Skip to content

Nilotinib

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Nilotinib does in the body

Nilotinib capsules are a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of: Adult and pediatric patients greater than or equal to 1 year of age with newly diagnosed Philadelphia chromosome positive chronic myeloid leukemia (Ph+ CML) in chronic phase.

From the FDA-approved label: Nilotinib is an inhibitor of the BCR-ABL kinase. Nilotinib binds to and stabilizes the inactive conformation of the kinase domain of ABL protein. In vitro , nilotinib inhibited BCR-ABL mediated proliferation of murine leukemic cell lines and human cell lines derived from patients with Ph+ CML. Under the conditions of the assays, nilotinib was able to overcome imatinib resistance resulting from BCR-ABL kinase mutations, in 32 out of 33 mutations tested. 7 nM).

Why people take it. Nilotinib capsules are a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of: Adult and pediatric patients greater than or equal to 1 year of age with newly diagnosed Philadelphia chromosome positive chronic myeloid leukemia (Ph+ CML) in chronic phase.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • 25 registered substances share the start of this name, which is why a search for it can return more than one thing.

    FDA substance registry · J4WJ4450U9 · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 163 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Accrual of patients to ComboMATCH treatment trials

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05564377
How many people
2900
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of patients that are treated based on their molecular tumor profile

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02925234
How many people
1550
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Changes From Baseline in Clinical Dementia Rating Scale - Sum of Boxes (CDR-SB) Score at Week 72 [ Time Frame: Baseline, Week 72]

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05143528
How many people
1275
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants With Molecular Response (MR4^0) at 18 Months

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01061177
How many people
1090
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Induction Progression-Free Rate after induction treatment

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02029001
How many people
900
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Major Molecular Response Rate (MMR) at 12 Months Between All 3 Arms - With Imputation

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00471497
How many people
846
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Nilotinib capsules are a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of: Adult and pediatric patients greater than or equal to 1 year of age with newly diagnosed Philadelphia chromosome positive chronic myeloid leukemia (Ph+ CML) in chronic phase. ( 1.1 ) Adult patients with chronic phase (CP) and accelerated phase (AP) Ph+ CML resistant to or intolerant to prior therapy that included imatinib.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of nilotinib have been established in pediatric patients greater than or equal to 1 year of age with newly diagnosed and resistant or intolerant Ph+ CML in chronic phase [see Clinical Studies (14.5 )].”

    US prescribing information · 13b46e09-62d2-4ce9-b3c0-deafcb1f1842 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “In the clinical trials of nilotinib (patients with newly diagnosed Ph+ CML-CP and resistant or intolerant Ph+ CML-CP and CML-AP), approximately 12% and 30% of patients were 65 years or over, respectively.”

    US prescribing information · 13b46e09-62d2-4ce9-b3c0-deafcb1f1842 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Based on findings from animal studies and the mechanism of action, nilotinib can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman [ see Clinical Pharmacology (12.1) ] .”

    US prescribing information · 13b46e09-62d2-4ce9-b3c0-deafcb1f1842 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of nilotinib or its metabolites in human milk or its effects on a breastfed child or on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 13b46e09-62d2-4ce9-b3c0-deafcb1f1842 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “Reduce the nilotinib dosage in patients with hepatic impairment and monitor the QT interval closely in these patients [ see Dosage and Administration (2.7) , Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ].”

    US prescribing information · 13b46e09-62d2-4ce9-b3c0-deafcb1f1842 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4, S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as capsule, tablet, tablet, orally disintegrating, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 54 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 54 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72205-239 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, powder, tablet and tablet, orally disintegrating, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72205-239 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is bcr-abl tyrosine kinase inhibitors [moa], cytochrome p450 2b6 inducers [moa] and cytochrome p450 2c8 inducers [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72205-239 · read 2026-08-29

  • 11 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 11 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 13b46e09-62d2-4ce9-b3c0-deafcb1f1842 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 13b46e09-62d2-4ce9-b3c0-deafcb1f1842 · read 2026-08-29

  • nilotinib is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Capsules: 50 mg light yellow opaque colour body and red opaque colour cap imprinted with “MN5” with black ink. 150 mg red opaque colour body and red opaque colour cap imprinted with“MN4” wit…, recorded as fda label in effect 2025-11-20 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 13b46e09-62d2-4ce9-b3c0-deafcb1f1842 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Nilotinib studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Nilotinib are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Read from sources, not yet reviewed

No traced study record is stored for this substance.

Built from stored sources by fixed rules. No reviewer has signed it off.

How many documents were read

  • 11 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 7 of them state the same bioavailability, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 11 of them state the same proteinBinding, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4, S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 9 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA022068, approved 20071029 to NOVARTIS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022068 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022068 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20071029.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72205-239 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (11)

On the Nilotinib label: indicated for what?


