Skip to content

Midostaurin

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Midostaurin does in the body

The treatment of adult patients

From the FDA-approved label: Midostaurin is a small molecule that inhibits multiple receptor tyrosine kinases. In vitro biochemical or cellular assays have shown that midostaurin or its major human active metabolites CGP62221 and CGP52421 inhibit the activity of wild type FLT3, FLT3 mutant kinases (ITD and TKD), KIT (wild type and D816V mutant), PDGFRα/β, as well as members of the serine/threonine kinase PKC (protein kinase C) family. Midostaurin demonstrated the ability to inhibit FLT3 receptor signaling and cell proliferation, and it induced apoptosis in leukemic cells expressing ITD and TKD mutant FLT3 receptors or overexpressing wild type FLT3 and PDGF receptors.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · ID912S5VON · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

The recorded explanation is written in label language rather than for a beginner. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 121 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Overal survival (OS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04027309
How many people
777
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Overall Survival (OS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00651261
How many people
717
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Event Free Survival (EFS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03512197
How many people
511
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Complete response (CR) rate

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02115295
How many people
508
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Event-free Survival

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01477606
How many people
451
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Patients With Adverse Events (AEs), Grade 3 & 4 AEs, Serious Adverse Events (SAEs), AEs Leading to Discontinuation, and Deaths up to 24 Months (M24).

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03379727
How many people
301
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • RYDAPT is a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of adult patients with: Newly diagnosed acute myeloid leukemia (AML) that is FLT3 mutation-positive as detected by an FDA-approved test, in combination with standard cytarabine and daunorubicin induction and cytarabine consolidation. ( 1.1 ) Limitations of Use: RYDAPT is not indicated as a single-agent induction therapy for the treatment of patients with AML.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness of RYDAPT have not been established in pediatric patients.”

    US prescribing information · 11fa3fc9-6776-49a6-b1c1-653f627c3e58 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies in AML with RYDAPT did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · 11fa3fc9-6776-49a6-b1c1-653f627c3e58 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in women exposed to RYDAPT during pregnancy.”

    US prescribing information · 11fa3fc9-6776-49a6-b1c1-653f627c3e58 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of midostaurin or its active metabolites in human milk, the effect on the breastfed infant, or the effect on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 11fa3fc9-6776-49a6-b1c1-653f627c3e58 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as capsule, capsule, liquid filled, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 11 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 11 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 54893-0094 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, capsule, liquid filled and powder, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 54893-0094 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is kinase inhibitor [epc] and receptor tyrosine kinase inhibitors [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 54893-0094 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 11fa3fc9-6776-49a6-b1c1-653f627c3e58 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 11fa3fc9-6776-49a6-b1c1-653f627c3e58 · read 2026-08-29

  • RYDAPT is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS 25 mg capsules: pale orange oblong soft capsule with red ink imprint ‘PKC NVR’., recorded as fda label in effect 2026-06-08 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 11fa3fc9-6776-49a6-b1c1-653f627c3e58 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Midostaurin studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

How much did people take in the studies?

The sources RNAWiki checked hold nothing for this field.

Why it matters. A result belongs to an amount. Without the amount the result floats free.

What would answer it

A stored source that records it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Midostaurin are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
ID912S5VON
CAS registry number
120685-11-2
PubChem compound
9829523
ChEMBL
CHEMBL608533
ChEBI
63452
WHO international nonproprietary name list entry
7677
RxNorm concept
1919083
EMA substance identifier
100000088079
DrugBank
DB06595

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 5 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA207997, approved 20170428 to NOVARTIS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA207997 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued, none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA207997 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20170428.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 54893-0094 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Midostaurin label: indicated for what?


