Skip to content

Rabeprazole

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Rabeprazole does in the body

Rabeprazole blocks the final step of gastric acid secretion.

From the FDA-approved label: Rabeprazole belongs to a class of antisecretory compounds (substituted benzimidazole proton-pump inhibitors) that do not exhibit anticholinergic or histamine H 2 -receptor antagonist properties, but suppress gastric acid secretion by inhibiting the gastric H + , K + ATPase at the secretory surface of the gastric parietal cell. Because this enzyme is regarded as the acid (proton) pump within the parietal cell, rabeprazole has been characterized as a gastric proton-pump inhibitor. In gastric parietal cells, rabeprazole is protonated, accumulates, and is transformed to an active sulfenamide.

Why people take it. Short-term (4 to 8 weeks) treatment in the healing and symptomatic relief of erosive or ulcerative gastroesophageal reflux disease

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 3L36P16U4R · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C18H20N3NaO3S, weighing 381.42.

    US prescribing information · 4ded337a-31b8-47c3-b5ab-33a785afb7d8 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

A person wrote this explanation into the record, with the studies named in the path below.

The recorded use, written for a reader without medical training. Not signed off.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 126 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Eradication rate of Helicobacter pylori

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05061732
How many people
4447
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

The time from randomization to the first occurrence of a composite endpoint of upper GI clinical events, including during the treatment period

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04416581
How many people
3320
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

pH of gastric contents

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02703896
How many people
1920
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Eradication rate of Helicobacter pylori

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06168214
How many people
1404
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants With Erosive Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (eGERD) Who Achieved Endoscopically-confirmed Healing by 8 Weeks

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00658632
How many people
1397
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

The Number of Patients With Complete Resolution of Heartburn by Week 4

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00464308
How many people
1392
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Rabeprazole sodium delayed-release tablets is a proton pump inhibitor (PPI) indicated in adults for: · Healing of Erosive or Ulcerative Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD) ( 1.1 ). · Maintenance of Healing of Erosive or Ulcerative GERD ( 1.2 ). · Treatment of Symptomatic GERD ( 1.3 ). · Healing of Duodenal Ulcers ( 1.4 ). · Helicobacter pylori Eradication to Reduce Risk of Duodenal Ulcer Recurrence ( 1.5 ).

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of rabeprazole sodium delayed-release tablets have been established in pediatric patients for adolescent patients 12 years of age and older for the treatment of symptomatic GERD.”

    US prescribing information · 4ded337a-31b8-47c3-b5ab-33a785afb7d8 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Of the total number of subjects (n=2,009) in clinical studies of rabeprazole sodium delayed-release tablets, 19% were 65 years and over, while 4% were 75 years and over.”

    US prescribing information · 4ded337a-31b8-47c3-b5ab-33a785afb7d8 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no available human data on rabeprazole sodium delayed-release tablets use in pregnant women to inform the drug associated risk.”

    US prescribing information · 4ded337a-31b8-47c3-b5ab-33a785afb7d8 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary Lactation studies have not been conducted to assess the presence of rabeprazole in human milk, the effects of rabeprazole on the breastfed infant, or the effects of rabeprazole on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 4ded337a-31b8-47c3-b5ab-33a785afb7d8 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “Administration of rabeprazole sodium delayed-release tablets to patients with mild to moderate hepatic impairment (Child-Pugh Class A and B, respectively) resulted in increased exposure and decreased elimination [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] .”

    US prescribing information · 4ded337a-31b8-47c3-b5ab-33a785afb7d8 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, delayed release, tablet, delayed release, capsule, delayed release, given by the oral, oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 52 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 52 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72189-142 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder and tablet, delayed release, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72189-142 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is proton pump inhibitor [epc] and proton pump inhibitors [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72189-142 · read 2026-08-29

  • 37 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 37 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 4ded337a-31b8-47c3-b5ab-33a785afb7d8 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 4ded337a-31b8-47c3-b5ab-33a785afb7d8 · read 2026-08-29

  • Rabeprazole Sodium is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Rabeprazole Sodium Delayed-Release Tablets are provided in one strength, 20 mg., recorded as fda label in effect 2023-02-06 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 4ded337a-31b8-47c3-b5ab-33a785afb7d8 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Rabeprazole studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Rabeprazole are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 37 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 37 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
3L36P16U4R
RxNorm concept
854868

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 13 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA020973, approved 19990819 to WAYLIS THERAP.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA020973 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA020973 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19990819.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72189-142 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Rabeprazole label: indicated for what?