"CAVHANZA is a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of: Adult patients with newly diagnosed Philadelphia chromosome positive chronic myeloid leukemia (Ph+ CML) in chronic phase. ( 1.1 ) Adult patients with chronic phase (CP) and accelerated phase (AP) Ph+ CML resistant to or intolerant to prior therapy that…": indications and usage on Nilotinib's label. DailyMed label · 98b197ea-bca4-427e-8737-97f70a3262bc · 2026-08-07

159 registered trials of Nilotinib — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
102 of 159

159 registered studies of Nilotinib: 74 phase2, 33 phase1, 28 phase3, 17 phase4, 16 na or unstated, 2 early phase1, 1 na. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

208 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    74
  • phase1
    33
  • phase3
    28
  • phase4
    17
  • na or unstated
    16
  • early phase1
    2
10 more recorded rows
  • na
    1
  • completed
    97
  • terminated
    22
  • unknown
    12
  • active not recruiting
    9
  • recruiting
    7
  • no longer available
    5
  • withdrawn
    5
  • approved for marketing
    1
  • not yet recruiting
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

23 of Nilotinib's trials stopped: safety, futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


safety (4), futility/efficacy (1), accrual/recruitment (11), funding/business (1), sponsor decision unspecified (1) and other (5): Nilotinib's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"This study was terminated due to limited enrollment."; 23 of 159 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00519090
    terminated; "This study was terminated due to limited enrollment."
  • NCT00644878
    terminated; "Slower than expected enrollment"
  • NCT00782834
    terminated; "Stopped early for futility, unable to meet accrual goals"
  • NCT00905398
    terminated; "The study was terminated due to excessive toxicity and low compliance to the protocol scheme."
  • NCT01089595
    terminated; "Novartis is ending their research program for Nilotinib in GIST."
  • NCT01179737
    terminated; "Study was terminated due to serious adverse event (SAE)"
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01201538
    terminated; "Study PI passed away We had trouble recruiting for the drug arm"
  • NCT01270893
    withdrawn; "No particapnt recruitment."
  • NCT01670084
    withdrawn; "No Accrual"
  • NCT01751425
    terminated; "Per PI Request. 2) No additional benefit was noted with the addition of Ruxolitinib."
  • NCT01866553
    terminated; "insufficient enrollment"
  • NCT02086487
    terminated; "Because of many unseen obstacles resulted in poor accrual, study is terminated."
  • NCT02108951
    terminated; "Study was terminated because of slow recruitment"
  • NCT02115386
    terminated; "Study was terminated by Novartis"
  • NCT02174445
    terminated; "very slow recruitment rate and a lot of pat. didn't fulfil BCR-ABL requirements"
  • NCT02225574
    terminated; "Slow Accrual - Only 1 patient enrolled in Phase 1 - Study never went to Phase II"
  • NCT02627677
    terminated; "The study was stopped due to operational feasibility and not due to any safety concerns"
  • NCT02709083
    terminated; "Original principal investigator left institution"
  • NCT02774512
    withdrawn; "none participant has been enrolled and recruited during the first year after competent autority autorisation."
  • NCT02973711
    withdrawn; "lack of funding"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Nilotinib used Nilotinib 300mg BID — over how long?


studies of Nilotinib used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

13 recorded entries; human; oral; also "Nilotinib 300mg BID", "Nilotinib (400 mg BID)", "Nilotinib 300 mg."

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT01856283
    Nilotinib 300mg BID
  • NCT02029001
    Nilotinib (400 mg BID)
  • NCT02086487
    Nilotinib 300 mg.
  • NCT02086487
    Tasigna 300 mg
  • NCT02627677
    Nilotinib 400 mg BID
  • NCT03079505
    oral; Nilotinib 150mg oral capsule [Tasigna]
7 more recorded rows
  • human NCT03764215
    Nilotinib 150 MG
  • human NCT03906292
    Nilotinib 300 mg
  • human NCT03906292
    Nilotinib 300 mg BID and asciminib 20 mg BID or 40 mg QD
  • human NCT04903119
    Nilotinib 100mg
  • human NCT04903119
    Nilotinib 200mg
  • human NCT04903119
    Nilotinib 300mg
  • human NCT04903119
    Nilotinib 400mg

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Nilotinib's half-life is 13.6 h — which schedules were studied?


13.6 h, the half-life Nilotinib's label states: "Elimination The geometric mean (coefficient of variation) apparent first-order terminal elimination half-life was 13.6 h (36.4%) for a single 160 mg dose of CAVHANZA." DailyMed label · 98b197ea-bca4-427e-8737-97f70a3262bc · 2026-08-07

tmax 2 hours.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    13.6 h; Elimination The geometric mean (coefficient of variation) apparent first-order terminal elimination half-life was 13.6 h (36.4%) for a single 160 mg dose of CAVHANZA.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    2 hours; The median time (range) to reach maximal plasma concentration (T max ) of nilotinib is 2 hours (1-8 hours) in the fasted state after oral administration.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Nilotinib is primarily metabolized via CYP3A4-mediated oxidation and to a minor extent by CYP2C8.

recorded 2026-08-07 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Nilotinib could settle lifespan?


NCT04626024 measures Molecular relapse (MR) free survival, reading out 2028-11-15.

