Skip to content

Pazopanib

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Pazopanib does in the body

The treatment of adults

From the FDA-approved label: Pazopanib is a multi-tyrosine kinase inhibitor of vascular endothelial growth factor receptor (VEGFR)-1, VEGFR-2, VEGFR-3, platelet‑derived growth factor receptor (PDGFR)-α and PDGFR-β, fibroblast growth factor receptor (FGFR)-1 and FGFR-3, cytokine receptor (Kit), interleukin-2 receptor-inducible T-cell kinase (Itk), lymphocyte-specific protein tyrosine kinase (Lck), and transmembrane glycoprotein receptor tyrosine kinase (c-Fms). In vitro , pazopanib inhibited ligand-induced autophosphorylation of VEGFR-2, Kit, and PDGFR-β receptors.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C21H23N7O2S·HCl, weighing 473.98 g/mol.

    US prescribing information · 115eb5bb-1403-fb3d-e063-6394a90ad320 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 86 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Disease-free Survival (DFS) With Pazopanib 600 mg Daily Initial Dose vs. Placebo

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01235962
How many people
1538
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Progression-free Survival (PFS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00720941
How many people
1110
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Investigator-assessed Progression-free Survival (PFS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00866697
How many people
940
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Induction Progression-Free Rate after induction treatment

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02029001
How many people
900
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

To evaluate if progression-free survival from randomization to progression or death during second-line therapy (Total PFS) of sorafenib followed by pazopanib is non-inferior compared to pazopanib followed by sorafenib.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01613846
How many people
544
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change From Baseline in Best-corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA) as Measured by the Number of Letters Read on the Early Treatment of Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) Grading Charts at a Starting Distance of 4 Meters at Week 52

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01134055
How many people
510
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Pazopanib tablets are a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of adults with: advanced renal cell carcinoma (RCC). ( 1.1 ) advanced soft tissue sarcoma (STS) who have received prior chemotherapy. ( 1.2 ) Limitations of Use: The efficacy of pazopanib tablets for the treatment of patients with adipocytic soft tissue sarcoma or gastrointestinal stromal tumors has not been demonstrated.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of pazopanib tablets in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 115eb5bb-1403-fb3d-e063-6394a90ad320 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “In pooled clinical trials with pazopanib tablets, 30% of 2,080 patients were aged ≥ 65 years.”

    US prescribing information · 115eb5bb-1403-fb3d-e063-6394a90ad320 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Based on animal reproduction studies and its mechanism of action [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.1 )], pazopanib tablets can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman.”

    US prescribing information · 115eb5bb-1403-fb3d-e063-6394a90ad320 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There is no data on the presence of pazopanib or its metabolites in human milk or their effects on the breastfed infant or milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 115eb5bb-1403-fb3d-e063-6394a90ad320 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “No dose adjustment is required in patients with mild hepatic impairment (either total bilirubin ≤ ULN and ALT > ULN or bilirubin > 1 to 1.5 x ULN and any ALT value).”

    US prescribing information · 115eb5bb-1403-fb3d-e063-6394a90ad320 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “No dose adjustment is recommended for patients with renal impairment.”

    US prescribing information · 115eb5bb-1403-fb3d-e063-6394a90ad320 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4, S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, tablet, film coated, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 21 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 21 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 82293-022 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder, tablet and tablet, film coated, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 82293-022 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is cytochrome p450 2c8 inhibitors [moa], cytochrome p450 2d6 inhibitors [moa] and cytochrome p450 3a4 inhibitors [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 82293-022 · read 2026-08-29

  • 9 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 9 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 115eb5bb-1403-fb3d-e063-6394a90ad320 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 115eb5bb-1403-fb3d-e063-6394a90ad320 · read 2026-08-29

  • Pazopanib is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Tablets: 200 mg, gray, capsule shape, biconvex film-coated tablet., recorded as fda label in effect 2025-11-24 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 115eb5bb-1403-fb3d-e063-6394a90ad320 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Pazopanib studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Pazopanib are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Read from sources, not yet reviewed

No traced study record is stored for this substance.

