Skip to content

Thiamine Ion

  • Nutrient
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Thiamine Ion does in the body

Thiamine hydrochloride injection is effective for the treatment of thiamine deficiency or beriberi whether of the dry (major symptoms related to the nervous system) or wet (major symptoms related to the cardiovascular system) variety.

From the FDA-approved label: The water soluble vitamins are widely distributed in both plants and animals. They are absorbed in man by both diffusion and active transport mechanisms. These vitamins are structurally diverse (derivatives of sugar, pyridine, purines, pyrimidine, organic acid complexes and nucleotide complex) and act as coenzymes, as oxidation-reduction agents, possibly as mitochondrial agents. Metabolism is rapid, and the excess is excreted in the urine. Thiamine is distributed in all tissues. The highest concentrations occur in liver, brain, kidney and heart. When thiamine intake is greatly in excess of need, tissue stores increase two to three times.

Why people take it. Thiamine hydrochloride injection is effective for the treatment of thiamine deficiency or beriberi whether of the dry (major symptoms related to the nervous system) or wet (major symptoms related to the cardiovascular system) variety.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Not usually supervised: sold as a supplement or food ingredient where recorded. That is a legal category, not a safety judgement.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · X66NSO3N35 · read 2026-08-29

  • The supplement label database classes it as vitamin, under the name Thiamine (Vitamin B1).

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 126 · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 178 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Infant Mortality Through 6 mo of Age

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00860470
How many people
44567
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Anemia status

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03287882
How many people
25447
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Perinatal mortality, i.e., the number of stillbirths (fetal deaths of 28 weeks or more of gestation) and the number of deaths within the first 0-6 days of life per 1000 births (live births and stillbirths)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00133744
How many people
18962
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Neonatal pulse oximetry oxygen saturation measured by pulse oximetry

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02537392
How many people
7315
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Product sales and use (coverage)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01088958
How many people
7200
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Birth Size

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01665378
How many people
5011
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • & USAGE Thiamine hydrochloride injection is effective for the treatment of thiamine deficiency or beriberi whether of the dry (major symptoms related to the nervous system) or wet (major symptoms related to the cardiovascular system) variety.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Usage in Pregnancy Studies in pregnant women have not shown that thiamine hydrochloride increases the risk of fetal abnormalities if administered during pregnancy.”

    US prescribing information · 0f38c4ba-cebf-49f4-b0a6-8a5d3ebf618c · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “It is not known whether this drug is excreted in human milk.”

    US prescribing information · 0f38c4ba-cebf-49f4-b0a6-8a5d3ebf618c · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Not usually supervised: sold as a supplement or food ingredient where recorded. That is a legal category, not a safety judgement.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

The identity record classes it as a supplement ingredient; no medicines register records an approval.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as injectable, for solution, solution, tablet, given by the injection, intravenous, oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 103 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 31 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0642-0207 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, capsule, liquid filled, injection, injection, solution, liquid and pellet, taken intramuscular, intravenous, oral and sublingual.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0642-0207 · read 2026-08-29

  • 90 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 21 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · b8e08798-d8bb-4616-996b-a2c07a5d730a · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human otc drug and human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · b8e08798-d8bb-4616-996b-a2c07a5d730a · read 2026-08-29

  • Thiamine Hydrochloride is intramuscular at HOW SUPPLIED Thiamine Hydrochloride Injection, USP is supplied as follows: 200 mg per 2 mL (100 mg per mL) multiple dose vials packed in cartons containing 25 vials per carton., recorded as fda label in effect 2025-09-30 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 0f38c4ba-cebf-49f4-b0a6-8a5d3ebf618c · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 2.16239 USD per one millilitre, across 14 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

A single-person plan is offered only as a structure for observing yourself. It never calculates an amount to take, and it cannot prove cause.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Thiamine Ion studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Thiamine Ion are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
X66NSO3N35
CAS registry number
59-43-8
PubChem compound
6042
ChEMBL
CHEMBL1547
ChEBI
18385
WHO international nonproprietary name list entry
432
RxNorm concept
10454
EMA substance identifier
100000092097
European Chemicals Agency number
200-425-3
DrugBank
DB00152

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    The identity record classes it as a supplement ingredient; no medicines register records an approval.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 37 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA006071, approved 19470728 to ROCHE.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA006071 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA006071 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19840815.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0642-0207 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (8)

On the Thiamine Ion label: indicated for what?


"INDICATIONS Thiamine hydrochloride injection is effective for the treatment of thiamine deficiency or beriberi whether of the dry (major symptoms related to the nervous system) or wet (major symptoms related to the cardiovascular system) variety. Thiamine hydrochloride injection should be used where rapid restoration…": indications and usage on Thiamine Ion's label. DailyMed label · 0f38c4ba-cebf-49f4-b0a6-8a5d3ebf618c · 2025-09-30

63 registered trials of Thiamine Ion — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
48 of 63

63 registered studies of Thiamine Ion: 19 phase2, 17 na, 11 phase3, 8 phase4, 6 phase1, 4 early phase1, 1 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

95 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    19
  • na
    17
  • phase3
    11
  • phase4
    8
  • phase1
    6
  • early phase1
    4
8 more recorded rows
  • na or unstated
    1
  • completed
    41
  • unknown
    7
  • recruiting
    5
  • terminated
    5
  • withdrawn
    3
  • enrolling by invitation
    1
  • not yet recruiting
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

