Skip to content

FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE

  • Prescription medicine
  • Given by a clinician
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE does in the body

Fosaprepitant for injection, in combination with other antiemetic agents, is indicated in adults for the prevention of: acute and delayed nauseaand vomiting associated with initial and repeat coursesof highly emetogenic cancer chemotherapy (HEC) including high-dose cisplatin.

From the FDA-approved label: Fosaprepitant is a prodrug of aprepitant and accordingly, its antiemetic effects are attributable to aprepitant. Aprepitant is a selective high-affinity antagonist of human substance P/neurokinin 1 (NK 1 ) receptors. Aprepitant has little or no affinity for serotonin (5-HT 3 ), dopamine, and corticosteroid receptors, the targets of existing therapies for chemotherapy-induced nausea and vomiting (CINV). Aprepitant has been shown in animal models to inhibit emesis induced by cytotoxic chemotherapeutic agents, such as cisplatin, via central actions.

Why people take it. Fosaprepitant for injection, in combination with other antiemetic agents, is indicated in adults for the prevention of: acute and delayed nauseaand vomiting associated with initial and repeat coursesof highly emetogenic cancer chemotherapy (HEC) including high-dose cisplatin. delayed nausea and vomiting associated with initial and repeat courses of moderately emetogenic cancer chemotherapy (MEC).

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · D35FM8T64X · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C23H22F7N4O6P, weighing 1004.83.

    US prescribing information · d624667d-ee3b-3501-53fe-da453352042d · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 179 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Formulation

A formulation is the exact made-up form a substance comes in.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the difference between a whole bean and instant coffee.

Where that stops being true. Coffee tastes different. A formulation can change how much reaches the blood.

What people get wrong. Two products with the same name are assumed to behave the same. They often do not.

The specific composition and physical form of a product, including salt, excipients and release profile.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Safety of Fosaprepitant Dimeglumine

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05755659
How many people
3000
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

A Complete Response (no Vomiting and no Use of Rescue Therapy) Overall (in the 120 Hours Following Initiation of Cisplatin).

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00619359
How many people
2322
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants With Complete Response From 25 to 120 Hours After Initiation of Moderately Emetogenic Chemotherapy (MEC)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01594749
How many people
1015
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of Patients Who Reported No Vomiting

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00337727
How many people
848
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Complete response during the overall phase after the start of the first cisplatin administration

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05509634
How many people
754
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

No Nausea Rate Defined as a Response of 0 in the Nausea Item of Nausea and Vomiting Daily Diary/Questionnaire in the Overall (0-120 Hours), Acute (0-24 Hours), and Delayed (24-120 Hours) Periods

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03578081
How many people
690
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Fosaprepitant for injection, in combination with other antiemetic agents, is indicated in adults for the prevention of: acute and delayed nauseaand vomiting associated with initial and repeat coursesof highly emetogenic cancer chemotherapy (HEC) including high-dose cisplatin. delayed nausea and vomiting associated with initial and repeat courses of moderately emetogenic cancer chemotherapy (MEC).

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of fosaprepitant dimeglumine for the prevention of nausea and vomiting associated with HEC or MEC have not been established in patients less than 6 months of age.”

    US prescribing information · d624667d-ee3b-3501-53fe-da453352042d · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Of the 1649 adult cancer patients treated with intravenous fosaprepitant in HEC and MEC clinical studies, 27% were aged 65 and over, while 5% were aged 75 and over.”

    US prescribing information · d624667d-ee3b-3501-53fe-da453352042d · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary There are insufficient data on use of fosaprepitant in pregnant women to inform a drug associated risk.”

    US prescribing information · d624667d-ee3b-3501-53fe-da453352042d · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “8.3 Females and Males of Reproductive Potential Contraception Upon administration of fosaprepitant, the efficacy of hormonal contraceptives may be reduced.”

    US prescribing information · d624667d-ee3b-3501-53fe-da453352042d · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

A different form was studied

The studied form is not the form on the shelf.

On this record: This record is linked to 2 related forms. Evidence does not carry across all of them.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (10)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Given by a clinician

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as powder, solution, unknown, injection, powder, lyophilized, for solution, given by the intravenous, unknown route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 41 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 41 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71839-104 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as injection, injection, powder, lyophilized, for solution and powder, taken intravenous.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71839-104 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is cytochrome p450 2c9 inducers [moa], cytochrome p450 3a4 inducers [moa] and cytochrome p450 3a4 inhibitors [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71839-104 · read 2026-08-29

  • 27 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 27 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · d624667d-ee3b-3501-53fe-da453352042d · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · d624667d-ee3b-3501-53fe-da453352042d · read 2026-08-29

  • Fosaprepitant is intravenous at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Fosaprepitant for injection: 150 mg fosaprepitant, white to off white cake or powder in single-dose glass vial for reconstitution., recorded as fda label in effect 2020-03-20 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · d624667d-ee3b-3501-53fe-da453352042d · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

Names and forms linked to this record

  • Contains

    Meglumine

    Evidence on this page does not automatically apply to this one.

