Skip to content

Midodrine

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Midodrine does in the body

Symptomatic orthostatic hypotension

From the FDA-approved label: Midodrine hydrochloride tablets form an active metabolite, desglymidodrine, that is an alpha 1 -agonist, and exerts its actions via activation of the alpha-adrenergic receptors of the arteriolar and venous vasculature, producing an increase in vascular tone and elevation of blood pressure. Desglymidodrine does not stimulate cardiac beta-adrenergic receptors. Desglymidodrine diffuses poorly across the blood-brain barrier, and is therefore not associated with effects on the central nervous system.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.
Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 87 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Time to major cardiovascular event

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05931276
How many people
2540
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Time to first episode of syncope

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04595942
How many people
1375
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Hierarchical composite of 28-day mortality and ICU length of stay

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05058612
How many people
870
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Increase in seated systolic blood pressure 1-hr post drug compared to baseline.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00223691
How many people
389
Study design
Phase 1
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Orthostatic Hypotension at Discharge

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01030874
How many people
356
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Time alive and without vasopressor support

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06319248
How many people
308
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Midodrine hydrochloride tablets, USP are indicated for the treatment of symptomatic orthostatic hypotension (OH). Because midodrine hydrochloride tablets, USP can cause marked elevation of supine blood pressure (BP > 200 mmHg systolic), it should be used in patients whose lives are considerably impaired despite standard clinical care, including non-pharmacologic treatment (such as support stockings), fluid…

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 4d5e42be-3476-85d4-e063-6294a90a0865 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Midodrine increased the rate of embryo resorption, reduced fetal body weight in rats and rabbits, and decreased fetal survival in rabbits when given in doses 13 (rat) and 7 (rabbit) times the maximum human dose based on body surface area (mg/m 2 ).”

    US prescribing information · 4d5e42be-3476-85d4-e063-6294a90a0865 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “It is not known whether this drug is excreted in human milk.”

    US prescribing information · 4d5e42be-3476-85d4-e063-6294a90a0865 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 120 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 120 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71335-3037 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder and tablet, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71335-3037 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is adrenergic alpha-agonists [moa] and alpha-adrenergic agonist [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71335-3037 · read 2026-08-29

  • 51 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 51 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 4d5e42be-3476-85d4-e063-6294a90a0865 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 4d5e42be-3476-85d4-e063-6294a90a0865 · read 2026-08-29

  • Midodrine Hydrochloride is oral at HOW SUPPLIED Midodrine hydrochloride tablets, USP are supplied as 2.5 mg, 5 mg and 10 mg tablets for oral administration., recorded as fda label in effect 2026-03-19 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 4d5e42be-3476-85d4-e063-6294a90a0865 · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 0.07284–0.15401 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 63 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Midodrine studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Midodrine are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Read from sources, not yet reviewed

No traced study record is stored for this substance.

Built from stored sources by fixed rules. No reviewer has signed it off.

How many documents were read

  • 51 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 51 of them state the same bioavailability, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 15 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA019815, approved 19960906 to TAKEDA PHARMS USA.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA019815 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA019815 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19960906.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71335-3037 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Midodrine label: indicated for what?


"Midodrine hydrochloride tablets are indicated for the treatment of symptomatic orthostatic hypotension (OH). Because midodrine hydrochloride tablets can cause marked elevation of supine blood pressure (BP>200 mmHg systolic), it should be used in patients whose lives are considerably impaired despite standard clinical…": indications and usage on Midodrine's label. DailyMed label · 4d5e42be-3476-85d4-e063-6294a90a0865 · 2026-03-19

76 registered trials of Midodrine — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
59 of 76

76 registered studies of Midodrine: 21 na, 20 phase4, 16 phase2, 11 phase3, 10 phase1, 2 na or unstated, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

127 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • na
    21
  • phase4
    20
  • phase2
    16
  • phase3
    11
  • phase1
    10
  • na or unstated
    2
8 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    1
  • completed
    44
  • unknown
    14
  • withdrawn
    7
  • recruiting
    4
  • terminated
    4
  • not yet recruiting
    2
  • active not recruiting
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

10 of Midodrine's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


accrual/recruitment (3), funding/business (2) and other (5): Midodrine's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Study was terminated due to poor enrollment"; 10 of 76 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00046163
    terminated; "Study was terminated due to poor enrollment"
  • NCT01331785
    withdrawn; "Lack of enrollment"
  • NCT01587222
    withdrawn; "the sponsor did not provide the treatment"
  • NCT02383121
    withdrawn; "Changed study to an observational study"
  • NCT02771158
    withdrawn; "Study never started"
  • NCT02990546
    withdrawn; "Unable to enroll subjects before PI left institution"
4 further recorded trials
  • NCT03706053
    terminated; "No funding for the study; not enough staff"
  • NCT04048707
    withdrawn; "Funding issues; the study was never started"
  • NCT04668859
    terminated; "PI relocated"
  • NCT05084534
    withdrawn; "No cases of refractory ascites presented to hospital in one year"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Midodrine used Midodrine HCl Tablets 5 mg — over how long?


