Skip to content

Fluorescein

  • Prescription medicine
  • Given by a clinician
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Fluorescein does in the body

INDICATIONS & USAGE Fluoresecin Injection 10%, , (100 mg/mL) and Fluorescein Injection 25% (250 mg/mL) is indicated in diagnostic fluorescein angiography or angioscopy of the retina and iris vasculature.

, emits light at wavelengths of 520 nm to 530 nm. Thus, the hydrocarbon is excited by blue light and emits light that appears yellowish green. Following intravenous injection of fluorescein sodium in an aqueous solution, the unbound fraction of the fluorescein can be excited with a blue light flash from a fundus camera as it circulates through the ocular vasculature, and the yellowish green fluorescence of the dye is captured by the camera.

Why people take it. INDICATIONS & USAGE Fluoresecin Injection 10%, , (100 mg/mL) and Fluorescein Injection 25% (250 mg/mL) is indicated in diagnostic fluorescein angiography or angioscopy of the retina and iris vasculature.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · TPY09G7XIR · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 142 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Chinese Medical Evidence Scale

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06605495
How many people
4000
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change From Baseline in Lissamine Green Staining (LGS) Total Score at Day 7

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01382225
How many people
1936
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change From Baseline in Best Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA) (Letters Read) at Week 48 - Study Eye

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02307682
How many people
1775
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Primary Outcome: Change in Visual Acuity (LogMAR Letters) From Baseline to Detection of Choroidal Neovascularization

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01103505
How many people
1520
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Steroid Injections vs. Standard Treatment for Macular Edema Due to Retinal Blood Vessel Blockage

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00106132
How many people
1260
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Mean Change in Best-Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA) (Early Treatment of Diabetic Retinopathy Study [ETDRS] Letters) From Baseline to Year 1

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT07705607
How many people
1104
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Intended for use when fitting contact lenses. DIRECTIONS FOR USE: To insure full fluorescence and patient comfort, the impregnated tip should be moistened before application. One or two drops of sterile irrigating or saline solution should be used for this purpose. Touch conjunctiva or fornix as required with moistened tip. It is recommended that the patient blink several times after application.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Pediatric patients have been included in clinical studies.”

    US prescribing information · 0a2a65b1-dc88-445b-bfb7-53b2fd7bea2c · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “No overall differences in safety or effectiveness have been observed between elderly and other adult patients.”

    US prescribing information · 0a2a65b1-dc88-445b-bfb7-53b2fd7bea2c · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Adequate animal reproduction studies have not been conducted with fluorescein sodium.”

    US prescribing information · 0a2a65b1-dc88-445b-bfb7-53b2fd7bea2c · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Fluorescein sodium has been demonstrated to be excreted in human milk.”

    US prescribing information · 0a2a65b1-dc88-445b-bfb7-53b2fd7bea2c · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Given by a clinician

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as injectable, solution/drops, injection, solution/ drops, given by the intravenous, ophthalmic, injection route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 23 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 19 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0065-0092 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as injection, injection, solution, powder, powder, for solution, solution and solution/ drops, taken intravenous and ophthalmic.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0065-0092 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is diagnostic dye [epc] and dyes [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0065-0092 · read 2026-08-29

  • 15 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 11 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 54017304-e680-4129-b52a-69cb9810af76 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 54017304-e680-4129-b52a-69cb9810af76 · read 2026-08-29

  • Fluorescein is intravenous at 3., recorded as fda label in effect 2023-10-25 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 0a2a65b1-dc88-445b-bfb7-53b2fd7bea2c · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Fluorescein studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Fluorescein are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
TPY09G7XIR
CAS registry number
2321-07-5
PubChem compound
16850
ChEMBL
CHEMBL177756
ChEBI
31624
RxNorm concept
25138
EMA substance identifier
100000092805
European Chemicals Agency number
219-031-8
DrugBank
DB00693

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 8 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA017869, approved 19761110 to NOVARTIS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA017869 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA017869 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19720915.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0065-0092 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (8)

On the Fluorescein label: indicated for what?


"Fluorescein injection 10% (100 mg/mL) and 25% (250 mg/mL) is indicated in diagnostic fluorescein angiography or angioscopy of the retina and iris vasculature. Fluorescein injection is indicated in diagnostic fluorescein angiography or angioscopy of the retina and iris vasculature.": indications and usage on Fluorescein's label. DailyMed label · 19aea137-3f47-4b69-9884-3bff5f79b04a · 2026-06-02

40 registered trials of Fluorescein — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
24 of 40

40 registered studies of Fluorescein: 14 na, 8 phase2, 5 phase4, 4 early phase1, 4 phase1, 4 phase3, 3 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

1598 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • na
    14
  • phase2
    8
  • phase4
    5
  • early phase1
    4
  • phase1
    4
  • phase3
    4
9 more recorded rows
  • na or unstated
    3
  • completed
    20
  • terminated
    7
  • withdrawn
    5
  • active not recruiting
    3
  • recruiting
    2
  • not yet recruiting
    1
  • suspended
    1
  • unknown
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

