Skip to content

Sumatriptan

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Sumatriptan does in the body

Sumatriptan succinate tablets are indicated for the acute treatment of migraine with or without aura in adults.

From the FDA-approved label: Sumatriptan is an agonist for a vascular 5-hydroxytryptamine 1 receptor subtype (probably a member of the 5-HT 1D family) having only a weak affinity for 5-HT 1A , 5-HT 5A , and 5-HT 7 receptors and no significant affinity (as measured using standard radioligand binding assays) or pharmacological activity at 5-HT 2 , 5-HT 3 , or 5-HT 4 receptor subtypes or at alpha 1- , alpha 2- , or beta-adrenergic; dopamine 1 ; dopamine 2 ; muscarinic; or benzodiazepine receptors. The vascular 5-HT 1 receptor subtype that sumatriptan activates is present on cranial arteries in both dog and primate, on the human basilar artery, and in the vasculature of human dura mater and mediates vasoconstriction.

Why people take it. Sumatriptan succinate tablets are indicated for the acute treatment of migraine with or without aura in adults.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C14H21N3O2S·C4H6O4, weighing 413.5.

    US prescribing information · 9485cc30-15e8-4b53-876d-db317145474b · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 157 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

survival free of discontinuation or alternative prevention drug (migraine trial)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02670161
How many people
3300
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Trexima will be evaluated for efficacy as an acute treatment for migraine based on its superiority over placebo at 2 hours for: a) pain relief (no or mild pain), b) incidence of photophobia, c) incidence of phonophobia and d) incidence of nausea.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00433732
How many people
1400
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Pain Relief at 2 Hours After Dose

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00898677
How many people
1268
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Trexima will be evaluated for efficacy as an acute treatment for migraine based on its superiority over placebo at 2 hours for: a) pain relief (no or mild pain), b) incidence of photophobia, c) incidence of phonophobia and d) incidence of nausea.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00434083
How many people
1200
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Headache response at 1 hour after the first dose for the first attack.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01986270
How many people
1141
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of Pain Free Participants (Pain Freedom) at 2 Hours Post-dose

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01430442
How many people
1026
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Sumatriptan injection is indicated in adults for (1) the acute treatment of migraine, with or without aura, and (2) the acute treatment of cluster headache. Limitations of Use: Use only if a clear diagnosis of migraine or cluster headache has been established.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 9485cc30-15e8-4b53-876d-db317145474b · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical trials of sumatriptan succinate tablets did not include sufficient numbers of patients aged 65 and older to determine whether they respond differently from younger patients.”

    US prescribing information · 9485cc30-15e8-4b53-876d-db317145474b · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Data from a prospective pregnancy exposure registry and epidemiological studies of pregnant women have not detected an increased frequency of birth defects or a consistent pattern of birth defects among women exposed to sumatriptan compared with the general population (see Data).”

    US prescribing information · 9485cc30-15e8-4b53-876d-db317145474b · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary Sumatriptan is excreted in human milk following subcutaneous administration (see Data).”

    US prescribing information · 9485cc30-15e8-4b53-876d-db317145474b · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “The maximum single dose in patients with mild to moderate hepatic impairment should not exceed 50 mg.”

    US prescribing information · 9485cc30-15e8-4b53-876d-db317145474b · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S3, S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, injectable, spray, system, given by the oral, subcutaneous, nasal route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 162 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 157 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72189-596 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as injection, injection, solution, powder, solution, spray and tablet, taken nasal, oral and subcutaneous.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72189-596 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is serotonin 1b receptor agonists [moa], serotonin 1d receptor agonists [moa] and serotonin-1b and serotonin-1d receptor agonist [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72189-596 · read 2026-08-29

  • 93 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 88 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 9485cc30-15e8-4b53-876d-db317145474b · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 9485cc30-15e8-4b53-876d-db317145474b · read 2026-08-29

  • sumatriptan succinate is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Sumatriptan succinate tablets, 25 mg are white, triangular-shaped, film-coated tablets debossed with "S" on one side and "I" on the other side., recorded as fda label in effect 2026-06-25 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 9485cc30-15e8-4b53-876d-db317145474b · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 15–61.73985 USD per one millilitre, across 14 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

  • Recorded price in US: 16.89055–18.11274 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 7 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Sumatriptan studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Sumatriptan are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Read from sources, not yet reviewed

No traced study record is stored for this substance.

Built from stored sources by fixed rules. No reviewer has signed it off.

How many documents were read

  • 87 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 50 of them state the same tMax, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 4 of them state the same proteinBinding, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S3, S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 59 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA020080, approved 19921228 to GLAXOSMITHKLINE.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA020080 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued, none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA020080 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19970123.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72189-596 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Sumatriptan label: indicated for what?