Human studies of Midodrine used "Midodrine HCl Tablets 5 mg". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

5 recorded entries; human; tablet; also "ProAmatine® Tablets 5 mg", "Midodrine hydrochloride 10 mg tablet", "Midodrine 7.5 mg thrice a day"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00648440
    Midodrine HCl Tablets 5 mg
  • NCT00648440
    ProAmatine® Tablets 5 mg
  • NCT01822535
    tablet; Midodrine hydrochloride 10 mg tablet
  • NCT02173288
    Midodrine 7.5 mg thrice a day
  • NCT04043858
    Midodrine 2.5 mg tab

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Midodrine's half-life is 25 minutes — which schedules were studied?


25 minutes, the half-life Midodrine's label states: "The plasma levels of the prodrug peak after about half an hour, and decline with a half-life of approximately 25 minutes, while the metabolite reaches peak blood concentrations about 1 to 2 hours after a dose of midodrine and has a half-life of about 3 to 4 hours." DailyMed label · 4d5e42be-3476-85d4-e063-6294a90a0865 · 2026-03-19

bioavailability 93 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    25 minutes; The plasma levels of the prodrug peak after about half an hour, and decline with a half-life of approximately 25 minutes, while the metabolite reaches peak blood concentrations about 1 to 2 hours after a dose of midodrine and has a half-life of about 3 to 4 hours.
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    93 %; The absolute bioavailability of midodrine (measured as desglymidodrine) is 93%.
  • metabolism clinical_pharmacology
    Metabolism and Excretion: Thorough metabolic studies have not been conducted, but it appears that deglycination of midodrine to desglymidodrine takes place in many tissues, and both compounds are metabolized in part by the liver.

recorded 2026-03-19 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Midodrine could settle lifespan?


NCT05058612 measures Hierarchical composite of 28-day mortality and ICU length of stay, reading out 2028-02.

1 open trial; n 870; "Midodrine for the Early Liberation of Vasopressor Support in the ICU (LIBERATE Multi-Site)"

Show the evidence
  • Trial NCT05058612
    "Midodrine for the Early Liberation of Vasopressor Support in the ICU (LIBERATE Multi-Site)"; n 870; "Hierarchical composite of 28-day mortality and ICU length of stay"; 2028-02

Which 24 trials of Midodrine posted no result?


Posted no result
24 of 24 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00650013, NCT00650364, NCT00648440, NCT00227448, NCT01707953 and NCT01498809, and 18 more
Completion dates
oldest 2002-08; newest 2024-01-24
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00650013
    2002-08
  • NCT00650364
    2002-09
  • NCT00648440
    2002-11
  • NCT00227448
    2005-04
  • NCT01707953
    2013-09
  • NCT01498809
    2013-11
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00839358
    2016-02
  • NCT02173288
    2016-03
  • NCT01133795
    2016-06
  • NCT00223691
    2017-01
  • NCT03431194
    2017-04-06
  • NCT03144713
    2018-04-30
  • NCT03645642
    2018-12-31
  • NCT03350659
    2019-03-15
  • NCT03911817
    2019-07-30
  • NCT03129542
    2020-05-15
  • NCT03600870
    2020-12-01
  • NCT04455464
    2021-12-13
  • NCT04208776
    2021-12-31
  • NCT05240391
    2022-05-05

At the median, Midodrine's trials enrolled 50 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
50
Largest enrolment
1375
Registered trials counted
75

What do 120 spontaneous reports say about Midodrine — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Midodrine appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 120 reaction mentions were counted: pruritus 18; hypertension 16; orthostatic hypotension 14; toxic skin eruption 14. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200461 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • pruritus
    18
  • hypertension
    16
  • orthostatic hypotension
    14
  • toxic skin eruption
    14
  • confusional state
    11
  • urinary retention
    11
4 more recorded rows
  • hallucination, visual
    10
  • syncope
    9
  • wrong product administered
    9
  • dermatitis bullous
    8

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Midodrine's label not list?


confusional state, dermatitis bullous and hallucination, visual and 7 more reported for Midodrine, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200461 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 4d5e42be-3476-85d4-e063-6294a90a0865

Show the evidence
  • confusional state
    count not stated
  • dermatitis bullous
    count not stated
  • hallucination, visual
    count not stated
  • hypertension
    count not stated
  • orthostatic hypotension
    count not stated
  • pruritus
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • syncope
    count not stated
  • toxic skin eruption
    count not stated
  • urinary retention
    count not stated
  • wrong product administered
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200461
PubChem CID
18340
CAS number
43218-56-0
RxCUI
993491
InChIKey
PTKSEFOSCHHMPD-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
MIDODRINE HYDROCHLORIDE, Amatine, Hipertan, Metligine, Midodrine monohydrochloride, Midodrina, (±)-Midodrin hydrochloride, Midodrine hydrochloride [JAN], Midodrine hydrochloride [MART.], Midodrine hydrochloride [MI]
Development code
A-4020 LINZ, NSC-758429, ST 1085 [AS THE BASE], ST-1085 BASE, ST-PETER-224, ST 1085
Trade name
Bramox, Gutron, Midon, Orvaten, Pro-amatine, Proamatine
Salt form
Midodrine hcl, ST 1085 HYDROCHLORIDE, ST1085 HYDROCHLORIDE, midodrine hcl tablets 5 mg, proamatine tablets 5 mg, Midodrine Hydrochloride / Orvaten / Proamatine
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.