Skip to content

Rifabutin

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Rifabutin does in the body

Disseminated Mycobacterium avium complex (MAC) disease

From the FDA-approved label: Rifabutin inhibits DNA-dependent RNA polymerase in susceptible strains of Escherichia coli and Bacillus subtilis but not in mammalian cells. In resistant strains of E. coli , rifabutin, like rifampin, did not inhibit this enzyme. It is not known whether rifabutin inhibits DNA-dependent RNA polymerase in Mycobacterium avium or in M. intracellulare which comprise M. avium complex (MAC).

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 1W306TDA6S · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C46H62N4O11, weighing 847.02.

    US prescribing information · 25a60937-cbbe-4a50-994f-2ce15203f589 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 79 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

The Safety and Effectiveness of Clarithromycin and Rifabutin Used Alone or in Combination to Prevent Mycobacterium Avium Complex (MAC) or Disseminated MAC Disease in HIV-Infected Patients

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00001030
How many people
1100
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

success rate

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02331823
How many people
864
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Rifabutin Therapy for the Prevention of Mycobacterium Avium Complex (MAC) Bacteremia in AIDS Patients With CD4 Counts = or < 200: A Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00002267
How many people
750
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Rifabutin Therapy for the Prevention of Mycobacterium Avium Complex (MAC) Bacteremia in AIDS Patients With CD4 Counts = or < 200: A Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00002032
How many people
750
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

A Randomized Study of Daily and Intermittent Prophylactic Regimens for the Prevention of Disseminated Mycobacterium Avium Complex (MAC) and Fungal Infections in HIV-Infected Patients

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00002122
How many people
720
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of Participants With Eradication of H. Pylori

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03198507
How many people
455
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • & USAGE Rifabutin capsules are indicated for the prevention of disseminated Mycobacterium avium complex (MAC) disease in patients with advanced HIV infection.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness of rifabutin for prophylaxis of MAC in children have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 25a60937-cbbe-4a50-994f-2ce15203f589 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of rifabutin did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · 25a60937-cbbe-4a50-994f-2ce15203f589 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Rifabutin should be used in pregnant women only if the potential benefit justifies the potential risk to the fetus.”

    US prescribing information · 25a60937-cbbe-4a50-994f-2ce15203f589 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “It is not known whether rifabutin is excreted in human milk.”

    US prescribing information · 25a60937-cbbe-4a50-994f-2ce15203f589 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as capsule, capsule, delayed release, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 9 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 8 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 10135-738 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, capsule, delayed release and powder, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 10135-738 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is rifamycin antimycobacterial [epc] and rifamycins [cs].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 10135-738 · read 2026-08-29

  • 8 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 7 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 754d2d7f-f0db-4f89-8fcd-5e2ff52d5030 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 754d2d7f-f0db-4f89-8fcd-5e2ff52d5030 · read 2026-08-29

  • Rifabutin is oral at HOW SUPPLIED Rifabutin capsules, USP are supplied as hard gelatin capsules having an opaque red-brown cap and body, imprinted with MYCOBUTIN/PHARMACIA & UPJOHN in white ink, each containing 150 mg of rifabutin, USP., recorded as fda label in effect 2025-09-30 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 25a60937-cbbe-4a50-994f-2ce15203f589 · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 8.10085 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 3 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Rifabutin studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Rifabutin are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 7 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 7 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
1W306TDA6S
RxNorm concept
198200

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 6 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA050689, approved 19921223 to PFIZER.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA050689 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA050689 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20140407.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 10135-738 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Rifabutin label: indicated for what?


"Rifabutin capsules are indicated for the prevention of disseminated Mycobacterium avium complex (MAC) disease in patients with advanced HIV infection.": indications and usage on Rifabutin's label. DailyMed label · c2026b67-4755-4236-96b6-a6b5e7399707 · 2026-07-20

63 registered trials of Rifabutin — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
52 of 63

63 registered studies of Rifabutin: 20 phase1, 13 phase2, 12 phase3, 9 na, 9 phase4, 3 na or unstated, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

139 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase1
    20
  • phase2
    13
  • phase3
    12
  • na
    9
  • phase4
    9
  • na or unstated
    3
7 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    1
  • completed
    43
  • unknown
    8
  • terminated
    5
  • not yet recruiting
    3
  • recruiting
    3
  • active not recruiting
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

4 of Rifabutin's trials stopped: safety, accrual/recruitment, other?


safety (1), accrual/recruitment (1) and other (2): Rifabutin's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"The study was stopped early due to feasibility concerns."; 4 of 63 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01601626
    terminated; "The study was stopped early due to feasibility concerns."
  • NCT02099240
    terminated; "Not enough patient enrollment and lack of staffing"
  • NCT03618108
    terminated; "COVID-19"
  • NCT05458102
    terminated; "Sponsor's decision to change the clinical development plan of this molecule. This decision is not based on efficacy or safety concerns."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Rifabutin used Rifabutin 150 MG — over how long?


Human studies of Rifabutin used "Rifabutin 150 MG". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

2 recorded entries; human; also "Rifabutin 300mg"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT04090021
    Rifabutin 150 MG
  • NCT04840862
    Rifabutin 300mg

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Rifabutin's half-life is 16 to 69 hours — which schedules were studied?


