Skip to content

Ixabepilone

  • Prescription medicine
  • Given by a clinician
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Ixabepilone does in the body

Ixabepilone blocks cells in the mitotic phase of the cell division cycle, leading to cell death.

From the FDA-approved label: Ixabepilone is a semi-synthetic analog of epothilone B. Ixabepilone binds directly to β-tubulin subunits on microtubules, leading to suppression of microtubule dynamics. Ixabepilone suppresses the dynamic instability of αβ-II and αβ-III microtubules. Ixabepilone possesses low in vitro susceptibility to multiple tumor resistance mechanisms including efflux transporters, such as MRP-1 and P-glycoprotein (P-gp).

Why people take it. IXEMPRA is indicated in combination with capecitabine for the treatment of patients with metastatic or locally advanced breast cancer resistant to treatment with an anthracycline and a taxane, or whose cancer is taxane resistant and for whom further anthracycline therapy is contraindicated.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.
Where each sentence above came from

A person wrote this explanation into the record, with the studies named in the path below.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 125 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Overall Survival (OS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00082433
How many people
1221
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Kaplan-Meier Estimate of Overall Survival: Intention to Treat (ITT) Population

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01492101
How many people
852
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Progression Free Survival

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00785291
How many people
799
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants With Disease-free Survival (DFS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00630032
How many people
762
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Progression-free Survival (PFS) Per Independent Radiology Review Committee (IRRC)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00080301
How many people
752
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Disease-free Survival

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00789581
How many people
614
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • IXEMPRA is indicated in combination with capecitabine for the treatment of patients with metastatic or locally advanced breast cancer resistant to treatment with an anthracycline and a taxane, or whose cancer is taxane resistant and for whom further anthracycline therapy is contraindicated.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of IXEMPRA in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 241f0b1e-8b95-470d-876f-bf1804daaf18 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of IXEMPRA did not include sufficient numbers of patients aged sixty-five and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger patients.”

    US prescribing information · 241f0b1e-8b95-470d-876f-bf1804daaf18 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Based on findings in animals and its mechanism of action, IXEMPRA can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.1 )] .”

    US prescribing information · 241f0b1e-8b95-470d-876f-bf1804daaf18 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There is no data on the presence of IXEMPRA in human milk, the effects on the breastfed child, or the effects on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 241f0b1e-8b95-470d-876f-bf1804daaf18 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “Monitor hepatic function before initiation of IXEMPRA and periodically thereafter.”

    US prescribing information · 241f0b1e-8b95-470d-876f-bf1804daaf18 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Given by a clinician

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4, S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as injectable, given by the intravenous route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 1 product lists this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 1 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 62158-0008 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 62158-0008 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 241f0b1e-8b95-470d-876f-bf1804daaf18 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 241f0b1e-8b95-470d-876f-bf1804daaf18 · read 2026-08-29

  • IXEMPRA is intravenous at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS IXEMPRA for injection, 15 mg single-dose vial supplied with DILUENT for IXEMPRA, 8 mL., recorded as fda label in effect 2025-12-04 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 241f0b1e-8b95-470d-876f-bf1804daaf18 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Ixabepilone studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Ixabepilone are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleNothing found in the sources checked

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No traced study record is stored for this substance.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4, S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 1 approved application covers products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA022065, approved 20071016 to R-PHARM US LLC.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022065 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022065 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20210630.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 62158-0008 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Ixabepilone label: indicated for what?


"IXEMPRA is indicated in combination with capecitabine for the treatment of patients with metastatic or locally advanced breast cancer resistant to treatment with an anthracycline and a taxane, or whose cancer is taxane resistant and for whom further anthracycline therapy is contraindicated. Anthracycline resistance is…": indications and usage on Ixabepilone's label. DailyMed label · 241f0b1e-8b95-470d-876f-bf1804daaf18 · 2025-12-04

111 registered trials of Ixabepilone — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
57 of 111

111 registered studies of Ixabepilone: 74 phase2, 39 phase1, 7 phase3, 2 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

99 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    74
  • phase1
    39
  • phase3
    7
  • na or unstated
    2
  • completed
    82
  • terminated
    18
3 more recorded rows
  • withdrawn
    6
  • active not recruiting
    3
  • unknown
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

