Skip to content

Ipilimumab

  • Antibody medicine
  • Given by a clinician
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Ipilimumab does in the body

Ipilimumab is a monoclonal antibody that binds to CTLA-4 and blocks the interaction of CTLA-4 with its ligands, CD80/CD86.

From the FDA-approved label: CTLA-4 is a negative regulator of T-cell activity. Blockade of CTLA-4 has been shown to augment T-cell activation and proliferation, including the activation and proliferation of tumor infiltrating T-effector cells. Inhibition of CTLA-4 signaling can also reduce T-regulatory cell function, which may contribute to a general increase in T-cell responsiveness, including the anti-tumor immune response.

Why people take it. YERVOY is a human cytotoxic T-lymphocyte antigen 4 (CTLA-4)-blocking antibody indicated for: Melanoma • Treatment of unresectable or metastatic melanoma in adults and pediatric patients 12 years and older as a single agent or in combination with nivolumab.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as protein.

    FDA substance registry · 6T8C155666 · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

A person wrote this explanation into the record, with the studies named in the path below.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 128 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Objective Response Rate defined as % of participants in a cohort with complete or partial response or with stable disease according to standard response criteria

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02693535
How many people
4200
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Progression-Free Survival Per BICR

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02477826
How many people
2747
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Overall Survival (OS) in Participants Treated With Nivolumab Plus Chemotherapy vs Chemotherapy With PD-L1 CPS ≥ 5

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02872116
How many people
2031
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Recurrence-free Survival (RFS) - All Randomized Participants

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03068455
How many people
1844
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Overall Survival (OS) (Time-to-Death) Difference Between MDX-010 in Combination With gp 100 Melanoma Peptide Vaccine Versus gp 100 Melanoma Peptide Vaccine Alone

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00094653
How many people
1783
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Recurrence-free Survival (RFS; Arm B [HDI] vs. Arm C [LIP])

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01274338
How many people
1673
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • YERVOY is a human cytotoxic T-lymphocyte antigen 4 (CTLA-4)-blocking antibody indicated for: Melanoma • Treatment of unresectable or metastatic melanoma in adults and pediatric patients 12 years and older as a single agent or in combination with nivolumab.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of YERVOY have not been established in pediatric patients younger than 12 years old with unresectable or metastatic melanoma or MSI-H or dMMR mCRC.”

    US prescribing information · 2265ef30-253e-11df-8a39-0800200c9a66 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of YERVOY in combination with nivolumab did not include sufficient numbers of patients with hepatocellular carcinoma aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger patients.”

    US prescribing information · 2265ef30-253e-11df-8a39-0800200c9a66 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Based on findings from animal studies and its mechanism of action [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.1) ] , YERVOY can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman.”

    US prescribing information · 2265ef30-253e-11df-8a39-0800200c9a66 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of YERVOY in human milk or its effects on the breastfed child or milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 2265ef30-253e-11df-8a39-0800200c9a66 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Given by a clinician

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as injectable, injection, given by the injection, intravenous route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 7 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 7 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0003-2327 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as injection, liquid and solution, taken intravenous.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0003-2327 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is ctla-4-directed antibody interactions [moa], ctla-4-directed blocking antibody [epc] and increased t lymphocyte activation [pe].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0003-2327 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 2265ef30-253e-11df-8a39-0800200c9a66 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 2265ef30-253e-11df-8a39-0800200c9a66 · read 2026-08-29

  • YERVOY is intravenous at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Injection: 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL) and 200 mg/40 mL (5 mg/mL) as a clear to slightly opalescent, colorless to pale-yellow solution in a single-dose vial. • Injection: 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL) and…, recorded as fda label in effect 2026-08-20 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 2265ef30-253e-11df-8a39-0800200c9a66 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Ipilimumab studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Ipilimumab are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
6T8C155666

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 1 approved application covers products containing this substance. The earliest was BLA125377, approved 20110325 to BRISTOL MYERS SQUIBB.

    Drugs@FDA application register · BLA125377 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · BLA125377 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20110325.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0003-2327 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Ipilimumab label: indicated for what?


