Skip to content

Rifaximin

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Rifaximin does in the body

Travelers’ diarrhea (TD) caused by noninvasive strains of Escherichia coli

4 )].

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · L36O5T016N · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C43H51N3O11, weighing 785.9.

    US prescribing information · c5e8e2fd-7087-4b78-9181-cc259c0be2f1 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 24 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Repeat Treatment Responders

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01543178
How many people
2583
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of Participants Who Achieved Clinical Cure at Test of Cure (TOC) Visit (Within 24 to 72 Hours From the Time of Last Dose): Per-Protocol (PP) Population

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02498418
How many people
739
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

The primary endpoint in this study is the assessment of safety and tolerability of rifaximin 600 mg QD compared to placebo.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00328380
How many people
660
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Proportion of Subjects Who Had Adequate Relief of Global IBS Symptoms for at Least 2 of the 4 Weeks During the Primary Evaluation Period (ie, Weeks 3 Through 6).

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00724126
How many people
637
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Proportion of Subjects Who Had Adequate Relief of Global IBS Symptoms for at Least 2 of the 4 Weeks During the Primary Evaluation Period (ie, Weeks 3 Through 6).

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00731679
How many people
623
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Incisional surgical site infection (SSI) rate

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04592289
How many people
622
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • To reduce the development of drug-resistant bacteria and maintain the effectiveness of XIFAXAN and other antibacterial drugs, XIFAXAN when used to treat infection should be used only to treat or prevent infections that are proven or strongly suspected to be caused by susceptible bacteria.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of XIFAXAN has not been established in pediatric patients less than 12 years of age with TD or in patients less than 18 years of age for HE and IBS-D.”

    US prescribing information · c5e8e2fd-7087-4b78-9181-cc259c0be2f1 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies with XIFAXAN for TD did not include sufficient numbers of patients aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently than younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · c5e8e2fd-7087-4b78-9181-cc259c0be2f1 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no available data on XIFAXAN use in pregnant women to inform any drug-associated risks.”

    US prescribing information · c5e8e2fd-7087-4b78-9181-cc259c0be2f1 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There is no information regarding the presence of rifaximin in human milk, the effects of rifaximin on the breastfed infant, or the effects of rifaximin on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · c5e8e2fd-7087-4b78-9181-cc259c0be2f1 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “Following administration of XIFAXAN 550 mg twice daily to patients with a history of hepatic encephalopathy, the systemic exposure (i.e., AUCτ) of rifaximin was about 10-, 14-, and 21-fold higher in those patients with mild (Child-Pugh Class A), moderate (Child-Pugh Class B) and severe (Child-Pugh Class C) hepatic impairment, respectively, compared to that in healthy volunteers.”

    US prescribing information · c5e8e2fd-7087-4b78-9181-cc259c0be2f1 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “The pharmacokinetics of rifaximin in patients with impaired renal function has not been studied.”

    US prescribing information · c5e8e2fd-7087-4b78-9181-cc259c0be2f1 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 24 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 24 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 38779-3387 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder, tablet and tablet, coated, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 38779-3387 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is rifamycin antibacterial [epc] and rifamycins [cs].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 38779-3387 · read 2026-08-29

  • 3 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 3 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · c5e8e2fd-7087-4b78-9181-cc259c0be2f1 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · c5e8e2fd-7087-4b78-9181-cc259c0be2f1 · read 2026-08-29

  • XIFAXAN is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS XIFAXAN is a pink-colored biconvex tablet and is available in the following strengths: • 200 mg – a round tablet debossed with “Sx” on one side and plain on the other. • 550 mg – an oval tab…, recorded as fda label in effect 2025-06-25 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · c5e8e2fd-7087-4b78-9181-cc259c0be2f1 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Rifaximin studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Rifaximin are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 3 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 3 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 3 of them state the same tMax, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 3 of them state the same proteinBinding, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
L36O5T016N
RxNorm concept
429662

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 10 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA021361, approved 20040525 to SALIX PHARMS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021361 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021361 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20040525.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 38779-3387 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (11)

On the Rifaximin label: indicated for what?