20 of Ixabepilone's trials stopped: futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


futility/efficacy (1), accrual/recruitment (9), funding/business (5), sponsor decision unspecified (1) and other (4): Ixabepilone's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Administratively complete."; 20 of 111 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00028561
    terminated; "Administratively complete."
  • NCT00079326
    terminated; "Slow accrual."
  • NCT00546364
    terminated; "Slow Accrual"
  • NCT00632424
    terminated; "Business Objectives Changed"
  • NCT00672009
    terminated; "The sponsor terminated funding for the study."
  • NCT00765765
    terminated; "Slow accrual"
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00790894
    terminated; "The low accrual rate of the study (25% of the expected accrual rate)"
  • NCT00804310
    terminated; "Lack of funding"
  • NCT00883116
    terminated; "Interim analysis results showed that ixabepilone did not improve survival compared with control chemotherapies."
  • NCT00924066
    terminated; "Premature closure due to slow/insufficient accrual."
  • NCT00998101
    withdrawn; "Study was withdrawn due issuses related to the science"
  • NCT00998738
    terminated; "lack of accrual"
  • NCT01012362
    terminated; "PI left institution."
  • NCT01057212
    terminated; "Lack of support from pharmaceutical collaborator."
  • NCT01079793
    withdrawn; "Overlapping study, PI preferred to enroll in alternate trial."
  • NCT01170871
    withdrawn; "Sponsor withdrew support"
  • NCT01818999
    withdrawn; "low accrual"
  • NCT02067416
    withdrawn; "Funding agent withdrew funding"
  • NCT03393741
    terminated; "slow accrual"
  • NCT04796324
    terminated; "Company Decision"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Ixabepilone used Ixabepilone, 16 mg/m^2 + Bevacizumab, 10 mg/kg — over how long?


studies of Ixabepilone used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

7 recorded entries; human; also "Ixabepilone, 16 mg/m^2 + Bevacizumab, 10 mg/kg", "Ixabepilone, 40 mg/m^2 + Bevacizumab, 15 mg/kg", "Ixabepilone, 40 mg/m^2 + Capecitabine, 1000 mg/m^2"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00370552
    Ixabepilone, 16 mg/m^2 + Bevacizumab, 10 mg/kg
  • NCT00370552
    Ixabepilone, 40 mg/m^2 + Bevacizumab, 15 mg/kg
  • NCT00546364
    Ixabepilone, 40 mg/m^2 + Capecitabine, 1000 mg/m^2
  • NCT00546364
    Ixabepilone, 32 mg/m^2 + Capecitabine, 1000 mg/m^2
  • NCT00683904
    Ixabepilone, 32 mg/m^2 + Carboplatin, 5 mg/min/mL
  • NCT00683904
    Ixabepilone, 32 mg/m^2 + Carboplatin, 6 mg/min/mL
1 more recorded row
  • human NCT00723957
    Ixabepilone, 32 mg/m^2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Ixabepilone's half-life is 52 hours — which schedules were studied?


52 hours, the half-life Ixabepilone's label states: "Elimination Ixabepilone has a terminal elimination half-life of approximately 52 hours (x CV%)." DailyMed label · 241f0b1e-8b95-470d-876f-bf1804daaf18 · 2025-12-04

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    52 hours; Elimination Ixabepilone has a terminal elimination half-life of approximately 52 hours (x CV%).
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Ixabepilone is metabolized by CYP3A4.

recorded 2025-12-04 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 28 trials of Ixabepilone posted no result?


Posted no result
28 of 28 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00017056, NCT00004927, NCT00017043, NCT00020904, NCT00005807 and NCT00022477, and 22 more
Completion dates
oldest 2002-01; newest 2019-09-27
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00017056
    2002-01
  • NCT00004927
    2002-10
  • NCT00017043
    2003-01
  • NCT00020904
    2003-01
  • NCT00005807
    2004-08
  • NCT00022477
    2004-12
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01018966
    2005-04
  • NCT00207129
    2005-12
  • NCT00096317
    2005-12-05
  • NCT00016393
    2006-04
  • NCT00016965
    2006-04
  • NCT00025194
    2006-07
  • NCT00080262
    2006-12
  • NCT01027208
    2007-01
  • NCT00309049
    2007-05
  • NCT00070096
    2007-06
  • NCT00045097
    2007-07
  • NCT00052572
    2007-07
  • NCT01019577
    2007-07
  • NCT00049400
    2007-12

