Skip to content

Fosamprenavir

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Fosamprenavir does in the body

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV-1) infection

4) ] . Mechanism of Action Fosamprenavir is a prodrug that is rapidly hydrolyzed to amprenavir by cellular phosphatases in the gut epithelium as it is absorbed. Amprenavir is an inhibitor of HIV-1 protease. Amprenavir binds to the active site of HIV-1 protease and thereby prevents the processing of viral Gag and Gag-Pol polyprotein precursors, resulting in the formation of immature non-infectious viral particles.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · WOU1621EEG · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C25H34CaN3O9PS, weighing 623.7.

    US prescribing information · 5cd1eead-9fc1-426c-bee8-214ffa7d9dc1 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 80 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Percentage of Participants With Plasma Human Immunodeficiency Virus-ribonucleic Acid (HIV-RNA) >=50 Copies Per Milliliter (c/mL) as Per Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Snapshot Algorithm at Week 48

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03299049
How many people
1049
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Proportion of subjects with plasma HIV-1 RNA <400 copies/mL at Week 48. Proportion of subjects who permanently discontinue randomized treatment due to adverse events.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00085943
How many people
866
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of Participants With Any Adverse Event (AE): Interim Analysis

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00296504
How many people
753
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants Achieving and Maintaining Confirmed HIV-1 RNA < 50 Copies/mL at Week 48

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00708162
How many people
724
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Phase 2: Proportion of Participants With HIV-1 RNA ≥ 50 Copies/mL at Week 24 as Determined by the US FDA-defined Snapshot Algorithm

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05502341
How many people
689
Study design
Phase 2/Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

The primary endpoint is the plasma concentration of the PI/NNRTI drugs (Ka absorption constant, CI: plasma clearance, Vd: volume of distribution).

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00307502
How many people
675
Study design
Phase 1
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Fosamprenavir calcium tablets are indicated in combination with other antiretroviral agents for the treatment of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV-1) infection. The following points should be considered when initiating therapy with fosamprenavir calcium tablets plus ritonavir in protease inhibitor-experienced patients: The protease inhibitor-experienced patient trial was not large enough to reach a definitive…

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The pharmacokinetics, safety, tolerability, and efficacy of fosamprenavir calcium in pediatric patients younger than 4 weeks have not been established [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] .”

    US prescribing information · 5cd1eead-9fc1-426c-bee8-214ffa7d9dc1 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of fosamprenavir calcium did not include sufficient numbers of patients aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger adults.”

    US prescribing information · 5cd1eead-9fc1-426c-bee8-214ffa7d9dc1 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Data Human Data: fosamprenavir calcium 700 mg taken with ritonavir 100 mg twice daily in combination with a background regimen was evaluated in a clinical trial of 10 HIV-1–infected pregnant women during the second and third trimesters and postpartum.”

    US prescribing information · 5cd1eead-9fc1-426c-bee8-214ffa7d9dc1 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommends that HIV-1-infected mothers in the United States not breastfeed their infants to avoid risking postnatal transmission of HIV-1 infection.”

    US prescribing information · 5cd1eead-9fc1-426c-bee8-214ffa7d9dc1 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “Amprenavir is principally metabolized by the liver; therefore, caution should be exercised when administering fosamprenavir calcium to patients with hepatic impairment because amprenavir concentrations may be increased [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] .”

    US prescribing information · 5cd1eead-9fc1-426c-bee8-214ffa7d9dc1 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, suspension, tablet, coated, tablet, film coated, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 4 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 4 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 63379-087 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder, tablet, coated and tablet, film coated, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 63379-087 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is cytochrome p450 3a4 inducers [moa], cytochrome p450 3a4 inhibitors [moa] and hiv protease inhibitors [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 63379-087 · read 2026-08-29

  • 2 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 2 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 5cd1eead-9fc1-426c-bee8-214ffa7d9dc1 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 5cd1eead-9fc1-426c-bee8-214ffa7d9dc1 · read 2026-08-29

  • Fosamprenavir Calcium is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Fosamprenavir calcium tablets, USP, 700 mg, are pink colored, coated, oval-shaped tablets with “ RJ47 ” imprinted on one side with black ink and plain on the other side. 700 mg tablets (3), recorded as fda label in effect 2026-06-30 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 5cd1eead-9fc1-426c-bee8-214ffa7d9dc1 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Fosamprenavir studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

How much did people take in the studies?

