Skip to content

Eribulin

  • Prescription medicine
  • Given by a clinician
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Eribulin does in the body

The treatment of patients

From the FDA-approved label: Eribulin inhibits the growth phase of microtubules without affecting the shortening phase and sequesters tubulin into nonproductive aggregates. Eribulin exerts its effects via a tubulin-based antimitotic mechanism leading to G 2 /M cell-cycle block, disruption of mitotic spindles, and, ultimately, apoptotic cell death after prolonged mitotic blockage. In addition, eribulin treatment of human breast cancer cells caused changes in morphology and gene expression as well as decreased migration and invasiveness in vitro .

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C40H59NO11•CH4O3S, weighing 826.0.

    US prescribing information · 7752b084-cdc7-6eac-e294-e45db82c372a · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 93 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Progression-free survival in the targeted drug arm compared to standard maintenance therapy arm

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02299999
How many people
1460
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Overall Survival (OS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00337103
How many people
1276
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Objective Response Rate (ORR)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03424005
How many people
1132
Study design
Phase 1/Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Kaplan-Meier Estimate of Overall Survival: Intention to Treat (ITT) Population

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01492101
How many people
852
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Overall Survival

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00388726
How many people
762
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Progression-Free Survival

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05104866
How many people
732
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Eribulin Mesylate Injection is a microtubule inhibitor indicated for the treatment of patients with: • Metastatic breast cancer who have previously received at least two chemotherapeutic regimens for the treatment of metastatic disease. Prior therapy should have included an anthracycline and a taxane in either the adjuvant or metastatic setting.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of eribulin mesylate in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 7752b084-cdc7-6eac-e294-e45db82c372a · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of eribulin mesylate did not include a sufficient number of subjects in Study 2 aged 65 years and older to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · 7752b084-cdc7-6eac-e294-e45db82c372a · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Based on findings from an animal reproduction study and its mechanism of action, eribulin mesylate can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.1 )] .”

    US prescribing information · 7752b084-cdc7-6eac-e294-e45db82c372a · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “8.3 Females and Males of Reproductive Potential Contraception Females Based on findings from an animal reproduction study and its mechanism of action, eribulin mesylate can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman [see Use in Specific Populations ( 8.1 )] .”

    US prescribing information · 7752b084-cdc7-6eac-e294-e45db82c372a · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “Administration of eribulin mesylate at a dose of 1.1 mg/m 2 to patients with mild hepatic impairment and 0.7 mg/m 2 to patients with moderate hepatic impairment resulted in similar exposure to eribulin as a dose of 1.4 mg/m 2 to patients with normal hepatic function.”

    US prescribing information · 7752b084-cdc7-6eac-e294-e45db82c372a · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “For patients with moderate or severe renal impairment (CLcr 15 to 49 mL/min), reduce the starting dose to 1.1 mg/m 2 [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.1 ), Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)].”

    US prescribing information · 7752b084-cdc7-6eac-e294-e45db82c372a · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Given by a clinician

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as solution, injection, given by the intravenous route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 27 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 27 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 11071-891 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as injection, injection, solution, powder and solution, taken intravenous.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 11071-891 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is microtubule inhibition [pe] and microtubule inhibitor [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 11071-891 · read 2026-08-29

  • 17 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 17 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 7752b084-cdc7-6eac-e294-e45db82c372a · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 7752b084-cdc7-6eac-e294-e45db82c372a · read 2026-08-29

  • eribulin mesylate is intravenous at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Injection: 1 mg/2 mL (0.5 mg/mL) eribulin mesylate is a clear, colorless, sterile solution in a single-dose vial., recorded as fda label in effect 2025-09-18 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 7752b084-cdc7-6eac-e294-e45db82c372a · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Eribulin studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

How much did people take in the studies?

The sources RNAWiki checked hold nothing for this field.

Why it matters. A result belongs to an amount. Without the amount the result floats free.