7 of Thiamine Ion's trials stopped: safety, futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment?


safety (3), futility/efficacy (1) and accrual/recruitment (3): Thiamine Ion's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"inadequate recruitment"; 7 of 63 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00279266
    withdrawn; "inadequate recruitment"
  • NCT02974257
    terminated; "Study stopped early after consultation with DSMB"
  • NCT03122678
    withdrawn; "No participant enrolled"
  • NCT03335124
    terminated; "Due to insufficient recruitment"
  • NCT03450707
    terminated; "DSMB recommendation based on differing mortality in a subgroup analysis"
  • NCT03828929
    terminated; "Recent similar studies have been completed and published showing no benefit to the intervention."
  • 1 further recorded trial NCT05192213
    terminated; "In order to preserve the safety of the patients and prevent any harm from occurring, we opted to discontinue the study based on previous results (LOVIT study) published at 2022. Were recruited 71 than 1090 participants."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Thiamine Ion used Thiamin 1.2 mg — over how long?


Human studies of Thiamine Ion used "Thiamin 1.2 mg". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

8 recorded entries; human; IV; also "thiamine hydrochloride 100 mg", "Thiamine 500 mg IV", "200mg IV thiamine in 50mL 0.9% saline"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00400387
    Thiamin 1.2 mg
  • NCT01864057
    thiamine hydrochloride 100 mg
  • NCT03450707
    IV; Thiamine 500 mg IV
  • NCT03717896
    IV; 200mg IV thiamine in 50mL 0.9% saline
  • NCT04641104
    Thiamine 500 MG
  • NCT05873881
    Thiamine Mononitrate 300 mg
2 more recorded rows
  • human NCT05971680
    VITAMIN B1 500mg
  • human NCT05971680
    VITAMIN B1 500mg @Biovea

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 25 trials of Thiamine Ion posted no result?


Posted no result
25 of 25 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00770107, NCT01433952, NCT01115504, NCT01864057, NCT00400387 and NCT00959075, and 19 more
Completion dates
oldest 2009-12; newest 2024-08-29
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00770107
    2009-12
  • NCT01433952
    2010-07
  • NCT01115504
    2010-12
  • NCT01864057
    2012-09
  • NCT00400387
    2013-04
  • NCT00959075
    2015-11
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01381354
    2016-05
  • NCT02767245
    2016-07
  • NCT04977557
    2019-06-30
  • NCT04137276
    2019-07-31
  • NCT02788552
    2019-08-01
  • NCT03333278
    2019-10-06
  • NCT06152458
    2020-03-01
  • NCT03756220
    2020-04-14
  • NCT03432572
    2020-06-30
  • NCT03634735
    2020-10-27
  • NCT03616288
    2021-01-28
  • NCT03228030
    2021-04-30
  • NCT07786350
    2021-05-01
  • NCT03872011
    2021-09-20

At the median, Thiamine Ion's trials enrolled 66 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
66
Largest enrolment
2500
Registered trials counted
63

What do 776 spontaneous reports say about Thiamine Ion — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Thiamine Ion appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 776 reaction mentions were counted: gastrooesophageal reflux disease 154; somnolence 151; pneumonia aspiration 146; coma 146. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200941 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • gastrooesophageal reflux disease
    154
  • somnolence
    151
  • pneumonia aspiration
    146
  • coma
    146
  • pruritus
    38
  • drug intolerance
    37
4 more recorded rows
  • treatment failure
    29
  • foetal growth restriction
    27
  • delirium
    26
  • toxic epidermal necrolysis
    22

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Thiamine Ion's label not list?


coma, delirium and drug intolerance and 7 more reported for Thiamine Ion, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200941 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 0f38c4ba-cebf-49f4-b0a6-8a5d3ebf618c

Show the evidence
  • coma
    count not stated
  • delirium
    count not stated
  • drug intolerance
    count not stated
  • foetal growth restriction
    count not stated
  • gastrooesophageal reflux disease
    count not stated
  • pneumonia aspiration
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • pruritus
    count not stated
  • somnolence
    count not stated
  • toxic epidermal necrolysis
    count not stated
  • treatment failure
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200941
PubChem CID
6202
CAS number
67-03-8
RxCUI
235355
InChIKey
JZRWCGZRTZMZEH-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
Thiamine
Also called
THIAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE, Betamin, Clotiamina, Eskaphen, Thiamini hydrochloridum, Thiaminum hydrochloricum, vitamin b1, Aneurine, Apatate drape, Beivon, Bethiamin, Oryzanin
Trade name
Benerva, Betalin s, Bevitine, Bevitol, Tyvera, Vit b1, Vit b1 thiamin, Thiamine component of vitaped, Virexa, Multivitamin with Fluoride, Flotrex, Prenatal Plus Vitamins
Development code
FEMA NO. 3322, NSC-36226
Salt form
Thiamine chloride hydrochloride, Thiamine hcl, Thymine hydrochloride, Thiamine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution, Thiamine Hydrochloride / Betalin S / Thiamine Hydrochloride Injection, Solution
Component
Thiamine
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.