Skip to content

Selegiline

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Selegiline does in the body

EMSAM (selegiline transdermal system) is a monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) indicated for the treatment of adults with major depressive disorder (MDD) [see Clinical Studies (14) ] .

From the FDA-approved label: Selegiline is an irreversible inhibitor of monoamine oxidase (MAO), which regulates the metabolic degradation of catecholamines and serotonin in the central nervous system and peripheral tissues. Inhibition of MAO-B activity, by blocking the catabolism of dopamine, may result in increased dopamine levels; however, there is evidence that selegiline may act through other mechanisms to increase dopaminergic activity.

Why people take it. EMSAM (selegiline transdermal system) is a monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) indicated for the treatment of adults with major depressive disorder (MDD) [see Clinical Studies (14) ] .

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 2K1V7GP655 · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C13H17N, weighing 187.30.

    US prescribing information · b891bd9f-fdb8-4862-89c5-ecdd700398a3 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 122 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

CDRS-R Total Score (Child) (mITT w/LOCF Population) Week 12

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00531947
How many people
308
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Safety, Tolerability and Efficacy of the Transdermal System in Elderly Subjects With Major Depression

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00285766
How many people
300
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Adhesion characteristics and dermal tolerability (irritation) of EMSAM in two populations consisting of non-elderly (18 - 64 years) and elderly (65 years and older) healthy volunteers.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00531596
How many people
300
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Weekly mean proportion of cocaine non-use days

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00032929
How many people
269
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Quit Rate

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00439413
How many people
246
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Expired-air Carbon Monoxide Confirmed Smoking Abstinence

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01330030
How many people
243
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • & USAGE Selegiline hydrochloride capsules, USP are indicated as an adjunct in the management of Parkinsonian patients being treated with levodopa/carbidopa who exhibit deterioration in the quality of their response to this therapy. There is no evidence from controlled studies that selegiline has any beneficial effect in the absence of concurrent levodopa therapy.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Efficacy has not been established in pediatric patients ages 12 to 17 years with MDD and EMSAM is not recommended for use in this age range [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] .”

    US prescribing information · b891bd9f-fdb8-4862-89c5-ecdd700398a3 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “The recommended dose of EMSAM for elderly patients (65 years and older) is 6 mg per 24 hours daily.”

    US prescribing information · b891bd9f-fdb8-4862-89c5-ecdd700398a3 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary The available data on EMSAM use in pregnant women are not sufficient to inform a drug-associated risk of adverse pregnancy-related outcomes.”

    US prescribing information · b891bd9f-fdb8-4862-89c5-ecdd700398a3 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There is no information regarding the presence of selegiline in human milk, or on its effects on milk production or the breastfed infant.”

    US prescribing information · b891bd9f-fdb8-4862-89c5-ecdd700398a3 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, capsule, film, extended release, system, given by the oral, transdermal route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 28 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 28 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 73141-006 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, patch, powder, tablet and tablet, orally disintegrating, taken oral and transdermal.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 73141-006 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is monoamine oxidase inhibitor [epc], monoamine oxidase inhibitors [moa] and monoamine oxidase type b inhibitor [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 73141-006 · read 2026-08-29

  • 15 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 15 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 380d7717-2a79-42f3-a712-efe5e7696ba0 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 380d7717-2a79-42f3-a712-efe5e7696ba0 · read 2026-08-29

  • EMSAM is transdermal at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS EMSAM (selegiline transdermal system) is supplied as 6 mg per 24 hours (20 mg per 20 cm 2 ), 9 mg per 24 hours (30 mg per 30 cm 2 ) and 12 mg per 24 hours (40 mg per 40 cm 2 ) transdermal sy…, recorded as fda label in effect 2020-05-15 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · b891bd9f-fdb8-4862-89c5-ecdd700398a3 · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 0.7307–0.79255 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 6 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Selegiline studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Selegiline are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
2K1V7GP655
RxNorm concept
865206

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 18 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA019334, approved 19890605 to QUAGEN.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA019334 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA019334 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19890606.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 73141-006 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Selegiline label: indicated for what?


