Skip to content

Valganciclovir

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Valganciclovir does in the body

CMV retinitis

4) ] . Mechanism of Action: Valganciclovir is an L-valyl ester (prodrug) of ganciclovir that exists as a mixture of two diastereomers. After oral administration, both diastereomers are rapidly converted to ganciclovir by intestinal and hepatic esterases. Ganciclovir is a synthetic analogue of 2'-deoxyguanosine, which inhibits replication of human CMV in cell culture and in vivo. In CMV-infected cells, ganciclovir is initially phosphorylated to ganciclovir monophosphate by the viral protein kinase, pUL97.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C14H22N6O5·HCl.

    US prescribing information · 2e8a4d62-2098-4ffe-a154-e45cfdfe6c4c · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 86 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Percentage of Participants With Adjudicated Cytomegalovirus (CMV) Disease Through 52 Weeks Post-transplant

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03443869
How many people
601
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Mortality

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03915366
How many people
563
Study design
Phase 2/Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of Participants Who Achieved Confirmed Clearance of Plasma Cytomegalovirus (CMV) Deoxyribose Nucleic Acid (DNA) at the End of Study Week 8

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02927067
How many people
553
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Valganciclovir in Patients With CMV Retinitis and AIDS Who Cannot Take Drugs by Injection

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00017784
How many people
500
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Incidence of endpoint committee (EC)-confirmed CMV disease (either syndrome or end-organ) by 1-year post-transplant.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06798909
How many people
360
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants Who Achieved Confirmed Clearance of Plasma Cytomegalovirus (CMV) Deoxyribonucleic Acid (DNA) (CMV Viremia Clearance) at End of Week 8

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02931539
How many people
352
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • & USAGE Valganciclovir tablets, USP are a cytomegalovirus (CMV) nucleoside analogue DNA polymerase inhibitor indicated for: Adult Patients ( 1.1 ) • Treatment of CMV retinitis in patients with acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS). • Prevention of CMV disease in kidney, heart, and kidney-pancreas transplant patients at high risk.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and efficacy of valganciclovir for oral solution and tablets have not been established in children for prevention of CMV disease in pediatric liver transplant patients, in kidney transplant patients less than 4 months of age, in heart transplant patients less than 1 month of age, in pediatric AIDS patients with CMV retinitis, and in infants with congenital CMV infection.”

    US prescribing information · 2e8a4d62-2098-4ffe-a154-e45cfdfe6c4c · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of valganciclovir did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · 2e8a4d62-2098-4ffe-a154-e45cfdfe6c4c · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary After oral administration, valganciclovir (prodrug) is converted to ganciclovir (active drug) and, therefore, valganciclovir is expected to have reproductive toxicity effects similar to ganciclovir.”

    US prescribing information · 2e8a4d62-2098-4ffe-a154-e45cfdfe6c4c · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “8.3 Females and Males of Reproductive Potential Pregnancy Testing Females of reproductive potential should undergo pregnancy testing before initiation of valganciclovir [see Use in Specific Populations ( 8.1 )] .”

    US prescribing information · 2e8a4d62-2098-4ffe-a154-e45cfdfe6c4c · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “The safety and efficacy of valganciclovir have not been studied in patients with hepatic impairment.”

    US prescribing information · 2e8a4d62-2098-4ffe-a154-e45cfdfe6c4c · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “Dose reduction is recommended when administering valganciclovir to patients with renal impairment [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.5 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 ), Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] .”

    US prescribing information · 2e8a4d62-2098-4ffe-a154-e45cfdfe6c4c · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S3, S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, for solution, tablet, film coated, powder, for solution, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 45 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 45 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50268-787 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as for solution, powder, powder, for solution, tablet and tablet, film coated, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50268-787 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is cytomegalovirus nucleoside analog dna polymerase inhibitor [epc], dna polymerase inhibitors [moa] and nucleoside analog antiviral [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50268-787 · read 2026-08-29

  • 26 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 26 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 2e8a4d62-2098-4ffe-a154-e45cfdfe6c4c · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 2e8a4d62-2098-4ffe-a154-e45cfdfe6c4c · read 2026-08-29

  • VALGANCICLOVIR is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS • Valganciclovir for oral solution: 50 mg per mL, supplied as a white to slightly yellow powder for constitution, forming a colorless to brownish yellow tutti-frutti flavored solution., recorded as fda label in effect 2024-04-11 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 2e8a4d62-2098-4ffe-a154-e45cfdfe6c4c · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 0.98978 USD per one millilitre, across 10 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

  • Recorded price in US: 2.01508 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 15 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Valganciclovir studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Valganciclovir are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Read from sources, not yet reviewed

No traced study record is stored for this substance.