Built from stored sources by fixed rules. No reviewer has signed it off.

How many documents were read

  • 9 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 9 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 9 of them state the same tMax, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4, S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 7 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA022465, approved 20091019 to NOVARTIS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022465 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022465 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20091019.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 82293-022 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (11)

On the Pazopanib label: indicated for what?


"Pazopanib tablets are kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of adults with: advanced renal cell carcinoma (RCC). (1.1) advanced soft tissue sarcoma (STS) who have received prior chemotherapy.": indications and usage on Pazopanib's label. DailyMed label · d3e8dd09-d7d2-43da-8f63-bdf0ea0fcdf5 · 2026-05-19

231 registered trials of Pazopanib — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
133 of 231

231 registered studies of Pazopanib: 138 phase2, 77 phase1, 19 phase3, 8 na, 7 na or unstated, 4 phase4, 2 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

289 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    138
  • phase1
    77
  • phase3
    19
  • na
    8
  • na or unstated
    7
  • phase4
    4
8 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    2
  • completed
    154
  • terminated
    39
  • active not recruiting
    10
  • recruiting
    9
  • unknown
    9
  • withdrawn
    9
  • no longer available
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

40 of Pazopanib's trials stopped: safety, futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


safety (2), futility/efficacy (1), accrual/recruitment (19), funding/business (3), sponsor decision unspecified (1) and other (14): Pazopanib's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Study enrolment was delayed in starting and too slow to support further development in this setting"; 40 of 231 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00549328
    terminated; "Study enrolment was delayed in starting and too slow to support further development in this setting"
  • NCT00788580
    withdrawn; "Study was discontinued."
  • NCT00945477
    terminated; "Slow enrollment"
  • NCT01012362
    terminated; "PI left institution."
  • NCT01035658
    terminated; "Based on analyses in Phase I, the study did not advance to Phase II."
  • NCT01049776
    terminated; "Study was terminated due to positive results seen in statistical analysis. Adequate patient enrollment was achieved."
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01059656
    terminated; "Decision of Study Principal Investigator"
  • NCT01060514
    terminated; "Lack of timely accrual."
  • NCT01080248
    terminated; "Closed due to delay by GSK"
  • NCT01208064
    terminated; "based on IDMC decision"
  • NCT01340794
    terminated; "Slow Accrual"
  • NCT01391611
    terminated; "Lack of efficacy - Futility endpoint reached"
  • NCT01392352
    terminated; "Following DMC review, due to slow recruitment of evaluable patients."
  • NCT01394211
    terminated; "Slow accrual"
  • NCT01542047
    terminated; "Low rate of accrual"
  • NCT01543802
    terminated; "slow recruitment"
  • NCT01548144
    terminated; "PI request"
  • NCT01599832
    terminated; "Poor accrual"
  • NCT01622660
    terminated; "Safety reasons"
  • NCT01642017
    terminated; "Slow recruitment rate"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Pazopanib used pazopanib (GW786034) 400 mg — over how long?


studies of Pazopanib used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

7 recorded entries; human; also "pazopanib (GW786034) 400 mg", "pazopanib (GW786034) 800 mg", "Pazopanib (5mg/ml)"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00347919
    pazopanib (GW786034) 400 mg
  • NCT00347919
    pazopanib (GW786034) 800 mg
  • NCT01257750
    Pazopanib (5mg/ml)
  • NCT01713296
    Pazopanib: 800mg once a day for up to 2 years from date of first dose
  • NCT02029001
    Pazopanib (800 mg QD)
  • NCT02367651
    Pazopanib 800 mg
1 more recorded row
  • human NCT03275558
    Pazopanib 5 MG

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Pazopanib's half-life is 31 hours — which schedules were studied?


