Skip to content

Lorazepam

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Lorazepam does in the body

Anxiety disorders or for the short-term relief of the symptoms of anxiety or anxiety associated with depressive symptoms

From the FDA-approved label: Lorazepam exerts its effect for the treatment of anxiety disorders through binding to the benzodiazepine site of the gamma-aminobutyric acid-A (GABA A ) receptors in the brain and enhances GABA-mediated synaptic inhibition.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · O26FZP769L · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 66 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Benzodiazepine administration rate

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05436392
How many people
517611
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

the EVAN score

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01901003
How many people
1200
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of Subjects With Termination of Seizures at ED Arrival With no Rescue Therapy Given

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00809146
How many people
1023
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Whether cessation of fit was achieved within ten minutes or not.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00343096
How many people
800
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Healthy Volunteers-OT, Placebo: Mean Percent Signal Change in Right Caudate Nucleus in Men

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01566539
How many people
707
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Double-blind Period: Change in the Positive and Negative Syndrome Scale (PANSS) Total Score From Baseline to Week 8

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05693935
How many people
675
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • & USAGE Lorazepam tablets are indicated for the management of anxiety disorders or for the short-term relief of the symptoms of anxiety or anxiety associated with depressive symptoms. Anxiety or tension associated with the stress of everyday life usually does not require treatment with an anxiolytic.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of LOREEV XR has not been established in pediatric patients.”

    US prescribing information · 227734c1-bf01-9607-73ea-5a1f38a89bd9 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of lorazepam tablets were not adequate to determine whether patients age 65 years and older responded differently than younger patients; however, the incidence of sedation and unsteadiness was observed to increase with age [see Adverse Reactions ( 6 )] .”

    US prescribing information · 227734c1-bf01-9607-73ea-5a1f38a89bd9 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in women exposed to LOREEV XR during pregnancy.”

    US prescribing information · 227734c1-bf01-9607-73ea-5a1f38a89bd9 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary Lorazepam is present in breastmilk.”

    US prescribing information · 227734c1-bf01-9607-73ea-5a1f38a89bd9 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “As with all benzodiazepines, the use of lorazepam, including LOREEV XR, may worsen hepatic encephalopathy.”

    US prescribing information · 227734c1-bf01-9607-73ea-5a1f38a89bd9 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, injectable, concentrate, capsule, extended release, given by the oral, injection, intramuscular route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 162 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 162 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71610-008 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, extended release, concentrate, injection, injection, solution, liquid and powder, taken intramuscular, intravenous and oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71610-008 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is benzodiazepine [epc] and benzodiazepines [cs].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71610-008 · read 2026-08-29

  • 106 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 106 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 4084fa74-9fd2-45ef-9d56-27bfa31d4e46 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 4084fa74-9fd2-45ef-9d56-27bfa31d4e46 · read 2026-08-29

  • LOREEV XR is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS LOREEV XR (lorazepam) extended-release capsules are available as: 1 mg: Hard gelatin capsules with an opaque white body, yellow cap and grey printing ink; "ALM" is printed axially on the yel…, recorded as fda label in effect 2025-10-08 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 227734c1-bf01-9607-73ea-5a1f38a89bd9 · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 0.03337–0.06972 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 53 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

  • Recorded price in US: 0.69282–2.11699 USD per one millilitre, across 8 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Lorazepam studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Lorazepam are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 106 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 70 of them state the same bioavailability, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
O26FZP769L
RxNorm concept
238100

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

  1. Withdrawn in United States, 2017, for "Defective Delivery System: the dropper measurement markings may be reversed, shifted or missing." (openFDA drug enforcement Class I recall)

What the approval register records

  • 73 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA017794, approved 19770930 to BAUSCH.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA017794 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA017794 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19800725.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71610-008 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Lorazepam label: indicated for what?


"Status Epilepticus Lorazepam injection is indicated for the treatment of status epilepticus. Preanesthetic Lorazepam injection is indicated in adult patients for preanesthetic medication, producing sedation (sleepiness or drowsiness), relief of anxiety, and a decreased ability to recall events related to the day of…": indications and usage on Lorazepam's label. DailyMed label · 5a02c97d-637d-43f7-803c-afe4381ccc59 · 2026-08-17

105 registered trials of Lorazepam — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
72 of 105

105 registered studies of Lorazepam: 26 phase4, 21 phase2, 20 na, 18 phase1, 18 phase3, 4 early phase1, 3 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

948 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase4
    26
  • phase2
    21
  • na
    20
  • phase1
    18
  • phase3
    18
  • early phase1
    4
8 more recorded rows
  • na or unstated
    3
  • completed
    68
  • terminated
    11
  • unknown
    9
  • withdrawn
    6
  • recruiting
    5
  • active not recruiting
    4
  • not yet recruiting
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

14 of Lorazepam's trials stopped: safety, futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, other?