Built from stored sources by fixed rules. No reviewer has signed it off.

How many documents were read

  • 25 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 25 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S3, S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 20 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA021304, approved 20010329 to CHEPLAPHARM.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021304 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021304 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20010329.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50268-787 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Valganciclovir label: indicated for what?


"Valganciclovir tablet is a deoxynucleoside analogue cytomegalovirus (CMV) DNA polymerase inhibitor indicated for: Adult Patients (1.1) Treatment of CMV retinitis in patients with acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS). Prevention of CMV disease in kidney, heart, and kidney-pancreas transplant patients at high risk.": indications and usage on Valganciclovir's label. DailyMed label · 4db6dd63-e56b-45a4-86b2-ee125a1854a0 · 2026-06-24

91 registered trials of Valganciclovir — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
62 of 91

91 registered studies of Valganciclovir: 31 phase2, 28 phase3, 14 phase4, 11 phase1, 8 na, 7 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

157 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    31
  • phase3
    28
  • phase4
    14
  • phase1
    11
  • na
    8
  • na or unstated
    7
8 more recorded rows
  • completed
    49
  • terminated
    16
  • recruiting
    10
  • unknown
    6
  • active not recruiting
    3
  • not yet recruiting
    3
  • withdrawn
    3
  • no longer available
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

15 of Valganciclovir's trials stopped: safety, futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


safety (1), futility/efficacy (1), accrual/recruitment (2), funding/business (3), sponsor decision unspecified (1) and other (7): Valganciclovir's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"difficulty to include patients"; 15 of 91 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00237653
    terminated; "difficulty to include patients"
  • NCT00241345
    terminated; "Due to low accrual"
  • NCT00275314
    terminated; "Study never started at our site Funding issue"
  • NCT00361933
    withdrawn; "Research never begun."
  • NCT01655212
    terminated; "1 Indication for further investigations (brain ultrasound). 2 Change of study design to efficacy study with historical control group."
  • NCT02188719
    terminated; "The trial could not be completed within the grant timeline."
9 further recorded trials
  • NCT02409147
    withdrawn; "Lack of funding"
  • NCT02439957
    terminated; "Study terminated early due to results from another CMX001 study."
  • NCT02439970
    terminated; "Study was terminated early due to results from another CMX001 study"
  • NCT02606266
    terminated; "No eligibles patients"
  • NCT03107871
    terminated; "Study sponsor closed trial due to slow enrollment."
  • NCT03301415
    terminated; "Safety signal"
  • NCT03586284
    terminated; "Funding discontinued."
  • NCT04064697
    terminated; "low of inclusions"
  • NCT05166577
    terminated; "Sponsor Decision"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Valganciclovir used Oral valganciclovir (Rovalcyte 50 mg/ml, powder for oral suspension) — over how long?


studies of Valganciclovir used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

2 recorded entries; human; oral; also "Oral valganciclovir (Rovalcyte 50 mg/ml, powder for oral suspension)", "Valganciclovir 450 mg"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT02606266
    oral; Oral valganciclovir (Rovalcyte 50 mg/ml, powder for oral suspension)
  • NCT04116411
    Valganciclovir 450 mg

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Valganciclovir's half-life is 0-24 h — which schedules were studied?


0-24 h, the half-life Valganciclovir's label states: "PK parameter N Value (Mean ± SD) AUC 0-24h (mcg∙h/mL) 57 29.1 ± 9.7 C max (mcg/mL) 58 5.61 ± 1.52 Absolute oral bioavailability (%) 32 59.4 ± 6.1 Elimination half-life (hr) 73 4.08 ± 0.76 Renal clearance (mL/min/kg) 20 3.21 ± 0.75 (1 study, n=20) The systemic ganciclovir exposures attained following administration of…" DailyMed label · 4db6dd63-e56b-45a4-86b2-ee125a1854a0 · 2026-06-24

tmax 1.7 h.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    0-24 h; PK parameter N Value (Mean ± SD) AUC 0-24h (mcg∙h/mL) 57 29.1 ± 9.7 C max (mcg/mL) 58 5.61 ± 1.52 Absolute oral bioavailability (%) 32 59.4 ± 6.1 Elimination half-life (hr) 73 4.08 ± 0.76 Renal clearance (mL/min/kg) 20 3.21 ± 0.75 (1 study, n=20) The systemic ganciclovir exposures attained following administration of 900 mg valganciclovir tablets once daily were comparable across kidney, heart…
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    1.7 h; Valganciclovir Ganciclovir Absorption T max (h) median (min-max) (fed conditions) 2.18 1.7h to 3.0h Food effect (high fat meal/fasting): PK parameter ratio and 90% confidence interval Steady state ganciclovir PK was assessed after administration of valganciclovir tablets (875 mg once daily) were administered with a high fat meal containing approximately 600 total calories (31.1 g fat, 51.6 g…
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Absorption, Distribution, Metabolism, and Excretion The pharmacokinetic (PK) properties of valganciclovir are provided in Table 12.

