Skip to content

Iodixanol

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Iodixanol does in the body

1 ) Adults and pediatric patients 12 years of age and over Intra-arterial digital subtraction angiography (270 mg Iodine/mL and 320 mg Iodine/mL).

From the FDA-approved label: Intravascular injection of iodixanol opacifies vessels in the path of flow of the contrast agent, permitting visualization of internal structures. In imaging of the body, iodinated contrast agents diffuse from the vascular into the extravascular space. In a normal brain with an intact blood-brain barrier, contrast does not diffuse into the extravascular space. In patients with a disrupted blood- brain barrier, contrast agent accumulates in the interstitial space in the region of disruption.

Why people take it. Iodixanol injection is indicated in for: Iodixanol injection is a radiographic contrast agent indicated for the following: Intra-arterial Procedures ( 1.1 ) Adults and pediatric patients 12 years of age and over Intra-arterial digital subtraction angiography (270 mg Iodine/mL and 320 mg Iodine/mL).

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · HW8W27HTXX · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 156 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Assessment of the Incidence Rate of Contrast Medium-Induced Nephropathy (CIN) Between Iodixanol and Iopamidol in Patients With Impaired Renal Function.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00209417
How many people
656
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
What a body can do day to day
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Proportion of patients exhibiting a relative increase in serum creatinine >= 50% from baseline.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00926562
How many people
592
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Image Quality of the CT Scans Using Different Contrast Agents

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01534975
How many people
513
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Incidence of Contrast Induced Nephropathy (CIN) between the two study groups, defined as relative increase of serum Creatinine of 25% or more from basal values

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00827788
How many people
432
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Incidence of contrast induced nephropathy, defined as either a relative increase in serum creatinine from baseline of >=25% or an absolute increase of >=0.5mg/dL(44.2µmol/L)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00823628
How many people
420
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Peak increase in SCr

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00209430
How many people
408
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Iodixanol injection is indicated in for: Iodixanol injection is a radiographic contrast agent indicated for the following: Intra-arterial Procedures ( 1.1 ) Adults and pediatric patients 12 years of age and over Intra-arterial digital subtraction angiography (270 mg Iodine/mL and 320 mg Iodine/mL).

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and efficacy of iodixanol have been established in pediatric patients down to birth for angiocardiography, cerebral arteriography, visceral arteriography, CT imaging of the head and body, and excretory urography.”

    US prescribing information · 0fe89ea2-04f7-46c5-9c35-220d8c144a95 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “In clinical studies of iodixanol, 254/757 (34%) of patients were 65 and over.”

    US prescribing information · 0fe89ea2-04f7-46c5-9c35-220d8c144a95 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data with iodixanol use in pregnant women to inform any drug-associated risks.”

    US prescribing information · 0fe89ea2-04f7-46c5-9c35-220d8c144a95 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of iodixanol in human milk, the effects on the breastfed infant or the effects on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 0fe89ea2-04f7-46c5-9c35-220d8c144a95 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as injectable, injection, solution, given by the injection, intravascular route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 7 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 7 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71806-222 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as injection, solution and powder, taken intravascular.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71806-222 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is radiographic contrast agent [epc] and x-ray contrast activity [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71806-222 · read 2026-08-29

  • 3 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 3 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 0fe89ea2-04f7-46c5-9c35-220d8c144a95 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 0fe89ea2-04f7-46c5-9c35-220d8c144a95 · read 2026-08-29

  • Iodixanol is intravascular at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Injection: Non-ionic, isotonic, water-soluble, sterile, pyrogen-free, colorless to pale yellow solution in the following strengths: 270 mg of organically bound iodine per mL (550 mg Iodixano…, recorded as fda label in effect 2023-07-21 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 0fe89ea2-04f7-46c5-9c35-220d8c144a95 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Iodixanol studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Iodixanol are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 3 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 3 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 3 of them state the same volumeOfDistribution, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
HW8W27HTXX

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 3 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA020351, approved 19960322 to GE HEALTHCARE.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA020351 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA020351 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19960322.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71806-222 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Iodixanol label: indicated for what?


"VISIPAQUE is indicated for: VISIPAQUE injection is a radiographic contrast agent indicated for the following: Intra-arterial Procedures ( 1.1 ) Adults and pediatric patients 12 years of age and over Intra-arterial digital subtraction angiography (270 and 320 mg Iodine/mL). Angiocardiography (left ventriculography and…": indications and usage on Iodixanol's label. DailyMed label · 2d964c13-88ad-43be-88d4-a3a7ea4d5b5e · 2025-10-17

34 registered trials of Iodixanol — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
19 of 34

34 registered studies of Iodixanol: 22 phase4, 5 na, 3 phase3, 2 na or unstated, 2 phase1, 1 phase2. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

183 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase4
    22
  • na
    5
  • phase3
    3
  • na or unstated
    2
  • phase1
    2
  • phase2
    1
4 more recorded rows
  • completed
    20
  • terminated
    9
  • withdrawn
    3
  • unknown
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