safety (1), futility/efficacy (1), accrual/recruitment (6) and other (6): Lorazepam's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Unable to recruit adaquate number of GHB dependent subjects"; 14 of 105 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00123578
    withdrawn; "Unable to recruit adaquate number of GHB dependent subjects"
  • NCT00343096
    terminated; "The buccal arm of the study was 30% less effective in stopping seizures within 10 minutes compared with the IV dose. This met a stopping rule for the study"
  • NCT00364429
    terminated; "terminated"
  • NCT00429702
    terminated; "Closed due to poor accrual and lack of feasibility to finish study per DSMB"
  • NCT01067144
    terminated; "Trial met futility stopping point"
  • NCT01843868
    withdrawn; "Study halted prematurely, prior to enrollment of first participant due to protracted logistical and subsequent funding matters."
8 further recorded trials
  • NCT02134366
    terminated; "Recruitment Issues - Lack of target population"
  • NCT03235531
    terminated; "PI left site without transferring study to another PI. Study expired and was not renewed."
  • NCT03435692
    terminated; "Funding was exhausted prior to enrolling intended number of patients."
  • NCT03756038
    terminated; "It was not feasible to enroll Emergency Department patients into this protocol"
  • NCT03788889
    withdrawn; "internal practice and policy limitations including time commitment / workflow issues"
  • NCT04671836
    withdrawn; "No longer interested in conducing study"
  • NCT04715230
    terminated; "Sponsor decision based on slower than anticipated enrollment leading to fund exhaustion."
  • NCT06496854
    withdrawn; "Unable to coordinate logistics"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Lorazepam used Lorazepam Tablets 2 mg — over how long?


studies of Lorazepam used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

7 recorded entries; human; tablet; also "Lorazepam Tablets 2 mg", "Ativan Tablets 2 mg", "Lorazepam 2 mg"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00649818
    Lorazepam Tablets 2 mg
  • NCT00649818
    Ativan Tablets 2 mg
  • NCT01790490
    Lorazepam 2 mg
  • NCT02863614
    Lorazepam 1 mg
  • NCT04671836
    Lorazepam 1Mg Tablet
  • NCT06093451
    Lorazepam 2 MG/ML
1 more recorded row
  • human NCT06852469
    tablet; Lorazepam 1 mg tablet

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Lorazepam's half-life is 14 ± 5 hours — which schedules were studied?


14 ± 5 hours, the half-life Lorazepam's label states: "Following parenteral administration, the terminal half-life and total clearance averaged 14 ± 5 hours and 1.1 ± 0.4 mL/min/kg, respectively." DailyMed label · 5a02c97d-637d-43f7-803c-afe4381ccc59 · 2026-08-17

tmax 3 hours.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    14 ± 5 hours; Following parenteral administration, the terminal half-life and total clearance averaged 14 ± 5 hours and 1.1 ± 0.4 mL/min/kg, respectively.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    3 hours; Intramuscular Following intramuscular administration, lorazepam is completely and rapidly absorbed reaching peak concentrations within 3 hours.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    and Metabolism Absorption Intravenous A 4-mg dose provides an initial concentration of approximately 70 ng/mL.

recorded 2026-08-17 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 38 trials of Lorazepam posted no result?


Posted no result
38 of 38 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00004297, NCT00000441, NCT00249366, NCT00715039, NCT00523185 and NCT00649818, and 32 more
Completion dates
oldest 1999-02; newest 2023-12-30
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00004297
    1999-02
  • NCT00000441
    2000-12
  • NCT00249366
    2003-05
  • NCT00715039
    2004-05
  • NCT00523185
    2004-11
  • NCT00649818
    2004-12
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00229125
    2005-09
  • NCT00011297
    2005-12
  • NCT00044642
    2007-07
  • NCT00586430
    2007-07
  • NCT00109395
    2007-09
  • NCT00424697
    2007-12
  • NCT00720421
    2008-08
  • NCT00736931
    2008-10
  • NCT00696033
    2008-12
  • NCT00750802
    2008-12
  • NCT00114569
    2009-02
  • NCT00735527
    2009-04
  • NCT00902772
    2009-09
  • NCT00055549
    2009-11-13

At the median, Lorazepam's trials enrolled 62.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
62.5
Largest enrolment
12308
Registered trials counted
104

What do 8900 spontaneous reports say about Lorazepam — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Lorazepam appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 8900 reaction mentions were counted: drug abuse 1615; somnolence 1259; sopor 1161; fall 890. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL580 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug abuse
    1615
  • somnolence
    1259
  • sopor
    1161
  • fall
    890
  • suicide attempt
    857
  • confusional state
    710
4 more recorded rows
  • coma
    664
  • toxicity to various agents
    612
  • agitation
    602
  • hypotension
    530

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Lorazepam's label not list?


agitation, coma and confusional state and 7 more reported for Lorazepam, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL580 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 5a02c97d-637d-43f7-803c-afe4381ccc59

Show the evidence
  • agitation
    count not stated
  • coma
    count not stated
  • confusional state
    count not stated
  • drug abuse
    count not stated
  • fall
    count not stated
  • hypotension
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • somnolence
    count not stated
  • sopor
    count not stated
  • suicide attempt
    count not stated
  • toxicity to various agents
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered

Where it’s registered

Withdrawn in United States, 2017, for "Defective Delivery System: the dropper measurement markings may be reversed, shifted or missing." (openFDA drug enforcement Class I recall)

Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL580
PubChem CID
12049214
CAS number
110032-65-0
RxCUI
238100
InChIKey
DIWRORZWFLOCLC-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Trade name
Abbloraz, Ativan, Loraz, Lorazepam intensol, Lorazepam preservative free, Loreev xr, Temesta, Loreev, Ativan / Loreev / Loraz / Lorazepam Preservative Free
Also called
Lorazepam civ, benzodiazepines, bzd, lzp, (±)-7-CHLORO-5-(O-CHLOROPHENYL)-1,3-DIHYDRO-3-HYDROXY-2H-1,4-BENZODIAZEPIN-2-ONE, LORAZEPAM CIV [USP-RS], LORAZEPAM [EP IMPURITY], LORAZEPAM [EP MONOGRAPH], LORAZEPAM [JAN], LORAZEPAM [MART.], LORAZEPAM [MI], LORAZEPAM [ORANGE BOOK]
Development code
NSC-289758, WY-4036
Sources (7)

Sources

1 more source

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work · openFDA enforcement — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 7 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.