Skip to content

Haloperidol Decanoate

  • Prescription medicine
  • Given by a clinician
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Haloperidol Decanoate does in the body

Haloperidol also binds to alpha-1 adrenergic receptors, but with lower affinity, and displays minimal binding to muscarinic cholinergic and histaminergic (H 1 ) receptors.

From the FDA-approved label: The mechanism of action of haloperidol decanoate injection for the treatment of schizophrenia in adults is unclear. However, its effect in schizophrenia could be mediated through its activity as an antagonist at central dopamine type 2 receptors.

Why people take it. Schizophrenia

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · AC20PJ4101 · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C31H41ClFNO3, weighing 530.12.

    US prescribing information · 1a0e38cb-fd9f-4962-9f81-5c0023ca6b4c · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

A person wrote this explanation into the record, with the studies named in the path below.

The recorded use, written for a reader without medical training. Not signed off.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 76 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Formulation

A formulation is the exact made-up form a substance comes in.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the difference between a whole bean and instant coffee.

Where that stops being true. Coffee tastes different. A formulation can change how much reaches the blood.

What people get wrong. Two products with the same name are assumed to behave the same. They often do not.

The specific composition and physical form of a product, including salt, excipients and release profile.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Adherence to PONV Guidelines

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02625181
How many people
27034
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

One of the INCEPT core outcomes (varying between domains)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06667999
How many people
10000
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Reconciliation of outpatient medications

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01195051
How many people
4818
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Study of metabolic profile

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00534183
How many people
2006
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

All cause mortality

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01785290
How many people
1800
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percent of patients showing clinical improvement, defined as a >=20% reduction in the total PANSS score from baseline to end of double-blind treatment, and the mean change from baseline to end of double-blind treatment in total PANSS score.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00249119
How many people
1579
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Haloperidol Decanoate Injection is indicated for the treatment of schizophrenia in adults who were previously taking a stable dosage of an immediate-release oral haloperidol product. Haloperidol Decanoate Injection is a typical antipsychotic indicated for the treatment of schizophrenia in adults who were previously taking a stable dosage of an immediate-release oral haloperidol product ( 1 ).

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness of haloperidol decanoate have not been established in pediatric patients.”

    US prescribing information · 1a0e38cb-fd9f-4962-9f81-5c0023ca6b4c · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of haloperidol decanoate did not include sufficient numbers of patients 65 years of age and older to determine whether they respond differently from younger adult patients.”

    US prescribing information · 1a0e38cb-fd9f-4962-9f81-5c0023ca6b4c · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Available data from published epidemiologic studies of pregnant patients exposed to haloperidol have not established a drug-associated risk of major birth defects or miscarriage.”

    US prescribing information · 1a0e38cb-fd9f-4962-9f81-5c0023ca6b4c · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary Literature reports suggest that haloperidol is detected in human milk of haloperidol-treated mothers with a relative infant dose ranging from 2% to 12%.”

    US prescribing information · 1a0e38cb-fd9f-4962-9f81-5c0023ca6b4c · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “Haloperidol is extensively metabolized in the liver, therefore, haloperidol concentrations may be higher in patients with hepatic impairment compared to patients with normal hepatic function.”

    US prescribing information · 1a0e38cb-fd9f-4962-9f81-5c0023ca6b4c · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

A different form was studied

The studied form is not the form on the shelf.

On this record: This record is linked to 1 related forms. Evidence does not carry across all of them.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (10)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Given by a clinician

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S6, S9.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as injectable, injection, solution, injection, given by the injection, intramuscular route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 63 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 63 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72485-520 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as injection, injection, solution and powder, taken intramuscular.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72485-520 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is typical antipsychotic [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72485-520 · read 2026-08-29

  • 25 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 25 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 15b82169-882b-40ef-bbda-5adc3e7eb930 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 15b82169-882b-40ef-bbda-5adc3e7eb930 · read 2026-08-29

  • 6 marketed supplement labels list this ingredient, classed as amino acid/protein, non-nutrient/non-botanical and other combinations.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 11725 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels carry all other, nutrient and structure/function claims. A claim of that kind is written by the manufacturer and is not assessed by any regulator, so its presence says nothing about whether it is true.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 11725 · read 2026-08-29