"YERVOY is a human cytotoxic T-lymphocyte antigen 4 (CTLA-4)-blocking antibody indicated for: Melanoma • Treatment of unresectable or metastatic melanoma in adults and pediatric patients 12 years and older as a single agent or in combination with nivolumab. (1.1) • Adjuvant treatment of adult patients with cutaneous…": indications and usage on Ipilimumab's label. DailyMed label · 2265ef30-253e-11df-8a39-0800200c9a66 · 2026-08-20

717 registered trials of Ipilimumab — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
451 of 717

717 registered studies of Ipilimumab: 436 phase2, 300 phase1, 65 phase3, 20 na or unstated, 10 early phase1, 6 phase4, 4 na. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

677 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    436
  • phase1
    300
  • phase3
    65
  • na or unstated
    20
  • early phase1
    10
  • phase4
    6
10 more recorded rows
  • na
    4
  • completed
    319
  • active not recruiting
    120
  • terminated
    105
  • recruiting
    88
  • unknown
    36
  • withdrawn
    33
  • not yet recruiting
    9
  • suspended
    4
  • no longer available
    3

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

134 of Ipilimumab's trials stopped: safety, futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


safety (12), futility/efficacy (8), accrual/recruitment (42), funding/business (20), sponsor decision unspecified (6) and other (46): Ipilimumab's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Study discontinued due to poor accrual."; 134 of 717 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00140855
    terminated; "Study discontinued due to poor accrual."
  • NCT01377389
    terminated; "Due to adverse events"
  • NCT01400451
    terminated; "More than 2 of 6 patients treated experienced dose limiting toxicities."
  • NCT01409174
    terminated; "Slow accrual, closed in Phase I."
  • NCT01471197
    terminated; "Administrative reasons"
  • NCT01530984
    withdrawn; "Unable to execute contract"
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01557114
    terminated; "New compounds available in the indication (nivolumab/pembrolizumab), toxicity of ipilimumab"
  • NCT01590082
    terminated; "Accrual slow due to alternate trials and treatment options."
  • NCT01604889
    terminated; "Further development of this compound with ipilimumab in the treatment of melanoma is no longer being pursued."
  • NCT01689974
    terminated; "Study terminated because PI left institution. Planned Statistical analysis not available"
  • NCT01696045
    terminated; "Slow accrual"
  • NCT01709162
    terminated; "Discontinued early due to enrollment challenges and changes in treatment standards"
  • NCT01730157
    terminated; "Research Cancelled"
  • NCT01740401
    terminated; "Primary Endpoint not met"
  • NCT01769222
    terminated; "Planned Future Study"
  • NCT01810016
    terminated; "Low recruitment due to change in standard of care"
  • NCT01838200
    terminated; "Slow recruitment due to changes in standard of care"
  • NCT01856023
    terminated; "slow accrual \& early closure"
  • NCT01940809
    terminated; "Inadequate accrual rate"
  • NCT01950195
    terminated; "Local IRB required us to submit amendment as a separate study."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Ipilimumab used Ipilimumab, 3 mg — over how long?


studies of Ipilimumab used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

15 recorded entries; human; also "Ipilimumab, 3 mg", "Ipilimumab, 10 mg", "administration of ipilimumab 3mg/kg + HDI"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT01165216
    Ipilimumab, 3 mg
  • NCT01165216
    Ipilimumab, 10 mg
  • NCT01608594
    administration of ipilimumab 3mg/kg + HDI
  • NCT01840579
    Ipilimumab 1 mg/kg
  • NCT02259231
    Ipilimumab (3 mg/kg)
  • NCT02648997
    Ipilimumab - 1 mg/kg
9 more recorded rows
  • human NCT02648997
    Ipilimumab - 3 mg/kg
  • human NCT03117309
    Ipilimumab 1mg/kg
  • human NCT03233152
    Ipilimumab (YervoyTM, 50 mg/10 mL solution)
  • human NCT03879122
    Ipilimumab 5 MG/ML
  • human NCT04006262
    Ipilimumab 200 MG in 40 ML Injection
  • human NCT04730544
    Nivolumab 480mg + Ipilimumab
  • human NCT04730544
    Nivolumab 240 mg + Ipilimumab
  • human NCT05262556
    Ipilimumab (1mg/kg)
  • human NCT07762703
    Ipilimumab 2.5 mg

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Ipilimumab's half-life is 15.4 days — which schedules were studied?


15.4 days, the half-life Ipilimumab's label states: "Elimination The mean (percent coefficient of variation) terminal half-life (t 1/2 ) was 15.4 days (34%) and then mean (percent coefficient of variation) clearance (CL) was 16.8 mL/h (38%)." DailyMed label · 2265ef30-253e-11df-8a39-0800200c9a66 · 2026-08-20

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    15.4 days; Elimination The mean (percent coefficient of variation) terminal half-life (t 1/2 ) was 15.4 days (34%) and then mean (percent coefficient of variation) clearance (CL) was 16.8 mL/h (38%).

recorded 2026-08-20 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Ipilimumab could settle lifespan?


