Skip to content

Glycerol phenylbutyrate

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Glycerol phenylbutyrate does in the body

Acute hyperammonemia

From the FDA-approved label: UCDs are inherited deficiencies of enzymes or transporters necessary for the synthesis of urea from ammonia (NH 3 , NH 4 + ). Absence of these enzymes or transporters results in the accumulation of toxic levels of ammonia in the blood and brain of affected patients. Glycerol phenylbutyrate oral liquid is a triglyceride containing 3 molecules of PBA. PAA, the major metabolite of PBA, is the active moiety of glycerol phenylbutyrate oral liquid. PAA conjugates with glutamine (which contains 2 molecules of nitrogen) via acetylation in the liver and kidneys to form PAGN, which is excreted by the kidneys (Figure 1).

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · ZH6F1VCV7B · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C33H38O6, weighing 530.67.

    US prescribing information · e78f2dfd-fb39-4e4b-a639-64591d282ca6 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 117 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Part A: The Rate of AEs and Tolerability of HPN-100

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00999167
How many people
189
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Safety and tolerability as measured by the rate and severity of adverse events in each treatment group.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01135680
How many people
98
Study design
Phase 1
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of Participants With at Least One Adverse Event

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01257737
How many people
88
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Rate of Adverse Events (Number of Participants Who Experienced Any AE Considered Related to Study Drug)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00947297
How many people
60
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Short Term Adverse events (i.e., safety)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04937062
How many people
50
Study design
Early phase 1
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

The Primary Endpoint Was the 24-hour Area Under the Curve for Blood Ammonia (NH324-hour AUC) on Days 14 and 28.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00992459
How many people
46
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Glycerol phenylbutyrate oral liquid is indicated for use as a nitrogen-binding agent for chronic management of patients with urea cycle disorders (UCDs) who cannot be managed by dietary protein restriction and/or amino acid supplementation alone.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics (plasma ammonia), and safety were studied in 17 patients aged 2 months to less than 2 years of age and in 16 patients less than 2 months of age [see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 ), Clinical Studies ( 14.3 )] .”

    US prescribing information · e78f2dfd-fb39-4e4b-a639-64591d282ca6 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of glycerol phenylbutyrate did not include sufficient numbers of subjects 65 years of age and older to determine whether they respond differently than younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · e78f2dfd-fb39-4e4b-a639-64591d282ca6 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Limited available data with glycerol phenylbutyrate use in pregnant women are insufficient to inform a drug-associated risk of major birth defects and miscarriage.”

    US prescribing information · e78f2dfd-fb39-4e4b-a639-64591d282ca6 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of glycerol phenylbutyrate in human milk, the effects on the breastfed infant, or the effects on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · e78f2dfd-fb39-4e4b-a639-64591d282ca6 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “No studies were conducted in patients with UCDs and hepatic impairment.”

    US prescribing information · e78f2dfd-fb39-4e4b-a639-64591d282ca6 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “The efficacy and safety of glycerol phenylbutyrate in patients with renal impairment are unknown.”

    US prescribing information · e78f2dfd-fb39-4e4b-a639-64591d282ca6 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as liquid, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 20 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 20 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 76339-517 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as liquid and powder, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 76339-517 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is ammonium ion binding activity [moa] and nitrogen binding agent [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 76339-517 · read 2026-08-29

  • 9 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 9 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · e78f2dfd-fb39-4e4b-a639-64591d282ca6 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · e78f2dfd-fb39-4e4b-a639-64591d282ca6 · read 2026-08-29

  • 354 marketed supplement labels list this ingredient, classed as non-nutrient/non-botanical.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 253471 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels carry all other and structure/function claims. A claim of that kind is written by the manufacturer and is not assessed by any regulator, so its presence says nothing about whether it is true.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 253471 · read 2026-08-29

  • Glycerol Phenylbutyrate is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Oral liquid: clear, colorless to pale yellow, 1.1 g/mL of glycerol phenylbutyrate (delivers 1.02 g/mL of phenylbutyrate)., recorded as fda label in effect 2025-10-09 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · e78f2dfd-fb39-4e4b-a639-64591d282ca6 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Glycerol phenylbutyrate studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Glycerol phenylbutyrate are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 9 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 9 of them state the same proteinBinding, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
ZH6F1VCV7B
RxNorm concept
1368453

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 9 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA203284, approved 20130201 to HORIZON THERAP US.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA203284 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA203284 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20120110.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 76339-517 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Glycerol phenylbutyrate label: indicated for what?


"Glycerol phenylbutyrate oral liquid is indicated for use as a nitrogen-binding agent for chronic management of patients with urea cycle disorders (UCDs) who cannot be managed by dietary protein restriction and/or amino acid supplementation alone. Glycerol phenylbutyrate oral liquid must be used with dietary protein…": indications and usage on Glycerol phenylbutyrate's label. DailyMed label · d3b52ded-b305-445c-b943-ef0fb2dedd2b · 2026-08-24

20 registered trials of Glycerol phenylbutyrate — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
10 of 20

20 registered studies of Glycerol phenylbutyrate: 5 phase1, 5 phase2, 4 phase3, 3 na or unstated, 3 phase4, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

12 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase1
    5
  • phase2
    5
  • phase3
    4
  • na or unstated
    3
  • phase4
    3
  • early phase1
    1
6 more recorded rows
  • completed
    14
  • no longer available
    2
  • active not recruiting
    1
  • recruiting
    1
  • suspended
    1
  • unknown
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Why did Glycerol phenylbutyrate's trial NCT04041232 stop?


