Skip to content

Olpasiran

  • RNA medicine
  • Still being tested
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Olpasiran does in the body

Whether that prevents heart attacks is being tested now in 7,297 people, and the answer is not expected before 2028.

Lipoprotein(a) is a cholesterol particle with an extra protein attached, and how much you have is decided by the genes you were born with. Olpasiran is a short RNA with a liver-targeting sugar tag; it tells liver cells to destroy the instructions for that extra protein, so the particle cannot be assembled. In the phase 2 trial the level fell essentially to the floor of the assay.

Why people take it. Studied for very high inherited levels of a harmful blood fat.

What happened in people

Higher doses reduced that blood fat to almost nothing in people who started with very high levels.

Reviewed first-read answer

Where this came from

A person wrote this and a reviewer approved it against this exact record. It carries no effect size.

A reviewer approved this against this record. The reviewed-claim record carrying the exact population and effect size does not exist yet.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

No medicine has yet shown that lowering this blood fat prevents heart attacks.

Where it acts
Hepatocyte cytoplasm (liver)
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. It is a prescription or clinician-administered medicine where it is approved.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as nucleicacid.

    FDA substance registry · 8M4GC1EOB4 · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

A person wrote this explanation into the record, with the studies named in the path below.

A reviewer approved this sentence against this exact record and its sources.

The limit a reviewer approved as the one that matters most here.

The four opening statements run to 117 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Protein

A protein is a folded chain your body builds to do a specific job.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A protein is like a tool bent into one shape for one task.

Where that stops being true. A tool keeps its shape. A protein can change shape and stop working.

What people get wrong. Protein in food and a protein in the body are related but not the same thing.

A polymer of amino acids folded into a defined structure that determines its function.

Gene

A gene is a stretch of instructions for building one protein.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A gene is like one page of a building plan.

Where that stops being true. A page is read the same way every time. A gene can be read more or less often.

What people get wrong. Having a gene is often read as having a trait. Whether it is used matters as much.

A segment of DNA that encodes a functional product, usually a protein.

Messenger RNA

Messenger RNA is a working copy of one gene, carried to where proteins are built.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like a photocopy of one plan page, taken to the workshop.

Where that stops being true. A photocopy lasts. This copy is destroyed soon after use, on purpose.

What people get wrong. It is often thought to change the gene. It is a copy, and it does not alter the original.

A single-stranded transcript of a gene that ribosomes translate into a protein.

Small interfering RNA

A small interfering RNA is a short piece that makes a cell destroy one working copy.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like a note telling the workshop to shred one plan page.

Where that stops being true. A note is read once. This keeps working for months after one injection.

What people get wrong. It is often described as gene editing. It leaves the gene untouched.

A short double-stranded RNA that directs the RNA-induced silencing complex to cleave a complementary transcript.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Placebo-adjusted mean percent change in lipoprotein(a) from baseline to week 36

The study showed what it set out to show

Who was studied
OCEAN(a)-DOSE (NCT04270760)
How many people
281
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
P < 0.001 for all dose comparisons with baseline
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. Meeting one endpoint in one population does not carry to other goals or other people.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. A dose-finding trial with a biomarker endpoint. It was neither designed nor powered to detect a difference in clinical events.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. GalNAc-conjugated siRNA, subcutaneous injection (investigational)

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

Major adverse cardiovascular events

The study did not show it

Who was studied
OCEAN(a)-Outcomes (NCT05581303)
How many people
7297
Study design
Phase 3 cardiovascular outcome trial
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Not reported — primary completion date 31 March 2028
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. The trial has not reported. `endpoint met: false` here means "no result exists yet", not "the endpoint was missed".

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. GalNAc-conjugated siRNA, subcutaneous injection (investigational)

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

What we know
RNAWiki holds 2 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What it changes in the bodyRead from sources, not yet reviewed

The path through the body

From what a person takes to what changes. A solid line is a step measured in people. A dashed line is a step nobody has measured that way.

