Skip to content

Felodipine

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Felodipine does in the body

Hypertension, to lower blood pressure

From the FDA-approved label: Felodipine is a member of the dihydropyridine class of calcium channel antagonists (calcium channel blockers). It reversibly competes with nitrendipine and/or other calcium channel blockers for dihydropyridine binding sites, blocks voltage-dependent Ca ++ currents in vascular smooth muscle and cultured rabbit atrial cells, and blocks potassium-induced contracture of the rat portal vein. In vitro studies show that the effects of felodipine on contractile processes are selective, with greater effects on vascular smooth muscle than cardiac muscle. Negative inotropic effects can be detected in vitro , but such effects have not been seen in intact animals.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · OL961R6O2C · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C18H19Cl2NO4, weighing 384.26.

    US prescribing information · 129c48eb-29f2-462b-ad8a-b3bf1b193115 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 116 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

First Occurrence of a Major Cardiovascular Event (MCE); Specifically Nonfatal Heart Attack, Nonfatal Stroke, or Cardiovascular Death (Measured Throughout the Study) in the Glycemia Trial.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00000620
How many people
10251
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Composite of fatal and non-fatal stroke

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01136863
How many people
9800
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of Covid-19 positive participants who die, require intubation in ICU, or require hospitalization for non-invasive ventilation (NIV)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04330300
How many people
2414
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

The Percentage of Subjects Reaching Blood Pressure Target (Defined as < 140 / 90 mmHg) After 14 Weeks of Felodipine Sustained Release in Combination With Metoprolol, Lisinopril or Hydrochlorothiazide.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02336607
How many people
529
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percent Change of B Type Natriuretic Peptides (BNP) Level

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00348686
How many people
315
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percent of subjects reaching blood pressure target at wk 8 after metoprolol succinate prolonged release tablet treatment, and magnitude of systolic and diastolic blood pressure reduction from baseline among subjects who reached target (below 140/90mmHg).

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00861016
How many people
310
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Felodipine extended-release tablets, USP are indicated for the treatment of hypertension, to lower blood pressure. Lowering blood pressure lowers the risk of fatal and non-fatal cardiovascular events, primarily strokes and myocardial infarctions. These benefits have been seen in controlled trials of antihypertensive drugs from a wide variety of pharmacologic classes including felodipine.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 129c48eb-29f2-462b-ad8a-b3bf1b193115 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of felodipine did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · 129c48eb-29f2-462b-ad8a-b3bf1b193115 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Category C Teratogenic Effects Studies in pregnant rabbits administered doses of 0.46, 1.2, 2.3, and 4.6 mg/kg/day (from 0.8 to 8 times the maximum recommended human dose on a mg/m 2 basis) showed digital anomalies consisting of reduction in size and degree of ossification of the terminal phalanges in the fetuses.”

    US prescribing information · 129c48eb-29f2-462b-ad8a-b3bf1b193115 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “It is not known whether this drug is secreted in human milk and because of the potential for serious adverse reactions from felodipine in the infant, a decision should be made whether to discontinue nursing or to discontinue the drug, taking into account the importance of the drug to the mother.”

    US prescribing information · 129c48eb-29f2-462b-ad8a-b3bf1b193115 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, extended release, tablet, film coated, tablet, film coated, extended release, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 63 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 63 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 66406-0276 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder, tablet, extended release, tablet, film coated and tablet, film coated, extended release, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 66406-0276 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is calcium channel antagonists [moa], dihydropyridine calcium channel blocker [epc] and dihydropyridines [cs].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 66406-0276 · read 2026-08-29

  • 30 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 30 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · be3bc927-1ba5-4cdd-9986-64ff29789d7e · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · be3bc927-1ba5-4cdd-9986-64ff29789d7e · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 marketed supplement label lists this ingredient, classed as other combinations.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 313415 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels carry all other and structure/function claims. A claim of that kind is written by the manufacturer and is not assessed by any regulator, so its presence says nothing about whether it is true.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 313415 · read 2026-08-29

  • Felopdipine is oral at HOW SUPPLIED Product: 50090-7206 NDC: 50090-7206-0 30 TABLET, EXTENDED RELEASE in a BOTTLE, recorded as fda label in effect 2024-08-07 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 129c48eb-29f2-462b-ad8a-b3bf1b193115 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Felodipine studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

How much did people take in the studies?

The sources RNAWiki checked hold nothing for this field.

Why it matters. A result belongs to an amount. Without the amount the result floats free.

What would answer it

A stored source that records it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Felodipine are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 29 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 29 of them state the same bioavailability, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 29 of them state the same tMax, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 29 of them state the same volumeOfDistribution, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
OL961R6O2C
RxNorm concept
402695

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 15 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA019834, approved 19910725 to ASTRAZENECA.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA019834 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA019834 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20090331.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 66406-0276 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (8)

On the Felodipine label: indicated for what?