31 hours, the half-life Pazopanib's label states: "Elimination Pazopanib has a mean half-life of 31 hours after administration of the recommended dose of 800 mg." DailyMed label · d3e8dd09-d7d2-43da-8f63-bdf0ea0fcdf5 · 2026-05-19

tmax 0-72 h.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    31 hours; Elimination Pazopanib has a mean half-life of 31 hours after administration of the recommended dose of 800 mg.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    0-72 h; Administration of a single 400-mg crushed tablet increased AUC 0-72h by 46% and C max by approximately 2-fold and decreased T max by approximately 2 hours compared with administration of the whole tablet [see Dosage and Administration (2.1)] .
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism In vitro studies demonstrated that pazopanib is metabolized by CYP3A4 with a minor contribution from CYP1A2 and CYP2C8.

recorded 2026-05-19 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Pazopanib could settle lifespan?


NCT02203760 measures Progression free survival assessed as rate of patients without progression Second malignancy or clinical progression - patients with unknown or missing PFS will be treated as non-responder, reading out 2024-12-31.

8 open trials; n 58; "Pazopanib Vs. Pazopanib Plus Gemcitabine"

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02203760
    "Pazopanib Vs. Pazopanib Plus Gemcitabine"; n 58; "Progression free survival assessed as rate of patients without progression Second malignancy or clinical progression - patients with unknown or missing PFS will be treated as non-responder"; 2024-12-31
  • NCT01841736
    "Pazopanib Hydrochloride in Treating Patients With Progressive Carcinoid Tumors"; n 171; "Progression-free Survival (PFS)"; 2026-09-10
  • NCT07087158
    "A Study of IBR854 Combined With Pazopanib Versus Pazopanib in Advanced Renal Cell Carcinoma"; n 30; "Progression-free Survival (PFS)"; 2026-12-31
  • NCT05432791
    "Testing Olaparib and Temozolomide Versus the Usual Treatment for Uterine Leiomyosarcoma After Chemotherapy Has Stopped Working"; n 74; "Progression Free Survival (PFS) (Phase II)"; 2027-01-30
  • NCT01575548
    "Pazopanib Hydrochloride in Treating Patients With Metastatic Kidney Cancer Who Have No Evidence of Disease After Surgery"; n 129; "Disease-free Survival (DFS)"; 2027-02-20
  • NCT03592472
    "A Study of Pazopanib With or Without Abexinostat in Patients With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma (RENAVIV)"; n 413; "Progression-free survival (PFS)"; 2028-06-30
2 further recorded trials
  • NCT06263231
    "A Study to Investigate Efficacy & Safety of Intratumoral INT230-6 Compared to US Standard of Care in Adults With Soft Tissue Sarcomas (INVINCIBLE-3)"; n 333; "Overall Survival (OS)"; 2028-12
  • NCT06239272
    "NRSTS2021, A Risk Adapted Study Evaluating Maintenance Pazopanib, Limited Margin, Dose-Escalated Radiation Therapy and Selinexor in Non-Rhabdomyosarcoma Soft Tissue Sarcoma (NRSTS)"; n 139; "Event-free survival (EFS)"; 2037-06

Which 77 trials of Pazopanib posted no result?


Posted no result
77 of 77 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00256880, NCT00358384, NCT00158782, NCT00401583, NCT00478725 and NCT00370513, and 71 more
Completion dates
oldest 2005-12; newest 2023-03-24
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00256880
    2005-12
  • NCT00358384
    2006-02-24
  • NCT00158782
    2007-08-21
  • NCT00401583
    2008-02-20
  • NCT00478725
    2008-07-01
  • NCT00370513
    2009-04-08
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00060151
    2009-06
  • NCT00363194
    2009-06-19
  • NCT00388076
    2009-07-21
  • NCT00387387
    2009-08-14
  • NCT00619424
    2009-09-04
  • NCT00861029
    2010-02-15
  • NCT00540943
    2010-05-03
  • NCT01051700
    2010-05-27
  • NCT01072214
    2010-06-28
  • NCT01154062
    2011-04-29
  • NCT00678977
    2011-06-30
  • NCT01381601
    2011-10
  • NCT01072890
    2012-02
  • NCT01031875
    2012-08