What would answer it

A stored source that records it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Eribulin are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Read from sources, not yet reviewed

No traced study record is stored for this substance.

Built from stored sources by fixed rules. No reviewer has signed it off.

How many documents were read

  • 16 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 16 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 16 of them state the same volumeOfDistribution, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 11 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA201532, approved 20101115 to EISAI INC.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA201532 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA201532 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20101115.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 11071-891 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Eribulin label: indicated for what?


"Eribulin mesylate injection is a microtubule inhibitor indicated for the treatment of patients with: Metastatic breast cancer who have previously received at least two chemotherapeutic regimens for the treatment of metastatic disease. Prior therapy should have included an anthracycline and a taxane in either the…": indications and usage on Eribulin's label. DailyMed label · f57835e2-4c53-4e93-b54b-7d7a5000ae3d · 2026-07-21

189 registered trials of Eribulin — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
112 of 189

189 registered studies of Eribulin: 105 phase2, 52 phase1, 34 phase3, 11 na or unstated, 4 phase4, 2 early phase1, 1 na. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

176 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    105
  • phase1
    52
  • phase3
    34
  • na or unstated
    11
  • phase4
    4
  • early phase1
    2
10 more recorded rows
  • na
    1
  • completed
    95
  • active not recruiting
    23
  • unknown
    22
  • recruiting
    21
  • terminated
    16
  • withdrawn
    7
  • not yet recruiting
    3
  • approved for marketing
    1
  • suspended
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

24 of Eribulin's trials stopped: safety, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


safety (1), accrual/recruitment (8), funding/business (2), sponsor decision unspecified (2) and other (11): Eribulin's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Study was terminated as per sponsor's decision"; 24 of 189 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01126749
    terminated; "Study was terminated as per sponsor's decision"
  • NCT01388647
    terminated; "Closed early due to increased hematologic toxicity and possible reduced efficacy"
  • NCT01498588
    terminated; "Slow accrual"
  • NCT01912963
    terminated; "The study terminated early due to weak accrual."
  • NCT02037529
    suspended; "Total enrollment number is being lowered"
  • NCT02082626
    terminated; "Competing study opened"
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT02215876
    withdrawn; "No patients recruited."
  • NCT02396433
    withdrawn; "lack of funding."
  • NCT02404506
    terminated; "The trial was prematurely terminated as of 22.07.2021 as per SAKK board decision board decision from 14th of November 2020. The trial was terminated after the primary endpoint was analyzed, which was the case end of December 2020."
  • NCT02419495
    terminated; "Administratively Complete"
  • NCT02681523
    terminated; "Slow patient recruitment"
  • NCT02753595
    terminated; "evolving standard of care and difficulties of enrolling participants"
  • NCT02824575
    terminated; "Unfortunately, Deciphera management decided to not move forward with the rebastinib program and are terminating early."
  • NCT03032614
    withdrawn; "Lack of funding"
  • NCT03393741
    terminated; "slow accrual"
  • NCT03502681
    terminated; "Funder Decision"
  • NCT03579472
    terminated; "Due to the fact that the sponsor decided not to move forward with the development of M7824"
  • NCT03637868
    withdrawn; "no enrollment"
  • NCT03786094
    terminated; "The study was halted early due to failure to meet the primary endpoint."
  • NCT03795012
    terminated; "Slow recruitment rate"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Eribulin's half-life is 40 hours — which schedules were studied?


40 hours, the half-life Eribulin's label states: "The pharmacokinetics (PK) of eribulin is linear with a mean elimination half-life of approximately 40 hours, a mean volume of distribution of 43 L/m 2 to 114 L/m 2 and mean clearance of 1.16 L/hr/m 2 to 2.42 L/hr/m 2 over the dose range of 0.25 mg/m 2 to 4.0 mg/m 2 ." DailyMed label · f57835e2-4c53-4e93-b54b-7d7a5000ae3d · 2026-07-21

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    40 hours; The pharmacokinetics (PK) of eribulin is linear with a mean elimination half-life of approximately 40 hours, a mean volume of distribution of 43 L/m 2 to 114 L/m 2 and mean clearance of 1.16 L/hr/m 2 to 2.42 L/hr/m 2 over the dose range of 0.25 mg/m 2 to 4.0 mg/m 2 .
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Elimination Metabolism Unchanged eribulin was the major circulating species in plasma following administration of 14 C-eribulin to patients.

recorded 2026-07-21 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Eribulin could settle lifespan?


