Skip to content

Vemurafenib

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Vemurafenib does in the body

Unresectable or metastatic melanoma with BRAF V600E mutation as detected by an FDA-approved test

From the FDA-approved label: Vemurafenib is a low molecular weight, orally available inhibitor of some mutated forms of BRAF serine- threonine kinase, including BRAF V600E. Vemurafenib also inhibits other kinases in vitro such as CRAF, ARAF, wild-type BRAF, SRMS, ACK1, MAP4K5, and FGR at similar concentrations. Some mutations in the BRAF gene including V600E result in constitutively activated BRAF proteins, which can cause cell proliferation in the absence of growth factors that would normally be required for proliferation. Vemurafenib has anti-tumor effects in cellular and animal models of melanomas with mutated BRAF V600E.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 207SMY3FQT · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C23H18ClF2N3O3S, weighing 489.9.

    US prescribing information · 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The recorded explanation is written in label language rather than for a beginner. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 120 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Objective Response Rate defined as % of participants in a cohort with complete or partial response or with stable disease according to standard response criteria

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02693535
How many people
4200
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants Experiencing Any Grade 3 or 4 Adverse Events (AEs) as Determined by National Cancer Institute-Common Toxicity Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 4.0

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01307397
How many people
3219
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

16 weeks clinical response

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04817956
How many people
3000
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of patients that are treated based on their molecular tumor profile

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02925234
How many people
1550
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Proportion of Pediatric Patients Whose Advanced Tumors Have Pathway Alterations That Can be Targeted by Select Anti-cancer Drugs

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03155620
How many people
1377
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Progression-Free Survival (PFS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02291289
How many people
1044
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • ZELBORAF ® is a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of patients with unresectable or metastatic melanoma with BRAF V600E mutation as detected by an FDA-approved test. ( 1.1, 2.1 ) ZELBORAF ® is indicated for the treatment of patients with Erdheim- Chester Disease with BRAF V600 mutation.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of ZELBORAF in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of ZELBORAF did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Based on its mechanism of action, ZELBORAF can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.1) ] .”

    US prescribing information · 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “There is no information available regarding the presence of vemurafenib in human milk, effects on the breastfed infant, or effects on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “No formal clinical study has been conducted to evaluate the effect of hepatic impairment on the pharmacokinetics of vemurafenib.”

    US prescribing information · 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “No formal clinical study has been conducted to evaluate the effect of renal impairment on the pharmacokinetics of vemurafenib.”

    US prescribing information · 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, tablet, film coated, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 1 product lists this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 1 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50242-090 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as tablet, film coated, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50242-090 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is cytochrome p450 1a2 inhibitors [moa], kinase inhibitor [epc] and p-glycoprotein inhibitors [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50242-090 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763 · read 2026-08-29

  • ZELBORAF is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Tablet: 240 mg., recorded as fda label in effect 2025-12-01 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Vemurafenib studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Vemurafenib are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
207SMY3FQT
RxNorm concept
1147223

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 1 approved application covers products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA202429, approved 20110817 to HOFFMANN LA ROCHE.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA202429 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA202429 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20110817.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50242-090 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (11)

On the Vemurafenib label: indicated for what?


"ZELBORAF ® is a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of patients with unresectable or metastatic melanoma with BRAF V600E mutation as detected by an FDA-approved test. ( 1.1 , 2.1 ) ZELBORAF ® is indicated for the treatment of patients with Erdheim- Chester Disease with BRAF V600 mutation.": indications and usage on Vemurafenib's label. DailyMed label · 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763 · 2025-12-01

127 registered trials of Vemurafenib — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
80 of 127

127 registered studies of Vemurafenib: 67 phase2, 48 phase1, 11 phase3, 4 na or unstated, 3 early phase1, 2 na, 2 phase4. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

129 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    67
  • phase1
    48
  • phase3
    11
  • na or unstated
    4
  • early phase1
    3
  • na
    2
9 more recorded rows
  • phase4
    2
  • completed
    64
  • terminated
    24
  • unknown
    11
  • active not recruiting
    10
  • recruiting
    9
  • withdrawn
    7
  • not yet recruiting
    1
  • suspended
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