At the median, Pazopanib's trials enrolled 37 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
37
Largest enrolment
1538
Registered trials counted
229

What do 5412 spontaneous reports say about Pazopanib — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Pazopanib appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 5412 reaction mentions were counted: diarrhoea 1251; fatigue 896; nausea 769; hypertension 541. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1201733 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • diarrhoea
    1251
  • fatigue
    896
  • nausea
    769
  • hypertension
    541
  • malignant neoplasm progression
    505
  • decreased appetite
    489
4 more recorded rows
  • hair colour changes
    277
  • disease progression
    234
  • blood pressure increased
    233
  • alanine aminotransferase increased
    217

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Pazopanib's label not list?


alanine aminotransferase increased, blood pressure increased and decreased appetite and 7 more reported for Pazopanib, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1201733 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; d3e8dd09-d7d2-43da-8f63-bdf0ea0fcdf5

Show the evidence
  • alanine aminotransferase increased
    count not stated
  • blood pressure increased
    count not stated
  • decreased appetite
    count not stated
  • diarrhoea
    count not stated
  • disease progression
    count not stated
  • fatigue
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • hair colour changes
    count not stated
  • hypertension
    count not stated
  • malignant neoplasm progression
    count not stated
  • nausea
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Pazopanib and CYP3A4, CYP2C8 and CYP2D6: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4, CYP2C8 and CYP2D6 appear in Pazopanib's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · d3e8dd09-d7d2-43da-8f63-bdf0ea0fcdf5 · 2026-05-19

CYP2C8, CYP2D6, CYP3A4, CYP3A4, CYP3A4; 5 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Strong CYP3A4 Inhibitors : Avoid coadministration of pazopanib with strong CYP3A4 inhibitors.
  • drug_interactions
    (2.4, 7.1) Strong CYP3A4 Inducers : Consider an alternate concomitant medication with no or minimal enzyme induction potential.
  • drug_interactions
    Pazopanib is not recommended if chronic use of strong CYP3A4 inducers cannot be avoided.
  • drug_interactions
    (2.4, 7.1) CYP Substrates : Coadministration of pazopanib with agents with narrow therapeutic windows that are metabolized by CYP3A4, CYP2D6, or CYP2C8 is not recommended.
  • drug_interactions
    (2.4, 7.4) 7.1 Effect of Other Drugs on Pazopanib Strong CYP3A4 Inhibitors Coadministration of pazopanib with strong inhibitors of CYP3A4 increases pazopanib concentrations [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] .
  • drug_interactions
    Avoid coadministration of pazopanib with strong CYP3A4 inhibitors and consider an alternate concomitant medication with no or minimal enzyme inhibition potential.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    If coadministration of a strong CYP3A4 inhibitor cannot be avoided, reduce the dose of pazopanib [see Dosage and Administration (2.4)] .
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Strong CYP3A4 Inducers Coadministration of strong CYP3A4 inducers may decrease plasma pazopanib concentrations.
  • CYP2C8
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Lapatinib, Tivozanib
  • CYP2D6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2026-05-19 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1201733
PubChem CID
11525740
CAS number
635702-64-6
RxCUI
732187
InChIKey
CUIHSIWYWATEQL-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
PAZOPANIB HYDROCHLORIDE, Pazopanib monohydrochloride, BENZENESULFONAMIDE, 5-((4-((2,3-DIMETHYL-2H-INDAZOL-6-YL)METHYLAMINO)-2-PYRIMIDINYL)AMINO)-2-METHYL-, MONOHYDROCHLORIDE, PAZOPANIB HYDROCHLORIDE [JAN], PAZOPANIB HYDROCHLORIDE [MART.], PAZOPANIB HYDROCHLORIDE [MI], PAZOPANIB HYDROCHLORIDE [ORANGE BOOK], PAZOPANIB HYDROCHLORIDE [USAN]
Development code
GW-786034B, GW786034B, GW-786034, GW786034, NSC-752782
Salt form
Pazopanib hcl, Pazopanib Hydrochloride / Votrient
Trade name
Votrient
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.