Skip to content

Iron Sucrose

  • Prescription medicine
  • Given by a clinician
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Iron Sucrose does in the body

Iron deficiency anemia

From the FDA-approved label: Iron Sucrose Injection is an aqueous complex of poly-nuclear iron (III)-hydroxide in sucrose. Following intravenous administration, Iron Sucrose Injection is dissociated into iron and sucrose and the iron is transported as a complex with transferrin to target cells including erythroid precursor cells. The iron in the precursor cells is incorporated into hemoglobin as the cells mature into red blood cells.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as polymer.

    FDA substance registry · FZ7NYF5N8L · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 81 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

postpartum hemorrhage

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03431805
How many people
4574
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Mean Change From Baseline to the Highest Observed Hemoglobin Any Time From Baseline to End of Study.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00981045
How many people
2561
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

The rate of patients diagnosed with anemia

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02434653
How many people
1679
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change in Hemoglobin (Hb) From Baseline to Week 8

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02940860
How many people
1538
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change in Hemoglobin (Hb) From Baseline to Week 8

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02940886
How many people
1512
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Incidence of red blood cell transfusion (binary outcome) between delivery of child and discharge from postpartum hospital stay.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04304625
How many people
1380
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Iron sucrose injection is indicated for the treatment of iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD). Iron sucrose injection is an iron replacement product indicated for the treatment of iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD). ( 1 )

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness of iron sucrose for iron maintenance treatment in pediatric patients 2 years of age and older with dialysis-dependent or non-dialysis-dependent CKD receiving erythropoietin therapy were studied.”

    US prescribing information · 78c04f10-0489-4e45-8cb5-28a6789d1149 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Of the 1,051 patients in two post-marketing safety studies of iron sucrose, 40% were 65 years and older.”

    US prescribing information · 78c04f10-0489-4e45-8cb5-28a6789d1149 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Published studies on intravenous iron sucrose treatment after the first trimester of pregnancy have not shown adverse maternal or fetal outcomes (see Data) .”

    US prescribing information · 78c04f10-0489-4e45-8cb5-28a6789d1149 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary Iron sucrose is present in human milk, and available published reports following exposure to 100 to 300 mg intravenous iron sucrose have not reported adverse reactions in breastfed infants (see Data) .”

    US prescribing information · 78c04f10-0489-4e45-8cb5-28a6789d1149 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Given by a clinician

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as injectable, injection, solution, injection, given by the intravenous, intravitreal route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 36 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 36 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0781-3486 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as injection, injection, solution, liquid, powder and solution, taken intravenous and intravitreal.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0781-3486 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is iron [cs], parenteral iron replacement [epc] and phosphate binder [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0781-3486 · read 2026-08-29

  • 7 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 7 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 78c04f10-0489-4e45-8cb5-28a6789d1149 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 78c04f10-0489-4e45-8cb5-28a6789d1149 · read 2026-08-29

  • 5693 marketed supplement labels list this ingredient, classed as mineral and other combinations.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 229239 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels carry all other, nutrient and structure/function claims. A claim of that kind is written by the manufacturer and is not assessed by any regulator, so its presence says nothing about whether it is true.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 229239 · read 2026-08-29

  • Iron Sucrose is intravenous at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Injection: 50 mg/2.5 mL, 100 mg/5 mL, or 200 mg/10 mL (20 mg/mL) in single-dose vials., recorded as fda label in effect 2025-06-30 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 78c04f10-0489-4e45-8cb5-28a6789d1149 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Iron Sucrose studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Iron Sucrose are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 6 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 6 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 6 of them state the same volumeOfDistribution, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
FZ7NYF5N8L
RxNorm concept
1741261

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 4 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA021135, approved 20001106 to AM REGENT.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021135 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021135 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20001106.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0781-3486 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Iron Sucrose label: indicated for what?


"Iron Sucrose Injection is indicated for the treatment of iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD). Iron Sucrose Injection is an iron replacement product indicated for the treatment of iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD).": indications and usage on Iron Sucrose's label. DailyMed label · 6f19c80e-22e9-4bab-aa53-4d2d958119ed · 2026-06-05

83 registered trials of Iron Sucrose — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
61 of 83

83 registered studies of Iron Sucrose: 23 phase3, 22 phase4, 17 phase2, 12 na, 10 phase1, 3 na or unstated, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

172 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase3
    23
  • phase4
    22
  • phase2
    17
  • na
    12
  • phase1
    10
  • na or unstated
    3
9 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    1
  • completed
    49
  • unknown
    9
  • withdrawn
    9
  • terminated
    8
  • recruiting
    4
  • not yet recruiting
    2
  • available
    1
  • suspended
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