16 to 69 hours, the half-life Rifabutin's label states: "Rifabutin was slowly eliminated from plasma in seven healthy adult volunteers, presumably because of distribution-limited elimination, with a mean terminal half-life of 45 (±17) hours (range: 16 to 69 hours)." DailyMed label · c2026b67-4755-4236-96b6-a6b5e7399707 · 2026-07-20

tmax 2 to 4 hours; bioavailability 20 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    16 to 69 hours; Rifabutin was slowly eliminated from plasma in seven healthy adult volunteers, presumably because of distribution-limited elimination, with a mean terminal half-life of 45 (±17) hours (range: 16 to 69 hours).
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    2 to 4 hours; Absorption Following a single oral dose of 300 mg to nine healthy adult volunteers, rifabutin was readily absorbed from the gastrointestinal tract with mean (±SD) peak plasma levels (C max ) of 375 (±267) ng/mL (range: 141 to 1033 ng/mL) attained in 3.3 (±0.9) hours (T max range: 2 to 4 hours).
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    20 %; Absolute bioavailability assessed in five HIV-positive patients, who received both oral and intravenous doses, averaged 20%.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Of the five metabolites that have been identified, 25-O-desacetyl and 31-hydroxy are the most predominant, and show a plasma metabolite:parent area under the curve ratio of 0.10 and 0.07, respectively.

recorded 2026-07-20 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 21 trials of Rifabutin posted no result?


Posted no result
21 of 21 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00001030, NCT00001047, NCT00001023, NCT00001058, NCT00000826 and NCT00000877, and 15 more
Completion dates
oldest 1996-06; newest 2024-05-30
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00001030
    1996-06
  • NCT00001047
    1996-08
  • NCT00001023
    1998-07
  • NCT00001058
    1999-01
  • NCT00000826
    1999-05
  • NCT00000877
    2000-10
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00023400
    2002-02
  • NCT00023348
    2002-11
  • NCT00023361
    2003-02
  • NCT00023413
    2004-02
  • NCT00925535
    2010-08
  • NCT01231542
    2011-12
  • NCT01341184
    2012-05-23
  • NCT01615614
    2012-09
  • NCT00877591
    2013-04
  • NCT02138084
    2014-07-24
  • NCT00598962
    2017-05-18
  • NCT03164291
    2017-05-18
  • NCT03709355
    2019-09-06
  • NCT02415985
    2019-12

At the median, Rifabutin's trials enrolled 85 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
85
Largest enrolment
1100
Registered trials counted
61

What do 369 spontaneous reports say about Rifabutin — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Rifabutin appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 369 reaction mentions were counted: pyrexia 53; drug interaction 45; drug resistance 42; neutropenia 39. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL444633 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • pyrexia
    53
  • drug interaction
    45
  • drug resistance
    42
  • neutropenia
    39
  • uveitis
    37
  • immune reconstitution inflammatory syndrome
    33
4 more recorded rows
  • pancytopenia
    33
  • thrombocytopenia
    30
  • leukopenia
    29
  • hepatotoxicity
    28

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Rifabutin's label not list?


drug interaction, drug resistance and hepatotoxicity and 7 more reported for Rifabutin, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL444633 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; c2026b67-4755-4236-96b6-a6b5e7399707

Show the evidence
  • drug interaction
    count not stated
  • drug resistance
    count not stated
  • hepatotoxicity
    count not stated
  • immune reconstitution inflammatory syndrome
    count not stated
  • leukopenia
    count not stated
  • neutropenia
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • pancytopenia
    count not stated
  • pyrexia
    count not stated
  • thrombocytopenia
    count not stated
  • uveitis
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Rifabutin and CYP3A: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A appear in Rifabutin's recorded interaction sentences, 7 in all. DailyMed label · c2026b67-4755-4236-96b6-a6b5e7399707 · 2026-07-20

CYP3A, CYP3A, CYP3A; 3 shared nodes; drug_interactions, clinical_pharmacology

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Effect of Rifabutin on the Pharmacokinetics of Other Drugs Rifabutin induces CYP3A enzymes and therefore may reduce the plasma concentrations of drugs metabolized by those enzymes.
  • drug_interactions
    Effect of Other Drugs on Rifabutin Pharmacokinetics Some drugs that inhibit CYP3A may significantly increase the plasma concentration of rifabutin.
  • drug_interactions
    Therefore, carefully monitor for rifabutin associated adverse events in those patients also receiving CYP3A inhibitors, which include fluconazole and clarithromycin.
  • drug_interactions
    In some cases, the dosage of rifabutin may need to be reduced when it is co-administered with CYP3A inhibitors.
  • clinical_pharmacology
    Drug-Drug Interactions (see also PRECAUTIONS-Drug Interactions ) Multiple dosing of rifabutin has been associated with induction of hepatic metabolic enzymes of the CYP3A subfamily.
  • clinical_pharmacology
    Metabolic induction due to rifabutin is likely to produce a decrease in plasma concentrations of concomitantly administered drugs that are primarily metabolized by the CYP3A enzymes.
1 more recorded row
  • Interaction statement clinical_pharmacology
    Similarly concomitant medications that competitively inhibit the CYP3A activity may increase plasma concentrations of rifabutin.

CYP3A

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib

recorded 2026-07-20 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL444633
PubChem CID
6323490
CAS number
72559-06-9
RxCUI
55672
InChIKey
ATEBXHFBFRCZMA-VXTBVIBXSA-N
Also called
Ansamycin, Rifabutina, Rifabutine, bv100, rbt, rfb, 1',4-DIDEHYDRO-1-DEOXY-1,4-DIHYDRO-5'-(2-METHYLPROPYL)-1-OXORIFAMYCIN XIV, 4-DEOXO-3,4-(2-SPIRO-(N-ISOBUTYL-4-PIPERIDYL))-(1H)-IMIDAZO-(2,5-DIHYDRO)RIFAMYCIN S, 4-N-ISOBUTYLSPIROPIPERIDYLRIFAMYCIN S, RIFABUTIN [EP MONOGRAPH], RIFABUTIN [HSDB], RIFABUTIN [JAN]
Development code
LM 427, MYCOBUTIN
Trade name
Rifabutin component of talicia
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.