Skip to content

Levodopa

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Levodopa does in the body

The intermittent treatment of OFF episodes

From the FDA-approved label: Levodopa, the metabolic precursor of dopamine, crosses the blood-brain barrier and presumably is converted to dopamine in the brain. This is thought to be the mechanism whereby levodopa relieves symptoms of Parkinson's disease.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 46627O600J · read 2026-08-29

  • The supplement label database classes it as non-nutrient/non-botanical, under the name L-DOPA.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 1198 · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C9H11NO4, weighing 197.19 g/mol.

    US prescribing information · a906f8e1-6e1c-480a-8276-c01bc65dd3be · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 56 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

To study specific genotypes, biochemical and imaging phenotypes of patients with various pheochromocytomas and paragangliomas.To stuty potential treatment options for metastatic pheochromocytoma and paraganglioma using cell cultures, cell ...

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00004847
How many people
3000
Study design
Phase 1
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Overall Survival

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00005957
How many people
1832
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Movement Disorder Society-Sponsored Revision of the Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale (MDS-UPDRS) Parts I and II combined

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT07207057
How many people
1200
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Safety

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00199368
How many people
1100
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Movement Disorder Society-Sponsored Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale - Part III (MDS UPDRS-III)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04616521
How many people
1000
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Mean Change From Baseline in Total Daily OFF Time (Hours) During Open-label Extension Study

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00360412
How many people
997
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • INBRIJA is indicated for the intermittent treatment of OFF episodes in patients with Parkinson's disease treated with carbidopa/levodopa. INBRIJA is an aromatic amino acid indicated for the intermittent treatment of OFF episodes in patients with Parkinson's disease treated with carbidopa/levodopa ( 1 )

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · a906f8e1-6e1c-480a-8276-c01bc65dd3be · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Of the Parkinson's disease patients in Study 1 who took INBRIJA 84 mg, 49% (n=56) were 65 years of age and older and 51% (n=58) were under 65 years of age.”

    US prescribing information · a906f8e1-6e1c-480a-8276-c01bc65dd3be · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no adequate data on the developmental risk associated with the use of INBRIJA in pregnant women.”

    US prescribing information · a906f8e1-6e1c-480a-8276-c01bc65dd3be · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary The prolactin-lowering action of dopamine suggests that levodopa may interfere with lactation, although there are limited data on the effects of levodopa on milk production in lactating women.”

    US prescribing information · a906f8e1-6e1c-480a-8276-c01bc65dd3be · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, tablet, extended release, tablet, orally disintegrating, capsule, extended release, given by the oral, inhalation, enteral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 189 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 21 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72865-361 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, capsule, extended release, liquid, powder, suspension and tablet, taken enteral, oral and respiratory (inhalation).

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72865-361 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is amino acids, aromatic amino acid [epc] and aromatic [cs].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72865-361 · read 2026-08-29

  • 92 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 7 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 87ab55c9-203d-d595-3e3e-0e38f2f6d9c4 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human otc drug and human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 87ab55c9-203d-d595-3e3e-0e38f2f6d9c4 · read 2026-08-29

  • 111 marketed supplement labels list this ingredient, classed as botanical, botanical with nutrients, non-nutrient/non-botanical and other combinations.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 216518 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels carry all other, nutrient and structure/function claims. A claim of that kind is written by the manufacturer and is not assessed by any regulator, so its presence says nothing about whether it is true.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 216518 · read 2026-08-29

  • Inbrija is respiratory (inhalation) at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS INBRIJA (levodopa inhalation powder) consists of INBRIJA capsules and the INBRIJA inhaler., recorded as fda label in effect 2026-01-16 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · a906f8e1-6e1c-480a-8276-c01bc65dd3be · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Levodopa studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Levodopa are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 2 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 2 of them state the same bioavailability, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 2 of them state the same tMax, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 2 of them state the same volumeOfDistribution, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
46627O600J
RxNorm concept
2107616

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 51 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA016912, approved 19700604 to ROCHE.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA016912 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued, none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA016912 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19820101.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72865-361 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Levodopa label: indicated for what?


"INBRIJA is indicated for the intermittent treatment of OFF episodes in patients with Parkinson's disease treated with carbidopa/levodopa. INBRIJA is an aromatic amino acid indicated for the intermittent treatment of OFF episodes in patients with Parkinson's disease treated with carbidopa/levodopa ( 1 )": indications and usage on Levodopa's label. DailyMed label · 077c0f39-a3a2-4b2b-a184-09131889dcfb · 2026-07-20

83 registered trials of Levodopa — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
52 of 83

83 registered studies of Levodopa: 21 phase2, 21 phase3, 19 phase4, 10 na, 8 phase1, 7 na or unstated, 2 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

745 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    21
  • phase3
    21
  • phase4
    19
  • na
    10
  • phase1
    8
  • na or unstated
    7
9 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    2
  • completed
    59
  • unknown
    11
  • recruiting
    5
  • terminated
    3
  • withdrawn
    2
  • enrolling by invitation
    1
  • not yet recruiting
    1
  • suspended
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

5 of Levodopa's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


accrual/recruitment (1), funding/business (1), sponsor decision unspecified (1) and other (2): Levodopa's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Funding not secured."; 5 of 83 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01003002
    withdrawn; "Funding not secured."
  • NCT01351168
    withdrawn; "study not funded"
  • NCT03761030
    terminated; "The project end date was reached prior to the full sample enrollment"
  • NCT04000919
    suspended; "PI left UofL and intends to reopen study at University of Alberta"
  • NCT04493320
    terminated; "Study terminated by sponsor (NIMH)"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Levodopa used levodopa solution 2mg/ml for i.v. use — over how long?