"To reduce the development of drug-resistant bacteria and maintain the effectiveness of XIFAXAN and other antibacterial drugs, XIFAXAN when used to treat infection should be used only to treat or prevent infections that are proven or strongly suspected to be caused by susceptible bacteria. When culture and…": indications and usage on Rifaximin's label. DailyMed label · 7afafa63-3236-4212-9589-045db6b01c0b · 2025-08-27

158 registered trials of Rifaximin — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
120 of 158

158 registered studies of Rifaximin: 44 phase2, 39 phase3, 37 phase4, 34 na, 12 phase1, 6 early phase1, 3 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

231 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    44
  • phase3
    39
  • phase4
    37
  • na
    34
  • phase1
    12
  • early phase1
    6
8 more recorded rows
  • na or unstated
    3
  • completed
    71
  • unknown
    33
  • terminated
    19
  • recruiting
    17
  • withdrawn
    11
  • not yet recruiting
    6
  • suspended
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

27 of Rifaximin's trials stopped: futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


futility/efficacy (1), accrual/recruitment (11), funding/business (1) and other (14): Rifaximin's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Difficult to recruit participants"; 27 of 158 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00364689
    terminated; "Difficult to recruit participants"
  • NCT00577772
    terminated; "Enrollment Goal Not Met"
  • NCT00875875
    withdrawn; "No study population in Mexico (H1N1). Study withdrawn from IRB consideration."
  • NCT01355575
    terminated; "Primary endpoint data review concluded no further patients required."
  • NCT01842113
    terminated; "PI Initiated study - PI left facility"
  • NCT01846663
    terminated; "Study was determined to be infeasible."
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01846806
    terminated; "PI no longer at NYUMC"
  • NCT01951209
    terminated; "Inadequate enrollment prior to expiration date of unreplaceable blinded investigational product"
  • NCT02011841
    withdrawn; "We failed to recruit patients"
  • NCT02439307
    terminated; "The study was terminated because of the reconversion of the hospital to care for patients with COVID19. For this reason, it was not possible to continue recruiting and monitoring patients for this clinical study."
  • NCT02555293
    terminated; "Prematurely terminated due to organisational reasons"
  • NCT02620007
    terminated; "insufficient recruitment"
  • NCT02738905
    withdrawn; "insufficient support"
  • NCT02836353
    terminated; "Reached scientific goals, further recruitment would not further advance the findings of study."
  • NCT02920242
    terminated; "Terminated due to low enrollment"
  • NCT03115697
    withdrawn; "lack of funds"
  • NCT03462966
    terminated; "recruitment challenges"
  • NCT03575195
    suspended; "Conducting an interim analysis"
  • NCT03818672
    terminated; "Study determined to be infeasible."
  • NCT04154735
    withdrawn; "Discontinued by Investigator"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Rifaximin used Rifaximin 400 mg orally three times a day for 10 days total — over how long?


Human studies of Rifaximin used "Rifaximin 400 mg orally three times a day for 10 days total". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

18 recorded entries; human; orally, tablet; also "Rifaximin SSD 40 mg IR tablet", "Rifaximin SSD 80 mg IR tablet", "Rifaximin SSD 40 mg SER tablet"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT01137955
    orally; Rifaximin 400 mg orally three times a day for 10 days total
  • NCT01904409
    tablet; Rifaximin SSD 40 mg IR tablet
  • NCT01904409
    tablet; Rifaximin SSD 80 mg IR tablet
  • NCT01904409
    tablet; Rifaximin SSD 40 mg SER tablet
  • NCT01904409
    tablet; Rifaximin SSD 80 mg SER tablet
  • NCT02488993
    Prospective Phase Rifaximin-α 550mg
12 more recorded rows
  • human NCT02488993
    Prospective Phase No Rifaximin-α 550mg
  • human NCT03150459
    Rifaximin 400 mg
  • human NCT03219528
    Rifaximin 550 MG
  • human NCT03758144
    Rifaximin 200 MG
  • human NCT04043897
    Rifaximin 550mg
  • human NCT05408910
    Rifaximin 550 MG Oral Tablet [XIFAXAN]
  • human NCT05786859
    Rifaximin 200 mg
  • human NCT06223685
    Rifaximin (Xifaxan) 1200mg/day
  • human NCT06223685
    XIFAXAN® (Rifaximin) 1600mg/day
  • human NCT06538077
    Placebo for Rifaximin 550mg
  • human NCT06852274
    Rifaximin 400 mg Oral Tablet
  • human NCT07285785
    Rifaximin 200 mg Tablet

