Skip to content

Nevirapine

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Nevirapine does in the body

Nevirapine binds directly to reverse transcriptase (RT) and blocks the RNA-dependent and DNA-dependent DNA polymerase activities by causing a disruption of the enzyme's catalytic site.

4) ] . Mechanism of Action Nevirapine is a non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitor (NNRTI) of HIV-1. The activity of nevirapine does not compete with template or nucleoside triphosphates. HIV-2 RT and eukaryotic DNA polymerases (such as human DNA polymerases α, ß, γ, or δ) are not inhibited by nevirapine.

Why people take it. HIV-1 infection

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 99DK7FVK1H · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C15H14N4O, weighing 266.30.

    US prescribing information · effb86cc-4b80-4fac-aaa3-9f373b3d0f7d · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

A person wrote this explanation into the record, with the studies named in the path below.

The recorded use, written for a reader without medical training. Not signed off.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 85 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Antepartum Component: Number of Confirmed Infant HIV Infections

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01061151
How many people
3747
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Survival

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01229761
How many people
3724
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Antibiotics to Reduce Chorioamnionitis-Related Perinatal HIV Transmission

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00021671
How many people
3720
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

mortality

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00518856
How many people
3559
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Linked Partner HIV Infection Rates in Early-ART and Delayed-ART Arms

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00074581
How many people
3526
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

A. Rate of HIV infection at 9 months and assess HIV infection rates at 6-8 & 14 weeks, and 6, 12, 18, and 24 months. B.Determine HIV survival rates at ages 6, 12, 18, and 24 months. C. Evaluate safety of oral NVP and ZDV for 14 weeks.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00115648
How many people
3300
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Nevirapine tablets, USP are indicated for use in combination with other antiretroviral agents for the treatment of HIV-1 infection. This indication is based on one principal clinical trial (BI 1090) that demonstrated prolonged suppression of HIV-1 RNA and two smaller supportive trials, one of which (BI 1046) is described below.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety, pharmacokinetic profile, and virologic and immunologic responses of nevirapine have been evaluated in HIV-1 infected pediatric subjects aged 3 months to 18 years [see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 ) and Clinical Studies ( 14.2 )].”

    US prescribing information · effb86cc-4b80-4fac-aaa3-9f373b3d0f7d · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical trials of nevirapine did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and older to determine whether elderly subjects respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · effb86cc-4b80-4fac-aaa3-9f373b3d0f7d · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in women exposed to nevirapine during pregnancy.”

    US prescribing information · effb86cc-4b80-4fac-aaa3-9f373b3d0f7d · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommend that HIV-1 infected mothers in the United States not breastfeed their infants to avoid risking postnatal transmission of HIV-1 infection.”

    US prescribing information · effb86cc-4b80-4fac-aaa3-9f373b3d0f7d · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “Because increased nevirapine levels and nevirapine accumulation may be observed in patients with serious liver disease, do not administer nevirapine to patients with moderate or severe (Child-Pugh Class B or C, respectively) hepatic impairment [see Contraindications ( 4 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 ), and Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].”

    US prescribing information · effb86cc-4b80-4fac-aaa3-9f373b3d0f7d · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “In subjects with renal impairment (mild, moderate or severe), there were no significant changes in the pharmacokinetics of nevirapine.”

    US prescribing information · effb86cc-4b80-4fac-aaa3-9f373b3d0f7d · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, tablet, extended release, suspension, tablet, for suspension, given by the oral, oral suspension route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 21 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 21 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 70159-002 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder, suspension, tablet and tablet, extended release, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 70159-002 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is cytochrome p450 2b6 inducers [moa], cytochrome p450 3a inducers [moa] and human immunodeficiency virus 1 non-nucleoside analog reverse transcriptase inhibitor [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 70159-002 · read 2026-08-29

  • 9 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 9 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · effb86cc-4b80-4fac-aaa3-9f373b3d0f7d · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · effb86cc-4b80-4fac-aaa3-9f373b3d0f7d · read 2026-08-29