NCT03241186 measures Assess Recurrence-free survival time (RFS), reading out 2023-09.

49 open trials; n 36; "Ipilimumab and Nivolumab as Adjuvant Treatment of Mucosal Melanoma"

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT03241186
    "Ipilimumab and Nivolumab as Adjuvant Treatment of Mucosal Melanoma"; n 36; "Assess Recurrence-free survival time (RFS)"; 2023-09
  • NCT03036098
    "Study of Nivolumab in Combination With Ipilimumab or Standard of Care Chemotherapy Compared to the Standard of Care Chemotherapy Alone in Treatment of Participants With Untreated Inoperable or Metastatic Urothelial Cancer"; n 1314; "Overall Survival (OS) in Cisplatin-ineligible Randomized Participants for Primary Study"; 2026-05-15
  • NCT05836571
    "Testing Ipilimumab and Nivolumab Combination With or Without Cabozantinib in People >= 18 Years Old With Advanced Soft Tissue Sarcoma"; n 66; "Progression-free survival (PFS)"; 2026-05-15
  • NCT04013854
    "Adjuvant Treatment Determined By Pathological Response To Neoadjvuant Nivolumab"; n 67; "Recurrence-Free Survival"; 2026-08
  • NCT03233152
    "A Phase I/II Clinical Trial on the Per-operative Intratumoral Administration of Myeloid Dendritic Cells Plus Ipilimumab and Nivolumab, Followed by Repeated Intracavitary Plus Intravenous Administration of Nivolumab in Patients With Recurrent Glioblastoma."; n 110; "Progression-free survival (PFS)"; 2026-11-17
  • NCT05215470
    "CLARA: Somatic and Germline Mechanisms That Impact Renal Cancer Immunotherapy"; n 100; "Overall Survival"; 2026-11-30
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT04091750
    "Nivolumab/Ipilimumab Plus Cabozantinib in Patients With Unresectable Advanced Melanoma"; n 14; "The Progression Free Survival (PFS) for Nivolumab/Ipilimumab Plus Cabozantinib in Patients With Unresectable Advanced Melanoma."; 2026-12
  • NCT02224781
    "Dabrafenib and Trametinib Followed by Ipilimumab and Nivolumab or Ipilimumab and Nivolumab Followed by Dabrafenib and Trametinib in Treating Patients With Stage III-IV BRAFV600 Melanoma"; n 267; "2-year Overall Survival (OS)"; 2026-12-19
  • NCT02506153
    "Physician/Patient Choice of Either High-Dose Recombinant Interferon Alfa-2B or Ipilimumab, Versus Pembrolizumab in Treating Patients With Stage III-IV High Risk Melanoma That Has Been Removed by Surgery"; n 1301; "Overall Survival (OS)"; 2027-01-23
  • NCT03937219
    "Study of Cabozantinib in Combination With Nivolumab and Ipilimumab in Patients With Previously Untreated Advanced or Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma"; n 855; "Duration of Progression-Free Survival (PFS) by Blinded Independent Radiology Committee (BIRC)"; 2027-01-31
  • NCT01274338
    "Ipilimumab or High-Dose Interferon Alfa-2b in Treating Patients With High-Risk Stage III-IV Melanoma That Has Been Removed by Surgery"; n 1673; "Recurrence-free Survival (RFS; Arm B [HDI] vs. Arm C [LIP])"; 2027-02-02
  • NCT03873402
    "A Study of Nivolumab Combined With Ipilimumab Versus Nivolumab Alone in Participants With Advanced Kidney Cancer"; n 437; "Progression free survival (PFS) by blinded independent central review (BICR)"; 2027-03-11
  • NCT01134614
    "Ipilimumab With or Without Sargramostim in Treating Patients With Stage III or Stage IV Melanoma That Cannot Be Removed by Surgery"; n 245; "Overall Survival"; 2027-03-19
  • NCT04008030
    "A Study of Nivolumab, Nivolumab Plus Ipilimumab, or Investigator's Choice Chemotherapy for the Treatment of Participants With Deficient Mismatch Repair (dMMR)/Microsatellite Instability High (MSI-H) Metastatic Colorectal Cancer (mCRC)"; n 839; "Progression-free Survival (PFS) by Blinded Independent Review Center (BICR) - Arm B vs. Arm A All Lines Centrally Confirmed MSI-H/dMMR"; 2027-03-23
  • NCT03391869
    "Nivolumab and Ipilimumab With or Without Local Consolidation Therapy in Treating Patients With Stage IV Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer"; n 339; "Overall survival (OS) in overall population"; 2027-03-31
  • NCT02785952
    "Lung-MAP: Nivolumab With or Without Ipilimumab as Second-Line Therapy in Treating Patients With Recurrent Stage IV Squamous Cell Lung Cancer and No Matching Biomarkers"; n 275; "Overall Survival"; 2027-04-01
  • NCT05715229
    "Immune Profile Selection By Fraction of ctDNA in Patients With Advanced NSCLC Treated With Immunotherapy"; n 108; "Progression Free Survival (PFS)"; 2027-04-28
  • NCT05144854
    "A Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of ONO-4538 in Combination With Ipilimumab and Chemotherapy in Chemotherapy-naïve Participants With HER2-negative Unresectable Advanced or Recurrent Gastric Cancer (Including Esophagogastric Junction Cancer)"; n 626; "Overall survival (OS)"; 2027-05
  • NCT04511013
    "A Study to Compare the Administration of Encorafenib + Binimetinib + Nivolumab Versus Ipilimumab + Nivolumab in BRAF-V600 Mutant Melanoma With Brain Metastases"; n 112; "Progression-free survival"; 2027-06-30
  • NCT04472767
    "Cabozantinib Combined With Ipilimumab/Nivolumab and TACE in Patients With Hepatocellular Carcinoma"; n 35; "Percentage of Participants with Progression-free Survival at 6 Months"; 2027-09-01