The sources RNAWiki checked hold nothing for this field.

Why it matters. A result belongs to an amount. Without the amount the result floats free.

What would answer it

A stored source that records it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Fosamprenavir are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 2 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 2 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
WOU1621EEG
CAS registry number
226700-79-4
PubChem compound
131536
ChEMBL
CHEMBL1664
ChEBI
82941
WHO international nonproprietary name list entry
8011
RxNorm concept
358262
EMA substance identifier
100000089382
DrugBank
DB01319

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

  1. Withdrawn, in European Union; no reason is published (EMA Medicine.csv)

What the approval register records

  • 5 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA021548, approved 20031020 to VIIV HLTHCARE.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021548 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued, none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021548 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20100601.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 63379-087 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Fosamprenavir label: indicated for what?


"Fosamprenavir calcium tablets are indicated in combination with other antiretroviral agents for the treatment of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV-1) infection. The following points should be considered when initiating therapy with fosamprenavir calcium tablets plus ritonavir in protease inhibitor-experienced…": indications and usage on Fosamprenavir's label. DailyMed label · 5cd1eead-9fc1-426c-bee8-214ffa7d9dc1 · 2026-06-30

27 registered trials of Fosamprenavir — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
16 of 27

27 registered studies of Fosamprenavir: 10 phase3, 8 phase2, 4 na, 3 phase4, 2 phase1, 1 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

54 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase3
    10
  • phase2
    8
  • na
    4
  • phase4
    3
  • phase1
    2
  • na or unstated
    1
3 more recorded rows
  • completed
    23
  • unknown
    3
  • recruiting
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Fosamprenavir's half-life is 7.7 hours — which schedules were studied?


7.7 hours, the half-life Fosamprenavir's label states: "The plasma elimination half-life of amprenavir is approximately 7.7 hours." DailyMed label · 5cd1eead-9fc1-426c-bee8-214ffa7d9dc1 · 2026-06-30

tmax 4 hours.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    7.7 hours; The plasma elimination half-life of amprenavir is approximately 7.7 hours.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    4 hours; Mean (±SD) Steady-State Plasma Amprenavir Concentrations and Mean EC 50 Values against HIV from Protease Inhibitor-Naive Subjects (in the Absence of Human Serum) Absorption After administration of a single dose of fosamprenavir calcium to HIV-1-infected subjects, the time to peak amprenavir concentration (T max ) occurred between 1.5 and 4 hours (median 2.5 hours).
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism After oral administration, fosamprenavir is rapidly and almost completely hydrolyzed to amprenavir and inorganic phosphate prior to reaching the systemic circulation.

recorded 2026-06-30 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 11 trials of Fosamprenavir posted no result?


Posted no result
11 of 11 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00043888, NCT00027339, NCT00028366, NCT00240552, NCT00094523 and NCT00122603, and 5 more
Completion dates
oldest 2003-05; newest 2015-12
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00043888
    2003-05
  • NCT00027339
    2005-06
  • NCT00028366
    2005-07
  • NCT00240552
    2005-08
  • NCT00094523
    2007-06-29
  • NCT00122603
    2007-08
5 further recorded trials
  • NCT00817765
    2009-10
  • NCT01209065
    2010-11
  • NCT01222611
    2013-06
  • NCT01637233
    2015-12
  • NCT01637259
    2015-12

At the median, Fosamprenavir's trials enrolled 61 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
61
Largest enrolment
866
Registered trials counted
27

What do 163 spontaneous reports say about Fosamprenavir — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Fosamprenavir appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 163 reaction mentions were counted: hepatotoxicity 24; drug rash with eosinophilia and systemic symptoms 20; drug interaction 18; lipodystrophy acquired 17. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200734 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • hepatotoxicity
    24
  • drug rash with eosinophilia and systemic symptoms
    20
  • drug interaction
    18
  • lipodystrophy acquired
    17
  • abortion spontaneous
    16
  • myositis
    15
4 more recorded rows
  • aspartate aminotransferase increased
    14
  • alanine aminotransferase increased
    13
  • drug resistance
    13
  • hypertriglyceridaemia
    13

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Fosamprenavir's label not list?


abortion spontaneous, alanine aminotransferase increased and aspartate aminotransferase increased and 7 more reported for Fosamprenavir, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200734 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 5cd1eead-9fc1-426c-bee8-214ffa7d9dc1

