Skip to content

Penicillin G

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Penicillin G does in the body

Therapy Penicillin G Potassium for Injection is indicated in the treatment of serious infections caused by susceptible strains of the designated microorganisms in the conditions listed below.

From the FDA-approved label: Aqueous penicillin G is rapidly absorbed following both intramuscular and subcutaneous injection. Initial blood levels following parenteral administration are high but transient. Penicillins bind to serum proteins, mainly albumin. Therapeutic levels of the penicillins are easily achieved under normal circumstances in extracellular fluid and most other body tissues. Penicillins are distributed in varying degrees into pleural, pericardial, peritoneal, ascitic, synovial, and interstitial fluids. Penicillins are excreted in breast milk. Penetration into the cerebrospinal fluid, eyes, and prostate is poor.

Why people take it. Therapy Penicillin G Potassium for Injection is indicated in the treatment of serious infections caused by susceptible strains of the designated microorganisms in the conditions listed below.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · VL775ZTH4C · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 148 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Formulation

A formulation is the exact made-up form a substance comes in.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the difference between a whole bean and instant coffee.

Where that stops being true. Coffee tastes different. A formulation can change how much reaches the blood.

What people get wrong. Two products with the same name are assumed to behave the same. They often do not.

The specific composition and physical form of a product, including salt, excipients and release profile.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Number of participants who progress by at least one level higher on the PLATIPUS Ordinal Outcome Scale

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06461429
How many people
100000
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

The frequency of pregnant women attending prenatal care screened for syphilis and treated if infected

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02353117
How many people
60386
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Prevalence of active and of latent yaws at 18 months

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03490123
How many people
56000
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Appropriate management of all cases of neonatal sepsis in the community by community level health care provider

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01333982
How many people
20000
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

All-cause mortality

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02735707
How many people
20000
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Prevalence of yaws latent infection

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01955252
How many people
16000
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Therapy Penicillin G Potassium for Injection is indicated in the treatment of serious infections caused by susceptible strains of the designated microorganisms in the conditions listed below. Appropriate culture and susceptibility tests should be done before treatment in order to isolate and identify organisms causing infection and to determine their susceptibility to penicillin G.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Incompletely developed renal function in newborns may delay elimination of penicillin; therefore, appropriate reductions in the dosage and frequency of administration should be made in these patients.”

    US prescribing information · 969a421e-37d8-499e-9e89-67e210bd5d9d · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of penicillin G injection did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · 969a421e-37d8-499e-9e89-67e210bd5d9d · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Teratogenic Effects Reproduction studies performed in the mouse, rat, and rabbit have revealed no evidence of impaired fertility or harm to the fetus due to penicillin G.”

    US prescribing information · 969a421e-37d8-499e-9e89-67e210bd5d9d · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Caution should be exercised when penicillins are administered to a nursing woman.”

    US prescribing information · 969a421e-37d8-499e-9e89-67e210bd5d9d · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

A different form was studied

The studied form is not the form on the shelf.

On this record: This record is linked to 1 related forms. Evidence does not carry across all of them.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (10)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as injectable, tablet, for solution, injection, powder, for solution, given by the injection, oral, intramuscular, intravenous route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 34 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 28 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0781-6153 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as injection, powder, for solution, injection, solution, liquid, powder and powder, for solution, taken intramuscular, intrapleural, intrathecal and intravenous.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0781-6153 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is penicillin-class antibacterial [epc] and penicillins [cs].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0781-6153 · read 2026-08-29

  • 19 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 13 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 969a421e-37d8-499e-9e89-67e210bd5d9d · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human otc drug and human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 969a421e-37d8-499e-9e89-67e210bd5d9d · read 2026-08-29

  • 11249 marketed supplement labels list this ingredient, classed as amino acid/protein, botanical, botanical with nutrients and non-nutrient/non-botanical.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 223597 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels carry all other, nutrient and structure/function claims. A claim of that kind is written by the manufacturer and is not assessed by any regulator, so its presence says nothing about whether it is true.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 223597 · read 2026-08-29