  • Nevirapine is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS & STRENGTHS Nevirapine Tablets, USP : 200 mg,white to off white, oval, biconvex, uncoated tablets having “M” and “L” debossed on one side, with a deep score separating the “M” & “L” and “1”and“1” debossed…, recorded as fda label in effect 2023-08-16 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · effb86cc-4b80-4fac-aaa3-9f373b3d0f7d · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 0.14686 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 3 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Nevirapine studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Nevirapine are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 9 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 9 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 7 of them state the same bioavailability, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 2 of them state the same tMax, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 9 of them state the same volumeOfDistribution, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
99DK7FVK1H
CAS registry number
129618-40-2
PubChem compound
4463
ChEMBL
CHEMBL57
ChEBI
63613
WHO international nonproprietary name list entry
6815
RxNorm concept
53654
EMA substance identifier
100000085470
DrugBank
DB00238

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 53 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA020636, approved 19960621 to BOEHRINGER INGELHEIM.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA020636 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued, none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA020636 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19960621.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 70159-002 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Nevirapine label: indicated for what?


"Nevirapine is indicated in combination with other antiretroviral agents for the treatment of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV-1) infection in adults and pediatric patients 15 days and older [see Clinical Studies (14.1 , 14.2) ]. Limitations of Use: Based on serious and life-threatening hepatotoxicity observed in…": indications and usage on Nevirapine's label. DailyMed label · c6e93829-7024-48f6-8023-da6ff27dfc0a · 2026-07-15

131 registered trials of Nevirapine — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
115 of 131

131 registered studies of Nevirapine: 30 phase3, 28 phase1, 27 phase2, 25 phase4, 15 na, 12 na or unstated, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

0 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase3
    30
  • phase1
    28
  • phase2
    27
  • phase4
    25
  • na
    15
  • na or unstated
    12
8 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    1
  • completed
    117
  • terminated
    6
  • unknown
    4
  • active not recruiting
    1
  • not yet recruiting
    1
  • recruiting
    1
  • withdrawn
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

4 of Nevirapine's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, other?


accrual/recruitment (3) and other (1): Nevirapine's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"study was withdrawn before any participants were recruited and enrolled"; 4 of 131 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00087464
    withdrawn; "study was withdrawn before any participants were recruited and enrolled"
  • NCT00523458
    terminated; "A delay in protocol approval and approval of laboratory sites in Salvador, Brazil left too little time for completion of enrollment into the study."
  • NCT00661349
    terminated; "It has been impossible to achieve the number of patients defined by protocol"
  • NCT02116660
    terminated; "This study was terminated early due to poor recruitment."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Nevirapine used Viramune (Nevirapine) suspension 50mg/5ml — over how long?


studies of Nevirapine used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

2 recorded entries; human; also "Viramune (Nevirapine) suspension 50mg/5ml", "Nevirapine 200Mg Oral Tablet"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00164736
    Viramune (Nevirapine) suspension 50mg/5ml
  • NCT01410058
    Nevirapine 200Mg Oral Tablet

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Nevirapine's half-life is 45 hours — which schedules were studied?


45 hours, the half-life Nevirapine's label states: "Autoinduction also results in a corresponding decrease in the terminal phase half-life of nevirapine in plasma, from approximately 45 hours (single dose) to approximately 25-30 hours following multiple dosing with 200-400 mg per day." DailyMed label · c6e93829-7024-48f6-8023-da6ff27dfc0a · 2026-07-15

bioavailability 90 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    45 hours; Autoinduction also results in a corresponding decrease in the terminal phase half-life of nevirapine in plasma, from approximately 45 hours (single dose) to approximately 25-30 hours following multiple dosing with 200-400 mg per day.
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    90 %; Adults Absorption and Bioavailability Nevirapine is readily absorbed (greater than 90%) after oral administration in healthy volunteers and in adults with HIV-1 infection.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism/Elimination In vivo trials in humans and in vitro studies with human liver microsomes have shown that nevirapine is extensively biotransformed via cytochrome P450 (oxidative) metabolism to several hydroxylated metabolites.

recorded 2026-07-15 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 70 trials of Nevirapine posted no result?


