and 17.9% against 17.5% (HR 1.05, 95% CI 0.72 to 1.54) in those with it. MDPIT, published two years earlier with diltiazem in 2,466 patients, found cardiac event hazard ratios of 0.77 (0.61 to 0.98) without radiographic pulmonary congestion and 1.41 (1.01 to 1.96) with it, interaction p=0.0042. Two independently designed trials of two different molecules binding two different sites on the same channel converged on the same modifier. That convergence is the strongest evidence either trial provides, and it is a class-level physiological finding — negative inotropy is tolerable when there is contractile reserve and not when there is none — rather than a property of either drug.
Source
Danish Study Group on Verapamil in Myocardial Infarction, Am J Cardiol 1990;66:779-785; Multicenter Diltiazem Postinfarction Trial Research Group, N Engl J Med 1988;319:385-392
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim

How many documents were read

  • 93 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
V3888OEY5R
CAS registry number
52-53-9
PubChem compound
2520
RxNorm concept
11170

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 79 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA018485, approved 19810812 to MT ADAMS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA018485 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA018485 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19830101.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71872-7291 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

7 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

The older medicine-wide conclusion held in this record

Written for a clinical reader, and about the medicine as a whole rather than about one indication, population and set of trials. RNAWiki does not treat it as a programme conclusion and no reviewer has signed it off in that form. It is here word for word because it is what the record holds.

A phenylalkylamine calcium blocker that slows the AV node harder than any other oral drug in its class, whose post-infarction trial in 1,775 patients missed mortality at p=0.11 while cutting major events by 20% (p=0.03), and which in 22,576 hypertensive patients with coronary disease matched an atenolol strategy exactly (RR 0.98) rather than beating it.

Recorded evidence blocks (11)

On the Verapamil label: indicated for what?


"Verapamil hydrochloride extended-release tablets are indicated for the treatment of hypertension, to lower blood pressure. Lowering blood pressure reduces the risk of fatal and nonfatal cardiovascular events, primarily strokes and myocardial infarctions.": indications and usage on Verapamil's label. DailyMed label · ce9ab27a-e03b-4e40-a0e0-b586cd75dead · 2026-06-29

82 registered trials of Verapamil — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
64 of 82

82 registered studies of Verapamil: 29 phase1, 18 phase4, 15 phase2, 9 na, 9 phase3, 4 early phase1, 4 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

1607 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase1
    29
  • phase4
    18
  • phase2
    15
  • na
    9
  • phase3
    9
  • early phase1
    4
9 more recorded rows
  • na or unstated
    4
  • completed
    53
  • unknown
    10
  • terminated
    6
  • recruiting
    5
  • not yet recruiting
    4
  • active not recruiting
    2
  • suspended
    1
  • withdrawn
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

8 of Verapamil's trials stopped: futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


futility/efficacy (2), accrual/recruitment (2), funding/business (1), sponsor decision unspecified (1) and other (2): Verapamil's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Lack of funding"; 8 of 82 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00589303
    terminated; "Lack of funding"
  • NCT01645709
    terminated; "Sponsor decision to terminate study"
  • NCT01720056
    terminated; "Objective of study achieved after interim analysis."
  • NCT01996436
    terminated; "Slow enrollment"
  • NCT02454608
    terminated; "Evidence that the dose is insufficient."
  • NCT03098680
    terminated; "Unable to recruit in time before end of PhD studentship"
2 further recorded trials
  • NCT03150524
    withdrawn; "Failure to recruit patients meeting inclusion criteria."
  • NCT06483789
    suspended; "Recruitment paused for Data Monitoring Committee (DMC) to review interim analysis data."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Verapamil used 240 mg verapamil HCL ER — over how long?


Human studies of Verapamil used "240 mg verapamil HCL ER". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

5 recorded entries; human; tablet; also "50 mg dose of INX-08189 and 240 mg verapamil HCL ER", "verapamil 120mg tablet", "Isoptin Retard 240 MG"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT01471704
    240 mg verapamil HCL ER
  • NCT01471704
    50 mg dose of INX-08189 and 240 mg verapamil HCL ER
  • NCT04233034
    tablet; verapamil 120mg tablet
  • NCT05569382
    Isoptin Retard 240 MG
  • NCT05569382
    Verapamil Hydrochloride 240 MG

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Verapamil's half-life is 2.8 to 7.4 hours — which schedules were studied?


2.8 to 7.4 hours, the half-life Verapamil's label states: "The mean elimination half-life in single-dose studies ranged from 2.8 to 7.4 hours." DailyMed label · ce9ab27a-e03b-4e40-a0e0-b586cd75dead · 2026-06-29

tmax 2 hours; bioavailability 20 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    2.8 to 7.4 hours; The mean elimination half-life in single-dose studies ranged from 2.8 to 7.4 hours.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    2 hours; Peak plasma concentrations are reached between 1 and 2 hours after oral administration.
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    20 %; Because of rapid biotransformation of verapamil during its first pass through the portal circulation, bioavailability ranges from 20% to 35%.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    and metabolism: With the immediate-release formulation, more than 90% of the orally administered dose of verapamil hydrochloride is absorbed.

recorded 2026-06-29 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Verapamil could settle vo2max?


NCT05569382 measures Maximal oxygen consumption (VO2 max), reading out 2027-12-31.