"RYDAPT is a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of adult patients with: Newly diagnosed acute myeloid leukemia (AML) that is FLT3 mutation-positive as detected by an FDA-approved test, in combination with standard cytarabine and daunorubicin induction and cytarabine consolidation. ( 1.1 ) Limitations of Use:…": indications and usage on Midostaurin's label. DailyMed label · 11fa3fc9-6776-49a6-b1c1-653f627c3e58 · 2026-06-08

45 registered trials of Midostaurin — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
30 of 45

45 registered studies of Midostaurin: 25 phase2, 17 phase1, 7 phase3, 4 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

45 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    25
  • phase1
    17
  • phase3
    7
  • na or unstated
    4
  • completed
    22
  • terminated
    6
5 more recorded rows
  • active not recruiting
    4
  • withdrawn
    4
  • no longer available
    3
  • recruiting
    3
  • unknown
    3

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

9 of Midostaurin's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


accrual/recruitment (4), funding/business (1), sponsor decision unspecified (1) and other (3): Midostaurin's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Despite considerable efforts to boost recruitment during the final year of the study, no new patients were enrolled."; 9 of 45 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00866281
    terminated; "Despite considerable efforts to boost recruitment during the final year of the study, no new patients were enrolled."
  • NCT01846624
    terminated; "Accrual factor"
  • NCT02723435
    withdrawn; "Logistical and administrative issues"
  • NCT03207334
    withdrawn; "Insufficient funding"
  • NCT03686345
    terminated; "didn't reach the primary endpoint"
  • NCT03760445
    withdrawn; "It was determined that the study design may not be optimal given the changing AML treatment landscape."
3 further recorded trials
  • NCT03951961
    terminated; "Insufficient Recruitment"
  • NCT04496999
    terminated; "Insufficient recruitment"
  • NCT04982354
    withdrawn; "Could not accrue"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Midostaurin's half-life is 19 hours — which schedules were studied?


19 hours, the half-life Midostaurin's label states: "Elimination The geometric mean terminal half-life (% coefficient of variation) is 19 hours (39%) for midostaurin, 32 hours (31%) for CGP62221 and 482 hours (25%) for CGP52421." DailyMed label · 11fa3fc9-6776-49a6-b1c1-653f627c3e58 · 2026-06-08

tmax 1 to 3 hours.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    19 hours; Elimination The geometric mean terminal half-life (% coefficient of variation) is 19 hours (39%) for midostaurin, 32 hours (31%) for CGP62221 and 482 hours (25%) for CGP52421.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    1 to 3 hours; Absorption The time to maximal concentrations (T max ) occurred between 1 to 3 hours post dose in the fasted state.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Midostaurin is primarily metabolized by CYP3A4.

recorded 2026-06-08 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Midostaurin could settle lifespan?


NCT04027309 measures Overal survival (OS), reading out 2033-06.

1 open trial; n 777; "A Study of Gilteritinib Versus Midostaurin in Combination With Induction and Consolidation Therapy Followed by One-year Maintenance in Patients With Newly Diagnosed Acute Myeloid Leukemia or…"

Show the evidence
  • Trial NCT04027309
    "A Study of Gilteritinib Versus Midostaurin in Combination With Induction and Consolidation Therapy Followed by One-year Maintenance in Patients With Newly Diagnosed Acute Myeloid Leukemia or Myelodysplastic Syndromes With Excess Blasts-2 With FLT3 Mutations Eligible for Intensive Chemotherapy"; n 777; "Overal survival (OS)"; 2033-06

Which 9 trials of Midostaurin posted no result?


Posted no result
9 of 9 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00093600, NCT01161550, NCT01174888, NCT01282502, NCT01830361 and NCT01477606, and 3 more
Completion dates
oldest 2011-06; newest 2023-09-12
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00093600
    2011-06
  • NCT01161550
    2012-08
  • NCT01174888
    2016-05
  • NCT01282502
    2018-12
  • NCT01830361
    2019-10-30
  • NCT01477606
    2020-02-26
3 further recorded trials
  • NCT01429337
    2020-05-09
  • NCT05488613
    2021-01-26
  • NCT04075747
    2023-09-12

At the median, Midostaurin's trials enrolled 38.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
38.5
Largest enrolment
777
Registered trials counted
42