"ZELAPAR is indicated as an adjunct in the management of patients with Parkinson’s disease being treated with levodopa/carbidopa who exhibit deterioration in the quality of their response to this therapy. There is no evidence from controlled studies that ZELAPAR has any beneficial effect in the absence of concurrent…": indications and usage on Selegiline's label. DailyMed label · 380d7717-2a79-42f3-a712-efe5e7696ba0 · 2021-06-01

24 registered trials of Selegiline — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
19 of 24

24 registered studies of Selegiline: 10 phase2, 6 phase4, 3 phase1, 2 na, 2 phase3, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

230 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    10
  • phase4
    6
  • phase1
    3
  • na
    2
  • phase3
    2
  • early phase1
    1
3 more recorded rows
  • completed
    19
  • unknown
    4
  • terminated
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Why did Selegiline's trial NCT00535262 stop?


1 recorded trial of Selegiline stopped. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Current lack of medication support."; 1 of 24 registered studies

Show the evidence
  • Trial NCT00535262
    terminated; "Current lack of medication support."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Selegiline used EMSAM (Selegiline Transdermal System) 6mg — over how long?


studies of Selegiline used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

3 recorded entries; human; also "EMSAM (Selegiline Transdermal System) 6mg", "EMSAM (Selegiline Transdermal System) 12mg", "Selegiline Hydrochloride 10 MG"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00532116
    EMSAM (Selegiline Transdermal System) 6mg
  • NCT00532116
    EMSAM (Selegiline Transdermal System) 12mg
  • NCT04130087
    Selegiline Hydrochloride 10 MG

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Selegiline's half-life is 1.3 hours — which schedules were studied?


1.3 hours, the half-life Selegiline's label states: "Metabolism Following a single dose, the median elimination half-life of selegiline was 1.3 hours at the 1.25 mg dose." DailyMed label · 380d7717-2a79-42f3-a712-efe5e7696ba0 · 2021-06-01

tmax 10-15 minutes.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    1.3 hours; Metabolism Following a single dose, the median elimination half-life of selegiline was 1.3 hours at the 1.25 mg dose.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    10-15 minutes; Selegiline is more rapidly absorbed from the 1.25 or 2.5 mg dose of ZELAPAR (T max range: 10-15 minutes) than from the swallowed 5 mg selegiline tablet (T max range: 40-90 minutes).
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    The pre-gastric absorption from ZELAPAR and the avoidance of first-pass metabolism results in higher concentrations of selegiline and lower concentrations of the metabolites compared to the 5 mg swallowed selegiline tablet.

recorded 2021-06-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 12 trials of Selegiline posted no result?


Posted no result
12 of 12 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00000188, NCT00000336, NCT00000201, NCT00027040, NCT00013585 and NCT00218517, and 6 more
Completion dates
oldest 1995-10; newest 2021-10-14
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00000188
    1995-10
  • NCT00000336
    1996-03
  • NCT00000201
    2001-12
  • NCT00027040
    2005-06
  • NCT00013585
    2005-12
  • NCT00218517
    2007-07
6 further recorded trials
  • NCT00532116
    2007-08
  • NCT00456976
    2007-09
  • NCT01495195
    2013-05
  • NCT01912391
    2015-03
  • NCT04870372
    2021-04-30
  • NCT05938517
    2021-10-14

At the median, Selegiline's trials enrolled 40 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
40
Largest enrolment
308
Registered trials counted
24

