Skip to content

Iloperidone

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Iloperidone does in the body

1 )].

From the FDA-approved label: The mechanism of action of iloperidone in schizophrenia and bipolar I disorder is unknown. However, the efficacy of iloperidone could be mediated through a combination of dopamine type 2 (D 2 ) and serotonin type 2 (5-HT 2 ) antagonism. Iloperidone forms an active metabolite, P88, that has an in vitro receptor binding profile similar to the parent drug.

Why people take it. Iloperidone tablets is indicated for: Treatment of schizophrenia in adults [see Clinical Studies ( 14.1 )].

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · VPO7KJ050N · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C24H27FN2O4, weighing 426.48.

    US prescribing information · eeb0fcfd-e4e8-4fb1-9635-901dc9446235 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 88 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Time to Relapse or Impending Relapse

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01291511
How many people
635
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change From Baseline in Positive and Negative Symptom Scale Total (PANSS-T) Score

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00254202
How many people
593
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Integrated Clinical Global Impression of Change (I-CGI-C) at Week 12

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01207414
How many people
501
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change From Baseline to Week 4 in Young Mania Rating Scale (YMRS) Total Score

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04819776
How many people
417
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Time to exacerbation of symptoms

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06961968
How many people
400
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

the score of Positive and Negative syndrome scale to evaluation the severity of schizophrenia

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02453893
How many people
288
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • FANAPT ® is indicated for: Treatment of schizophrenia in adults [see Clinical Studies (14.1) ]. Acute treatment of manic or mixed episodes associated with bipolar I disorder in adults [see Clinical Studies (14.2) ]. FANAPT is an atypical antipsychotic indicated for: Treatment of schizophrenia in adults. ( 1, 14.1 ) Acute treatment of manic or mixed episodes associated with bipolar I disorder in adults. ( 1, 14.2 )

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness of Iloperidone have not been established in pediatric patients.”

    US prescribing information · eeb0fcfd-e4e8-4fb1-9635-901dc9446235 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical Studies of Iloperidone in the treatment of schizophrenia did not include sufficient numbers of patients aged 65 years and over to determine whether or not they respond differently than younger adult patients.”

    US prescribing information · eeb0fcfd-e4e8-4fb1-9635-901dc9446235 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in women exposed to Iloperidone during pregnancy.”

    US prescribing information · eeb0fcfd-e4e8-4fb1-9635-901dc9446235 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There is no information regarding the presence of iloperidone or its metabolites in human milk, the effects of iloperidone on a breastfed child, nor the effects of iloperidone on human milk production.”

    US prescribing information · eeb0fcfd-e4e8-4fb1-9635-901dc9446235 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “No dose adjustment to Iloperidone is needed in patients with mild hepatic impairment (Child-Pugh class A).”

    US prescribing information · eeb0fcfd-e4e8-4fb1-9635-901dc9446235 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 26 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 26 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 43068-901 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder and tablet, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 43068-901 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is atypical antipsychotic [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 43068-901 · read 2026-08-29

  • 2 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 2 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · eeb0fcfd-e4e8-4fb1-9635-901dc9446235 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · eeb0fcfd-e4e8-4fb1-9635-901dc9446235 · read 2026-08-29

  • ILOPERIDONE is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Iloperidone tablets are available in the following strengths: 1 mg, 2 mg, 4 mg, 6 mg, 8 mg, 10 mg and 12 mg., recorded as fda label in effect 2025-03-13 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · eeb0fcfd-e4e8-4fb1-9635-901dc9446235 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Iloperidone studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Iloperidone are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 2 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 2 of them state the same bioavailability, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 2 of them state the same tMax, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 2 of them state the same volumeOfDistribution, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
VPO7KJ050N
RxNorm concept
848722

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 5 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA022192, approved 20090506 to VANDA PHARMS INC.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022192 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued, none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022192 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20090506.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 43068-901 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Iloperidone label: indicated for what?


"FANAPT ® is indicated for: Treatment of schizophrenia in adults [see Clinical Studies (14.1) ]. Acute treatment of manic or mixed episodes associated with bipolar I disorder in adults [see Clinical Studies (14.2) ] .": indications and usage on Iloperidone's label. DailyMed label · 33f60b40-3fca-11de-8f56-0002a5d5c51b · 2026-05-06

23 registered trials of Iloperidone — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
13 of 23

23 registered studies of Iloperidone: 6 phase1, 6 phase4, 5 phase2, 5 phase3, 2 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

19 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase1
    6
  • phase4
    6
  • phase2
    5
  • phase3
    5
  • na or unstated
    2
  • completed
    15
4 more recorded rows
  • recruiting
    3
  • terminated
    2
  • unknown
    2
  • withdrawn
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

3 of Iloperidone's trials stopped: safety, accrual/recruitment?


safety (1) and accrual/recruitment (2): Iloperidone's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Enrollment challenges - Single participant discontinued after placebo, no relevant outcome measure data was recorded."; 3 of 23 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01917318
    terminated; "Enrollment challenges - Single participant discontinued after placebo, no relevant outcome measure data was recorded."
  • NCT01929889
    terminated; "Low recruitment"
  • NCT05344365
    withdrawn; "Study was terminated for business reasons; not due to safety or efficacy concerns."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Iloperidone used Iloperidone 1 MG — over how long?


studies of Iloperidone used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

1 recorded entry; human; also "Iloperidone 1 MG"

Show the evidence
  • human NCT03420534
    Iloperidone 1 MG

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Iloperidone's half-life is 23 hours — which schedules were studied?