17 of Iron Sucrose's trials stopped: safety, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


safety (2), accrual/recruitment (7), funding/business (2), sponsor decision unspecified (1) and other (5): Iron Sucrose's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Lack of cooperation among centers, Financial reasons"; 17 of 83 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00384657
    withdrawn; "Lack of cooperation among centers, Financial reasons"
  • NCT00593619
    suspended; "Interim Analysis and review by Data Safety Monitoring Board"
  • NCT00830037
    terminated; "Terminated by the DSMB based on low chance of finding differences in mGFR slopes, but higher risk of serious adverse events in the IV iron group (aIRR = 1.60)"
  • NCT00960921
    withdrawn; "Study never started."
  • NCT01151592
    withdrawn; "Sponsor Decision"
  • NCT01309659
    terminated; "Lack of Enrollment"
11 further recorded trials
  • NCT01978535
    terminated; "Difficulty in recruiting subjects."
  • NCT02009943
    withdrawn; "Inadequate funds"
  • NCT02047552
    withdrawn; "No Participants enrolled"
  • NCT02441439
    withdrawn; "The investigators decided not to proceed with this study"
  • NCT02610920
    withdrawn; "Unable to enroll subjects"
  • NCT02977611
    withdrawn; "FDA Clinical Hold"
  • NCT03214627
    terminated; "Standard clinical practice at site caused unforeseen issues for the use of the ACM"
  • NCT03528564
    terminated; "The primary reasoning is that we were unable to demonstrate feasibility, prior to and because of the impact of COVID on our research programs."
  • NCT03610230
    terminated; "Difficult patient recruitment due to COVID-19 epidemic"
  • NCT03933813
    terminated; "slow accrual"
  • NCT04855266
    withdrawn; "Unable to recruit participants"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Iron Sucrose used Endovenous treatment with Venofer 300mg every 3 month — over how long?


Human studies of Iron Sucrose used "Endovenous treatment with Venofer 300mg every 3 month". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

5 recorded entries; human; also "Iron sucrose 200 mg", "Iron sucrose 500 mg", "Iron Sucrose 200mg"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT02390921
    Endovenous treatment with Venofer 300mg every 3 month
  • NCT02441439
    Iron sucrose 200 mg
  • NCT02441439
    Iron sucrose 500 mg
  • NCT02544828
    Iron Sucrose 200mg
  • NCT03317210
    iron sucrose (200 mg VENOFER®)

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Iron Sucrose's half-life is 6 h — which schedules were studied?


6 h, the half-life Iron Sucrose's label states: "In healthy adults administered intravenous doses of Iron Sucrose Injection, its iron component exhibited first order kinetics with an elimination half-life of 6 h, total clearance of 1.2 L/h, and steady state apparent volume of distribution of 7.9 L." DailyMed label · 6f19c80e-22e9-4bab-aa53-4d2d958119ed · 2026-06-05

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    6 h; In healthy adults administered intravenous doses of Iron Sucrose Injection, its iron component exhibited first order kinetics with an elimination half-life of 6 h, total clearance of 1.2 L/h, and steady state apparent volume of distribution of 7.9 L.

recorded 2026-06-05 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 29 trials of Iron Sucrose posted no result?


Posted no result
29 of 29 completed trials
Registrations
NCT06690450, NCT00236964, NCT00239616, NCT03317210, NCT00308490 and NCT00202345, and 23 more
Completion dates
oldest 2002-02; newest 2024-03-02
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT06690450
    2002-02
  • NCT00236964
    2002-05-30
  • NCT00239616
    2003-09-15
  • NCT03317210
    2006-07-31
  • NCT00308490
    2007-01
  • NCT00202345
    2007-02
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00660933
    2007-09
  • NCT00719459
    2008-07-13
  • NCT00557817
    2008-08
  • NCT00534144
    2008-11
  • NCT00952302
    2008-11
  • NCT01078818
    2009-05
  • NCT00810030
    2010-04
  • NCT01349699
    2010-09
  • NCT02392910
    2012-02
  • NCT01435200
    2012-11
  • NCT01067547
    2014-05
  • NCT01265108
    2015-04
  • NCT02391181
    2015-08
  • NCT02390921
    2015-11

At the median, Iron Sucrose's trials enrolled 80 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
80
Largest enrolment
2561
Registered trials counted
82

What do 1943 spontaneous reports say about Iron Sucrose — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Iron Sucrose appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 1943 reaction mentions were counted: drug hypersensitivity 365; dyspnoea 286; nausea 252; pruritus 195. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200823 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug hypersensitivity
    365
  • dyspnoea
    286
  • nausea
    252
  • pruritus
    195
  • hypotension
    186
  • vomiting
    179
4 more recorded rows
  • urticaria
    149
  • infusion related reaction
    119
  • flushing
    111
  • extravasation
    101

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Iron Sucrose's label not list?


drug hypersensitivity, dyspnoea and extravasation and 7 more reported for Iron Sucrose, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200823 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 6f19c80e-22e9-4bab-aa53-4d2d958119ed

Show the evidence
  • drug hypersensitivity
    count not stated
  • dyspnoea
    count not stated
  • extravasation
    count not stated
  • flushing
    count not stated
  • hypotension
    count not stated
  • infusion related reaction
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • nausea
    count not stated
  • pruritus
    count not stated
  • urticaria
    count not stated
  • vomiting
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200823
PubChem CID
91663255
CAS number
8047-67-4
RxCUI
24909
Also called
Ferric hydroxide sucrose complex, Iron(iii) hydroxide sucrose complex, Iron oxide saccharated, Iron saccharate, Iron sucrose complex, Iron sugar, Saccharated iron, Saccharated iron oxide, is, reference product, test product, venofer
Japanese name
Saccharated ferric oxide
Development code
XI-921
Trade name
Venofer / Venofer (Iron Sucrose)
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.