"Rabeprazole Sodium delayed-release tablets is a proton pump inhibitor (PPI) indicated in adults for: • Healing of Erosive or Ulcerative Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD) ( 1.1 ). • Maintenance of Healing of Erosive or Ulcerative GERD ( 1.2 ).": indications and usage on Rabeprazole's label. DailyMed label · 4582d443-f1be-4f94-85da-49aa603f54e4 · 2026-08-25

167 registered trials of Rabeprazole — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
130 of 167

167 registered studies of Rabeprazole: 69 phase1, 33 phase4, 30 phase3, 23 phase2, 11 na, 10 na or unstated, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

493 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase1
    69
  • phase4
    33
  • phase3
    30
  • phase2
    23
  • na
    11
  • na or unstated
    10
8 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    1
  • completed
    129
  • unknown
    21
  • active not recruiting
    4
  • recruiting
    4
  • not yet recruiting
    3
  • terminated
    3
  • withdrawn
    3

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

6 of Rabeprazole's trials stopped: futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


futility/efficacy (1), accrual/recruitment (1), funding/business (2) and other (2): Rabeprazole's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Due to the achievement of minimum required sample size and new changes in local regulations."; 6 of 167 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00511966
    terminated; "Due to the achievement of minimum required sample size and new changes in local regulations."
  • NCT00838682
    terminated; "Terminated before the complete enrollment due to slow enrollment"
  • NCT00857597
    terminated; "Study was terminated after unplanned interim analysis of single centre data and results were reported"
  • NCT01391715
    withdrawn; "patients could not be recuited within study duration"
  • NCT02747797
    withdrawn; "Drug Supply No Longer Available"
  • NCT02986685
    withdrawn; "Lack of funds"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Rabeprazole used Rabeprazole 20 mg — over how long?


Human studies of Rabeprazole used "Rabeprazole 20 mg". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

20 recorded entries; human; tablet; also "Rabeprazole 20mg, placebo dinner and bedtime", "Rabeprazole 20 mg two times, Placebo at bedtime", "Rabeprazole 20mg,placebo dinner ,Low dose Tricyclic Antidepressant"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00165841
    Rabeprazole 20 mg
  • NCT00539240
    Rabeprazole 20mg, placebo dinner and bedtime
  • NCT00539240
    Rabeprazole 20 mg two times, Placebo at bedtime
  • NCT00539240
    Rabeprazole 20mg,placebo dinner ,Low dose Tricyclic Antidepressant
  • NCT00648349
    Rabeprazole Sodium Delayed-Release Tablets 20 mg
  • NCT00648349
    Aciphex® Delayed-Release Tablets 20 mg
14 more recorded rows
  • human NCT00649194
    Aciphex® Tablets 20 mg
  • human NCT00649493
    Rabeprazole Sodium Tablets 20 mg
  • human NCT00747526
    Rabeprazole sodium 5 mg
  • human NCT00747526
    Rabeprazole sodium 10 mg
  • human NCT01202071
    Rabeprazole sodium, 5 mg Tablets
  • human NCT01202071
    Rabeprazole sodium, 10 mg Tablets
  • human NCT01202071
    Rabeprazole sodium, 20 mg Tablets
  • human NCT01202071
    Rabeprazole sodium, 40 mg Tablets (two 20 mg Tablets)
  • human NCT01990378
    tablet; Rabeprazole sodium 20 mg Delayed Release tablet
  • human NCT02509923
    Rabeprazole Sodium 10mg
  • human NCT02509923
    Rabeprazole Sodium 20mg
  • human NCT02547025
    rabeprazole 20 mg
  • human NCT02847455
    10 mg Rabeprazole
  • human NCT04132479
    Rabeprazole 20mg

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Rabeprazole's half-life is 1 to 2 hours — which schedules were studied?


1 to 2 hours, the half-life Rabeprazole's label states: "This relatively prolonged pharmacodynamic action compared to the short pharmacokinetic half-life (1 to 2 hours) reflects the sustained inactivation of the H + , K + ATPase." DailyMed label · 4582d443-f1be-4f94-85da-49aa603f54e4 · 2026-08-25

tmax 2 to 5 hours; bioavailability 52 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life clinical_pharmacology
    1 to 2 hours; This relatively prolonged pharmacodynamic action compared to the short pharmacokinetic half-life (1 to 2 hours) reflects the sustained inactivation of the H + , K + ATPase.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    2 to 5 hours; After oral administration of 20 mg Rabeprazole Sodium delayed-release tablets, peak plasma concentrations (C max ) of rabeprazole occur over a range of 2 to 5 hours (T max ).
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    52 %; Absorption Absolute bioavailability for a 20 mg oral tablet of rabeprazole (compared to intravenous administration) is approximately 52%.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Elimination Metabolism: Rabeprazole is extensively metabolized.

recorded 2026-08-25 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 85 trials of Rabeprazole posted no result?