12 of Fluorescein's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


accrual/recruitment (3), funding/business (3) and other (6): Fluorescein's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Change in personnel and cessation of funding"; 12 of 40 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01034670
    terminated; "Change in personnel and cessation of funding"
  • NCT01384695
    terminated; "Low/no enrollment. No subjects were enrolled over the past year."
  • NCT02028325
    terminated; "Lack of enrollment. No new subjects had been enrolled for nearly a year."
  • NCT02540135
    withdrawn; "The investigators decided not to move forward with this study at this time."
  • NCT02628496
    withdrawn; "Lost funding/staff"
  • NCT02703558
    withdrawn; "Limited interest from colleagues/time constraints"
6 further recorded trials
  • NCT02757417
    withdrawn; "Study never started"
  • NCT03220711
    terminated; "Study terminated due to equipment breakage and lack of funding."
  • NCT03244982
    suspended; "Additional data may be required once preliminary data is analyzed."
  • NCT03658551
    terminated; "Inability to apply technology (Loss of technology)"
  • NCT03752203
    terminated; "Study cancelled by PI."
  • NCT05556525
    terminated; "Slow accrual"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Fluorescein used Fluorescein injection, USP 10% — over how long?


Human studies of Fluorescein used "Fluorescein injection, USP 10%". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

5 recorded entries; human; injection; also "sodium fluorescein injection 10%", "Fluorescein Na 10% Inj 500mg", "Fluorescein Na 10% Inj 250mg"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT02628496
    injection; Fluorescein injection, USP 10%
  • NCT02971800
    injection; sodium fluorescein injection 10%
  • NCT03244982
    Fluorescein Na 10% Inj 500mg
  • NCT03244982
    Fluorescein Na 10% Inj 250mg
  • NCT06054178
    FLUORESCITE Injection 10%

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 8 trials of Fluorescein posted no result?


Posted no result
8 of 8 completed trials
Registrations
NCT01611922, NCT02389530, NCT04071080, NCT04687488, NCT03297489 and NCT02857374, and 2 more
Completion dates
oldest 2012-05; newest 2024-03-31
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01611922
    2012-05
  • NCT02389530
    2018-06
  • NCT04071080
    2019-11-28
  • NCT04687488
    2020-11-09
  • NCT03297489
    2021-02-15
  • NCT02857374
    2022-06-13
2 further recorded trials
  • NCT04597801
    2022-08-03
  • NCT05664555
    2024-03-31

At the median, Fluorescein's trials enrolled 38.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
38.5
Largest enrolment
892
Registered trials counted
40

What do 44 spontaneous reports say about Fluorescein — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Fluorescein appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 8 most-reported reaction terms, 44 reaction mentions were counted: drug hypersensitivity 10; anaphylactic reaction 9; hyperhidrosis 6; urticaria 6. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1057 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug hypersensitivity
    10
  • anaphylactic reaction
    9
  • hyperhidrosis
    6
  • urticaria
    6
  • cardio-respiratory arrest
    5
  • skin discolouration
    4
2 more recorded rows
  • contrast media reaction
    2
  • haemangioma congenital
    2

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 8 reactions does Fluorescein's label not list?


anaphylactic reaction, cardio-respiratory arrest and contrast media reaction and 5 more reported for Fluorescein, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1057 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 8 reported and unlisted; 19aea137-3f47-4b69-9884-3bff5f79b04a

Show the evidence
  • anaphylactic reaction
    count not stated
  • cardio-respiratory arrest
    count not stated
  • contrast media reaction
    count not stated
  • drug hypersensitivity
    count not stated
  • haemangioma congenital
    count not stated
  • hyperhidrosis
    count not stated
2 more recorded rows
  • skin discolouration
    count not stated
  • urticaria
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1057
PubChem CID
16850
CAS number
2321-07-5
RxCUI
25138
InChIKey
GNBHRKFJIUUOQI-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
Acid yellow 73, Ki201, Yellow 7, D&C YELLOW NO. 7, FLUORESCEIN [EP MONOGRAPH], FLUORESCEIN [HSDB], FLUORESCEIN [II], FLUORESCEIN [JAN], FLUORESCEIN [MART.], FLUORESCEIN [MI], FLUORESCEIN [USP MONOGRAPH], FLUORESCEIN [USP-RS]
Development code
CI 45350:1, NSC-667256, NSC-759114
Trade name
D & c yellow no. 7 k7133, Fluorescite, Glostrips, Funduscein-25, Ak-Fluor 25%, Ak-Fluor 10%, Dry Eye Test, AK-FLUOR, Fluorescite / Glostrips / Funduscein-25 / Ak-Fluor 25% / Ak-Fluor 10% / Dry Eye Test
Salt form
Fluorescein Sodium, C20H10Na2O5 Fluorescein Sodium Ophthalmic Strips
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.