What do 118 spontaneous reports say about Selegiline — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Selegiline appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 118 reaction mentions were counted: hallucination, visual 19; drug interaction 14; insomnia 14; dyskinesia 12. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200904 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • hallucination, visual
    19
  • drug interaction
    14
  • insomnia
    14
  • dyskinesia
    12
  • anxiety
    11
  • condition aggravated
    10
4 more recorded rows
  • hallucination
    10
  • hypersomnia
    10
  • feeling abnormal
    9
  • parkinson's disease psychosis
    9

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Selegiline's label not list?


anxiety, condition aggravated and drug interaction and 7 more reported for Selegiline, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200904 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 380d7717-2a79-42f3-a712-efe5e7696ba0

Show the evidence
  • anxiety
    count not stated
  • condition aggravated
    count not stated
  • drug interaction
    count not stated
  • dyskinesia
    count not stated
  • feeling abnormal
    count not stated
  • hallucination
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • hallucination, visual
    count not stated
  • hypersomnia
    count not stated
  • insomnia
    count not stated
  • parkinson's disease psychosis
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Selegiline and CYP3A4, CYP2B6 and CYP1A2: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4, CYP2B6 and CYP1A2 appear in Selegiline's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 380d7717-2a79-42f3-a712-efe5e7696ba0 · 2021-06-01

CYP1A2, CYP2A6, CYP2B6, CYP3A, CYP3A4, CYP3A4; 6 shared nodes; drug_interactions, pharmacokinetics, clinical_pharmacology

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    7.7 Drugs that Induce CYP450 Adequate studies have not been done investigating the effect of CYP3A4 inducers on selegiline.
  • drug_interactions
    Drugs that induce CYP3A4 (e.g., phenytoin, carbamazepine, nafcillin, phenobarbital, and rifampin) should be used with caution.
  • pharmacokinetics
    In vitro metabolism studies indicate that CYP2B6 and CYP3A4 are involved in the metabolism of selegiline.
  • pharmacokinetics
    CYP2A6 may play a minor role in the metabolism.
  • pharmacokinetics
    Effect of CYP3A inhibitor itraconazole: Itraconazole (200 mg once daily) did not affect the pharmacokinetics of selegiline (single 10 mg oral, swallowed dose).
  • pharmacokinetics
    Although adequate studies to investigate the effect of CYP3A4-inducers on selegiline have not been performed, drugs that induce CYP3A4 (e.g., phenytoin, carbamazepine, nafcillin, phenobarbital, and rifampin) should be used with caution.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement pharmacokinetics
    Selegiline and two of its metabolites, methamphetamine and desmethylselegiline, have little or no potential to induce CYP1A2 and CYP3A4/5 under clinical conditions.
  • Interaction statement clinical_pharmacology
    In vitro metabolism studies indicate that CYP2B6 and CYP3A4 are involved in the metabolism of selegiline.
  • CYP1A2
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole
  • CYP2A6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Rasagiline, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Tivozanib, Metaxalone, Trametinib, Fingolimod
  • CYP2B6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Sofpironium, Bupropion, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine
  • CYP3A
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2021-06-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200904
PubChem CID
26758
CAS number
14611-52-0
RxCUI
203137
InChIKey
MEZLKOACVSPNER-GFCCVEGCSA-N
Also called
SELEGILINE HYDROCHLORIDE, L-deprenyl, L-selegiline, Selegilina, selegiline tds, selegiline transdermal system, sts, (-)-(N)-METHYL-N-((1R)-1-METHYL-2-PHENYLETHYL)PROP-2-YN-1-AMINE, BENZENEETHANAMINE, N,.ALPHA.-METHYL-N-2-PROPYNYL-, (.ALPHA.R)-, SELEGILINE [MI], SELEGILINE [ORANGE BOOK], SELEGILINE [USAN]
Trade name
Centrapryl 10, Centrapryl 5, Eldepryl, Ensam, Stilline 10, Stilline 5, Vivapryl, Zelapar, Emsam
Development code
NSC-759259
Salt form
Selegiline hcl, Selegiline Hydrochloride / Emsam / Zelapar / Eldepryl
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.