2 open trials; n 17; "Safety And Efficacy Of TKI Cessation For CML Patients With Stable Molecular Response In A Real World Population"

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT04626024
    "Safety And Efficacy Of TKI Cessation For CML Patients With Stable Molecular Response In A Real World Population"; n 17; "Molecular relapse (MR) free survival"; 2028-11-15
  • NCT07493408
    "Asciminib & Standard-of-Care Integration in Maintenance Therapy for POST Allogeneic Stem Cell Transplant (Allo-HSCT) of Patient With Ph+ B-ALL or Blastic Transformed CML"; n 45; "Morphological relapse-free survival (M-RFS)"; 2037-12-31

Which 42 trials of Nilotinib posted no result?


Posted no result
42 of 42 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00264160, NCT01126892, NCT00732888, NCT01110668, NCT00976612 and NCT00786812, and 36 more
Completion dates
oldest 2009-08; newest 2024-05-29
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00264160
    2009-08
  • NCT01126892
    2011-04
  • NCT00732888
    2011-09
  • NCT01110668
    2011-09
  • NCT00976612
    2011-12
  • NCT00786812
    2012-01
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01206088
    2012-09
  • NCT01261429
    2013-04
  • NCT00718562
    2013-07
  • NCT01819389
    2013-08
  • NCT01155817
    2013-12
  • NCT01223898
    2013-12
  • NCT01220648
    2014-01
  • NCT02068898
    2014-05
  • NCT00769327
    2014-10-10
  • NCT01252017
    2014-11
  • NCT01289054
    2015-03
  • NCT01099514
    2015-06
  • NCT00809211
    2016-02
  • NCT01810718
    2016-03

At the median, Nilotinib's trials enrolled 42 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
42
Largest enrolment
2900
Registered trials counted
153

What do 3681 spontaneous reports say about Nilotinib — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Nilotinib appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 3681 reaction mentions were counted: rash 821; electrocardiogram qt prolonged 494; pleural effusion 394; myocardial infarction 373. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1201740 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • rash
    821
  • electrocardiogram qt prolonged
    494
  • pleural effusion
    394
  • myocardial infarction
    373
  • thrombocytopenia
    322
  • platelet count decreased
    284
4 more recorded rows
  • drug intolerance
    282
  • pancreatitis
    254
  • drug resistance
    231
  • blood bilirubin increased
    226

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Nilotinib's label not list?


blood bilirubin increased, drug intolerance and drug resistance and 7 more reported for Nilotinib, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1201740 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 98b197ea-bca4-427e-8737-97f70a3262bc

Show the evidence
  • blood bilirubin increased
    count not stated
  • drug intolerance
    count not stated
  • drug resistance
    count not stated
  • electrocardiogram qt prolonged
    count not stated
  • myocardial infarction
    count not stated
  • pancreatitis
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • platelet count decreased
    count not stated
  • pleural effusion
    count not stated
  • rash
    count not stated
  • thrombocytopenia
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Nilotinib and CYP3A: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A appear in Nilotinib's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 98b197ea-bca4-427e-8737-97f70a3262bc · 2026-08-07

CYP3A, CYP3A, CYP3A; 3 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Strong CYP3A Inhibitors: Avoid concomitant use with CAVHANZA or reduce CAVHANZA dose if concomitant use cannot be avoided.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.1 ) Strong CYP3A Inducers: Avoid concomitant use with CAVHANZA.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.1 ) 7.1 Effect of Other Drugs on CAVHANZA Strong CYP3A Inhibitors Avoid concomitant use of strong CYP3A inhibitors with CAVHANZA.
  • drug_interactions
    Nilotinib is a CYP3A substrate [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].
  • drug_interactions
    Concomitant use with a strong CYP3A inhibitor increases nilotinib exposure [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )], which may increase the risk of CAVHANZA adverse reactions.
  • drug_interactions
    Strong CYP3A Inducers Avoid concomitant use of strong CYP3A inducers with CAVHANZA.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Nilotinib is a CYP3A substrate [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Concomitant use with a strong CYP3A inducer decreases nilotinib exposure [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] which may reduce CAVHANZA efficacy.

CYP3A

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib

recorded 2026-08-07 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1201740
PubChem CID
16757572
CAS number
923288-90-8
RxCUI
662281
InChIKey
HHZIURLSWUIHRB-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
NILOTINIB HYDROCHLORIDE MONOHYDRATE, xs003, Nilotinib D-Tartrate, NILOTINIB HYDROCHLORIDE HYDRATE [JAN], NILOTINIB HYDROCHLORIDE MONOHYDRATE [EP MONOGRAPH], NILOTINIB HYDROCHLORIDE MONOHYDRATE [MI], NILOTINIB HYDROCHLORIDE MONOHYDRATE [ORANGE BOOK], Nilotinib hydrochloride monohydrate [WHO-DD], Nilotinib monohydrochloride monohydrate
Salt form
Nilotinib hydrochloride, Nilotinib hydrochloride anhydrous, Nilotinib hydrochloride hydrate, Nilotinib Tartrate, Nilotinib Hydrochloride Dihydrate, Nilotinib Hydrochloride / Tasigna / Danziten / Cavhanza / Nilotinib Hydrochloride Dihydrate
Trade name
Tasigna, Danziten, Cavhanza, Nilotinib Accord
Development code
AMN 107, AMN107, NSC-747599
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.