  • Penicillin G Potassium is intramuscular at HOW SUPPLIED Penicillin G Potassium for Injection, USP is available in vials; buffered with sodium citrate and citric acid to an optimum pH., recorded as fda label in effect 2025-02-01 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 969a421e-37d8-499e-9e89-67e210bd5d9d · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

Names and forms linked to this record

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Penicillin G studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Penicillin G are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
VL775ZTH4C
RxNorm concept
204466

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

  1. Withdrawn in United States, 2025, for "Labeling: Label Mix-Up; Some vials of Cefazolin for Injection, USP 1 gram were incorrectly labeled as penicillin G potassium for Injection, USP, 20 million Unit" (openFDA drug enforcement Class I recall)

What the approval register records

  • 32 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was ANDA060074, approved 19470206 to PFIZER.

    Drugs@FDA application register · ANDA060074 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · ANDA060074 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19840815.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0781-6153 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Penicillin G label: indicated for what?


"Therapy Penicillin G Potassium Injection, USP is indicated in the treatment of serious infections caused by susceptible strains of the designated microorganisms in the conditions listed below. Appropriate culture and susceptibility tests should be done before treatment in order to isolate and identify organisms…": indications and usage on Penicillin G's label. DailyMed label · 9e58122f-5c75-4905-a774-d3a4dae4ff8c · 2026-07-24

31 registered trials of Penicillin G — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
28 of 31

31 registered studies of Penicillin G: 11 phase3, 5 na or unstated, 5 phase4, 4 na, 3 phase2, 2 phase1, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

261 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase3
    11
  • na or unstated
    5
  • phase4
    5
  • na
    4
  • phase2
    3
  • phase1
    2
7 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    1
  • completed
    14
  • recruiting
    4
  • terminated
    4
  • unknown
    4
  • withdrawn
    3
  • active not recruiting
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

7 of Penicillin G's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


accrual/recruitment (3), sponsor decision unspecified (2) and other (2): Penicillin G's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Pediatric development program terminated by sponsor"; 7 of 31 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00315042
    terminated; "Pediatric development program terminated by sponsor"
  • NCT00315549
    terminated; "Pediatric development program terminated by sponsor"
  • NCT00427609
    terminated; "Not enough enrollees to obtain a valid conclusion"
  • NCT01769027
    withdrawn; "No participants enrolled"
  • NCT02099240
    terminated; "Not enough patient enrollment and lack of staffing"
  • NCT03108690
    withdrawn; "Logistics"
  • 1 further recorded trial NCT03632642
    withdrawn; "Study never commenced"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Penicillin G used Penicillin G_1200mg — over how long?


studies of Penicillin G used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

3 recorded entries; human; also "Penicillin G_1200mg", "Penicillin G_2400mg", "Penicillin G_600mg/hr"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT04053140
    Penicillin G_1200mg
  • NCT04053140
    Penicillin G_2400mg
  • NCT04053140
    Penicillin G_600mg/hr

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Penicillin G's half-life is 42 minutes — which schedules were studied?


42 minutes, the half-life Penicillin G's label states: "The mean β-phase serum half-life of penicillin G administered by the intravenous route in ten patients with normal renal function was 42 minutes, with a range of 31-50 minutes." DailyMed label · 9e58122f-5c75-4905-a774-d3a4dae4ff8c · 2026-07-24

Show the evidence
  • half life clinical_pharmacology
    42 minutes; The mean β-phase serum half-life of penicillin G administered by the intravenous route in ten patients with normal renal function was 42 minutes, with a range of 31-50 minutes.
  • metabolism clinical_pharmacology
    Nonrenal clearance includes hepatic metabolism and, to a lesser extent, biliary excretion.

recorded 2026-07-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Penicillin G could settle lifespan?


NCT06726395 measures Survival at 90 days without any treatment complications, reading out 2028-07.

