Skip to content

Gabapentin

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Gabapentin does in the body

Used for nerve pain after shingles and as added treatment for some seizures.

Despite the name, gabapentin does not act on GABA. It binds a small helper protein attached to the calcium channels on nerve endings. With that helper occupied, fewer channels reach the surface, less calcium enters when the nerve fires, and less of the pain-signalling chemical is released. It damps down an over-firing nerve rather than blocking a pain signal on its way past.

What happened in people

About one in three people with pain after shingles had their pain halved, compared with one in six given a dummy pill.

Reviewed first-read answer

Where this came from

A person wrote this and a reviewer approved it against this exact record. It carries no effect size.

A reviewer approved this against this record. The reviewed-claim record carrying the exact population and effect size does not exist yet.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

It has little or no good evidence for ordinary low-back pain.

Where it acts
Presynaptic terminals in dorsal horn and cortex; alpha-2-delta-1 subunit
Kind of result
Symptoms and quality of life
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 6CW7F3G59X · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

The limit a reviewer approved as the one that matters most here.

The four opening statements run to 100 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Absolute difference

An absolute difference is how many more people in a hundred were affected.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like counting heads in two rooms of a hundred.

Where that stops being true. Heads are easy to count. Study results carry a margin of error too.

What people get wrong. It is confused with a percentage change, which can look far larger.

The arithmetic difference in event rates between arms.

Confidence interval

A confidence interval is the range the true answer is likely to sit in.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like a weather forecast giving a range rather than one number.

Where that stops being true. A forecast range covers tomorrow. This one covers what the study could resolve.

What people get wrong. The middle number is read as the answer. A range crossing zero means no change is still possible.

An interval estimate that would contain the true parameter in a stated proportion of repeated studies.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Proportion with at least 50% pain intensity reduction or PGIC very much improved

The study showed what it set out to show

Who was studied
Cochrane gabapentin for chronic neuropathic pain (37 studies pooled)
How many people
5914
Study design
Systematic review and meta-analysis
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Postherpetic neuralgia RR 1.8 (95% CI 1.5 to 2.1), NNT 6.7; painful diabetic neuropathy RR 1.9 (1.5 to 2.3), NNT 5.9
Repeated elsewhere
Replicated

What this does not prove. Meeting one endpoint in one population does not carry to other goals or other people.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. Any adverse event 63% vs 49% (NNH 7.5); adverse event withdrawals 11% vs 8.2% (NNH 30); eight deaths, rated very low quality evidence.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral capsule, tablet and solution; immediate release three times daily

Interval reported. 95% CI 1

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

Change in pain intensity versus placebo in chronic low back pain

The study did not show it

Who was studied
Shanthanna gabapentinoids in chronic low back pain (PROSPERO CRD42016034040)
How many people
185
Study design
Systematic review and meta-analysis
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Mean difference 0.22 units, 95% CI -0.5 to 0.07; GRADE very low
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. Dizziness NNH 7, fatigue NNH 8, difficulties with mentation NNH 6, visual disturbance NNH 6.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral capsule, tablet and solution; immediate release three times daily

Interval reported. 95% CI -0

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

Postoperative pain intensity on a 100-point scale at 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours

The study did not show it

Who was studied
Verret perioperative gabapentinoid meta-analysis (281 trials pooled)
How many people
24682
Study design
Systematic review and meta-analysis
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
All effects below the 10-point minimally important difference (-10, -9, -7, -3 respectively)
Repeated elsewhere
Replicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. More dizziness and visual disturbance; less postoperative nausea and vomiting.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral capsule, tablet and solution; immediate release three times daily

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

What we know
RNAWiki holds 3 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What it changes in the bodyRead from sources, not yet reviewed

The path through the body

From what a person takes to what changes. A solid line is a step measured in people. A dashed line is a step nobody has measured that way.

  1. Start

    Gabapentin

    What a person takes: Oral capsule, tablet and solution; immediate release three times daily.

    The measurement behind this step

    Immediate-release gabapentin is dosed three times daily because absorption is saturable and non-linear. Gralise (once-daily gastroretentive) and Horizant (gabapentin enacarbil, a transported prodrug) exist specifically to work around that transporter limit, and they are not interchangeable with each other or with immediate-release gabapentin.