1 recorded trial of Glycerol phenylbutyrate stopped. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Administrative changes"; 1 of 20 registered studies

Show the evidence
  • Trial NCT04041232
    suspended; "Administrative changes"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Glycerol phenylbutyrate used Glycerol Phenylbutyrate 1100 MG/ML — over how long?


Human studies of Glycerol phenylbutyrate used "Glycerol Phenylbutyrate 1100 MG/ML". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

2 recorded entries; human; also "RAVICTI 1.1 g/ml"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT05019417
    Glycerol Phenylbutyrate 1100 MG/ML
  • NCT05983588
    RAVICTI 1.1 g/ml

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 4 trials of Glycerol phenylbutyrate posted no result?


Posted no result
4 of 4 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00977600, NCT00986895, NCT01135680 and NCT02046434
Completion dates
oldest 2005-07; newest 2019-09
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00977600
    2005-07
  • NCT00986895
    2007-06
  • NCT01135680
    2010-09
  • NCT02046434
    2019-09

At the median, Glycerol phenylbutyrate's trials enrolled 29.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
29.5
Largest enrolment
189
Registered trials counted
18

What do 299 spontaneous reports say about Glycerol phenylbutyrate — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Glycerol phenylbutyrate appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 299 reaction mentions were counted: ammonia increased 55; vomiting 47; hyperammonaemia 42; hyperammonaemic crisis 38. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL2105745 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • ammonia increased
    55
  • vomiting
    47
  • hyperammonaemia
    42
  • hyperammonaemic crisis
    38
  • decreased appetite
    30
  • headache
    24
4 more recorded rows
  • somnolence
    22
  • seizure
    15
  • lethargy
    13
  • weight decreased
    13

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Glycerol phenylbutyrate's label not list?


ammonia increased, decreased appetite and headache and 7 more reported for Glycerol phenylbutyrate, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL2105745 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; d3b52ded-b305-445c-b943-ef0fb2dedd2b

Show the evidence
  • ammonia increased
    count not stated
  • decreased appetite
    count not stated
  • headache
    count not stated
  • hyperammonaemia
    count not stated
  • hyperammonaemic crisis
    count not stated
  • lethargy
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • seizure
    count not stated
  • somnolence
    count not stated
  • vomiting
    count not stated
  • weight decreased
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Glycerol phenylbutyrate and CYP3A4, CYP1A2 and CYP2C9: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4, CYP1A2 and CYP2C9 appear in Glycerol phenylbutyrate's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · d3b52ded-b305-445c-b943-ef0fb2dedd2b · 2026-08-24

CYP1A2, CYP2C9, CYP2C9, CYP2D6, CYP2D6, CYP3A4; 8 shared nodes; drug_interactions, pharmacokinetics, clinical_pharmacology

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.2 ) • CYP3A4 Substrates with narrow therapeutic index (e.g., alfentanil, quinidine, cyclosporine) : Glycerol phenylbutyrate may decrease exposure; monitor for decreased efficacy of the narrow therapeutic index drug.
  • drug_interactions
    7.3 Potential for Glycerol Phenylbutyrate to Affect Other Drugs Drugs with narrow therapeutic index that are substrates of CYP3A4 Glycerol phenylbutyrate is a weak inducer of CYP3A4 in humans.
  • drug_interactions
    Concomitant use of glycerol phenylbutyrate may decrease the systemic exposure to drugs that are substrates of CYP3A4.
  • pharmacokinetics
    Drug Interaction Studies In vitro PBA or PAA did not induce CYP1A2, suggesting that in vivo drug interactions via induction of CYP1A2 is unlikely.
  • pharmacokinetics
    In in vitro studies, PBA at a concentration of 800 micrograms/mL caused greater than 60% reversible inhibition of cytochrome P450 isoenzymes CYP2C9, CYP2D6, and CYP3A4/5 (testosterone 6β-hydroxylase activity).
  • pharmacokinetics
    The in vitro study suggested that in vivo drug interactions with substrates of CYP2D6 cannot be ruled out.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement pharmacokinetics
    Celecoxib Concomitant administration of glycerol phenylbutyrate did not significantly affect the pharmacokinetics of celecoxib, a substrate of CYP2C9.
  • Interaction statement clinical_pharmacology
    Drug Interaction Studies In vitro PBA or PAA did not induce CYP1A2, suggesting that in vivo drug interactions via induction of CYP1A2 is unlikely.
  • CYP1A2
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole

CYP2C9

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine

CYP2D6

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2026-08-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL2105745
PubChem CID
10482134
CAS number
611168-24-2
RxCUI
1368451
InChIKey
ZSDBFLMJVAGKOU-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
Fenilbutirato de glicerol, Phenylbutyrate de glycerol, gpb, phenylbutyrate, GT4P, Glycerol phenylbutyrate [INN], Glycerol phenylbutyrate [MI], Glycerol phenylbutyrate [ORANGE BOOK], Glycerol phenylbutyrate [USAN], Glycerol phenylbutyrate [VANDF], Glycerol phenylbutyrate [WHO-DD]
Development code
HPN-100, HPN100
Trade name
Ravicti
Salt form
GLYCEROL PHENYLBUTYRATE ORAL
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.