Show the evidence
  • abortion spontaneous
    count not stated
  • alanine aminotransferase increased
    count not stated
  • aspartate aminotransferase increased
    count not stated
  • drug interaction
    count not stated
  • drug rash with eosinophilia and systemic symptoms
    count not stated
  • drug resistance
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • hepatotoxicity
    count not stated
  • hypertriglyceridaemia
    count not stated
  • lipodystrophy acquired
    count not stated
  • myositis
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Fosamprenavir and CYP3A4, CYP2D6 and CYTOCHROME P450: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4, CYP2D6 and CYTOCHROME P450 appear in Fosamprenavir's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 5cd1eead-9fc1-426c-bee8-214ffa7d9dc1 · 2026-06-30

CYP2D6, CYP3A4, CYP3A4, CYP3A4, CYP3A4; 5 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Coadministration of fosamprenavir calcium with drugs that induce CYP3A4 may decrease amprenavir (active metabolite) concentrations leading to potential loss of virologic activity.
  • drug_interactions
    (7, 12.3) Coadministration with drugs that inhibit CYP3A4 may increase amprenavir concentrations.
  • drug_interactions
    (7, 12.3) Coadministration of fosamprenavir calcium or fosamprenavir calcium and ritonavir may result in clinically significant interactions with drugs metabolized by CYP3A4.
  • drug_interactions
    (7) Coadministration of fosamprenavir calcium and ritonavir may result in clinically significant interactions with drugs metabolized by CYP2D6.
  • drug_interactions
    (7) 7.1 Cytochrome P450 Inhibitors and Inducers Amprenavir, the active metabolite of fosamprenavir, is an inhibitor of CYP3A4 metabolism and therefore should not be administered concurrently with medications with narrow therapeutic windows that are substrates of CYP3A4.
  • drug_interactions
    Data also suggest that amprenavir induces CYP3A4.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Amprenavir is metabolized by CYP3A4.
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Coadministration of fosamprenavir calcium and drugs that induce CYP3A4, such as rifampin, may decrease amprenavir concentrations and reduce its therapeutic effect.
  • CYP2D6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2026-06-30 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where do the label and the trials disagree about Fosamprenavir?


"withdrawn" against "approved": withdrawal status vs register status for Fosamprenavir.

EMA_MEDICINE_REGISTER, Drugs@FDA; 1 recorded pair

Show the evidence
  • EMA_MEDICINE_REGISTER EMEA/H/C/000534
    withdrawn; 2026-09-04
  • Drugs@FDA ANDA204024
    approved; 2026-08-28
Where it is registered

Where it’s registered

Withdrawn, in European Union; no reason is published (EMA Medicine.csv)

Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200734
PubChem CID
131535
CAS number
226700-81-8
RxCUI
402365
InChIKey
MLBVMOWEQCZNCC-OEMFJLHTSA-N
Also called
FOSAMPRENAVIR CALCIUM, fapv, fosamprenavir/ritonavir, fpv, (3S)-TETRAHYDRO-3-FURYL ((.ALPHA.S)-.ALPHA.-((1R)-1-HYDROXY-2-(N(SUP 1)-ISOBUTYLSULFANILAMIDO)ETHYL)PHENETHYL)CARBAMATE, CALCIUM PHOSPHATE (ESTER) (1:1), (3S)-Tetrahydro-3-furyl [(αS)-α-[(1R)-1-hydroxy-2-(N1-isobutylsulfanilamido)ethyl]phenethyl]carbamate, calcium phosphate (ester) (1:1), CARBAMIC ACID, ((1S,2R)-3-(((4-AMINOPHENYL)SULFONYL)(2-METHYLPROPYL)AMINO)-1-(PHENYLMETHYL)-2-(PHOSPHONOOXY)PROPYL)-, C-((3S)-TETRAHYDRO-3-FURANYL) ESTER, CALCIUM SALT (1:1), FOSAMPRENAVIR CALCIUM SALT [MI], FOSAMPRENAVIR CALCIUM [EMA EPAR], FOSAMPRENAVIR CALCIUM [MART.], FOSAMPRENAVIR CALCIUM [ORANGE BOOK], FOSAMPRENAVIR CALCIUM [USAN]
Salt form
Fosamprenavir calcium salt
Development code
GW 433908G, GW-433908, GW433908, GW433908A
Trade name
Lexiva, Telzir
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · EMA medicine register · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.