2 open trials; n 420; "Comparison of Cloxacillin and Benzylpenicillin in Penicillin Susceptible S. Aureus Bacteraemia"

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT06726395
    "Comparison of Cloxacillin and Benzylpenicillin in Penicillin Susceptible S. Aureus Bacteraemia"; n 420; "Survival at 90 days without any treatment complications"; 2028-07
  • NCT05137119
    "Staphylococcus Aureus Network Adaptive Platform Trial"; n 8000; "All-cause mortality at 90 days after platform entry"; 2028-12-01

Which 11 trials of Penicillin G posted no result?


Posted no result
11 of 11 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00000585, NCT00000648, NCT01156740, NCT00405158, NCT01382004 and NCT00844337, and 5 more
Completion dates
oldest 1994-10; newest 2024-05-31
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00000585
    1994-10
  • NCT00000648
    1996-02
  • NCT01156740
    2003-04
  • NCT00405158
    2004-03
  • NCT01382004
    2011-09
  • NCT00844337
    2013-09
5 further recorded trials
  • NCT03612557
    2018-10-02
  • NCT05106803
    2019-10-01
  • NCT04041791
    2024-04-05
  • NCT05211024
    2024-04-30
  • NCT04053140
    2024-05-31

At the median, Penicillin G's trials enrolled 221.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
221.5
Largest enrolment
8000
Registered trials counted
30

What do 252 spontaneous reports say about Penicillin G — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Penicillin G appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 252 reaction mentions were counted: drug hypersensitivity 93; hypersensitivity 54; rash 17; anaphylactic reaction 15. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1126 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug hypersensitivity
    93
  • hypersensitivity
    54
  • rash
    17
  • anaphylactic reaction
    15
  • condition aggravated
    14
  • urticaria
    14
4 more recorded rows
  • drug intolerance
    13
  • treatment failure
    12
  • arthropathy
    11
  • swelling
    9

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Penicillin G's label not list?


anaphylactic reaction, arthropathy and condition aggravated and 7 more reported for Penicillin G, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1126 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 9e58122f-5c75-4905-a774-d3a4dae4ff8c

Show the evidence
  • anaphylactic reaction
    count not stated
  • arthropathy
    count not stated
  • condition aggravated
    count not stated
  • drug hypersensitivity
    count not stated
  • drug intolerance
    count not stated
  • hypersensitivity
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • rash
    count not stated
  • swelling
    count not stated
  • treatment failure
    count not stated
  • urticaria
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered

Where it’s registered

Withdrawn in United States, 2025, for "Labeling: Label Mix-Up; Some vials of Cefazolin for Injection, USP 1 gram were incorrectly labeled as penicillin G potassium for Injection, USP, 20 million Unit" (openFDA drug enforcement Class I recall)

Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1126
PubChem CID
23668834
CAS number
69-57-8
RxCUI
9900
InChIKey
JGSARLDLIJGVTE-MBNYWOFBSA-N

Relations

Also called
Benethamine penicillin
Also called
PENICILLIN G SODIUM, Benzylpenicillinum natricum, Crystapen, E706, Ethacillin, Monocillin, Penicillinum, PENICILLIN G POTASSIUM, E705, benzathine penicillin g, Benethamine penicilline, Penicilina-benetamina
Salt form
Benzyl penicillin sodium, Benzylpenicillin sodium, Penicillin g sodium salt, Penicillin sodium, Sodium benzylpenicillinoate, Benzylpenicillin potassium, Penicillin g potassium salt, Benzylpenicillin benzathine hydrate
Development code
NSC-402815, NSC-131815, J01CE01, NSC-193396
Trade name
Cilloral, Penicillin, Penicillin-2, Pentids, Pentids '200', Pentids '250', Pentids '400', Pentids '800', Pfizerpen, Pfizerpen g, Scotcil, Triplopen
Component
Benethamine penicillin
Sources (7)

Sources

1 more source

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work · openFDA enforcement — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 7 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.