Skip to content

Mebendazole

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Mebendazole does in the body

VERMOX™ CHEWABLE is indicated for the treatment of patients one year of age and older with gastrointestinal infections caused by Ascaris lumbricoides (roundworm) and Trichuris trichiura (whipworm).

4) ] .

Why people take it. VERMOX™ CHEWABLE is indicated for the treatment of patients one year of age and older with gastrointestinal infections caused by Ascaris lumbricoides (roundworm) and Trichuris trichiura (whipworm).

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 81G6I5V05I · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C16H13N3O3, weighing 295.30.

    US prescribing information · a720c424-517a-461b-8e13-6c37caf8aa3f · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 66 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Comparison of Arms - Benin

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03014167
How many people
357716
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Reach percentage measured as the proportion of eligible mobile and migrant populations (MMPs) offered preventive chemotherapy during the modified mass administration of medicines (MAM) campaign

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT07707817
How many people
5760
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Measured performance
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Incidence of severe anemia (Hb < 7 g/dL)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00148629
How many people
2500
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Efficacy against T. trichiura of various treatment regimes

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01327469
How many people
2250
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Mean (± standard deviation) weight gain (kg)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01314937
How many people
1760
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

health screening for the community

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01080989
How many people
1477
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • VERMOX™ CHEWABLE is indicated for the treatment of patients one year of age and older with gastrointestinal infections caused by Ascaris lumbricoides (roundworm) and Trichuris trichiura (whipworm). VERMOX™ CHEWABLE is an anthelmintic indicated for the treatment of patients one year of age and older with gastrointestinal infections caused by: Ascaris lumbricoides (roundworm) and Trichuris trichiura (whipworm) ( 1 ).

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of mebendazole, including VERMOX™ CHEWABLE have not been established in pediatric patients less than one year of age.”

    US prescribing information · a720c424-517a-461b-8e13-6c37caf8aa3f · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of mebendazole did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and older to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · a720c424-517a-461b-8e13-6c37caf8aa3f · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary The available published literature on mebendazole use in pregnant women has not reported a clear association between mebendazole and a potential risk of major birth defects or miscarriages [see Data ].”

    US prescribing information · a720c424-517a-461b-8e13-6c37caf8aa3f · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary Limited data from case reports demonstrate that a small amount of mebendazole is present in human milk following oral administration.”

    US prescribing information · a720c424-517a-461b-8e13-6c37caf8aa3f · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, chewable, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 14 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 14 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 60592-247 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder and tablet, chewable, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 60592-247 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is anthelmintic [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 60592-247 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · a720c424-517a-461b-8e13-6c37caf8aa3f · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · a720c424-517a-461b-8e13-6c37caf8aa3f · read 2026-08-29

  • VERMOX is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Chewable Tablet: 500 mg round, flat radius-edged white to yellowish chewable tablet that is debossed with "M/500" on one side and "J" on the other side., recorded as fda label in effect 2021-10-05 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · a720c424-517a-461b-8e13-6c37caf8aa3f · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Mebendazole studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Mebendazole are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
81G6I5V05I
RxNorm concept
1855385

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 3 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA017481, approved 19740628 to JANSSEN PHARMS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA017481 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA017481 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20161019.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 60592-247 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Mebendazole label: indicated for what?


"VERMOX™ CHEWABLE is indicated for the treatment of patients one year of age and older with gastrointestinal infections caused by Ascaris lumbricoides (roundworm) and Trichuris trichiura (whipworm). VERMOX™ CHEWABLE is an anthelmintic indicated for the treatment of patients one year of age and older with…": indications and usage on Mebendazole's label. DailyMed label · a720c424-517a-461b-8e13-6c37caf8aa3f · 2021-10-05

27 registered trials of Mebendazole — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
25 of 27

27 registered studies of Mebendazole: 7 phase3, 7 phase4, 5 phase1, 5 phase2, 4 na, 1 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

189 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase3
    7
  • phase4
    7
  • phase1
    5
  • phase2
    5
  • na
    4
  • na or unstated
    1
7 more recorded rows
  • completed
    16
  • recruiting
    3
  • withdrawn
    3
  • active not recruiting
    2
  • not yet recruiting
    1
  • terminated
    1
  • unknown
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

4 of Mebendazole's trials stopped: futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, other?


futility/efficacy (1), accrual/recruitment (1) and other (2): Mebendazole's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Prospective recruitment not possible"; 4 of 27 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02201381
    withdrawn; "Prospective recruitment not possible"
  • NCT03261596
    withdrawn; "In light of new evidence, the decision was made by the sponsor to not proceed."
  • NCT03628079
    terminated; "Lack of effect"
  • NCT03757403
    withdrawn; "Covid-19"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Mebendazole used Mebendazole 500mg — over how long?


