Skip to content

Flibanserin

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Flibanserin does in the body

ADDYI is indicated for the treatment of women less than 65 years of age with acquired, generalized hypoactive sexual desire disorder (HSDD) as characterized by low sexual desire that causes marked distress or interpersonal difficulty and is not due to: • A co-existing medical or psychiatric condition, • Problems within the relationship, or • The effects of a medication or other drug substance.

From the FDA-approved label: The mechanism of action of ADDYI in the treatment of women less than 65 years of age with acquired, generalized HSDD as characterized by low sexual desire that causes marked distress or interpersonal difficulty (not due a co-existing medical or psychiatric condition, problems within the relationship, or the effects of a medication or other drug substance) is not known.

Why people take it. ADDYI is indicated for the treatment of women less than 65 years of age with acquired, generalized hypoactive sexual desire disorder (HSDD) as characterized by low sexual desire that causes marked distress or interpersonal difficulty and is not due to: • A co-existing medical or psychiatric condition, • Problems within the relationship, or • The effects of a medication or other drug substance.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 37JK4STR6Z · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C20H21F3N4O, weighing 390.41.

    US prescribing information · 3819daf3-e935-2c53-c527-e1d57922f394 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 194 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

The Frequency of Adverse Events (Side Effects).

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00441558
How many people
1723
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change From Baseline in the Frequency of Satisfying Sexual Events (SSE) as Recorded in the eDiary.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00360555
How many people
1584
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Mean Change From Baseline to 24 Weeks in the Frequency of Satisfying Sexual Events as Measured by the eDiary.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00360243
How many people
1385
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

The Change From Baseline to Week 24 in the Score of the Female Sexual Function Index Desire Domain.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00996164
How many people
1090
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
What a body can do day to day
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change From Baseline in the Number of Satisfying Sexual Events

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00996372
How many people
949
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change From Baseline in the Frequency of Satisfying Sexual Events as Measured by the eDiary.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00491829
How many people
945
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • ADDYI is indicated for the treatment of women less than 65 years of age with acquired, generalized hypoactive sexual desire disorder (HSDD) as characterized by low sexual desire that causes marked distress or interpersonal difficulty and is not due to: • A co-existing medical or psychiatric condition, • Problems within the relationship, or • The effects of a medication or other drug substance.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “ADDYI is not indicated for use in pediatric patients.”

    US prescribing information · 3819daf3-e935-2c53-c527-e1d57922f394 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness of ADDYI for the treatment of HSDD have not been established in geriatric patients.”

    US prescribing information · 3819daf3-e935-2c53-c527-e1d57922f394 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no studies of ADDYI in pregnant women to inform whether there is a drug-associated risk in humans.”

    US prescribing information · 3819daf3-e935-2c53-c527-e1d57922f394 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary Flibanserin is excreted in rat milk.”

    US prescribing information · 3819daf3-e935-2c53-c527-e1d57922f394 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “ADDYI is contraindicated for use in patients with any degree of hepatic impairment.”

    US prescribing information · 3819daf3-e935-2c53-c527-e1d57922f394 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, tablet, film coated, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 8 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 8 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 87832-0517 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder and tablet, film coated, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 87832-0517 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is p-glycoprotein inhibitors [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 87832-0517 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 3819daf3-e935-2c53-c527-e1d57922f394 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 3819daf3-e935-2c53-c527-e1d57922f394 · read 2026-08-29

  • ADDYI is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Tablets: 100 mg, oval, pink, debossed on one side with "f100" and blank on the other side., recorded as fda label in effect 2025-12-22 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 3819daf3-e935-2c53-c527-e1d57922f394 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Flibanserin studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Flibanserin are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
37JK4STR6Z
RxNorm concept
1665514

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 1 approved application covers products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA022526, approved 20150818 to SPROUT PHARMS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022526 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022526 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20150818.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 87832-0517 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Flibanserin label: indicated for what?


"ADDYI is indicated for the treatment of women less than 65 years of age with acquired, generalized hypoactive sexual desire disorder (HSDD) as characterized by low sexual desire that causes marked distress or interpersonal difficulty and is not due to: • A co-existing medical or psychiatric condition, • Problems…": indications and usage on Flibanserin's label. DailyMed label · 3819daf3-e935-2c53-c527-e1d57922f394 · 2025-12-22

14 registered trials of Flibanserin — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
4 of 14

14 registered studies of Flibanserin: 9 phase3, 2 phase2, 1 na, 1 phase1, 1 phase4. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

16 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase3
    9
  • phase2
    2
  • na
    1
  • phase1
    1
  • phase4
    1
  • completed
    8
1 more recorded row
  • terminated
    6

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

6 of Flibanserin's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


accrual/recruitment (1), sponsor decision unspecified (3) and other (2): Flibanserin's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"terminated for administrative reasons"; 6 of 14 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00441558
    terminated; "terminated for administrative reasons"
  • NCT01057901
    terminated; "Study terminated for administrative reasons."
  • NCT01103362
    terminated; "administrative reasons"
  • NCT02714049
    terminated; "Investor Initiated Grant support stopped when drug was sold."
  • NCT02770768
    terminated; "PI left institution cannot be contacted."
  • NCT04002661
    terminated; "The study's inclusion and exclusion criteria are tight and could not enroll any patients"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Flibanserin used flibanserin 50 mg — over how long?