"Sumatriptan injection is indicated in adults for (1) the acute treatment of migraine, with or without aura, and (2) the acute treatment of cluster headache. Limitations of Use: Use only if a clear diagnosis of migraine or cluster headache has been established.": indications and usage on Sumatriptan's label. DailyMed label · 865865ca-01df-4815-aa7e-2dfadc2c539d · 2026-07-23

283 registered trials of Sumatriptan — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
180 of 283

283 registered studies of Sumatriptan: 72 phase1, 62 phase4, 56 phase3, 55 phase2, 37 na, 6 na or unstated, 5 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

483 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase1
    72
  • phase4
    62
  • phase3
    56
  • phase2
    55
  • na
    37
  • na or unstated
    6
9 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    5
  • completed
    225
  • terminated
    18
  • unknown
    15
  • withdrawn
    8
  • recruiting
    7
  • not yet recruiting
    6
  • active not recruiting
    2
  • enrolling by invitation
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

23 of Sumatriptan's trials stopped: safety, futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


safety (1), futility/efficacy (3), accrual/recruitment (8), funding/business (2) and other (9): Sumatriptan's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Study never initiated."; 23 of 283 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00410995
    terminated; "Study never initiated."
  • NCT00418782
    terminated; "Results of interim analysis indicate lack of efficacy when compared to placebo."
  • NCT00586365
    withdrawn; "Too difficult to satisfy all the inclusion criteria."
  • NCT00780325
    terminated; "A total of three parts were planned for this study. The sponsor funded only Part 1, so that neither Part 2 nor Part 3 of this study has been conducted."
  • NCT00804973
    terminated; "Due to efficacy results of interim analysis"
  • NCT00945178
    terminated; "The study was terminated due to results in another study (NCT00878501)."
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01053507
    terminated; "Enrollment rate was slower than anticipated."
  • NCT01147458
    terminated; "See termination reason in detailed description."
  • NCT01442428
    withdrawn; "2011 Thailand flooding led to loss of GMP pharmacy, project delays, and further regulatory challenges."
  • NCT01612975
    terminated; "Recruitment futile"
  • NCT01726920
    withdrawn; "Due to budget limitations, the company decided to withdraw this study."
  • NCT01982799
    withdrawn; "Not enough funding"
  • NCT02108548
    terminated; "Gastrointestinal safety findings"
  • NCT02502006
    terminated; "Funding was not available to complete enrollment"
  • NCT02689024
    terminated; "recruitment too slow; intervention was standard care in patients who were not included; acute care pathways changed due to policy regarding hip fracture patients"
  • NCT02932488
    terminated; "Pilot study with sumatriptan found no significant changes in the primary outcome parameter (change in CBF)"
  • NCT03338920
    terminated; "eDiary data collected not sufficient to utilize in the analysis of protocol endpoints"
  • NCT03699293
    terminated; "Our group moved from Inova Heart and Vascular institute to Sinai Hospital with Platelet and Thrombosis, LLC taking over sponsorship. Study was then IRB approved at Sinai on March, 2020 but closed prior to any additional enrolment due to…"
  • NCT03949673
    terminated; "Lack of enrollment"
  • NCT04015596
    terminated; "Low recruitment"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Sumatriptan used Naproxen 500 mg tablets (PN 200 minus omeprazole) — over how long?


studies of Sumatriptan used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

20 recorded entries; human; also "Naproxen 500 mg tablets (PN 200 minus omeprazole)", "Sumatriptan 100 mg", "Sumatriptan Succinate Tablets 100 mg"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00367211
    Naproxen 500 mg tablets (PN 200 minus omeprazole)
  • NCT00449787
    Sumatriptan 100 mg
  • NCT00648466
    Sumatriptan Succinate Tablets 100 mg
  • NCT00648466
    Imitrex® Tablets 100 mg
  • NCT00751556
    Naproxen Sodium 660mg
  • NCT00803764
    Naproxen Tablets, 500 mg
14 more recorded rows
  • human NCT00837044
    Sumatriptan succinate 85mg/Naproxen Sodium 500mg
  • human NCT00872274
    sumatriptan 100mg
  • human NCT00875784
    IMITREX® (4mg)
  • human NCT00875784
    IMITREX® (6mg)
  • human NCT00875784
    IMITREX Tablet 100mg
  • human NCT00893737
    sumatriptan succinate 85 mg/naproxen sodium 500 mg (Treximet)
  • human NCT00963937
    Sumatriptan 25 mg
  • human NCT00963937
    Sumatriptan 50 mg
  • human NCT01118273
    Naproxen Sodium 440 mg (BAYH6689) / DPH 50mg
  • human NCT01118273
    Naproxen Sodium 440 mg (BAYH6689)
  • human NCT01118273
    Naproxen Sodium 220 mg (BAYH6689) / DPH 50mg
  • human NCT01118273
    Naproxen Sodium 220 mg (BAYH6689)
  • human NCT01280591
    Naproxen sodium 440 mg / DPH 50 mg (BAY98-7111)
  • human NCT01280591
    Naproxen sodium 220 mg / DPH 50 mg (BAY98-7111)

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Sumatriptan's half-life is 15 ± 2 minutes — which schedules were studied?