At the median, Ixabepilone's trials enrolled 45 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
45
Largest enrolment
799
Registered trials counted
99

What do 487 spontaneous reports say about Ixabepilone — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Ixabepilone appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 487 reaction mentions were counted: fatigue 63; vomiting 62; anaemia 58; neutrophil count decreased 54. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1201752 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • fatigue
    63
  • vomiting
    62
  • anaemia
    58
  • neutrophil count decreased
    54
  • white blood cell count decreased
    53
  • neutropenia
    46
4 more recorded rows
  • dehydration
    45
  • neuropathy peripheral
    37
  • platelet count decreased
    35
  • febrile neutropenia
    34

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Ixabepilone's label not list?


anaemia, dehydration and fatigue and 7 more reported for Ixabepilone, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1201752 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 241f0b1e-8b95-470d-876f-bf1804daaf18

Show the evidence
  • anaemia
    count not stated
  • dehydration
    count not stated
  • fatigue
    count not stated
  • febrile neutropenia
    count not stated
  • neuropathy peripheral
    count not stated
  • neutropenia
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • neutrophil count decreased
    count not stated
  • platelet count decreased
    count not stated
  • vomiting
    count not stated
  • white blood cell count decreased
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Ixabepilone and CYP3A4: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4 appear in Ixabepilone's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 241f0b1e-8b95-470d-876f-bf1804daaf18 · 2025-12-04

CYP3A4, CYP3A4, CYP3A4; 3 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Strong CYP3A4 Inhibitors: Avoid strong CYP3A4 inhibitors.
  • drug_interactions
    Strong CYP3A4 Inducers: Avoid strong CYP3A4 inducers.
  • drug_interactions
    7.1 Effect of Other Drugs on IXEMPRA Strong CYP3A4 Inhibitors The coadministration of IXEMPRA with a strong CYP3A4 inhibitor increased ixabepilone plasma concentration, which may increase the incidence and severity of adverse reactions of IXEMPRA.
  • drug_interactions
    Avoid coadministration of IXEMPRA with strong CYP3A4 inhibitors.
  • drug_interactions
    If the coadministration of IXEMPRA with strong CYP3A4 cannot be avoided, reduce the dose of IXEMPRA [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.5 ), Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 ].
  • drug_interactions
    Moderate or Weak CYP3A4 Inhibitors The coadministration of IXEMPRA with moderate or weak CYP3A4 inhibitors may increase the incidence and severity of adverse reactions of IXEMPRA.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Strong CYP3A4 Inducers The coadministration of IXEMPRA with a strong CYP3A4 inducer, decreased plasma concentrations of ixabepilone, which may decrease the efficacy of IXEMPRA [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Avoid the coadministration IXEMPRA with strong CYP3A4 inducers.

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2025-12-04 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1201752
PubChem CID
6445540
CAS number
219989-84-1
RxCUI
337523
InChIKey
FABUFPQFXZVHFB-PVYNADRNSA-N
Also called
Azaepothilone b, Ixabepilona, Ixempra, nsc #710428, nsc 710428d, 17-OXA-4-AZABICYCLO(14.1.0)HEPTADECANE-5,9-DIONE, 7,11-DIHYDROXY-8,8,10,12,16-PENTAMETHYL-3-((1E)-1-METHYL-2-(2-METHYL-4-THIAZOLYL)ETHENYL)-, (1S,3S,7S,10R,11S,12S,16R)-, 1S,3S,7S,10R,11S,12S,16R)-7,11-DIHYDROXY-8,8,10,12,16-PENTAMETHYL-3-((1E)-1-METHYL-2-(2-METHYLTHIAZOL-4-YL)ETHENYL)-17-OXA-4-AZABICYCLO(14.1.0)HEPTADECANE-5,9-DIONE, IXABEPILONE [HSDB], IXABEPILONE [JAN], IXABEPILONE [MART.], IXABEPILONE [MI], IXABEPILONE [ORANGE BOOK]
Development code
BMS-247550, BMS 247550-01, NSC-747973
Trade name
Ixempra kit
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.