Human studies of Flibanserin used "flibanserin 50 mg". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

6 recorded entries; human; also "flibanserin 100mg", "flibanserin 50mg", "Flibanserin 100Mg Tab"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00360529
    flibanserin 50 mg
  • NCT00360529
    flibanserin 100mg
  • NCT00360555
    flibanserin 50mg
  • NCT04494191
    Flibanserin 100Mg Tab
  • NCT04494191
    Flibanserin 100 MG [Addyi]
  • NCT04743934
    Flibanserin 100 MG

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Flibanserin's half-life is 11 hours — which schedules were studied?


11 hours, the half-life Flibanserin's label states: "Excretion Flibanserin has a mean terminal half-life of approximately 11 hours." DailyMed label · 3819daf3-e935-2c53-c527-e1d57922f394 · 2025-12-22

tmax 1.8 hours; bioavailability 33 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    11 hours; Excretion Flibanserin has a mean terminal half-life of approximately 11 hours.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    1.8 hours; Low-, moderate-, and high-fat meals increased flibanserin AUC 0-inf by 1.18-, 1.43-, and 1.56-fold; increased Cmax by 1.02-, 1.13-, and 1.15-fold; and prolonged median Tmax to 1.5, 0.9, 1.8 hours from 0.8 hours under fasted conditions, respectively.
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    33 %; Absolute bioavailability of flibanserin following oral dosing is 33%.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Elimination Metabolism Flibanserin is primarily metabolized by CYP3A4 and, to a lesser extent, by CYP2C19.

recorded 2025-12-22 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which one trial of Flibanserin posted no result?


Posted no result
1 of 1 completed trials
Registrations
NCT04494191
Completion dates
oldest 2019-02-27
Show the evidence
  • Trial NCT04494191
    2019-02-27

At the median, Flibanserin's trials enrolled 748.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
748.5
Largest enrolment
1723
Registered trials counted
14

What do 94 spontaneous reports say about Flibanserin — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Flibanserin appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 94 reaction mentions were counted: therapeutic response unexpected 18; accidental exposure to product by child 17; dizziness 16; insomnia 13. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL231068 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • therapeutic response unexpected
    18
  • accidental exposure to product by child
    17
  • dizziness
    16
  • insomnia
    13
  • somnolence
    9
  • depressed level of consciousness
    6
4 more recorded rows
  • blood pressure decreased
    5
  • sedation
    4
  • suspected suicide attempt
    4
  • muscle fatigue
    2

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Flibanserin's label not list?


accidental exposure to product by child, blood pressure decreased and depressed level of consciousness and 7 more reported for Flibanserin, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL231068 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 3819daf3-e935-2c53-c527-e1d57922f394

Show the evidence
  • accidental exposure to product by child
    count not stated
  • blood pressure decreased
    count not stated
  • depressed level of consciousness
    count not stated
  • dizziness
    count not stated
  • insomnia
    count not stated
  • muscle fatigue
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • sedation
    count not stated
  • somnolence
    count not stated
  • suspected suicide attempt
    count not stated
  • therapeutic response unexpected
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Flibanserin and CYP3A4: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4 appear in Flibanserin's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 3819daf3-e935-2c53-c527-e1d57922f394 · 2025-12-22

CYP3A4, CYP3A4; 2 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Moderate or Strong CYP3A4 Inhibitors Examples of strong CYP3A4 inhibitors Ketoconazole, itraconazole, posaconazole, clarithromycin, nefazodone, ritonavir, saquinavir, nelfinavir, indinavir, boceprevir, telaprevir, telithromycin and conivaptan Examples of moderate CYP3A4 inhibitors Amprenavir, atazanavir, ciprofloxacin, diltiazem, erythromycin, fluconazole, fosamprenavir, verapamil, and grapefruit…
  • drug_interactions
    The risk of hypotension and syncope is increased with concomitant use of ADDYI and moderate or strong CYP3A4 inhibitors [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) , Adverse Reactions (6.1) , and Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ].
  • drug_interactions
    Preventing or Managing DI The concomitant use of ADDYI with moderate or strong CYP3A4 inhibitors is contraindicated .
  • drug_interactions
    Weak CYP3A4 Inhibitors Examples Oral contraceptives, cimetidine, fluoxetine, ginkgo, ranitidine Clinical Implications The concomitant use of ADDYI with multiple weak CYP3A4 inhibitors may increase the risk of adverse reactions.
  • drug_interactions
    Preventing or Managing DI Discuss the use of multiple weak CYP3A4 inhibitors with the patient when prescribing ADDYI.
  • drug_interactions
    CYP3A4 Inducers Examples Carbamazepine, phenobarbital, phenytoin, rifabutin, rifampin, rifapetine, St.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    John's Wort Clinical Implications The concomitant use of ADDYI with CYP3A4 inducers substantially decreases flibanserin exposure compared to the use of ADDYI alone.
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Preventing or Managing DI The concomitant use of ADDYI with CYP3A4 inducers is not recommended.

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2025-12-22 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL231068
PubChem CID
6918248
CAS number
167933-07-5
RxCUI
1665509
InChIKey
PPRRDFIXUUSXRA-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Trade name
Addyi
Development code
BIMT 17, BIMT 17 BS
Also called
Ectris, Flibanserina, Flibanserine, Flibanserin [INN], Flibanserin [MART.], Flibanserin [MI], Flibanserin [ORANGE BOOK], Flibanserin [USAN]
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.