  2. Getting in

    Absorbed by a transporter that runs out of capacity

    Gabapentin cannot cross the gut wall by itself; it has to hitch a ride on a carrier meant for amino acids. There are only so many carriers, so doubling the dose does not double the amount absorbed.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    Absorption is mediated by the large neutral amino acid transporter LAT1 in the small intestine and is saturable, so bioavailability falls as dose rises. This non-linearity is why gabapentin is given three times daily and why the extended-release prodrug gabapentin enacarbil was developed.

  3. Reaching the cell

    Carried across the blood-brain barrier by the same kind of transporter

    The same amino acid carriers move it out of the blood into the brain and spinal cord.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    System L amino acid transport carries gabapentin across the blood-brain barrier. It is not metabolised in humans and is eliminated unchanged by the kidney, so dose must be reduced in renal impairment.

  4. What it acts on

    Binds alpha-2-delta-1, not GABA

    It sticks to a helper protein on calcium channels. It has nothing to do with GABA, despite the name.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    Binds the alpha-2-delta-1 auxiliary subunit encoded by CACNA2D1. No measurable affinity for GABA-A or GABA-B receptors, no conversion to GABA, and no effect on GABA uptake or metabolism at therapeutic concentrations.

  5. The change it makes

    Fewer calcium channels reach the nerve terminal

    With the helper occupied, fewer calcium gates get delivered to the nerve ending, so less calcium rushes in when the nerve fires and less pain messenger is released.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    Alpha-2-delta-1 acts as a trafficking chaperone for pore-forming calcium channel subunits. Gabapentin binding reduces forward trafficking to the presynaptic membrane, lowering depolarisation-evoked calcium influx and reducing release of glutamate, substance P and calcitonin gene-related peptide. The trafficking mechanism operates over days, which fits the clinical observation that effect builds rather than appearing with the first dose.

  6. What that does for a person

    Pain scores fall in some conditions, and dizziness rises in all of them

    In shingles pain and diabetic nerve pain, roughly one extra person in six gets meaningful relief. In back pain, essentially nobody does. The dizziness and drowsiness arrive either way.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    Cochrane reports NNT 6.7 for substantial benefit in postherpetic neuralgia and 5.9 in painful diabetic neuropathy, against NNH 7.5 for any adverse event and NNH 30 for withdrawal due to adverse events. Dizziness affected 19%, somnolence 14%, peripheral oedema 7% and gait disturbance 14%.

No suggested links are held for this record, so nothing is hidden from this path.

What we know
The record describes 5 steps from taking it to an effect in a person.
How we know it
Each step names the study behind it in the technical detail beside it.
What this does not prove
A change inside the body is a reason to look. It is not a result in a person.
Why it matters
A reader can see exactly where the chain stops being measured in people.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim binds any of these steps to a named population.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Licensed for adults with postherpetic neuralgia and for adjunctive seizure control. In practice it is prescribed far more widely — for back pain, sciatica, fibromyalgia, anxiety, alcohol withdrawal and perioperative pain, all off-label.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness of gabapentin in the management of postherpetic neuralgia in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · b6db5ce9-bd4b-420d-88a7-df9d46144c81 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of gabapentin in epilepsy did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they responded differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · b6db5ce9-bd4b-420d-88a7-df9d46144c81 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Pregnancy Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in women exposed to antiepileptic drugs (AEDs), such as gabapentin tablets, during pregnancy.”

    US prescribing information · b6db5ce9-bd4b-420d-88a7-df9d46144c81 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary Gabapentin is secreted in human milk following oral administration.”

    US prescribing information · b6db5ce9-bd4b-420d-88a7-df9d46144c81 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “Dosage adjustment in adult patients with compromised renal function is necessary [see Dosage and Administration (2.3) and Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ].”

    US prescribing information · b6db5ce9-bd4b-420d-88a7-df9d46144c81 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • Chronic low back pain: no pain benefit and significant harms across every trial that exists
  • Perioperative analgesia: effects below the minimally important difference at every time point measured
  • The marketing that created much of the off-label use ended in a guilty plea and a $430 million settlement in 2004
  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral capsule, tablet and solution; immediate release three times daily

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Immediate-release gabapentin is dosed three times daily because absorption is saturable and non-linear. Gralise (once-daily gastroretentive) and Horizant (gabapentin enacarbil, a transported prodrug) exist specifically to work around that transporter limit, and they are not interchangeable with each other or with immediate-release gabapentin.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

The recorded stepping schedule

  • What follows is the schedule printed on the label, recorded as it is written there. It is a record of what was done, not a recommendation.