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Valganciclovir could settle lifespan?


NCT04116411 measures Impact of valganciclovir on median overall survival of glioblastoma patients, reading out 2027-09-16.

2 open trials; n 220; "A Clinical Trial Evaluating the Efficacy of Valganciclovir in Glioblastoma Patients"

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT04116411
    "A Clinical Trial Evaluating the Efficacy of Valganciclovir in Glioblastoma Patients"; n 220; "Impact of valganciclovir on median overall survival of glioblastoma patients"; 2027-09-16
  • NCT05708755
    "CMV Immunity Monitoring in Lung Transplant Recipients"; n 50; "CMV Viremia-Free Survival"; 2028-05

Which 25 trials of Valganciclovir posted no result?


Posted no result
25 of 25 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00002377, NCT00194467, NCT00374686, NCT00006145, NCT00562770 and NCT00217503, and 19 more
Completion dates
oldest 2002-12; newest 2023-05-29
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00002377
    2002-12
  • NCT00194467
    2005-03
  • NCT00374686
    2005-09
  • NCT00006145
    2006-02
  • NCT00562770
    2006-07
  • NCT00217503
    2007-06
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00031434
    2007-07
  • NCT00275665
    2007-07
  • NCT00189150
    2007-08
  • NCT00478465
    2007-08
  • NCT00016068
    2007-09
  • NCT00400322
    2008-06
  • NCT00730769
    2008-07
  • NCT00386412
    2009-09
  • NCT00034385
    2009-10-30
  • NCT00330018
    2010-04
  • NCT02296723
    2011-08
  • NCT02297854
    2011-08
  • NCT00947141
    2013-02
  • NCT01255644
    2015-07

At the median, Valganciclovir's trials enrolled 42 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
42
Largest enrolment
5000
Registered trials counted
89

What do 2189 spontaneous reports say about Valganciclovir — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Valganciclovir appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 2189 reaction mentions were counted: cytomegalovirus infection 464; neutropenia 359; leukopenia 257; drug resistance 249. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200454 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • cytomegalovirus infection
    464
  • neutropenia
    359
  • leukopenia
    257
  • drug resistance
    249
  • cytomegalovirus viraemia
    204
  • pathogen resistance
    151
4 more recorded rows
  • pancytopenia
    149
  • thrombocytopenia
    137
  • anaemia
    121
  • acute kidney injury
    98

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Valganciclovir's label not list?


acute kidney injury, anaemia and cytomegalovirus infection and 7 more reported for Valganciclovir, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200454 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 4db6dd63-e56b-45a4-86b2-ee125a1854a0

Show the evidence
  • acute kidney injury
    count not stated
  • anaemia
    count not stated
  • cytomegalovirus infection
    count not stated
  • cytomegalovirus viraemia
    count not stated
  • drug resistance
    count not stated
  • leukopenia
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • neutropenia
    count not stated
  • pancytopenia
    count not stated
  • pathogen resistance
    count not stated
  • thrombocytopenia
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200454
PubChem CID
135413534
CAS number
175865-59-5
RxCUI
283815
InChIKey
WPVFJKSGQUFQAP-GKAPJAKFSA-N
Also called
VALGANCICLOVIR HYDROCHLORIDE, ganciclovir, vgc, vgcv, GANCICLOVIR VALINATE HYDROCHLORIDE, VALGANCICLOVIR HCL [VANDF], VALGANCICLOVIR HYDROCHLORIDE [JAN], VALGANCICLOVIR HYDROCHLORIDE [MART.]
Development code
NSC-760349, RO-107-9070/194, RO107-9070/194, RS-079070-194, RS-79070-194
Trade name
Valcyte
Salt form
Valganciclovir hcl, Valganciclovir Hydrochloride For Oral, VALGANCICLOVIR HYDROCHLORIDE POWDER,, Valganciclovir Hydrochloride / Valcyte / Valganciclovir Hydrochloride For Oral
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.