  1. Start

    Olpasiran

    What a person takes: GalNAc-conjugated siRNA, subcutaneous injection (investigational).

    The measurement behind this step

    Subcutaneous administration every 12 weeks in the doses that produced near-complete reductions, with a 24-weekly arm also studied. No approved presentation exists.

  2. Getting in

    Subcutaneous injection every 12 weeks with a liver tag

    An injection under the skin once every three months. The sugar tag makes liver cells absorb it, which matters because the liver is the only place lipoprotein(a) is made.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    A GalNAc-conjugated duplex binds hepatocyte ASGPR. Doses of 75 mg and above every 12 weeks produced the near-complete reductions in phase 2; a 225 mg every-24-weeks arm performed comparably at week 36.

  3. Reaching the cell

    Receptor-mediated uptake into the hepatocyte

    The liver cell pulls the drug inside and retains a slowly released reservoir, which is why the effect outlasts the drug by many months.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    ASGPR-mediated endocytosis routes the conjugate to the endosome; a fraction escapes into the cytoplasm and the remainder forms the depot responsible for the year-long off-treatment persistence measured in the extension study.

  4. What it acts on

    Guide strand loaded into Argonaute 2

    The active strand is loaded into the cell's silencing machinery. No sequence has been published for this drug, so this page describes the mechanism, not the letters.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    The antisense strand loads into Argonaute 2 within RISC and directs it to LPA transcripts. No nucleotide sequence for olpasiran has been published in a verifiable source, so none is recorded here and the structure carries no machine-verification badge.

  5. The change it makes

    LPA messenger RNA is cut and apolipoprotein(a) is never made

    The complex destroys the instructions for the extra protein. Without it the lipoprotein(a) particle cannot be assembled at all.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    Argonaute 2 cleaves LPA mRNA, preventing translation of apolipoprotein(a). Lipoprotein(a) assembly requires a disulfide link between apolipoprotein(a) and the apolipoprotein B-100 of an LDL particle, so with no apolipoprotein(a) available the particle is not formed rather than being cleared faster.

  6. What that does for a person

    Circulating lipoprotein(a) approaches the assay floor

    The measured level drops essentially to nothing at the higher doses, and stays far below baseline for about a year after the last injection.

    Measured in people. Written by a person from the study named beside the step. Not signed off as a reviewed claim.

    The measurement behind this step

    Placebo-adjusted reductions of 97.4% to 101.1% at week 36, from a median baseline of 260.3 nmol/L. Whether that produces a clinical benefit is unknown: the phase 3 outcome trial has 7,297 participants and a primary completion date of March 2028.

No suggested links are held for this record, so nothing is hidden from this path.

What we know
The record describes 5 steps from taking it to an effect in a person.
How we know it
Each step names the study behind it in the technical detail beside it.
What this does not prove
A change inside the body is a reason to look. It is not a result in a person.
Why it matters
A reader can see exactly where the chain stops being measured in people.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim binds any of these steps to a named population.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • In trials so far, adults with established atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease and a lipoprotein(a) concentration above 150 nmol/L, almost all of them already on a statin.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

Where the result stopped carrying

  • Niacin, the previous lipid biomarker added on top of statins, failed in AIM-HIGH and in 25,673 patients in HPS2-THRIVE
  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Still being tested

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

GalNAc-conjugated siRNA, subcutaneous injection (investigational)

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. It is a prescription or clinician-administered medicine where it is approved.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

The identity record classes it as siRNA (Small Interfering RNA).

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Subcutaneous administration every 12 weeks in the doses that produced near-complete reductions, with a 24-weekly arm also studied. No approved presentation exists.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No register entry is recorded.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Worth asking a clinician aboutWritten into the record from the studies named on this page

In phase 2 the overall incidence of adverse events was similar across trial groups, and the most common drug-related events were injection-site reactions, primarily pain. The extension study identified no new safety concerns over a median 86 weeks of study exposure. There is no FDA label, so there is no labelled warning set.