NCT02299999 measures Progression-free survival in the targeted drug arm compared to standard maintenance therapy arm, reading out 2025-12.

25 open trials; n 1460; "SAFIR02_Breast - Efficacy of Genome Analysis as a Therapeutic Decision Tool for Patients With Metastatic Breast Cancer"

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02299999
    "SAFIR02_Breast - Efficacy of Genome Analysis as a Therapeutic Decision Tool for Patients With Metastatic Breast Cancer"; n 1460; "Progression-free survival in the targeted drug arm compared to standard maintenance therapy arm"; 2025-12
  • NCT05063786
    "Trastuzumab + Alpelisib +/- Fulvestrant vs Trastuzumab + CT in Patients With PIK3CA Mutated Previously Treated HER2+ Advanced BrEasT Cancer (ALPHABET)"; n 27; "Progression Free Survival (PFS)"; 2026-06
  • NCT06279364
    "A Study of SKB264 Versus Investigator's Choice Chemotherapy in Patients With Unresectable Recurrent or Metastatic Triple-Negative Breast Cancer"; n 524; "Overall Survival (OS)"; 2026-07
  • NCT03734029
    "Trastuzumab Deruxtecan (DS-8201a) Versus Investigator's Choice for HER2-low Breast Cancer That Has Spread or Cannot be Surgically Removed [DESTINY-Breast04]"; n 557; "Progression-free Survival (PFS) Based on Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR) in the Hormone Receptor-Positive Cohort in Participants With HER2-low Breast Cancer"; 2026-08-01
  • NCT04639986
    "Asian Study of Sacituzumab Govitecan (IMMU-132) in HR+/HER2- Metastatic Breast Cancer (MBC)"; n 331; "Progression-free Survival (PFS)"; 2026-12
  • NCT05104866
    "A Phase-3, Open-Label, Randomized Study of Dato-DXd Versus Investigator's Choice of Chemotherapy (ICC) in Participants With Inoperable or Metastatic HR-Positive, HER2-Negative Breast Cancer Who Have Been Treated With One or Two Prior Lines of Systemic Chemotherapy (TROPION-Breast01)"; n 732; "Progression-Free Survival"; 2026-12-31
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT05374512
    "A Study of Dato-DXd Versus Investigator's Choice Chemotherapy in Patients With Locally Recurrent Inoperable or Metastatic Triple-negative Breast Cancer, Who Are Not Candidates for PD-1/PD-L1 Inhibitor Therapy (TROPION-Breast02)"; n 644; "Progression Free Survival (PFS)"; 2026-12-31
  • NCT06519370
    "FDA018-ADC vs Investigator's Choice Chemotherapy to Treat Locally Advanced, Recurrent or Metastatic Triple-negative Breast Cancer"; n 350; "Progression-free survival (PFS)"; 2027-06-20
  • NCT05347134
    "SKB264 Injection vs Investigator Selected Regimens to Treat Locally Advanced, Recurrent or Metastatic Triple-negative Breast Cancer"; n 254; "Progression-free survival (PFS)"; 2027-06-30
  • NCT05570253
    "A Study of SDX-7320 in Combination With Eribulin for People With Breast Cancer"; n 55; "change in insulin resistance scores (HOMA-IR)"; 2027-10
  • NCT06343948
    "A Study Comparing BL-B01D1 With Chemotherapy of Physician's Choice in Patients With Unresectable Locally Advanced, Recurrent, or Metastatic HR+HER2- Breast Cancer(PANKU-Breast01)"; n 383; "Progression-free survival (PFS)"; 2027-12
  • NCT06382142
    "A Study Comparing BL-B01D1 With Chemotherapy of Physician's Choice in Patients With Unresectable Locally Advanced or Metastatic Triple-Negative Breast Cancer(PANKU-Breast02)"; n 418; "Progression-free survival (PFS)"; 2027-12
  • NCT06081959
    "Study of SKB264 for Locally Advanced, Recurrent or Metastatic HR+/HER2- Breast Cancer"; n 376; "Progression-free survival (PFS) assessed by BIRC per RECIST 1.1."; 2027-12-31
  • NCT06268652
    "Patient Derived Organoid-guided Personalized Treatment Versus Treatment of Physician's Choice in Breast Cancer"; n 302; "Progression-free survival (PFS)"; 2028-01-15
  • NCT06102824
    "Organoid-based Functional Precision Therapy for Advanced Breast Cancer"; n 252; "Progression-free survival"; 2028-06-30
  • NCT07461454
    "YL202 Versus Treatment of Physician's Choice in Patients With HR+/HER2- Breast Cancer"; n 376; "Progression-free survival (PFS) assessed by BIRC per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1."; 2028-06-30
  • NCT06263231
    "A Study to Investigate Efficacy & Safety of Intratumoral INT230-6 Compared to US Standard of Care in Adults With Soft Tissue Sarcomas (INVINCIBLE-3)"; n 333; "Overall Survival (OS)"; 2028-12
  • NCT06202313
    "Study of Cadonilimab (AK104) Plus Eribulin vs. Eribulin Monotherapy for Recurrent or Metastatic Triple-negative Breast Cancer"; n 128; "Progression-free Survival (PFS) per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST 1.1) as Assessed by Investigator"; 2028-12-30
  • NCT06079983
    "JSKN003 Versus Treatment Of Physician'S Choice For HER2-low, Unresectable and/or Metastatic Breast Cancer Subjects"; n 400; "Progression Free Survival (PFS)"; 2029-03-01
  • NCT05826964
    "Levels of Circulating Tumor DNA as a Predictive Marker for Early Switch in Treatment for Patients With Metastatic (Stage IV) Breast Cancer"; n 24; "Progression-Free Survival 1 (PFS1) Among Participants in Step 2"; 2029-07-31