11 of Iodixanol's trials stopped: safety, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


safety (2), accrual/recruitment (4), funding/business (1), sponsor decision unspecified (1) and other (3): Iodixanol's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Supported by preliminary interim analysis. Not based on any safety signals in study or any quality issues that could affect efficacy of the product."; 11 of 34 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00209417
    terminated; "Supported by preliminary interim analysis. Not based on any safety signals in study or any quality issues that could affect efficacy of the product."
  • NCT00335335
    terminated; "Sponsor decision due to low subject recrcuitment"
  • NCT00348608
    terminated; "Sponsor decision (due to low subject recruitment)"
  • NCT00782639
    terminated; "This study was terminated early due to slow enrollment."
  • NCT00793182
    terminated; "Slow enrollment"
  • NCT01188486
    terminated; "Business decision"
5 further recorded trials
  • NCT01402219
    terminated; "There were few eligible subjects from other centers."
  • NCT01935141
    withdrawn; "Staffing difficulties to run project."
  • NCT03119662
    terminated; "The trial was discontinued due to a lower than anticipated recruitment rate. The decision has not been made due to any safety reasons."
  • NCT03631771
    withdrawn; "It was determined that a study is no longer required because the clinical question posed by the study has been answered through published literature"
  • NCT05490381
    withdrawn; "Study closed due to no accruals and change in the standard of care for this population"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Iodixanol used Visipaque Amersham Health 270 mg I/ml — over how long?


studies of Iodixanol used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

1 recorded entry; human; also "Visipaque Amersham Health 270 mg I/ml"

Show the evidence
  • human NCT01146639
    Visipaque Amersham Health 270 mg I/ml

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Iodixanol's half-life is 2.1 hr — which schedules were studied?


2.1 hr, the half-life Iodixanol's label states: "Elimination In 40 healthy, young male volunteers receiving a single intravenous administration of VISIPAQUE in doses of 0.3 to 1.2 gram Iodine/kg body weight, the elimination half-life was 2.1 hr." DailyMed label · 2d964c13-88ad-43be-88d4-a3a7ea4d5b5e · 2025-10-17

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    2.1 hr; Elimination In 40 healthy, young male volunteers receiving a single intravenous administration of VISIPAQUE in doses of 0.3 to 1.2 gram Iodine/kg body weight, the elimination half-life was 2.1 hr.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Iodixanol does not undergo metabolism.

recorded 2025-10-17 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 8 trials of Iodixanol posted no result?


Posted no result
8 of 8 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00247325, NCT00390585, NCT01146639, NCT00926562, NCT02405377 and NCT02476526, and 2 more
Completion dates
oldest 2004-12; newest 2023-06-30
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00247325
    2004-12
  • NCT00390585
    2008-12
  • NCT01146639
    2010-06
  • NCT00926562
    2011-05
  • NCT02405377
    2015-02
  • NCT02476526
    2017-11-20
2 further recorded trials
  • NCT03671603
    2021-06-07
  • NCT05065073
    2023-06-30

At the median, Iodixanol's trials enrolled 66 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
66
Largest enrolment
2755
Registered trials counted
33

What do 1311 spontaneous reports say about Iodixanol — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Iodixanol appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 1311 reaction mentions were counted: pruritus 275; urticaria 187; rash 176; erythema 164. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200507 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • pruritus
    275
  • urticaria
    187
  • rash
    176
  • erythema
    164
  • dyspnoea
    146
  • hypotension
    87
4 more recorded rows
  • anaphylactic reaction
    78
  • acute generalised exanthematous pustulosis
    68
  • renal failure acute
    67
  • cough
    63

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Iodixanol's label not list?


acute generalised exanthematous pustulosis, anaphylactic reaction and cough and 7 more reported for Iodixanol, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200507 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 2d964c13-88ad-43be-88d4-a3a7ea4d5b5e

Show the evidence
  • acute generalised exanthematous pustulosis
    count not stated
  • anaphylactic reaction
    count not stated
  • cough
    count not stated
  • dyspnoea
    count not stated
  • erythema
    count not stated
  • hypotension
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • pruritus
    count not stated
  • rash
    count not stated
  • renal failure acute
    count not stated
  • urticaria
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200507
PubChem CID
3724
CAS number
92339-11-2
RxCUI
27729
InChIKey
NBQNWMBBSKPBAY-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Development code
2-5410-3A, 2-541O-3A, NSC-760069
Trade name
Visipaque, Visipaque 270, Visipaque 320, Visipaque / Visipaque 270 / Visipaque 320
Also called
iodixanol 320, 1,3-BENZENEDICARBOXAMIDE, 5,5'-((2-HYDROXY-1,3-PROPANEDIYL)BIS(ACETYLIMINO))BIS(N,N'-BIS(2,3-DIHYDROXYPROPYL)-2,4,6-TRIIODO-, IODIXANOL [EP MONOGRAPH], IODIXANOL [JAN], IODIXANOL [MART.], IODIXANOL [MI], IODIXANOL [ORANGE BOOK], IODIXANOL [USAN], IODIXANOL [USP IMPURITY], IODIXANOL [USP MONOGRAPH], IODIXANOL [USP-RS]
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.