Nobody counted how many people took this and were fine, so this cannot be turned into a rate.

Where this came from

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearNothing found in the sources checked

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

GalNAc-conjugated siRNA, subcutaneous injection (investigational)

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

No approved presentation exists.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on which forms are sold and how they compare.

No source is stored against this line.

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Olpasiran studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Claims that go past the evidence

Things said about this substance that sound reasonable, and the exact step that is missing between the evidence and the claim.

Goes past the evidence

That lowering lipoprotein(a) reduces cardiovascular events — the trial designed to test this reports in 2028

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Goes past the evidence

That -101.1% means more than total elimination; it is a placebo-adjusted figure against a comparator arm that rose 3.6%

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Goes past the evidence

That a Mendelian randomisation argument for causality is evidence that a drug intervention works

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Every line above can be traced to the study named beside it. Follow the link and read it.

OCEAN(a)-DOSE: placebo-adjusted lipoprotein(a) reduction of 97% to 101% at week 36
In plain words
Lipoprotein(a) fell essentially to nothing at the higher doses, in patients whose baseline level was more than three times the threshold considered high.
What was measured
Placebo-adjusted mean percent change in lipoprotein(a) at week 36
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
Randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled dose-finding trial in 281 patients with established atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease and lipoprotein(a) above 150 nmol/L. Median baseline lipoprotein(a) 260.3 nmol/L; median LDL-C 67.5 mg/dL; 88% on a statin, 52% on ezetimibe, 23% on a PCSK9 inhibitor. Placebo-adjusted mean percent change at week 36: -70.5% (10 mg every 12 weeks), -97.4% (75 mg every 12 weeks), -101.1% (225 mg every 12 weeks) and -100.5% (225 mg every 24 weeks). Injection-site reactions, mostly pain, were the most common drug-related adverse events.
Source
O'Donoghue ML et al., N Engl J Med 2022;387:1855-1864
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
No trial has shown that lowering lipoprotein(a) prevents anything
In plain words
Genetics say lipoprotein(a) causes heart disease. No drug has yet shown that removing it prevents heart attacks, and olpasiran's outcome trial does not finish until 2028.
What was measured
That near-complete removal of lipoprotein(a) will reduce myocardial infarction, stroke or cardiovascular death
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
OCEAN(a)-Outcomes (NCT05581303) is a phase 3 cardiovascular outcome trial with 7,297 participants enrolled, currently active but not recruiting, with a primary completion date of 31 March 2028. The phase 2 trial's own conclusion states that "longer and larger trials will be necessary to determine the effect of olpasiran therapy on cardiovascular disease". Until that reports, the causal argument rests on Mendelian randomisation and epidemiology, not on a randomised drug trial.
Source
O'Donoghue ML et al., N Engl J Med 2022;387:1855-1864; OCEAN(a)-Outcomes registry record
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
caution
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
The precedent: niacin moved every lipid marker and prevented nothing
In plain words
The last drug class to be added on top of statins because it improved a blood measurement was niacin. Two large trials found no benefit, and one was stopped early for futility.
What was measured
Not recorded
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
This entry records a failure.
From the source
AIM-HIGH randomised 3,414 patients to extended-release niacin or placebo on background simvastatin and was stopped after a mean 3 years for lack of efficacy, despite raising HDL-C from 35 to 42 mg/dL and lowering triglycerides and LDL-C. HPS2-THRIVE randomised 25,673 patients to extended-release niacin with laropiprant or placebo; over a median 3.9 years the niacin arm had LDL-C 10 mg/dL lower and HDL-C 6 mg/dL higher, with major vascular events in 13.2% versus 13.7%, rate ratio 0.96. This is why a 100% biomarker reduction is not the same as a treatment.
Source
AIM-HIGH, N Engl J Med 2011;365:2255-2267; HPS2-THRIVE, N Engl J Med 2014;371:203-212
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
A placebo-adjusted reduction above 100% is arithmetic, not a miracle
In plain words
One dose group shows -101.1%. That does not mean lipoprotein(a) went below zero. It means the placebo group's level rose while the treated group's fell to the bottom of the assay.
What was measured
Placebo-adjusted percent change, where the placebo arm rose 3.6%
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
Lipoprotein(a) increased by a mean of 3.6% in the placebo group over 36 weeks. A placebo-adjusted change is the treated change minus the placebo change, so a treated reduction approaching 100% against a rising comparator produces a figure past -100%. Reading -101.1% as more than complete elimination is a units error, and it is the kind of number that gets quoted without its denominator.
Source
O'Donoghue ML et al., N Engl J Med 2022;387:1855-1864
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
The effect persists for about a year after the last dose
In plain words
Nearly a year after their final injection, patients still had lipoprotein(a) roughly 40% below where they started. That is durability, and it is also irreversibility.
What was measured
Off-treatment placebo-adjusted percent change in lipoprotein(a)
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
In the OCEAN(a)-DOSE extension, 276 of 281 participants entered off-treatment follow-up after the last dose at week 36. For the 225 mg every-12-weeks group, placebo-adjusted mean percent change from baseline was -84.4%, -61.6%, -52.2% and -36.4% at weeks 60, 72, 84 and 96 respectively, all P<0.001. No new safety concerns were identified. Participants on doses of 75 mg or above sustained a 40% to 50% reduction close to one year after the last dose.
Source
O'Donoghue ML et al., J Am Coll Cardiol 2024;84:790-797
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
8M4GC1EOB4
CAS registry number
2225856-03-9
WHO international nonproprietary name list entry
11099
EMA substance identifier
300000016920