Which 113 trials of Ipilimumab posted no result?


Posted no result
113 of 113 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00050102, NCT00025181, NCT00083278, NCT03407105, NCT00032045 and NCT00058279, and 107 more
Completion dates
oldest 2004-02; newest 2024-08-20
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00050102
    2004-02
  • NCT00025181
    2005-06
  • NCT00083278
    2006-02
  • NCT03407105
    2006-02-21
  • NCT00032045
    2006-08
  • NCT00058279
    2006-08
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00729950
    2007-06
  • NCT00135408
    2007-07
  • NCT00289627
    2007-07
  • NCT00289640
    2007-07
  • NCT00261365
    2007-10
  • NCT00057889
    2008-02
  • NCT00077532
    2008-02
  • NCT00362713
    2009-10
  • NCT00047164
    2010-11
  • NCT00113984
    2011-12-01
  • NCT00064129
    2012-10-01
  • NCT01245556
    2012-11
  • NCT01743157
    2013-05
  • NCT01355120
    2013-09

At the median, Ipilimumab's trials enrolled 40 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
40
Largest enrolment
2747
Registered trials counted
710

What do 6746 spontaneous reports say about Ipilimumab — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Ipilimumab appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 6746 reaction mentions were counted: diarrhoea 1223; colitis 1171; pyrexia 847; malignant neoplasm progression 769. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1789844 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • diarrhoea
    1223
  • colitis
    1171
  • pyrexia
    847
  • malignant neoplasm progression
    769
  • rash
    706
  • hypophysitis
    690
4 more recorded rows
  • pneumonitis
    408
  • adrenal insufficiency
    369
  • hypothyroidism
    284
  • hepatitis
    279

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Ipilimumab's label not list?


adrenal insufficiency, colitis and diarrhoea and 7 more reported for Ipilimumab, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1789844 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 2265ef30-253e-11df-8a39-0800200c9a66

Show the evidence
  • adrenal insufficiency
    count not stated
  • colitis
    count not stated
  • diarrhoea
    count not stated
  • hepatitis
    count not stated
  • hypophysitis
    count not stated
  • hypothyroidism
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • malignant neoplasm progression
    count not stated
  • pneumonitis
    count not stated
  • pyrexia
    count not stated
  • rash
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1789844
CAS number
477202-00-9
RxCUI
1094833
Development code
MDX-CTLA-4, BMS-734016, BMS734016, MDX-010, MDX010, MDX-010 MDX-CTLA4, MDX-101
Trade name
Yervoy
Also called
anti-ctla-4, anti-ctla4, ctla-4, ctla-4 checkpoint blockade, ipi, ipilimumab n01, mdx-ctla4, us-sourced yervoy, IMMUNOGLOBULIN G1, ANTI-(HUMAN CTLA-4 (ANTIGEN)) (HUMAN .GAMMA.1-CHAIN), DISULFIDE WITH HUMAN .KAPPA.-CHAIN, DIMER, IMMUNOGLOBULIN G1, ANTI-(HUMAN CTLA-4 (ANTIGEN)) (HUMAN .GAMMA.1-CHAIN), DISULPHIDE WITH HUMAN .KAPPA.-CHAIN, DIMER, IPILIMUMAB [EMA EPAR], IPILIMUMAB [JAN]
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.