  • Contains

    Fosaprepitant

    Evidence on this page does not automatically apply to this one.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 27 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 27 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 27 of them state the same volumeOfDistribution, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
D35FM8T64X
RxNorm concept
1731077

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 23 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA022023, approved 20080125 to MERCK AND CO INC.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022023 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued, none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022023 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20080125.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71839-104 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE label: indicated for what?


"Fosaprepitant for injection, in combination with other antiemetic agents, is indicated in adults for the prevention of: acute and delayed nauseaand vomiting associated with initial and repeat coursesof highly emetogenic cancer chemotherapy (HEC) including high-dose cisplatin. delayed nausea and vomiting associated…": indications and usage on FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE's label. DailyMed label · d624667d-ee3b-3501-53fe-da453352042d · 2026-08-30

102 registered trials of FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
48 of 102

102 registered studies of FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE: 33 phase2, 21 na, 18 phase3, 18 phase4, 13 phase1, 2 early phase1, 2 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

4 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    33
  • na
    21
  • phase3
    18
  • phase4
    18
  • phase1
    13
  • early phase1
    2
8 more recorded rows
  • na or unstated
    2
  • completed
    58
  • unknown
    19
  • terminated
    16
  • withdrawn
    5
  • recruiting
    2
  • enrolling by invitation
    1
  • not yet recruiting
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

20 of FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE's trials stopped: safety, futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, other?


safety (1), futility/efficacy (2), accrual/recruitment (10) and other (7): FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"slow accrual"; 20 of 102 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00499668
    withdrawn; "slow accrual"
  • NCT00699894
    withdrawn; "Logistical difficulties running the study"
  • NCT00818259
    terminated; "Study terminated early prior to completing targeted enrollment of participants \<6 months of age due to recruitment challenges."
  • NCT00888329
    terminated; "Slow accrual."
  • NCT00895245
    terminated; "Study stopped due to lack of efficacy in first 6 patients"
  • NCT01017809
    withdrawn; "NYU 03-67 reached accrual prior to this study opening."
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01031953
    terminated; "Drug contract timelines and inadequate enrollment"
  • NCT01186029
    withdrawn; "It didn't get IRB approval."
  • NCT01249001
    terminated; "lack of eligible participants to enrol"
  • NCT01275664
    terminated; "Study terminated due to no patient population available"
  • NCT01405924
    terminated; "Low enrollment"
  • NCT01625455
    terminated; "Difficulty recruiting."
  • NCT01649258
    terminated; "Lack of Efficacy"
  • NCT01874119
    terminated; "Enrollment issues"
  • NCT02519842
    terminated; "Further data are no longer required to support an application for use in pediatric patients. The decision to terminate was not based on any new safety findings"
  • NCT02550119
    terminated; "Insufficient accrual"
  • NCT02732015
    terminated; "Terminated per PI's request"
  • NCT03035838
    withdrawn; "Alternate study commenced using different drug"
  • NCT03237611
    terminated; "Expired IRB approval on 2/11/21"
  • NCT04503668
    terminated; "Lack of Patient Population"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE used emend 40 mg — over how long?


Human studies of FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE used "emend 40 mg". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

11 recorded entries; human; also "90 mg MK-0517 (PS80)", "100 mg MK-0517 (PS80)", "100 MK-0517 (PS80) + 2 mg midazolam"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00699894
    emend 40 mg
  • NCT00990821
    90 mg MK-0517 (PS80)
  • NCT00990821
    100 mg MK-0517 (PS80)
  • NCT00990821
    100 MK-0517 (PS80) + 2 mg midazolam
  • NCT00990821
    115 mg MK-0517 (PS80)
  • NCT00990821
    150 mg MK-0517 (PS80)
5 more recorded rows
  • human NCT00990821
    40 mg MK-0517 (non-PS80)
  • human NCT00990821
    100 mg MK-0517 (non-PS80)
  • human NCT00990821
    150 mg MK-0517 (Non-PS80)
  • human NCT01111851
    Fosaprepitant 150 mg
  • human NCT03237611
    Fosaprepitant 115 MG

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE's half-life is 9 to 13 hours — which schedules were studied?


9 to 13 hours, the half-life FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE's label states: "The apparent terminal half-liferanged from approximately 9 to 13 hours." DailyMed label · d624667d-ee3b-3501-53fe-da453352042d · 2026-08-30

Show the evidence
  • half life recorded_background.pharmacokinetics
    9 to 13 hours hours; The apparent terminal half-liferanged from approximately 9 to 13 hours.

recorded 2026-08-30 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 16 trials of FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE posted no result?