What do 702 spontaneous reports say about Midostaurin — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Midostaurin appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 702 reaction mentions were counted: nausea 121; diarrhoea 97; febrile neutropenia 94; thrombocytopenia 73. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL608533 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • nausea
    121
  • diarrhoea
    97
  • febrile neutropenia
    94
  • thrombocytopenia
    73
  • neutropenia
    66
  • vomiting
    64
4 more recorded rows
  • pyrexia
    63
  • pancytopenia
    50
  • acute myeloid leukaemia recurrent
    42
  • infection
    32

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Midostaurin's label not list?


acute myeloid leukaemia recurrent, diarrhoea and febrile neutropenia and 7 more reported for Midostaurin, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL608533 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 11fa3fc9-6776-49a6-b1c1-653f627c3e58

Show the evidence
  • acute myeloid leukaemia recurrent
    count not stated
  • diarrhoea
    count not stated
  • febrile neutropenia
    count not stated
  • infection
    count not stated
  • nausea
    count not stated
  • neutropenia
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • pancytopenia
    count not stated
  • pyrexia
    count not stated
  • thrombocytopenia
    count not stated
  • vomiting
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Midostaurin and CYP3A, CYP3A4 and BCRP: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A, CYP3A4 and BCRP appear in Midostaurin's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 11fa3fc9-6776-49a6-b1c1-653f627c3e58 · 2026-06-08

CYP2B6, CYP3A, CYP3A, CYP3A4, CYP3A4, CYP3A4; 8 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Strong CYP3A4 Inhibitors : Strong CYP3A4 inhibitors may increase exposure to midostaurin and its active metabolites.
  • drug_interactions
    Consider alternative therapies that do not strongly inhibit CYP3A4 or monitor for increased risk of adverse reactions.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.1 ) Strong CYP3A4 Inducers : Avoid concomitant use as strong CYP3A4 inducers decrease exposure to midostaurin and its active metabolites.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.1 ) CYP2B6, BCRP, OATP1B1 Substrates : Dose adjustments for coadministered CYP2B6, BCRP, and OATP1B1 substrates may be necessary with RYDAPT.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.2 ) 7.1 Effect of Other Drugs on RYDAPT Table 6 lists the potential effects of the coadministration of strong CYP3A modulators on RYDAPT.
  • drug_interactions
    Table 6: Drug Interactions with RYDAPT That Affect Midostaurin Strong CYP3A Inhibitors a The effect of grapefruit juice varies widely among brands and is concentration-, dose-, and preparation-dependent.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Studies have shown that it can be classified as a “strong CYP3A inhibitor” when a certain preparation was used (e.g., high dose, double strength) or as a “moderate CYP3A inhibitor” when another preparation was used (e.g., low dose, single strength). b The induction potency of St.
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Clinical Impact Coadministration of RYDAPT with strong CYP3A inhibitors may increase midostaurin concentrations.
  • CYP2B6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Sofpironium, Bupropion, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine

CYP3A

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • BCRP
    TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Eravacycline, Omadacycline
  • OATP1B1
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Eravacycline

recorded 2026-06-08 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL608533
PubChem CID
9829523
CAS number
120685-11-2
RxCUI
1919083
InChIKey
BMGQWWVMWDBQGC-IIFHNQTCSA-N
Development code
CGP 41251, NSC-656576, NVP-PKC412, PKC 412
Also called
Midostaurina, Midostaurine, N-benzoylstaurosporine, pkc412, MIDOSTAURIN [JAN], MIDOSTAURIN [MART.], MIDOSTAURIN [MI], MIDOSTAURIN [ORANGE BOOK], MIDOSTAURIN [USAN], Midostaurin [WHO-DD], N-((9S,10R,11R,13R)-10-METHOXY-9-METHYL-1-OXO-2,3,10,11,12,13-HEXAHYDRO-9,13-EPOXY-1H,9H-DIINDOLO(1,2,3-GH:3',2',1'-LM)PYRROLO(3,4-J)(1,7)BENZODIAZONIN-11-YL)-N-METHYLBENZAMIDE
Trade name
Rydapt
Sources (5)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 5 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.