Which 27 trials of Eribulin posted no result?


Posted no result
27 of 27 completed trials
Registrations
NCT03002493, NCT00410553, NCT01463891, NCT01418677, NCT01669252 and NCT01585870, and 21 more
Completion dates
oldest 2011-06; newest 2024-03-15
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT03002493
    2011-06
  • NCT00410553
    2012-10-24
  • NCT01463891
    2013-11-27
  • NCT01418677
    2015-05
  • NCT01669252
    2015-06
  • NCT01585870
    2015-09
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01941407
    2016-03
  • NCT02393287
    2017-01
  • NCT02014337
    2017-12
  • NCT02225470
    2018-06-22
  • NCT03437083
    2018-06-30
  • NCT02723877
    2018-10-03
  • NCT03058406
    2018-11-04
  • NCT02263495
    2019-06-17
  • NCT03583944
    2019-06-28
  • NCT02596503
    2020-01-24
  • NCT03430518
    2020-02-10
  • NCT02551263
    2020-07
  • NCT02864030
    2020-12-31
  • NCT03056599
    2021-09-22

At the median, Eribulin's trials enrolled 66.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
66.5
Largest enrolment
1460
Registered trials counted
188

What do 1241 spontaneous reports say about Eribulin — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Eribulin appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 1241 reaction mentions were counted: neutropenia 322; febrile neutropenia 226; leukopenia 125; neuropathy peripheral 123. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1683544 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • neutropenia
    322
  • febrile neutropenia
    226
  • leukopenia
    125
  • neuropathy peripheral
    123
  • interstitial lung disease
    116
  • malignant neoplasm progression
    109
4 more recorded rows
  • pyrexia
    103
  • stomatitis
    59
  • cardiac failure
    30
  • neutrophil count decreased
    28