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Rifaximin's half-life is 30 minutes — which schedules were studied?


30 minutes, the half-life Rifaximin's label states: "Mean (± SD) Pharmacokinetic Parameters of Rifaximin Following XIFAXAN 550 mg Three Times a Day in IBS-D Patients and Healthy Subjects Healthy Subjects IBS-D Patients Single- Dose (Day 1) n=12 Multiple- Dose (Day 14) n=14 Single- Dose (Day 1) n=24 Multiple- Dose (Day 14) n=24 C max (ng/mL) 4.04 (1.51) 2.39 (1.28) 3.49…" DailyMed label · 7afafa63-3236-4212-9589-045db6b01c0b · 2025-08-27

tmax 14 days.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    30 minutes; Mean (± SD) Pharmacokinetic Parameters of Rifaximin Following XIFAXAN 550 mg Three Times a Day in IBS-D Patients and Healthy Subjects Healthy Subjects IBS-D Patients Single- Dose (Day 1) n=12 Multiple- Dose (Day 14) n=14 Single- Dose (Day 1) n=24 Multiple- Dose (Day 14) n=24 C max (ng/mL) 4.04 (1.51) 2.39 (1.28) 3.49 (1.36) 4.22 (2.66) T max (h)ª 0.75 (0.5-2.1) 1.00 (0.5-2.0) 0.78 (0-2) 1.00…
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    14 days; Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Diarrhea In patients with irritable bowel syndrome with diarrhea (IBS-D) treated with XIFAXAN 550 mg three times a day for 14 days, the median Tmax was 1 hour and mean Cmax and AUC were generally comparable with those in healthy subjects.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism In an in vitro study, rifaximin was metabolized mainly by CYP3A4.

recorded 2025-08-27 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Rifaximin could settle lifespan?


NCT05502913 measures Progression-free Survival (PFS), reading out 2028-06-30.

1 open trial; n 80; "Fecal Microbiota Transplantation With Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors in Lung Cancer"

Show the evidence
  • Trial NCT05502913
    "Fecal Microbiota Transplantation With Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors in Lung Cancer"; n 80; "Progression-free Survival (PFS)"; 2028-06-30

Which 37 trials of Rifaximin posted no result?


Posted no result
37 of 37 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00098384, NCT00259155, NCT00269412, NCT00328380, NCT00743912 and NCT00355602, and 31 more
Completion dates
oldest 2003-09; newest 2023-06-10
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00098384
    2003-09
  • NCT00259155
    2007-01
  • NCT00269412
    2008-09
  • NCT00328380
    2008-09
  • NCT00743912
    2008-11
  • NCT00355602
    2008-12
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00967096
    2009-04
  • NCT02068482
    2012-08
  • NCT00979056
    2012-10
  • NCT01069133
    2012-12
  • NCT02009618
    2013-10
  • NCT02009592
    2014-02
  • NCT01695174
    2014-03
  • NCT01946906
    2014-12
  • NCT01643083
    2015-05
  • NCT01904409
    2015-07
  • NCT01769040
    2016-01
  • NCT02158182
    2016-06
  • NCT01670149
    2016-07
  • NCT02019784
    2016-10

At the median, Rifaximin's trials enrolled 60 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
60
Largest enrolment
2583
Registered trials counted
158