Posted no result
70 of 70 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00000770, NCT00000781, NCT00000808, NCT00001045, NCT00000814 and NCT00001095, and 64 more
Completion dates
oldest 1994-11; newest 2022-06-16
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00000770
    1994-11
  • NCT00000781
    1996-09
  • NCT00000808
    1998-09
  • NCT00001045
    1998-10
  • NCT00000814
    1998-11
  • NCT00001095
    1999-10
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00001108
    2000-06
  • NCT00000896
    2000-10
  • NCT00001091
    2000-10
  • NCT00000869
    2001-05
  • NCT00000942
    2001-05
  • NCT00001135
    2001-05
  • NCT00000924
    2001-06
  • NCT00001083
    2001-06
  • NCT00000895
    2001-08
  • NCT00001688
    2001-11
  • NCT00000902
    2002-04
  • NCT01335360
    2003-06
  • NCT00273988
    2003-10
  • NCT00274001
    2004-03

At the median, Nevirapine's trials enrolled 129 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
129
Largest enrolment
3720
Registered trials counted
128

What do 3250 spontaneous reports say about Nevirapine — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Nevirapine appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 3250 reaction mentions were counted: drug resistance 774; virologic failure 615; viral mutation identified 408; lipodystrophy acquired 250. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL57 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug resistance
    774
  • virologic failure
    615
  • viral mutation identified
    408
  • lipodystrophy acquired
    250
  • treatment failure
    249
  • abortion spontaneous
    217
4 more recorded rows
  • premature baby
    213
  • stevens-johnson syndrome
    189
  • pathogen resistance
    185
  • hiv infection
    150

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Nevirapine's label not list?


abortion spontaneous, drug resistance and hiv infection and 7 more reported for Nevirapine, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL57 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; c6e93829-7024-48f6-8023-da6ff27dfc0a

Show the evidence
  • abortion spontaneous
    count not stated
  • drug resistance
    count not stated
  • hiv infection
    count not stated
  • lipodystrophy acquired
    count not stated
  • pathogen resistance
    count not stated
  • premature baby
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • stevens-johnson syndrome
    count not stated
  • treatment failure
    count not stated
  • viral mutation identified
    count not stated
  • virologic failure
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Nevirapine and CYP3A, CYTOCHROME P450 and CYP2B6: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A, CYTOCHROME P450 and CYP2B6 appear in Nevirapine's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · c6e93829-7024-48f6-8023-da6ff27dfc0a · 2026-07-15

CYP2B6, CYP3A, CYP3A, CYP3A; 4 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Nevirapine is principally metabolized by the liver via the cytochrome P450 isoenzymes, 3A and 2B6.
  • drug_interactions
    In addition to established drug interactions, there may be potential pharmacokinetic interactions between nevirapine and other drug classes that are metabolized by the cytochrome P450 system.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 5.4 , 7 , 12.3 ) Drug Interactions [see Drug Interactions (7) ] Nevirapine induces hepatic cytochrome P450 metabolic isoenzymes 3A and 2B6.
  • drug_interactions
    Co-administration of nevirapine and drugs primarily metabolized by CYP3A or CYP2B6 may result in decreased plasma concentrations of these drugs and attenuate their therapeutic effects.
  • drug_interactions
    While primarily an inducer of cytochrome P450 3A and 2B6 enzymes, nevirapine may also inhibit this system.
  • drug_interactions
    Among human hepatic cytochrome P450s, nevirapine was capable in vitro of inhibiting the 10-hydroxylation of (R)-warfarin (CYP3A).
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    The estimated K i for the inhibition of CYP3A was 270 micromolar, a concentration that is unlikely to be achieved in patients as the therapeutic range is less than 25 micromolar.
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Therefore, nevirapine may have minimal inhibitory effect on other substrates of CYP3A.
  • CYP2B6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Sofpironium, Bupropion, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine

CYP3A

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib

recorded 2026-07-15 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL57
PubChem CID
4463
CAS number
129618-40-2
RxCUI
53654
InChIKey
NQDJXKOVJZTUJA-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Development code
BIRG 0587, BIRG0587, NSC-641530
Also called
Nevirapina, Nevirapine teva, bi-rg-587, nevirapine immediate release, nvp, nvp ir, nvp xr, sdnvp, Lamivudine, Nevirapine, and Stavudine, NEVIRAPINE ANHYDROUS [USP-RS], NEVIRAPINE ANHYDROUS [WHO-IP], NEVIRAPINE [EMA EPAR]
Salt form
Nevirapine anhydrous, Nevirapinum anhydrous, Nevirapine Hemihydrate, Nevirapine Tablets For Oral Suspension, Viramune / Nevirapine Tablets For Oral Suspension
Trade name
Viramune, Viramune xr
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.