Human studies of Levodopa used "levodopa solution 2mg/ml for i.v. use". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

3 recorded entries; human; also "L-dopa 140 mg", "Carbidopa-Levodopa 25 Mg-100 Mg Oral Tablet"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00634556
    levodopa solution 2mg/ml for i.v. use
  • NCT03541356
    L-dopa 140 mg
  • NCT04590612
    Carbidopa-Levodopa 25 Mg-100 Mg Oral Tablet

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Levodopa's half-life is 2.3 hours — which schedules were studied?


2.3 hours, the half-life Levodopa's label states: "In the presence of carbidopa, the terminal elimination half-life (t 1/2 ) of levodopa following a single administration of INBRIJA 84 mg was 2.3 hours." DailyMed label · 077c0f39-a3a2-4b2b-a184-09131889dcfb · 2026-07-20

tmax 0.5 hours; bioavailability 70 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    2.3 hours; In the presence of carbidopa, the terminal elimination half-life (t 1/2 ) of levodopa following a single administration of INBRIJA 84 mg was 2.3 hours.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    0.5 hours; Absorption After a single dose of INBRIJA 84 mg (two 42 mg capsules), the median T max for plasma levodopa was approximately 0.5 hours (range 0.17–2.00 hours).
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    70 %; In fasted healthy volunteers the bioavailability of levodopa from INBRIJA was approximately 70% relative to immediate-release oral levodopa tablets.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism and Elimination Levodopa is extensively metabolized, and the two major metabolic pathways are decarboxylation by dopa decarboxylase and O-methylation by catechol-O-methyltransferase (COMT).

recorded 2026-07-20 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 28 trials of Levodopa posted no result?


Posted no result
28 of 28 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00812760, NCT00004733, NCT00625547, NCT00103805, NCT01044992 and NCT00096720, and 22 more
Completion dates
oldest 2003-10; newest 2024-08-06
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00812760
    2003-10
  • NCT00004733
    2004-02
  • NCT00625547
    2004-12
  • NCT00103805
    2005-08
  • NCT01044992
    2006-05
  • NCT00096720
    2007-05
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00218075
    2007-10
  • NCT00406588
    2008-05
  • NCT00102869
    2008-12
  • NCT00153972
    2009-01
  • NCT00634556
    2010-10
  • NCT01545856
    2011-11
  • NCT01283594
    2012-10
  • NCT02073773
    2015-11
  • NCT01504178
    2015-12
  • NCT02641054
    2017-07
  • NCT02769793
    2018-12
  • NCT03891095
    2019-01-16
  • NCT03235037
    2019-02-01
  • NCT03754062
    2019-09-01

At the median, Levodopa's trials enrolled 50 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
50
Largest enrolment
7500
Registered trials counted
82

What do 7700 spontaneous reports say about Levodopa — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Levodopa appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 7700 reaction mentions were counted: fall 1504; dyskinesia 1152; hallucination 797; on and off phenomenon 726. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1009 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • fall
    1504
  • dyskinesia
    1152
  • hallucination
    797
  • on and off phenomenon
    726
  • general physical health deterioration
    664
  • tremor
    615
4 more recorded rows
  • confusional state
    580
  • gait disturbance
    556
  • parkinson's disease
    553
  • stoma site discharge
    553

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Levodopa's label not list?


confusional state, dyskinesia and fall and 7 more reported for Levodopa, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1009 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 077c0f39-a3a2-4b2b-a184-09131889dcfb

Show the evidence
  • confusional state
    count not stated
  • dyskinesia
    count not stated
  • fall
    count not stated
  • gait disturbance
    count not stated
  • general physical health deterioration
    count not stated
  • hallucination
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • on and off phenomenon
    count not stated
  • parkinson's disease
    count not stated
  • stoma site discharge
    count not stated
  • tremor
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1009
PubChem CID
6047
CAS number
59-92-7
RxCUI
6375
InChIKey
WTDRDQBEARUVNC-LURJTMIESA-N
Development code
NSC-118381, V-1512
Trade name
Bendopa, Brocadopa, Dopar, Inbrija, Larodopa, Levodopa component of /carbidopa/entacapone orion, Levodopa component of corbilta, Levodopa component of crexont, Levodopa component of dhivy, Levodopa component of dopasnap, Levodopa component of duopa, Levodopa component of ipx-203
Also called
Cvt-301, Levodopa component of carbilev, Levodopa component of parcopa, Levodopa component of sinemet, Levodopum, carbidopa-levodopa, duodopa, ipx054, l-dopa, lcig, ld, levodopa/benserazide
Salt form
levodopa-carbidopa immediate release (ir) active capsules, levodopa-carbidopa intestinal gel
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.