28 of Vemurafenib's trials stopped: safety, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


safety (5), accrual/recruitment (13), funding/business (2), sponsor decision unspecified (1) and other (7): Vemurafenib's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"More than 2 of 6 patients treated experienced dose limiting toxicities."; 28 of 127 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01400451
    terminated; "More than 2 of 6 patients treated experienced dose limiting toxicities."
  • NCT01474551
    terminated; "Lack of accrual"
  • NCT01495988
    terminated; "Slow accrual; toxicity; change in priorities"
  • NCT01519323
    terminated; "Study was terminated due to low enrollment."
  • NCT01586195
    terminated; "Recruitment challenges"
  • NCT01611675
    terminated; "Adverse Events"
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01616199
    terminated; "slow accrual"
  • NCT01754376
    terminated; "changes in available treatments for melanoma"
  • NCT01813214
    terminated; "Recruitment difficulties."
  • NCT01826448
    terminated; "No activity was observed. BRAFi-naïve participants should have received triple combination treatment (including MEK inhibitor). Continuation was not justified."
  • NCT01841463
    suspended; "Sponsor decision not related to patient safety"
  • NCT01843738
    withdrawn; "Competing Trials"
  • NCT01876641
    terminated; "Loss of funding"
  • NCT01942993
    terminated; "standard of care has changed"
  • NCT02050321
    terminated; "Pharmaceutical company pulled support for the trial."
  • NCT02052193
    terminated; "Second cohort not opened because Simon-Two\_Step model failed"
  • NCT02115035
    withdrawn; "Funding issues"
  • NCT02145910
    withdrawn; "Study was never opened to accrual. There is no clinical benefit to patients."
  • NCT02230306
    terminated; "closed due to slow accrual"
  • NCT02303951
    terminated; "The main reason for the early termination is the low recruitment rate."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Vemurafenib used Vemurafenib 240 MG — over how long?


studies of Vemurafenib used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

2 recorded entries; human; also "Vemurafenib 240 MG", "Vemurafenib 240 Mg Oral Capsule"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT04423185
    Vemurafenib 240 MG
  • NCT04722575
    Vemurafenib 240 Mg Oral Capsule

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Vemurafenib's half-life is 57 hours — which schedules were studied?


57 hours, the half-life Vemurafenib's label states: "The median elimination half-life estimate for vemurafenib is 57 hours (the 5th and 95th percentile range is 30 to 120 hours)." DailyMed label · 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763 · 2025-12-01

tmax 3 hours; bioavailability 64 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    57 hours; The median elimination half-life estimate for vemurafenib is 57 hours (the 5th and 95th percentile range is 30 to 120 hours).
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    3 hours; The median time to reach maximum plasma vemurafenib concentration (T max ) was 3 hours following multiple doses.
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    64 %; Absorption The mean bioavailability of vemurafenib at steady state was 64% (56% CV).
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Following oral administration of 960 mg of 14 C-vemurafenib, mean data showed that vemurafenib and its metabolites represented 95% and 5% of the components in plasma over 48 hours, respectively.

recorded 2025-12-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Vemurafenib could settle lifespan?


NCT04943198 measures event-free survival, reading out 2027-06-30.

2 open trials; n 25; "Optimization of the Time and Dosage of Vemurafenib in BRAF Positive Juvenile Patients With Refractory Histiocytosis"

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT04943198
    "Optimization of the Time and Dosage of Vemurafenib in BRAF Positive Juvenile Patients With Refractory Histiocytosis"; n 25; "event-free survival"; 2027-06-30
  • NCT03181100
    "Atezolizumab With Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Anaplastic or Poorly Differentiated Thyroid Cancer"; n 50; "Overall survival (OS) with targeted therapy + atezolizumab in cohorts 1 and 3 with anaplastic thyroid carcinoma (ATC)"; 2027-07-31

Which 26 trials of Vemurafenib posted no result?