"Felodipine tablets are indicated for the treatment of hypertension, to lower blood pressure. Lowering blood pressure lowers the risk of fatal and non-fatal cardiovascular events, primarily strokes and myocardial infarctions.": indications and usage on Felodipine's label. DailyMed label · 924b2633-74bd-469f-b831-77f09dfebbf7 · 2026-06-23

11 registered trials of Felodipine — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
9 of 11

11 registered studies of Felodipine: 4 na, 3 phase4, 2 phase1, 1 na or unstated, 1 phase3. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

429 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • na
    4
  • phase4
    3
  • phase1
    2
  • na or unstated
    1
  • phase3
    1
  • completed
    9
1 more recorded row
  • unknown
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Felodipine's half-life is 4.8 minutes — which schedules were studied?


4.8 minutes, the half-life Felodipine's label states: "Following intravenous administration, the plasma concentration of felodipine declined triexponentially with mean disposition half-lives of 4.8 minutes, 1.5 hours, and 9.1 hours." DailyMed label · 924b2633-74bd-469f-b831-77f09dfebbf7 · 2026-06-23

tmax 2.5 to 5 hours; bioavailability 20 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    4.8 minutes; Following intravenous administration, the plasma concentration of felodipine declined triexponentially with mean disposition half-lives of 4.8 minutes, 1.5 hours, and 9.1 hours.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    2.5 to 5 hours; Mean peak concentrations following the administration of felodipine are reached in 2.5 to 5 hours.
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    20 %; The systemic bioavailability of felodipine is approximately 20%.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    and Metabolism Following oral administration, felodipine is almost completely absorbed and undergoes extensive first-pass metabolism.

recorded 2026-06-23 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 7 trials of Felodipine posted no result?


Posted no result
7 of 7 completed trials
Registrations
NCT01136863, NCT00905333, NCT02311530, NCT02327247, NCT02232269 and NCT02744872, and 1 more
Completion dates
oldest 2004-06; newest 2020-12-31
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01136863
    2004-06
  • NCT00905333
    2008-11
  • NCT02311530
    2008-12
  • NCT02327247
    2008-12
  • NCT02232269
    2013-05
  • NCT02744872
    2016-10
  • 1 further recorded trial NCT04467931
    2020-12-31

At the median, Felodipine's trials enrolled 80 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
80
Largest enrolment
22213
Registered trials counted
11

What do 511 spontaneous reports say about Felodipine — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Felodipine appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 511 reaction mentions were counted: dizziness 80; vomiting 63; dyspnoea 58; hypotension 56. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1480 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • dizziness
    80
  • vomiting
    63
  • dyspnoea
    58
  • hypotension
    56
  • syncope
    47
  • bradycardia
    47
4 more recorded rows
  • oedema peripheral
    44
  • palpitations
    42
  • orthostatic hypotension
    37
  • drug interaction
    37

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Felodipine's label not list?


bradycardia, dizziness and drug interaction and 7 more reported for Felodipine, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1480 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 924b2633-74bd-469f-b831-77f09dfebbf7

Show the evidence
  • bradycardia
    count not stated
  • dizziness
    count not stated
  • drug interaction
    count not stated
  • dyspnoea
    count not stated
  • hypotension
    count not stated
  • oedema peripheral
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • orthostatic hypotension
    count not stated
  • palpitations
    count not stated
  • syncope
    count not stated
  • vomiting
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Felodipine and CYP3A4: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4 appear in Felodipine's recorded interaction sentences, 4 in all. DailyMed label · 924b2633-74bd-469f-b831-77f09dfebbf7 · 2026-06-23

CYP3A4; 1 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    CYP3A4 Inhibitors - Felodipine is metabolized by CYP3A4.
  • drug_interactions
    Coadministration of CYP3A4 inhibitors (e.g., ketoconazole, itraconazole, erythromycin, grapefruit juice, cimetidine) with felodipine may lead to several-fold increases in the plasma levels of felodipine, either due to an increase in bioavailability or due to a decrease in metabolism.
  • drug_interactions
    These effects have been observed with coadministration of itraconazole (a potent CYP3A4 inhibitor).
  • drug_interactions
    Caution should be used when CYP3A4 inhibitors are coadministered with felodipine.
  • CYP3A4
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2026-06-23 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1480
PubChem CID
941699
CAS number
105618-03-9
RxCUI
402695
InChIKey
RZTAMFZIAATZDJ-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Development code
C08CA02, H 154/82, NSC-760343
Trade name
Cabren, Cardioplen xl, Felodipine component of lexxel, Felogen xl, Felotens xl, Folpik xl, Keloc sr, Neofel xl, Parmid xl, Pinefeld xl, Plendil, Preslow
Also called
Felodipino, 3,5-PYRIDINEDICARBOXYLIC ACID 4-(2,3-DICHLOROPHENYL)-1,4-DIHYDRO-2,6-DIMETHYL-, ETHYL METHYL ESTER, (±)-, FELODIPINE [EP MONOGRAPH], FELODIPINE [JAN], FELODIPINE [MART.], FELODIPINE [MI], FELODIPINE [ORANGE BOOK], FELODIPINE [USAN], FELODIPINE [USP IMPURITY], FELODIPINE [USP MONOGRAPH], FELODIPINE [USP-RS], FELODIPINE [VANDF]
Salt form
FELODIPINE EXTENDED-RELEASE TABLETS
Sources (5)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 5 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.