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    The identity record classes it as siRNA (Small Interfering RNA).

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

8 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How this medicine reached us — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

The older medicine-wide conclusion held in this record

Written for a clinical reader, and about the medicine as a whole rather than about one indication, population and set of trials. RNAWiki does not treat it as a programme conclusion and no reviewer has signed it off in that form. It is here word for word because it is what the record holds.

Silences apolipoprotein(a) production so completely that placebo-adjusted lipoprotein(a) fell by 97% to 101% at week 36 in phase 2 — a biomarker that no drug has yet been shown to lower to any clinical benefit.

Recorded evidence blocks (6)

Which 2 trials of Olpasiran posted no result?


Posted no result
2 of 2 completed trials
Registrations
NCT05481411 and NCT05489614
Completion dates
oldest 2023-05-31; newest 2023-12-19
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT05481411
    2023-05-31
  • NCT05489614
    2023-12-19

At the median, Olpasiran's trials enrolled 157 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
157
Largest enrolment
11000
Registered trials counted
8

What became of the other compound aimed at LPA mRNA?


1 stopped: where the other compounds against this target stand.

Pelacarsen; 1 across 1 recorded target

Show the evidence
  • Pelacarsen
    stopped

Olpasiran, aimed at LPA: reached which phase?


LPA and LPA mRNA: Olpasiran's recorded targets; highest registry phase 3; 3 of 9 matched studies at it. ChEMBL 37 · CHEMBL4650413 · 2026-09-04

2 recorded targets; not recorded here: a stop reason ChEMBL 37 · CHEMBL4650413 · 2026-09-04

Show the evidence
  • LPA ENSG00000198670
    LPA mRNA
  • LPA mRNA CHEMBL4662965
    chembl-mechanism-target
  • phase1
    4
  • phase3
    3
  • na or unstated
    1
  • phase2
    1

recorded 2026-09-04 · last checked 2026-09-04

Olpasiran on LPA: which action is recorded?


Recorded action
rnai inhibitor
Recorded targets
LPA and LPA mRNA
Recorded mechanism rows
1
Not recorded here
a human dose
Mechanism (ChEMBL 37)
"LPA mRNA rnai inhibitor"
Show the evidence
  • rnai inhibitor CHEMBL4662965
    LPA mRNA rnai inhibitor; rnai inhibitor
  • LPA ENSG00000198670
    LPA mRNA
  • LPA mRNA CHEMBL4662965
    chembl-mechanism-target

Who carried Olpasiran to phase 3?