What do 812 spontaneous reports say about Rifaximin — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Rifaximin appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 812 reaction mentions were counted: hospitalisation 182; diarrhoea 125; hepatic encephalopathy 82; inability to afford medication 81. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1617 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • hospitalisation
    182
  • diarrhoea
    125
  • hepatic encephalopathy
    82
  • inability to afford medication
    81
  • confusional state
    66
  • condition aggravated
    59
4 more recorded rows
  • abdominal pain
    57
  • ammonia increased
    57
  • therapy interrupted
    57
  • hepatic cirrhosis
    46

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Rifaximin's label not list?


abdominal pain, ammonia increased and condition aggravated and 7 more reported for Rifaximin, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1617 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 7afafa63-3236-4212-9589-045db6b01c0b

Show the evidence
  • abdominal pain
    count not stated
  • ammonia increased
    count not stated
  • condition aggravated
    count not stated
  • confusional state
    count not stated
  • diarrhoea
    count not stated
  • hepatic cirrhosis
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • hepatic encephalopathy
    count not stated
  • hospitalisation
    count not stated
  • inability to afford medication
    count not stated
  • therapy interrupted
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Rifaximin and CYP3A4, P-GP and OATPS: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4, P-GP and OATPS appear in Rifaximin's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 7afafa63-3236-4212-9589-045db6b01c0b · 2025-08-27

CYP3A4, CYP3A4, CYP3A4, P-gp; 4 shared nodes; drug_interactions, pharmacokinetics

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.2 ) 7.1 P-glycoprotein Inhibitors Concomitant administration of cyclosporine, an inhibitor of P-gp and OATPs significantly increased the systemic exposure of rifaximin.
  • drug_interactions
    In patients with hepatic impairment, a potential additive effect of reduced metabolism and concomitant P-gp inhibitors may further increase the systemic exposure to rifaximin.
  • drug_interactions
    Caution should be exercised when concomitant use of XIFAXAN and a P-gp inhibitor such as cyclosporine is needed [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 ), Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].
  • drug_interactions
    7.3 CYP3A4 Substrates An in vitro study has suggested that rifaximin induces CYP3A4 [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] .
  • drug_interactions
    However, in patients with normal liver function, XIFAXAN at the recommended dosing regimen is not expected to induce CYP3A4.
  • drug_interactions
    It is unknown whether rifaximin can have a significant effect on the pharmacokinetics of concomitant CYP3A4 substrates in patients with reduced liver function who have elevated rifaximin concentrations.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism In an in vitro study, rifaximin was metabolized mainly by CYP3A4.
  • Interaction statement pharmacokinetics
    Drug Interaction Studies An in vitro study suggests that rifaximin is a substrate of CYP3A4.

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • P-gp
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Vincristine

recorded 2025-08-27 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1617
PubChem CID
6436173
CAS number
80621-81-4
RxCUI
35619
InChIKey
NZCRJKRKKOLAOJ-XRCRFVBUSA-N
Also called
L-105, Rifamycin l 105, Rifaxidin, Rifaximina, Rifaximine, Xifaxsan, rifaximin dr, rifaximin ssd, rifaximin ssd-40mg ir, rifaximin-eir, (2S,16Z,18E,20S,21S,22R,23R,24R,25S,26R,27S,28E)-25-(ACETYLOXY)-5,6,21,23-TETRAHYDROXY-27-METHOXY-2,4,11,16,20,22,24,26-OCTAMETHYL-2,7-(EPOXYPENTADECA(1,11,13)TRIENIMINO)BENZOFURO(4,5-E)PYRIDO(1,2-A)BENZIMIDAZOLE-1,15(2H)-DIONE, 4-DEOXY-4'-METHYLPYRIDO(1',2'-1,2)IMIDAZO(5,4-C)RIFAMYCIN SV
Trade name
Normix, Rifacol, Targaxan, Xifaxan, Xifaxanta
Development code
NSC-758957
Salt form
extended intestinal release (eir) tablets
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.