  • Haloperidol Decanoate is intramuscular at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS • Haloperidol decanoate injection, 50 mg/mL is a clear colorless/pink to yellow amber oily liquid, free from visible foreign material, in a single-dose vial. • Haloperidol decanoate injectio…, recorded as fda label in effect 2026-07-14 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 1a0e38cb-fd9f-4962-9f81-5c0023ca6b4c · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

Names and forms linked to this record

  • Ester of

    Haloperidol

    Evidence on this page does not automatically apply to this one.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Haloperidol Decanoate studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Haloperidol Decanoate are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
AC20PJ4101
RxNorm concept
1719803

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S6, S9.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 14 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA018701, approved 19860114 to JANSSEN PHARMS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA018701 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA018701 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19860114.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72485-520 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Haloperidol Decanoate label: indicated for what?


"Haloperidol decanoate injection is indicated for the treatment of schizophrenia in adults who were previously taking a stable dosage of an immediate-release oral haloperidol product. Haloperidol decanoate injection is a typical antipsychotic indicated for the treatment of schizophrenia in adults who were previously…": indications and usage on Haloperidol Decanoate's label. DailyMed label · 1a0e38cb-fd9f-4962-9f81-5c0023ca6b4c · 2026-07-14

50 registered trials of Haloperidol Decanoate — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
31 of 50

50 registered studies of Haloperidol Decanoate: 20 phase4, 14 phase3, 9 na, 6 phase2, 3 na or unstated, 2 phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

43 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase4
    20
  • phase3
    14
  • na
    9
  • phase2
    6
  • na or unstated
    3
  • phase1
    2
6 more recorded rows
  • completed
    29
  • terminated
    12
  • active not recruiting
    3
  • unknown
    3
  • withdrawn
    2
  • recruiting
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

11 of Haloperidol Decanoate's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, other?


accrual/recruitment (5) and other (6): Haloperidol Decanoate's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Study suspended due to low enrollment"; 11 of 50 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00124930
    terminated; "Study suspended due to low enrollment"
  • NCT00300391
    terminated; "Insufficient recruitment to meet aims."
  • NCT00599287
    terminated; "Inclusion rate too low due to a lack of eligible patients and difficulties obtaining informed consent."
  • NCT00947375
    terminated; "All of the mentioned aim and objectives were achieved before the February 2007"
  • NCT00954603
    terminated; "few delirious patients were enrolled."
  • NCT01140529
    terminated; "Slow recruitment"
5 further recorded trials
  • NCT02057549
    terminated; "PI left institution"
  • NCT02098499
    withdrawn; "No recruitment occurred and PI retired"
  • NCT02343575
    terminated; "We did not recruit the research assistant and terminated the study"
  • NCT02893371
    terminated; "Per PI, this study is not a clinical trial and was inadvertently entered in the system"
  • NCT02972502
    terminated; "PI lapsed institutional training"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Haloperidol Decanoate used Haldol 10 mg Tablets (McNeil Pharmaceuticals) — over how long?


studies of Haloperidol Decanoate used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

1 recorded entry; human; also "Haldol 10 mg Tablets (McNeil Pharmaceuticals)"

Show the evidence
  • human NCT00946491
    Haldol 10 mg Tablets (McNeil Pharmaceuticals)

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Haloperidol Decanoate's half-life is 6 days — which schedules were studied?


6 days, the half-life Haloperidol Decanoate's label states: "Absorption The plasma concentrations of haloperidol gradually rise, reaching a peak at about 6 days after the haloperidol decanoate injection, and fall thereafter, with an apparent half-life of about 3 weeks." DailyMed label · 1a0e38cb-fd9f-4962-9f81-5c0023ca6b4c · 2026-07-14

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    6 days; Absorption The plasma concentrations of haloperidol gradually rise, reaching a peak at about 6 days after the haloperidol decanoate injection, and fall thereafter, with an apparent half-life of about 3 weeks.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Elimination Metabolism : Haloperidol is metabolized by several routes.

recorded 2026-07-14 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 16 trials of Haloperidol Decanoate posted no result?