Amgen, 9 studies: the lead sponsor the registry names most often for Olpasiran; highest registry phase 3, 3 of 9 studies at it. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

9 matched studies in all; not recorded here: a human dose and a stop reason ChEMBL 37 · CHEMBL4650413 · 2026-09-04

Show the evidence
  • Amgen NCT04270760
    9 studies; industry
  • phase1
    4
  • phase3
    3
  • na or unstated
    1
  • phase2
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL4650413
CAS number
2225856-03-9
Also called
Amg 890, ALL-P-AMBO-5'-O-((25S,30S)-39-((2-ACETAMIDO-2-DEOXY-.BETA.-D-GALACTOPYRANOSYL)OXY)-25,30-BIS((2-(2-((2-ACETAMIDO-2-DEOXY-.BETA.-D-GALACTOPYRANOSYL)OXY)ETHOXY)ETHYL)CARBAMOYL)-1,23,28,33-TETRAOXO-1-SULFANYL-2,5,8,11,14,17,20,37-OCTAOXA-24,29,34-TRIAZA-1.LAMBDA.5-PHOSPHANONATRIACONTAN-1-YL)-2'-O-METHYL-P-THIOCYTIDYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLADENYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLGUANYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLCYTIDYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLCYTIDYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLCYTIDYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLCYTIDYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLURIDYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUOROURIDYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUOROADENYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUOROURIDYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLURIDYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLGUANYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLURIDYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLURIDYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLADENYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLURIDYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLADENYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYLCYTIDYLYL-(3'->5')-2'-O-METHYL-P-THIOGUANYLYL-(3'->3')-2'-DEOXYADENOSINE DUPLEX WITH ALL-P-AMBO-2'-O-METHYL-P-THIOGUANYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUORO-P-THIOURIDYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-O-METHYLCYTIDYLY-(5'->3')-2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUOROGUANYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-O-METHYLGUANYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUOROGUANYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-O-METHYLGUANYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUOROADENYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-O-METHYLADENYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUOROURIDYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-O-METHYLADENYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-O-METHYLADENYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-O-METHYLCYTIDYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-O-METHYLADENYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-O-METHYLADENYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUOROURIDYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-O-METHYLADENYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUOROURIDYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-O-METHYL-P-THIOGUANYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUORO-P-THIOCYTIDYLYL-(5'->3')-2'-O-METHYLURIDINE, OLPASIRAN [USAN], Olpasiran [WHO-DD], RNA, (CM-SP-AM-GM-CM-CM-CM-CM-UM-(2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUORO)U-(2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUORO)A-(2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUORO)U-UM-GM-UM-UM-AM-UM-AM-CM-GM-(3'->3')-SP-DA), 5'-(O-((23S,28S)-37-((2-(ACETYLAMINO)-2-DEOXY-.BETA.-D-GALACTOPYRANOSYL)OXY)-23,28-BIS(((2-(2-((2-(ACETYLAMINO)-2-DEOXY-.BETA.-D-GALACTOPYRANOSYL)OXY)ETHOXY)ETHYL)AMINO)CARBONYL)-21,26,31-TRIOXO-3,6,9,12,15,18,35-HEPTAOXA-22,27,32-TRIAZAHEPTATRIACONT-1-YL) HYDROGEN PHOSPHOROTHIOATE), COMPLEX WITH RNA (UM-SP-(2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUORO)C-SP-GM-(2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUORO)U-AM-(2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUORO)U-AM-AM-CM-AM-AM-(2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUORO)U-AM-(2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUORO)A-GM-(2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUORO)G-GM-(2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUORO)G-CM-SP-(2'-DEOXY-2'-FLUORO)U-SP-GM), olpasiran [INN]
Sources (3)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 3 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.