Human studies of Mebendazole used "Mebendazole 500mg". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

3 recorded entries; human; also "Mebendazole 2 x 500mg", "Mebendazole 100 MG"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT01327469
    Mebendazole 500mg
  • NCT01327469
    Mebendazole 2 x 500mg
  • NCT03757403
    Mebendazole 100 MG

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Mebendazole's half-life is 3 to 6 hours — which schedules were studied?


3 to 6 hours, the half-life Mebendazole's label states: "The apparent elimination half-life after an oral dose ranges from 3 to 6 hours in most patients." DailyMed label · a720c424-517a-461b-8e13-6c37caf8aa3f · 2021-10-05

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    3 to 6 hours; The apparent elimination half-life after an oral dose ranges from 3 to 6 hours in most patients.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Orally administered mebendazole is extensively metabolized primarily by the liver.

recorded 2021-10-05 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 13 trials of Mebendazole posted no result?


Posted no result
13 of 13 completed trials
Registrations
NCT02385058, NCT00116493, NCT01050452, NCT01173562, NCT01327469 and NCT01379326, and 7 more
Completion dates
oldest 2006-01; newest 2022-12-31
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02385058
    2006-01
  • NCT00116493
    2007-05
  • NCT01050452
    2009-08
  • NCT01173562
    2010-03
  • NCT01327469
    2011-03
  • NCT01379326
    2012-12
7 further recorded trials
  • NCT01314937
    2013-07
  • NCT02051738
    2014-04
  • NCT03278431
    2017-12-01
  • NCT04326868
    2021-01-30
  • NCT01729260
    2021-04-16
  • NCT02644291
    2022-06-09
  • NCT04177654
    2022-12-31

At the median, Mebendazole's trials enrolled 250 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
250
Largest enrolment
9457
Registered trials counted
27

What do 76 spontaneous reports say about Mebendazole — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Mebendazole appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 76 reaction mentions were counted: abdominal pain 19; abortion spontaneous 12; drug abuse 10; self injurious behaviour 9. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL685 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • abdominal pain
    19
  • abortion spontaneous
    12
  • drug abuse
    10
  • self injurious behaviour
    9
  • congenital anomaly
    5
  • maternal drugs affecting foetus
    5
4 more recorded rows
  • aplasia
    4
  • encephalitis
    4
  • haemangioma congenital
    4
  • helminthic infection
    4

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Mebendazole's label not list?


abdominal pain, abortion spontaneous and aplasia and 7 more reported for Mebendazole, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL685 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; a720c424-517a-461b-8e13-6c37caf8aa3f

Show the evidence
  • abdominal pain
    count not stated
  • abortion spontaneous
    count not stated
  • aplasia
    count not stated
  • congenital anomaly
    count not stated
  • drug abuse
    count not stated
  • encephalitis
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • haemangioma congenital
    count not stated
  • helminthic infection
    count not stated
  • maternal drugs affecting foetus
    count not stated
  • self injurious behaviour
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL685
PubChem CID
4030
CAS number
31431-39-7
RxCUI
6672
InChIKey
OPXLLQIJSORQAM-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Trade name
Emverm, Mebenvet, Telmintic, Vermox, Vermox / Emverm
Also called
Mebendazol, Mebendazole polymorph c, Mebendazolum, Ovitelmin, Pantelmin, Vermicidin, Zhihuanqing, mbz, CARBAMIC ACID, (5-BENZOYL-1H-BENZIMIDAZOL-2-YL)-, METHYL ESTER, MEBENDAZOLE POLYMORPH C [USP-RS], MEBENDAZOLE [EP MONOGRAPH], MEBENDAZOLE [GREEN BOOK]
Development code
NSC-184849, R 17,635, R-17635
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.