    US prescribing information · 01b810b7-f4c8-4412-bbc5-b9220d8770d8 · read 2026-08-27

  • Day 1: single 300 mg dose

    US prescribing information · 01b810b7-f4c8-4412-bbc5-b9220d8770d8 · read 2026-08-27

  • Day 2: 600 mg/day (300 mg two times a day)

    US prescribing information · 01b810b7-f4c8-4412-bbc5-b9220d8770d8 · read 2026-08-27

  • Day 3: 900 mg/day (300 mg three times a day)

    US prescribing information · 01b810b7-f4c8-4412-bbc5-b9220d8770d8 · read 2026-08-27

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Worth asking a clinician aboutWritten into the record from the studies named on this page

Commonest adverse effects are dizziness, somnolence, peripheral oedema and gait disturbance. Renal elimination is complete and unchanged, so dose reduction is mandatory in renal impairment and after dialysis. Respiratory depression is a recognised risk when combined with opioids or other CNS depressants and in patients with underlying respiratory compromise. Abrupt withdrawal of an anticonvulsant can precipitate seizures.

Nobody counted how many people took this and were fine, so this cannot be turned into a rate.

Where this came from

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral capsule, tablet and solution; immediate release three times daily

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Gralise (once-daily gastroretentive) and Horizant (gabapentin enacarbil, a transported prodrug) exist specifically to work around that transporter limit, and they are not interchangeable with each other or with immediate-release gabapentin.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on which forms are sold and how they compare.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 630 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 630 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71335-3057 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, crystal, powder, solution, suspension and tablet, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71335-3057 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is anti-epileptic agent [epc] and decreased central nervous system disorganized electrical activity [pe].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71335-3057 · read 2026-08-29

  • 409 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 409 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · b6db5ce9-bd4b-420d-88a7-df9d46144c81 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · b6db5ce9-bd4b-420d-88a7-df9d46144c81 · read 2026-08-29

  • Gabapentin is capsules at 100 mg, 300 mg, and 400 mg, recorded as prescription product; fda label in effect 2024-04-02 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 01b810b7-f4c8-4412-bbc5-b9220d8770d8 · read 2026-08-27

  • Recorded price in US: 0.02095–0.09004 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 252 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

  • Recorded price in US: 0.08867–0.1712 USD per one millilitre, across 8 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Gabapentin studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Claims that go past the evidence

Things said about this substance that sound reasonable, and the exact step that is missing between the evidence and the claim.

Goes past the evidence

That gabapentin acts on the GABA system — it is named for GABA, binds a calcium channel subunit, and has no meaningful GABA receptor activity

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Goes past the evidence

That the volume of gabapentin prescribing reflects the strength of evidence for the indications it is prescribed for

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Goes past the evidence

That an anticonvulsant with proven effect in one neuropathic condition will work in unrelated chronic pain, which is the inference the off-label campaign was built on

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Gabapentin are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Every line above can be traced to the study named beside it. Follow the link and read it.