23 hours, the half-life Iloperidone's label states: "Elimination The observed mean elimination half-lives for iloperidone, P88, and P95 in CYP2D6 extensive metabolizers (EM) are 18, 26, and 23 hours, respectively, and in poor metabolizers (PM) are 33, 37, and 31 hours, respectively." DailyMed label · 33f60b40-3fca-11de-8f56-0002a5d5c51b · 2026-05-06

tmax 2 to 4 hours; bioavailability 96 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    23 hours; Elimination The observed mean elimination half-lives for iloperidone, P88, and P95 in CYP2D6 extensive metabolizers (EM) are 18, 26, and 23 hours, respectively, and in poor metabolizers (PM) are 33, 37, and 31 hours, respectively.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    2 to 4 hours; Absorption Iloperidone is well absorbed after administration of the tablet with time to peak plasma concentrations (T max ) occurring within 2 to 4 hours.
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    96 %; The relative bioavailability of the tablet formulation compared to oral solution is 96%.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Elimination The observed mean elimination half-lives for iloperidone, P88, and P95 in CYP2D6 extensive metabolizers (EM) are 18, 26, and 23 hours, respectively, and in poor metabolizers (PM) are 33, 37, and 31 hours, respectively.

recorded 2026-05-06 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 7 trials of Iloperidone posted no result?


Posted no result
7 of 7 completed trials
Registrations
NCT01529294, NCT01623713, NCT01495169, NCT01498770, NCT02600741 and NCT04127058, and 1 more
Completion dates
oldest 2012-07; newest 2022-08-30
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01529294
    2012-07
  • NCT01623713
    2013-11
  • NCT01495169
    2015-02
  • NCT01498770
    2017-12-21
  • NCT02600741
    2018-07-05
  • NCT04127058
    2019-11-27
  • 1 further recorded trial NCT04712734
    2022-08-30

At the median, Iloperidone's trials enrolled 81 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
81
Largest enrolment
635
Registered trials counted
23

What do 315 spontaneous reports say about Iloperidone — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Iloperidone appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 315 reaction mentions were counted: dizziness 46; insomnia 41; weight increased 36; anxiety 33. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL14376 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • dizziness
    46
  • insomnia
    41
  • weight increased
    36
  • anxiety
    33
  • dyskinesia
    31
  • orthostatic hypotension
    27
4 more recorded rows
  • aggression
    26
  • oedema peripheral
    26
  • suicidal ideation
    25
  • coordination abnormal
    24

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Iloperidone's label not list?


aggression, anxiety and coordination abnormal and 7 more reported for Iloperidone, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL14376 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 33f60b40-3fca-11de-8f56-0002a5d5c51b

Show the evidence
  • aggression
    count not stated
  • anxiety
    count not stated
  • coordination abnormal
    count not stated
  • dizziness
    count not stated
  • dyskinesia
    count not stated
  • insomnia
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • oedema peripheral
    count not stated
  • orthostatic hypotension
    count not stated
  • suicidal ideation
    count not stated
  • weight increased
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Iloperidone and CYP2D6 and CYP3A4: shared by which compounds?


CYP2D6 and CYP3A4 appear in Iloperidone's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 33f60b40-3fca-11de-8f56-0002a5d5c51b · 2026-05-06

CYP2D6, CYP3A4; 2 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    The dose of FANAPT should be reduced in patients co-administered a strong CYP2D6 or CYP3A4 inhibitor.
  • drug_interactions
    Table 7: Clinically Important Drug Interactions with FANAPT Strong CYP2D6 Inhibitors Clinical Impact Coadministration of fluoxetine with iloperidone increased exposure (area under curve, [AUC]) of iloperidone and its metabolite P88, by about 2- to 3- fold, and decreased the AUC of its metabolite P95 by one-half [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3 , 12.5) ] .
  • drug_interactions
    Intervention Reduce the dose of FANAPT by one-half when administered with strong CYP2D6 inhibitors.
  • drug_interactions
    When a strong CYP2D6 inhibitor is withdrawn from the combination therapy, the iloperidone dose should be returned to the previous level [see Dosage and Administration (2.4) ] .
  • drug_interactions
    Strong CYP3A4 Inhibitors Clinical Impact Co-administration of ketoconazole with iloperidone, increased the AUC of iloperidone and its metabolites P88 and P95 by 57%, 55%, and 35%, respectively [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] .
  • drug_interactions
    Intervention Reduce the dose of FANAPT by one-half when administered with strong CYP3A4 inhibitors.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    When the CYP3A4 inhibitor is withdrawn from the combination therapy, the FANAPT dose should be returned to the previous level [see Dosage and Administration (2.4) ] .
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Concomitant use of Strong CYP2D6 and Strong CYP3A4 Inhibitors Clinical Impact Coadministration of iloperidone with paroxetine and ketoconazole resulted in a 1.4- fold increase in steady-state concentrations of iloperidone and its metabolite P88 and a 1.4- fold decrease in the P95 in the presence of paroxetine [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] .
  • CYP2D6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine
  • CYP3A4
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2026-05-06 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL14376
PubChem CID
71360
CAS number
133454-47-4
RxCUI
73178
InChIKey
XMXHEBAFVSFQEX-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Trade name
Fanapt, Iloperidone Vanda Pharmaceuticals, Fanaptum
Development code
HP 873
Also called
Iloperidona, ILOPERIDONE [MART.], ILOPERIDONE [MI], ILOPERIDONE [ORANGE BOOK], ILOPERIDONE [USAN], ILOPERIDONE [USP-RS], ILOPERIDONE [VANDF], Iloperidone [WHO-DD], iloperidone [INN]
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.