1 open trial; n 100; "Treatment Effects of Bisoprolol and Verapamil in Symptomatic Patients With Non-obstructive Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy"

Show the evidence
  • Trial NCT05569382
    "Treatment Effects of Bisoprolol and Verapamil in Symptomatic Patients With Non-obstructive Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy"; n 100; "Maximal oxygen consumption (VO2 max)"; 2027-12-31

Which 34 trials of Verapamil posted no result?


Posted no result
34 of 34 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00518947, NCT00000556, NCT01467687, NCT00668967, NCT00707551 and NCT01295047, and 28 more
Completion dates
oldest 1999-06; newest 2024-05-20
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00518947
    1999-06
  • NCT00000556
    2002-09
  • NCT01467687
    2007-08
  • NCT00668967
    2008-07
  • NCT00707551
    2008-11
  • NCT01295047
    2008-12
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00712894
    2009-08
  • NCT00804895
    2009-10
  • NCT01943487
    2009-12
  • NCT00593463
    2010-05
  • NCT00313157
    2010-09
  • NCT01197781
    2010-10
  • NCT01655316
    2011-08
  • NCT01471704
    2011-11
  • NCT01655303
    2011-12
  • NCT02111317
    2013-11
  • NCT01669304
    2014-10
  • NCT01675362
    2014-10
  • NCT03033537
    2016-01-20
  • NCT02235558
    2016-03-21

At the median, Verapamil's trials enrolled 59 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
59
Largest enrolment
22213
Registered trials counted
80

What do 1256 spontaneous reports say about Verapamil — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Verapamil appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 1256 reaction mentions were counted: drug hypersensitivity 247; hypotension 247; bradycardia 170; drug interaction 137. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1280 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug hypersensitivity
    247
  • hypotension
    247
  • bradycardia
    170
  • drug interaction
    137
  • toxicity to various agents
    100
  • suicide attempt
    87
4 more recorded rows
  • cardiogenic shock
    82
  • atrioventricular block complete
    81
  • hyperkalaemia
    57
  • atrial fibrillation
    48

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Verapamil's label not list?


atrial fibrillation, atrioventricular block complete and bradycardia and 7 more reported for Verapamil, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1280 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 5f665d08-e1e4-422a-88c2-d8834abf9e1a

Show the evidence
  • atrial fibrillation
    count not stated
  • atrioventricular block complete
    count not stated
  • bradycardia
    count not stated
  • cardiogenic shock
    count not stated
  • drug hypersensitivity
    count not stated
  • drug interaction
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • hyperkalaemia
    count not stated
  • hypotension
    count not stated
  • suicide attempt
    count not stated
  • toxicity to various agents
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Verapamil and CYP3A4, CYP2C8 and CYP2C9: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4, CYP2C8 and CYP2C9 appear in Verapamil's recorded interaction sentences, 4 in all. DailyMed label · ce9ab27a-e03b-4e40-a0e0-b586cd75dead · 2026-06-29

CYP2C8, CYP2C9, CYP3A4, CYP3A4; 4 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Cytochrome inducers/inhibitors: In vitro metabolic studies indicate that verapamil is metabolized by cytochrome P450 CYP3A4, CYPIA2, CYP2C8, CYP2C9, and CYP2CI8.
  • drug_interactions
    Clinically significant interactions have been reported with inhibitors of CYP3A4 (e.g., erythromycin, ritonavir) causing elevation of plasma levels of verapamil while inducers of CYP3A4 ( e.g., rifampin) have caused a lowering of plasma levels of verapamil.
  • drug_interactions
    HMG-CoA reductase inhibitors: The use of HMG-CoA reductase inhibitors that are CYP3A4 substrates in combination with verapamil has been associated with reports of myopathy/rhabdomyolysis.
  • drug_interactions
    Lower starting and maintenance doses of other CYP3A4 substrates (e.g., atorvastatin) may be required as verapamil may increase the plasma concentration of these drugs.
  • CYP2C8
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Lapatinib, Tivozanib
  • CYP2C9
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2026-06-29 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1280
PubChem CID
170014
CAS number
38176-02-2
RxCUI
11170
InChIKey
SGTNSNPWRIOYBX-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
VERAPAMIL HYDROCHLORIDE, Verapamili hydrochloridum, Iproveratril, Verapamilo, Verapamil slow release, verapamil sr, BENZENEACETONITRILE, .ALPHA.-(3-((2-(3,4-DIMETHOXYPHENYL)ETHYL)METHYLAMINO)PROPYL)-3,4-DIMETHOXY-.ALPHA.-(1-METHYLETHYL)-, MONOHYDROCHLORIDE, (±)-, TARKA COMPONENT VERAPAMIL HYDROCHLORIDE, VERAPAMIL HYDROCHLORIDE [EP IMPURITY], VERAPAMIL HYDROCHLORIDE [EP MONOGRAPH], VERAPAMIL HYDROCHLORIDE [HSDB]
Trade name
Berkatens, Calan, Calan sr, Cordilox, Cordilox i.v., Cordilox mr 240, Covera, Covera-hs, Ethimil mr 240, Geangin, Half securon sr, Isoptin
Development code
CP-16533-1, LU-20175, NSC-272366, NSC-657799, CP-16,533-1, CP-165331, D-365, NSC-272306NA
Salt form
Verapamil hcl, Verapamil hydrochloride component of tarka, verapamil hcl er
Sources (7)

Sources

1 more source

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 7 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.