Postherpetic neuralgia: 32% reached substantial pain relief against 17% on placebo
In plain words
In nerve pain after shingles, about a third of people on gabapentin got at least half their pain taken away, against about one in six on a dummy pill. Roughly seven people have to be treated for one to benefit.
What was measured
Proportion achieving at least 50% pain intensity reduction, versus placebo
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
Wiffen et al. pooled 37 studies and 5,914 participants. In postherpetic neuralgia at 1,200 mg daily or more: substantial benefit (at least 50% pain relief or PGIC very much improved) in 32% versus 17%, RR 1.8 (95% CI 1.5 to 2.1), NNT 6.7 (5.4 to 8.7), 8 studies, 2,260 participants, moderate-quality evidence. Moderate benefit in 46% versus 25%, NNT 4.8. In painful diabetic neuropathy: substantial benefit 38% versus 21%, RR 1.9 (1.5 to 2.3), NNT 5.9, 6 studies, 1,277 participants.
Source
Wiffen PJ et al., Cochrane Database Syst Rev 2017;6:CD007938
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
Chronic low back pain: no benefit, and a measurable harm profile
In plain words
For the back pain gabapentin is very often prescribed for, pooling every trial that exists found essentially no pain improvement and a clear increase in dizziness, fatigue and thinking problems.
What was measured
Mean difference in pain intensity versus placebo, chronic low back pain
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
This entry records a failure.
From the source
Shanthanna et al. found eight eligible studies out of 1,385 citations. Gabapentin versus placebo (3 studies, n=185) gave a mean difference of 0.22 pain units, 95% CI -0.5 to 0.07, GRADE very low. Pregabalin versus other analgesics (3 studies, n=332) favoured the comparator, MD 0.42 (0.20 to 0.64). Adverse events versus placebo: dizziness RR 1.99 (1.17 to 3.37), NNH 7; fatigue RR 1.85 (1.12 to 3.05), NNH 8; difficulties with mentation RR 3.34 (1.54 to 7.25), NNH 6; visual disturbance RR 5.72 (1.94 to 16.91), NNH 6. The authors concluded the use of gabapentinoids in chronic low back pain merits caution.
Source
Shanthanna H et al., PLoS Med 2017;14:e1002369
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
Warner-Lambert paid $430 million in 2004 for promoting the off-label uses
In plain words
The company that made gabapentin pleaded guilty and paid $430 million for marketing it for conditions it had never been approved for. Internal documents released in that litigation show how the evidence base was shaped.
What was measured
Not recorded
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
The Department of Justice announced on 13 May 2004 that Warner-Lambert would plead guilty and pay more than $430 million over its Parke-Davis division's promotion of Neurontin for unapproved uses; the drug had been approved in December 1993 solely for adjunctive anti-seizure use. Steinman et al. analysed the internal industry documents produced in that litigation and traced a strategy in which publication planning, continuing medical education and advisory boards were used as promotional channels. Landefeld and Steinman later described the episode in the New England Journal of Medicine as marketing through misinformation and manipulation. The lesson is not historical: a large share of current gabapentin prescribing is for indications this campaign popularised.
Source
US Department of Justice press release, 13 May 2004; Steinman MA et al., Ann Intern Med 2006;145:284-293; Landefeld CS, Steinman MA, N Engl J Med 2009;360:103-106
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
Combining gabapentin with an opioid was associated with a 60% higher odds of opioid death
In plain words
In a population study of people prescribed opioids, those also taking gabapentin were around 60% more likely to die of an opioid-related cause, and nearly half of gabapentin users were also getting an opioid.
What was measured
Adjusted odds ratio for opioid-related death with concomitant gabapentin
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
Gomes et al. ran a nested case-control study in Ontario public drug plan beneficiaries. Moderate-dose and high-dose gabapentin co-prescription with opioids were each associated with roughly a 60% increase in the odds of opioid-related death (adjusted OR 1.56, 95% CI 1.06 to 2.28 and adjusted OR 1.58, 95% CI 1.09 to 2.27). Co-prescription of opioids with NSAIDs showed no such association (adjusted OR 1.14, 0.98 to 1.32), which is the internal control that makes the gabapentin result harder to dismiss as confounding by indication. In 2013, 46.0% of gabapentin users (45,173 of 98,288) received at least one concomitant opioid prescription.
Source
Gomes T et al., PLoS Med 2017;14:e1002396
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
caution
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
Documented misuse potential, concentrated in people who also use opioids
In plain words
Gabapentinoids are misused by a small fraction of the general population and by a much larger fraction of people who misuse opioids, and international adverse-event reports of abuse rose sharply after 2012.
What was measured
Prevalence of gabapentinoid abuse by population
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
Evoy et al. systematically reviewed 59 studies. Prevalence of gabapentinoid abuse was 1.6% in the general population and ranged from 3% to 68% among people who abuse opioids. An international adverse-event database contained 11,940 reports of gabapentinoid abuse between 2004 and 2015, with more than 75% of them reported since 2012. Risk factors were a history of substance abuse, particularly opioids, and psychiatric comorbidity. The authors noted gabapentinoids are increasingly identified in post-mortem toxicology.
Source
Evoy KE, Morrison MD, Saklad SR. Drugs 2017;77:403-426
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
caution
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
Perioperative use: 281 trials, 24,682 patients, and no clinically significant analgesia
In plain words
Giving gabapentin or pregabalin around surgery lowered pain scores by less than the amount considered clinically meaningful, and increased dizziness and visual disturbance.
What was measured
Mean difference in postoperative pain intensity on a 100-point scale
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
This entry records a failure.
From the source
Verret et al. included 281 trials and 24,682 participants. Compared with control, gabapentinoids reduced postoperative pain on a 100-point scale by 10 points at 6 hours (95% CI -12 to -9), 9 at 12 hours, 7 at 24 hours and 3 at 48 hours — all at or below the 10-point minimally important difference. No effect on pain at 72 hours, or on subacute or chronic postoperative pain. Gabapentinoids reduced postoperative nausea and vomiting but increased dizziness and visual disturbance. The authors concluded the results do not support routine perioperative use.
Source
Verret M et al., Anesthesiology 2020;133:265-279
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
Prescribing kept rising after the negative evidence arrived
In plain words
The share of American adults taking a gabapentinoid reached 4.0% in 2015 and 4.7% in 2021, after the negative low-back-pain and perioperative evidence had been published.
What was measured
That widespread prescribing of gabapentin for an indication reflects evidence supporting that indication
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
Johansen and Maust used the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey through 2021 and reported gabapentinoid users rising from 4.0% of the adult population in 2015 to 4.7% in 2021. Use was much more likely among people also taking other chronic-pain medicines, and new users clearly outnumbered stoppers between 2011-2012 and 2017-2018. The inference this page flags is the common assumption that prescribing volume tracks evidence. Between 2017 and 2021 the evidence for the biggest off-label uses got worse and the prescribing did not fall.
Source
Johansen ME, Maust DT. Ann Fam Med 2024;22:45-49
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
caution
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim

How many documents were read

  • 411 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 399 of them state the same bioavailability, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 404 of them state the same volumeOfDistribution, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
6CW7F3G59X
CAS registry number
60142-96-3
PubChem compound
3446
RxNorm concept
25480

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Reviewed first-read answer.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 78 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA020235, approved 19931230 to VIATRIS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA020235 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA020235 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19921230.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71335-3057 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

7 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

The older medicine-wide conclusion held in this record

Written for a clinical reader, and about the medicine as a whole rather than about one indication, population and set of trials. RNAWiki does not treat it as a programme conclusion and no reviewer has signed it off in that form. It is here word for word because it is what the record holds.

An alpha-2-delta calcium channel ligand with moderate-quality evidence in two neuropathic pain conditions, essentially no evidence in the back pain it is most often prescribed for, and a $430 million federal settlement over the marketing campaign that created the gap.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Gabapentin label: indicated for what?


"Gabapentin is indicated for: Management of postherpetic neuralgia in adults Adjunctive therapy in the treatment of partial onset seizures, with and without secondary generalization, in adults and pediatric patients 3 years and older with epilepsy Gabapentin is indicated for: Postherpetic neuralgia in adults ( 1 )…": indications and usage on Gabapentin's label. DailyMed label · 1af098ad-28b5-463f-8efa-24d70a77d64c · 2026-08-26

346 registered trials of Gabapentin — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
241 of 346

346 registered studies of Gabapentin: 107 phase4, 80 phase3, 67 na, 67 phase2, 23 phase1, 14 na or unstated, 11 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

893 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase4
    107
  • phase3
    80
  • na
    67
  • phase2
    67
  • phase1
    23
  • na or unstated
    14
9 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    11
  • completed
    231
  • terminated
    33
  • unknown
    30
  • withdrawn
    22
  • recruiting
    16
  • not yet recruiting
    7
  • active not recruiting
    5
  • enrolling by invitation
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

50 of Gabapentin's trials stopped: futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