Posted no result
26 of 26 completed trials
Registrations
NCT01849666, NCT01851824, NCT01844674, NCT01673737, NCT01983124 and NCT01897116, and 20 more
Completion dates
oldest 2014-04; newest 2024-03
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01849666
    2014-04
  • NCT01851824
    2014-06
  • NCT01844674
    2014-08-26
  • NCT01673737
    2015-02
  • NCT01983124
    2015-09
  • NCT01897116
    2016-10-05
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT02456701
    2016-10-13
  • NCT01943422
    2016-12
  • NCT02441465
    2017-01-09
  • NCT01767623
    2017-04-20
  • NCT01603212
    2017-07-05
  • NCT01959633
    2018-03-26
  • NCT02142036
    2018-08
  • NCT03139513
    2018-08-22
  • NCT02608034
    2018-09-10
  • NCT01898585
    2019-05-22
  • NCT02768207
    2019-06-27
  • NCT01636908
    2019-12-01
  • NCT01656642
    2020-03-25
  • NCT01636622
    2020-04-21

At the median, Vemurafenib's trials enrolled 31 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
31
Largest enrolment
3219
Registered trials counted
127

What do 3014 spontaneous reports say about Vemurafenib — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Vemurafenib appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 3014 reaction mentions were counted: rash 690; arthralgia 459; pyrexia 451; disease progression 331. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1229517 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • rash
    690
  • arthralgia
    459
  • pyrexia
    451
  • disease progression
    331
  • photosensitivity reaction
    231
  • decreased appetite
    213
4 more recorded rows
  • alopecia
    192
  • rash maculo-papular
    159
  • metastases to central nervous system
    154
  • dysphagia
    134

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Vemurafenib's label not list?


alopecia, arthralgia and decreased appetite and 7 more reported for Vemurafenib, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1229517 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763

Show the evidence
  • alopecia
    count not stated
  • arthralgia
    count not stated
  • decreased appetite
    count not stated
  • disease progression
    count not stated
  • dysphagia
    count not stated
  • metastases to central nervous system
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • photosensitivity reaction
    count not stated
  • pyrexia
    count not stated
  • rash
    count not stated
  • rash maculo-papular
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Vemurafenib and CYP3A4 and CYP1A2: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4 and CYP1A2 appear in Vemurafenib's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 38eea320-7e0c-485a-bc30-98c3c45e2763 · 2025-12-01

CYP1A2, CYP3A4, CYP3A4; 3 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Avoid concomitant administration of ZELBORAF with strong CYP3A4 inhibitors or inducers.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.1 ) CYP1A2 Substrates: ZELBORAF can increase concentrations of CYP1A2 substrates.
  • drug_interactions
    Avoid concomitant use of ZELBORAF with CYP1A2 substrates with a narrow therapeutic window.
  • drug_interactions
    If coadministration cannot be avoided, monitor closely for toxicities and consider dose reduction of CYP1A2 substrates.
  • drug_interactions
    7.1 Effect of Strong CYP3A4 Inhibitors or Inducers on Vemurafenib Strong CYP3A4 Inhibitors Coadministration of a strong CYP3A4 inhibitor increased vemurafenib plasma concentrations and may lead to increased toxicity.
  • drug_interactions
    Avoid coadministration of ZELBORAF with strong CYP3A4 inhibitors.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    If coadministration of a strong CYP3A4 inhibitor is unavoidable, consider dose reduction of ZELBORAF, if clinically indicated.
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Strong CYP3A4 Inducers Coadministration of ZELBORAF with rifampin, a strong CYP3A4 inducer, decreased vemurafenib plasma concentrations and may result in decreased efficacy.
  • CYP1A2
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2025-12-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1229517
PubChem CID
42611257
CAS number
918504-65-1
RxCUI
1147220
InChIKey
GPXBXXGIAQBQNI-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Development code
PLX-4032, PLX4032, RG 7204, RO 5185426, RO-51-85426
Trade name
Zelboraf
Also called
plexxikon, rg7204, ro5185426, vem, VEMURAFENIB [JAN], VEMURAFENIB [MART.], VEMURAFENIB [MI], VEMURAFENIB [ORANGE BOOK]
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.