15 ± 2 minutes, the half-life Sumatriptan's label states: "Following a 6 mg subcutaneous injection into the deltoid area of the arm in 9 males (mean age: 33 years, mean weight: 77 kg) the volume of distribution central compartment of sumatriptan was 50 ± 8 liters and the distribution half-life was 15 ± 2 minutes." DailyMed label · 865865ca-01df-4815-aa7e-2dfadc2c539d · 2026-07-23

tmax 12 minutes; bioavailability 97 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    15 ± 2 minutes; Following a 6 mg subcutaneous injection into the deltoid area of the arm in 9 males (mean age: 33 years, mean weight: 77 kg) the volume of distribution central compartment of sumatriptan was 50 ± 8 liters and the distribution half-life was 15 ± 2 minutes.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    12 minutes; After a single 6 mg subcutaneous manual injection into the deltoid area of the arm in 18 healthy males (age: 24 ± 6 years, weight: 70 kg), the maximum serum concentration (C max ) of sumatriptan was (mean ± standard deviation) 74 ± 15 ng/mL and the time to peak concentration (T max ) was 12 minutes after injection (range: 5 to 20 minutes).
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    97 %; Absorption The bioavailability of sumatriptan via subcutaneous site injection to 18 healthy male subjects was 97% ± 16% of that obtained following intravenous injection.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism In vitro studies with human microsomes suggest that sumatriptan is metabolized by MAO, predominantly the A isoenzyme.

recorded 2026-07-23 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 122 trials of Sumatriptan posted no result?


Posted no result
122 of 122 completed trials
Registrations
NCT01986088, NCT01986270, NCT00004845, NCT00092729, NCT00240773 and NCT00648258, and 116 more
Completion dates
oldest 1998-01; newest 2024-08-20
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01986088
    1998-01
  • NCT01986270
    1998-01
  • NCT00004845
    2001-12
  • NCT00092729
    2002-12-06
  • NCT00240773
    2003-06
  • NCT00648258
    2004-04
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00652808
    2004-09
  • NCT00648466
    2004-12
  • NCT00650247
    2004-12
  • NCT00434083
    2005-01
  • NCT00643799
    2005-01
  • NCT00650455
    2005-01
  • NCT00433732
    2005-04
  • NCT00652925
    2005-04
  • NCT00137033
    2005-07
  • NCT01269281
    2005-07
  • NCT01376141
    2005-11
  • NCT01052129
    2006-05
  • NCT00240617
    2006-06
  • NCT00240630
    2006-06

At the median, Sumatriptan's trials enrolled 86 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
86
Largest enrolment
24081
Registered trials counted
278

What do 5739 spontaneous reports say about Sumatriptan — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Sumatriptan appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 5739 reaction mentions were counted: drug hypersensitivity 1380; pain 925; drug intolerance 538; acute kidney injury 456. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1201150 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug hypersensitivity
    1380
  • pain
    925
  • drug intolerance
    538
  • acute kidney injury
    456
  • synovitis
    456
  • gastrointestinal haemorrhage
    449
4 more recorded rows
  • rheumatoid arthritis
    419
  • arthropathy
    388
  • abdominal discomfort
    367
  • migraine
    361

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Sumatriptan's label not list?


abdominal discomfort, acute kidney injury and arthropathy and 7 more reported for Sumatriptan, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1201150 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 865865ca-01df-4815-aa7e-2dfadc2c539d

Show the evidence
  • abdominal discomfort
    count not stated
  • acute kidney injury
    count not stated
  • arthropathy
    count not stated
  • drug hypersensitivity
    count not stated
  • drug intolerance
    count not stated
  • gastrointestinal haemorrhage
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • migraine
    count not stated
  • pain
    count not stated
  • rheumatoid arthritis
    count not stated
  • synovitis
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1201150
PubChem CID
59772
CAS number
103628-48-4
RxCUI
67158
InChIKey
KQKPFRSPSRPDEB-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Trade name
Imigran, Alsuma, Imigran 50, Imigran radis, Imigran recovery, Imigran subject, Imitrex, Imitrex statdose, Migraitan, Migraleve ultra, Onzetra xsail, Sumavel dosepro
Also called
SUMATRIPTAN SUCCINATE, Sumatriptan galpharm, Treximet, np101, trexima, Dfn-11, avp-825, dfn-02, optinose sumatriptan, sumart, sumatriptan iontophoretic transdermal patch, 3-[2-(Dimethylamino)ethyl]-N-methy-1H-indole-5-methanesulfonamide
Development code
GR 43175C, NSC-760362, N02CC01
Salt form
Sumatriptan succinate component of treximet, naproxen sodium, sumatriptan succinate tablets 100 mg, sumatriptan/naproxen sodium
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.