futility/efficacy (3), accrual/recruitment (23), funding/business (5) and other (19): Gabapentin's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"poor recruitment"; 50 of 346 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00390013
    terminated; "poor recruitment"
  • NCT00533455
    terminated; "Failure to recruit due to polypharmacy"
  • NCT00573664
    terminated; "Interim analysis showed a significant reduction in the pain scores"
  • NCT00584779
    terminated; "See detailed description for termination reason"
  • NCT00619983
    terminated; "Study terminated due to low enrollment"
  • NCT00735124
    terminated; "Changes to surgical practices led to the loss of eligible patients"
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00785772
    terminated; "See termination reason in detailed description."
  • NCT00954187
    terminated; "PI left institution"
  • NCT01052896
    withdrawn; "Unable to recruit subjects - unworkable"
  • NCT01067144
    terminated; "Trial met futility stopping point"
  • NCT01112878
    withdrawn; "Several studies going on at the same time."
  • NCT01533753
    terminated; "Slow accrual"
  • NCT01546857
    terminated; "No longer able to recruit subjects due to unavailability of orthopedic surgeon."
  • NCT01588314
    withdrawn; "No patients were enrolled. No data \& no study results to report."
  • NCT01623271
    terminated; "Due to limited population of research participants."
  • NCT01675960
    terminated; "unable to enroll"
  • NCT01678911
    terminated; "Study ended due to difficulties in recruitment and low enrollment."
  • NCT01893632
    terminated; "Insufficient recruitment, funding terminated from sponsor"
  • NCT02076893
    terminated; "Interim analysis results indicated need to recruit beyond scope of budget."
  • NCT02117076
    terminated; "Recruitment unsuccessful due to overly restrictive inclusion/exclusion criteria."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Gabapentin used Gabapentin 900mg — over how long?


Human studies of Gabapentin used "Gabapentin 900mg". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

20 recorded entries; human; tablet; also "gabapentin 1800mg", "Gabapentin - 1800 mg/day", "Gabapentin - 2700 mg/day"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00391716
    Gabapentin 900mg
  • NCT00391716
    gabapentin 1800mg
  • NCT00578552
    Gabapentin - 1800 mg/day
  • NCT00578552
    Gabapentin - 2700 mg/day
  • NCT00755417
    Gabapentin Extended-Release (G-ER) 1200 mg
  • NCT00755417
    Gabapentin Extended-Release (G-ER) 1800 mg
14 more recorded rows
  • human NCT00778232
    Gabapentin tablets 800 mg
  • human NCT00778271
    Gabapentin 400mg capsules
  • human NCT00778765
    400 mg Gabapentin Capsules
  • human NCT00864058
    Gabapentin 400 mg capsules
  • human NCT00864058
    NEURONTIN® 400 mg capsules
  • human NCT00864305
    Gabapentin 400 mg capsules, single dose
  • human NCT00864760
    tablet; Gabapentin 800 mg tablets, single dose (1 tablet)
  • human NCT00864760
    NEURONTIN® 400 mg capsules, single dose (2 capsules)
  • human NCT00865059
    Gabapentin 800 mg Tablets, single dose
  • human NCT00865059
    NEURONTIN® 800 mg Tablets, single dose
  • human NCT00974376
    gabapentin 1200mg/day
  • human NCT01094925
    Gabapentin 300mg
  • human NCT01094925
    Gabapentin 600mg
  • human NCT01116583
    Gabapentin "Sandoz" 300 mg

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Gabapentin's half-life is 5 to 7 hours — which schedules were studied?


5 to 7 hours, the half-life Gabapentin's label states: "Gabapentin elimination half-life is 5 to 7 hours and is unaltered by dose or following multiple dosing." DailyMed label · 1af098ad-28b5-463f-8efa-24d70a77d64c · 2026-08-26

tmax 2 to 3 hours; bioavailability 60 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    5 to 7 hours; Gabapentin elimination half-life is 5 to 7 hours and is unaltered by dose or following multiple dosing.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    2 to 3 hours; Peak plasma concentrations were similar across the entire age group and occurred 2 to 3 hours postdose.
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    60 %; Bioavailability of gabapentin is approximately 60%, 47%, 34%, 33%, and 27% following 900 mg/day, 1,200 mg/day, 2,400 mg/day, 3,600 mg/day, and 4,800 mg/day given in 3 divided doses, respectively.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    All pharmacological actions following gabapentin administration are due to the activity of the parent compound; gabapentin is not appreciably metabolized in humans.

recorded 2026-08-26 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 128 trials of Gabapentin posted no result?