Posted no result
85 of 85 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00236392, NCT00648349, NCT00649493, NCT00649194, NCT00214552 and NCT00553449, and 79 more
Completion dates
oldest 2002-10; newest 2024-07-19
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00236392
    2002-10
  • NCT00648349
    2003-06
  • NCT00649493
    2003-06
  • NCT00649194
    2003-08
  • NCT00214552
    2005-03
  • NCT00553449
    2005-09
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00216489
    2005-11
  • NCT00378287
    2005-12
  • NCT00216450
    2006-02
  • NCT00204698
    2006-05
  • NCT00287391
    2006-12
  • NCT01286194
    2007-01
  • NCT00125736
    2007-04-19
  • NCT00222170
    2007-05
  • NCT01699113
    2007-06
  • NCT00220857
    2007-09
  • NCT00304421
    2007-09
  • NCT00681005
    2008-01
  • NCT00614536
    2008-04
  • NCT01101646
    2008-09

At the median, Rabeprazole's trials enrolled 76.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
76.5
Largest enrolment
4238504
Registered trials counted
164

What do 1106 spontaneous reports say about Rabeprazole — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Rabeprazole appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 1106 reaction mentions were counted: chronic kidney disease 228; acute kidney injury 157; gastrooesophageal reflux disease 120; hypomagnesaemia 104. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200930 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • chronic kidney disease
    228
  • acute kidney injury
    157
  • gastrooesophageal reflux disease
    120
  • hypomagnesaemia
    104
  • renal failure
    98
  • hyponatraemia
    95
4 more recorded rows
  • hypocalcaemia
    80
  • asthma
    79
  • tubulointerstitial nephritis
    74
  • obstructive airways disorder
    71

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Rabeprazole's label not list?


acute kidney injury, asthma and chronic kidney disease and 7 more reported for Rabeprazole, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200930 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 4582d443-f1be-4f94-85da-49aa603f54e4

Show the evidence
  • acute kidney injury
    count not stated
  • asthma
    count not stated
  • chronic kidney disease
    count not stated
  • gastrooesophageal reflux disease
    count not stated
  • hypocalcaemia
    count not stated
  • hypomagnesaemia
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • hyponatraemia
    count not stated
  • obstructive airways disorder
    count not stated
  • renal failure
    count not stated
  • tubulointerstitial nephritis
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Rabeprazole and CYTOCHROME P450, CYP1A2 and CYP2C9: shared by which compounds?


CYTOCHROME P450, CYP1A2 and CYP2C9 appear in Rabeprazole's recorded interaction sentences, 6 in all. DailyMed label · 4582d443-f1be-4f94-85da-49aa603f54e4 · 2026-08-25

CYP1A2, CYP2C19, CYP2C19, CYP2C9, CYP3A, CYP3A4; 6 shared nodes; pharmacokinetics, clinical_pharmacology

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • pharmacokinetics
    Rabeprazole is also metabolized to sulphone and desmethyl compounds via cytochrome P450 in the liver.
  • pharmacokinetics
    In vitro studies have demonstrated that rabeprazole is metabolized in the liver primarily by cytochromes P450 3A (CYP3A) to a sulphone metabolite and cytochrome P450 2C19 (CYP2C19) to desmethyl rabeprazole.
  • pharmacokinetics
    Effects of Rabeprazole on Other Drugs Studies in healthy subjects have shown that rabeprazole does not have clinically significant interactions with other drugs metabolized by the CYP450 system, such as theophylline (CYP1A2) given as single oral doses, diazepam (CYP2C9 and CYP3A4) as a single intravenous dose, and phenytoin (CYP2C9 and CYP2C19) given as a single intravenous dose (with…
  • clinical_pharmacology
    Rabeprazole is also metabolized to sulphone and desmethyl compounds via cytochrome P450 in the liver.
  • clinical_pharmacology
    In vitro studies have demonstrated that rabeprazole is metabolized in the liver primarily by cytochromes P450 3A (CYP3A) to a sulphone metabolite and cytochrome P450 2C19 (CYP2C19) to desmethyl rabeprazole.
  • clinical_pharmacology
    Effects of Rabeprazole on Other Drugs Studies in healthy subjects have shown that rabeprazole does not have clinically significant interactions with other drugs metabolized by the CYP450 system, such as theophylline (CYP1A2) given as single oral doses, diazepam (CYP2C9 and CYP3A4) as a single intravenous dose, and phenytoin (CYP2C9 and CYP2C19) given as a single intravenous dose (with…
  • CYP1A2
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole

CYP2C19

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Etravirine
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Etravirine
  • CYP2C9
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine
  • CYP3A
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • CYP3A4
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2026-08-25 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200930
PubChem CID
10786084
CAS number
171440-18-9
RxCUI
854868
InChIKey
YREYEVIYCVEVJK-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
RABEPRAZOLE SODIUM, Idiazole, Rabeprazole na, Eraloc, Ly-307640, Pariprazole, Rabeprazol, idiazole 20mg dr tabs, pariet 20 mg dr tabs, ppi, 1H-Benzimidazole, 2-(((4-(3-methoxypropoxy)-3-methyl-2-pyridinyl)methyl)sulfinyl)-, sodium salt, 2-[[[4-(3-Methoxypropoxy)-3-methyl-2-pyridyl]methyl]sulfinyl]benzimidazole sodium salt
Trade name
Aciphex, Aciphex sprinkle, Pariet, Aciphex / Aciphex Sprinkle
Development code
E-3810, NSC-759270, E3810, LY307640
Salt form
E-3810 SODIUM, LY-307640 SODIUM, LY307640 SODIUM, Rabeprazole sodium salt, Sodium rabeprazole, rabeprazole sodium delayed release tablets 20 mg, rabeprazole enteric-coated tablets, Rabeprazole Sodium DR
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.