Posted no result
16 of 16 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00946491, NCT00018642, NCT01123408, NCT00009217, NCT01139463 and NCT01161277, and 10 more
Completion dates
oldest 1987-05; newest 2023-05-22
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00946491
    1987-05
  • NCT00018642
    2002-03
  • NCT01123408
    2004-07
  • NCT00009217
    2004-12
  • NCT01139463
    2009-10
  • NCT01161277
    2011-06
10 further recorded trials
  • NCT01750541
    2013-01
  • NCT01174290
    2014-03
  • NCT02043912
    2014-04
  • NCT01530308
    2015-10
  • NCT01862302
    2016-07
  • NCT01785290
    2017-03
  • NCT01539733
    2017-04
  • NCT02909465
    2017-07
  • NCT03056482
    2019-07-07
  • NCT04764344
    2023-05-22

At the median, Haloperidol Decanoate's trials enrolled 60 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
60
Largest enrolment
1037352
Registered trials counted
49

What do 6388 spontaneous reports say about Haloperidol Decanoate — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Haloperidol Decanoate appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 6388 reaction mentions were counted: extrapyramidal disorder 1124; weight increased 977; neuroleptic malignant syndrome 970; somnolence 577. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200986 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • extrapyramidal disorder
    1124
  • weight increased
    977
  • neuroleptic malignant syndrome
    970
  • somnolence
    577
  • drug interaction
    505
  • agitation
    469
4 more recorded rows
  • suicide attempt
    464
  • dystonia
    464
  • toxicity to various agents
    419
  • tremor
    419

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Haloperidol Decanoate's label not list?


agitation, drug interaction and dystonia and 7 more reported for Haloperidol Decanoate, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200986 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 1a0e38cb-fd9f-4962-9f81-5c0023ca6b4c

Show the evidence
  • agitation
    count not stated
  • drug interaction
    count not stated
  • dystonia
    count not stated
  • extrapyramidal disorder
    count not stated
  • neuroleptic malignant syndrome
    count not stated
  • somnolence
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • suicide attempt
    count not stated
  • toxicity to various agents
    count not stated
  • tremor
    count not stated
  • weight increased
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Haloperidol Decanoate and CYP2D6 and CYP3A4: shared by which compounds?


CYP2D6 and CYP3A4 appear in Haloperidol Decanoate's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 1a0e38cb-fd9f-4962-9f81-5c0023ca6b4c · 2026-07-14

CYP2D6, CYP2D6, CYP3A4, CYP3A4; 4 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    CYP3A4 and/or CYP2D6 Inhibitors Clinical Impact CYP3A4 and/or CYP2D6 inhibitors increase haloperidol exposure (haloperidol is a CYP3A4 and CYP2D6 substrate) [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].
  • drug_interactions
    Concomitant use of haloperidol decanoate and CYP3A4 and/or CYP2D6 inhibitors may increase the risk of haloperidol-associated adverse reactions.
  • drug_interactions
    CYP3A4 Inducers Clinical Impact CYP3A4 inducers decrease haloperidol exposure (haloperidol is a CYP3A4 substrate) [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].
  • drug_interactions
    Concomitant use of haloperidol decanoate with CYP3A4 inducers may reduce the effectiveness of haloperidol decanoate.
  • drug_interactions
    CYP2D6 Substrates Clinical Impact Haloperidol is a CYP2D6 inhibitor.
  • drug_interactions
    Plasma concentrations of CYP2D6 substrates may increase when they are concomitantly administered with haloperidol decanoate.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Prevention or Management Monitor plasma concentrations of the CYP2D6 substrate, if possible.
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Consider reducing the dosage of the CYP2D6 substrate, if necessary.

CYP2D6

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2026-07-14 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200986
PubChem CID
52919
CAS number
74050-97-8
RxCUI
26420
InChIKey
GUTXTARXLVFHDK-UHFFFAOYSA-N

Relations

Trade name
Haldol, Haldol dec, Haldol Decanoate, Haldol / Haldol Decanoate
Also called
Halomonth, haloperidol, HALOPERIDOL DECANOATE [EP IMPURITY], HALOPERIDOL DECANOATE [EP MONOGRAPH], HALOPERIDOL DECANOATE [JAN], HALOPERIDOL DECANOATE [MART.], HALOPERIDOL DECANOATE [MI], HALOPERIDOL DECANOATE [ORANGE BOOK], HALOPERIDOL DECANOATE [USAN], HALOPERIDOL DECANOATE [USP IMPURITY], HALOPERIDOL DECANOATE [USP MONOGRAPH], HALOPERIDOL DECANOATE [USP-RS]
Development code
R-13,672, R-13672
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.