Posted no result
128 of 128 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00864058, NCT00864305, NCT00864760, NCT00865631, NCT00865059 and NCT00865423, and 122 more
Completion dates
oldest 1998-01; newest 2024-09-01
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00864058
    1998-01
  • NCT00864305
    1998-01
  • NCT00864760
    1999-06
  • NCT00865631
    1999-06
  • NCT00865059
    2001-03
  • NCT00865423
    2001-03
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00001482
    2001-05
  • NCT00778232
    2002-11
  • NCT00778271
    2002-12
  • NCT00778401
    2002-12
  • NCT00778765
    2002-12
  • NCT00007670
    2003-03
  • NCT00058890
    2004-01
  • NCT00153283
    2004-04
  • NCT00644748
    2004-08
  • NCT00666770
    2004-11
  • NCT00018291
    2005-01
  • NCT00257270
    2005-01
  • NCT00666939
    2005-01
  • NCT00667108
    2005-01

At the median, Gabapentin's trials enrolled 62 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
62
Largest enrolment
5000
Registered trials counted
343

What do 36100 spontaneous reports say about Gabapentin — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Gabapentin appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 36100 reaction mentions were counted: drug hypersensitivity 7198; pain 5639; somnolence 4642; dizziness 4445. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL940 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug hypersensitivity
    7198
  • pain
    5639
  • somnolence
    4642
  • dizziness
    4445
  • weight increased
    2709
  • confusional state
    2685
4 more recorded rows
  • feeling abnormal
    2513
  • insomnia
    2404
  • drug abuse
    2157
  • withdrawal syndrome
    1708

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Gabapentin's label not list?


confusional state, dizziness and drug abuse and 7 more reported for Gabapentin, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL940 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 1af098ad-28b5-463f-8efa-24d70a77d64c

Show the evidence
  • confusional state
    count not stated
  • dizziness
    count not stated
  • drug abuse
    count not stated
  • drug hypersensitivity
    count not stated
  • feeling abnormal
    count not stated
  • insomnia
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • pain
    count not stated
  • somnolence
    count not stated
  • weight increased
    count not stated
  • withdrawal syndrome
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Gabapentin and CYP2A6, CYP1A2 and CYP2C9: shared by which compounds?


CYP2A6, CYP1A2 and CYP2C9 appear in Gabapentin's recorded interaction sentences, 4 in all. DailyMed label · 1af098ad-28b5-463f-8efa-24d70a77d64c · 2026-08-26

CYP1A2, CYP2A6, CYP2A6, CYP2C19, CYP2C9, CYP2D6; 8 shared nodes; pharmacokinetics, clinical_pharmacology

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • pharmacokinetics
    Drug Interactions In Vitro Studies In vitro studies were conducted to investigate the potential of gabapentin to inhibit the major cytochrome P450 enzymes (CYP1A2, CYP2A6, CYP2C9, CYP2C19, CYP2D6, CYP2E1, and CYP3A4) that mediate drug and xenobiotic metabolism using isoform selective marker substrates and human liver microsomal preparations.
  • pharmacokinetics
    1 mM) was a slight degree of inhibition (14% to 30%) of isoform CYP2A6 observed.
  • clinical_pharmacology
    Drug Interactions In Vitro Studies In vitro studies were conducted to investigate the potential of gabapentin to inhibit the major cytochrome P450 enzymes (CYP1A2, CYP2A6, CYP2C9, CYP2C19, CYP2D6, CYP2E1, and CYP3A4) that mediate drug and xenobiotic metabolism using isoform selective marker substrates and human liver microsomal preparations.
  • clinical_pharmacology
    1 mM) was a slight degree of inhibition (14% to 30%) of isoform CYP2A6 observed.
  • CYP1A2
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole

CYP2A6

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Rasagiline, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Tivozanib, Metaxalone, Selegiline, Trametinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Rasagiline, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Tivozanib, Metaxalone, Selegiline, Trametinib
  • CYP2C19
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Etravirine
  • CYP2C9
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine
  • CYP2D6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine
  • CYP2E1
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, Rasagiline, Tinidazole, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Alosetron, Metaxalone
  • CYP3A4
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2026-08-26 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL940
PubChem CID
3446
CAS number
60142-96-3
RxCUI
25480
InChIKey
UGJMXCAKCUNAIE-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Development code
CI-945, DM-1796, GOE 3450, NSC-742194, NSC-759254
Also called
Gabapentina, Gabapentine, g-er, g-gr, gaba, gabapentin extended release, gastroretentive gabapentin, gbp, gp, lyrica, Carbatin, Gabapentin [EP IMPURITY]
Trade name
Gralise, Neurontin, Relgaabi, Gabarone, Neurontin / Gralise / Horizant
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.