Posted no result
16 of 16 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00314743, NCT00871910, NCT01683552, NCT01101529, NCT01897337 and NCT01074697, and 10 more
Completion dates
oldest 2008-12; newest 2023-08-30
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00314743
    2008-12
  • NCT00871910
    2010-02-22
  • NCT01683552
    2011-11
  • NCT01101529
    2012-12
  • NCT01897337
    2013-06
  • NCT01074697
    2015-04
10 further recorded trials
  • NCT02357693
    2015-08
  • NCT02364804
    2015-09
  • NCT02525848
    2016-03
  • NCT02154360
    2016-06
  • NCT00970905
    2016-08-01
  • NCT02989467
    2018-01-01
  • NCT02161991
    2018-01-31
  • NCT04075955
    2019-12-31
  • NCT04636632
    2022-11-04
  • NCT05564286
    2023-08-30

At the median, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE's trials enrolled 80.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
80.5
Largest enrolment
3546
Registered trials counted
102

What do 2148 spontaneous reports say about FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 2148 reaction mentions were counted: nausea 379; dyspnoea 359; erythema 270; hypersensitivity 214. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1201782 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • nausea
    379
  • dyspnoea
    359
  • erythema
    270
  • hypersensitivity
    214
  • pyrexia
    192
  • vomiting
    189
4 more recorded rows
  • flushing
    169
  • hypotension
    143
  • pruritus
    125
  • back pain
    108

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE's label not list?


back pain, dyspnoea and erythema and 7 more reported for FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1201782 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; d624667d-ee3b-3501-53fe-da453352042d

Show the evidence
  • back pain
    count not stated
  • dyspnoea
    count not stated
  • erythema
    count not stated
  • flushing
    count not stated
  • hypersensitivity
    count not stated
  • hypotension
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • nausea
    count not stated
  • pruritus
    count not stated
  • pyrexia
    count not stated
  • vomiting
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE and CYP3A4, CYP2C9 and CYP1A2: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4, CYP2C9 and CYP1A2 appear in FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · d624667d-ee3b-3501-53fe-da453352042d · 2026-08-30

CYP1A2, CYP2C19, CYP2C9, CYP2C9, CYP2C9, CYP2D6; 11 shared nodes; pharmacokinetics

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • pharmacokinetics
    In vitro studies using human liver microsomes indicate that aprepitant is metabolized primarily by CYP3A4 with minor metabolism by CYP1A2 and CYP2C19.
  • pharmacokinetics
    No metabolism by CYP2D6, CYP2C9, or CYP2E1 was detected.
  • pharmacokinetics
    Aprepitant is also an inducer of CYP2C9.Fosaprepitant or aprepitant is unlikely to interact with drugs that are substrates for the P­ glycoprotein transporter.
  • pharmacokinetics
    CYP2C9 substrates (Warfarin, Tolbutamide ):Warfarin: A single125-mg dose of oral aprepitant was administered on Day 1 and 80 mg/day on Days 2 and 3 to subjects who were stabilized on chronic warfarin therapy.
  • pharmacokinetics
    Drug Interactions Studies Fosaprepitant, given as a single 150-mg dose, is a weak inhibitor of CYP3A4, with no evidence of inhibition or induction of CYP3A4 observed on Day 4.
  • pharmacokinetics
    Aprepitant is a substrate, an inhibitor, and an inducer of CYP3A4.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement pharmacokinetics
    Effect of Other Drugson the Pharmacokinetics of Fosaprepitant/Aprepitant Rifampin : When a single 375-mgdose of oral aprepitant was administered on Day 9 of a 14-day regimen of 600 mg/day of rifampin, a strong CYP3A4 inducer, the AUC of aprepitant decreased approximately 11-fold and the mean terminal half-life decreased approximately 3-fold [see Drug Interactions ( 7.2 )]..
  • Interaction statement pharmacokinetics
    The weak inhibition of CYP3A4 continues for 2 days after single dose administration of fosaprepitant.
  • CYP1A2
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine
  • CYP2C19
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Etravirine, Citalopram

CYP2C9

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed
  • CYP2D6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine, Bupropion
  • CYP2E1
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Rasagiline, Tinidazole, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Alosetron, Metaxalone, Uridine triacetate

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen
  • P-gp
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Vincristine, Deoxycholic acid

recorded 2026-08-30 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1201782
PubChem CID
135413537
CAS number
265121-04-8
RxCUI
754763
InChIKey
BARDROPHSZEBKC-OITMNORJSA-N

Relations

Trade name
Emend, Ivemend, Navitrux, Fosaprepitant / Focinvez / Emend / Navitrux
Also called
Focinvez, Fosaprepitant (as dimeglumine), aprepitant
Japanese name
Fosaprepitant meglumine
Development code
MK-0517
Sources (6)

Sources

  • chembl+drugsfda+ema chembl+drugsfda+ema ·
  • CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT COMBO:{K1:6HG8UB2MUY,K1:6L8OF9XRDC} ·
  • ClinicalTrials.gov clinicaltrials.gov ·
  • DailyMed label d624667d-ee3b-3501-53fe-da453352042d ·
  • FAERS via Open Targets CHEMBL1201782 ·
  • Drugs@FDA COMBO:{K1:6HG8UB2MUY,K1:6L8OF9XRDC} ·

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.