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Eribulin's label not list?


cardiac failure, febrile neutropenia and interstitial lung disease and 7 more reported for Eribulin, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1683544 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; f57835e2-4c53-4e93-b54b-7d7a5000ae3d

Show the evidence
  • cardiac failure
    count not stated
  • febrile neutropenia
    count not stated
  • interstitial lung disease
    count not stated
  • leukopenia
    count not stated
  • malignant neoplasm progression
    count not stated
  • neuropathy peripheral
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • neutropenia
    count not stated
  • neutrophil count decreased
    count not stated
  • pyrexia
    count not stated
  • stomatitis
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Eribulin and CYP3A4, P-GP and CYP2C9: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4, P-GP and CYP2C9 appear in Eribulin's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · f57835e2-4c53-4e93-b54b-7d7a5000ae3d · 2026-07-21

CYP1A, CYP1A2, CYP2B6, CYP2C19, CYP2C19, CYP2C9; 14 shared nodes; drug_interactions, pharmacokinetics

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    7.1 Effects of Other Drugs on Eribulin Mesylate No drug-drug interactions are expected with CYP3A4 inhibitors, CYP3A4 inducers or P-glycoprotein (P-gp) inhibitors.
  • drug_interactions
    Clinically meaningful differences in exposure (AUC) were not observed in patients with advanced solid tumors when eribulin mesylate was administered with or without ketoconazole (a strong inhibitor of CYP3A4 and a P-gp inhibitor) and when eribulin mesylate was administered with or without rifampin (a CYP3A4 inducer) [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ].
  • drug_interactions
    7.2 Effects of Eribulin Mesylate on Other Drugs Eribulin does not inhibit CYP1A2, CYP2C9, CYP2C19, CYP2D6, CYP2E1 or CYP3A4 enzymes or induce CYP1A2, CYP2C9, CYP2C19 or CYP3A4 enzymes at relevant clinical concentrations.
  • pharmacokinetics
    Cytochrome P450 3A4 (CYP3A4) negligibly metabolizes eribulin in vitro .
  • pharmacokinetics
    Drug Interaction Studies Effect of Strong Inhibitors or Inducers of CYP3A4 on Eribulin: The effect of a strong CYP3A4 inhibitor and a P-gp inhibitor, ketoconazole, on the PK of eribulin was studied in a crossover trial of 12 patients with advanced solid tumors.
  • pharmacokinetics
    The effect of a CYP3A4 inducer, rifampin, on the PK of eribulin was studied in a crossover trial of 14 patients with advanced solid tumors.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement pharmacokinetics
    Effect of Eribulin on CYP Substrates: Eribulin shows no induction potential for CYP1A, CYP2B6, CYP2C9, CYP2C19, and CYP3A in primary human hepatocytes.
  • Interaction statement pharmacokinetics
    Eribulin inhibits CYP3A4 activity in human liver microsomes, but it is unlikely that eribulin will substantially increase the plasma levels of CYP3A4 substrates.
  • CYP1A
    Rasburicase, Tivozanib, Riluzole, Alfuzosin, Tenofovir Disoproxil, Niraparib
  • CYP1A2
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole
  • CYP2B6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Sofpironium, Bupropion, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine

CYP2C19

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Etravirine
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Etravirine

CYP2C9

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine
  • CYP2D6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine
  • CYP2E1
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, Rasagiline, Tinidazole, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Alosetron, Metaxalone
  • CYP3A
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • P-gp
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Vincristine

recorded 2026-07-21 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1683544
PubChem CID
17755248
CAS number
441045-17-6
RxCUI
1045452
InChIKey
UFNVPOGXISZXJD-JBQZKEIOSA-N
Also called
ERIBULIN MESYLATE, Eribulin monomethanesulfonate, Eribulina, Eribuline, e7389-lf, ERIBULIN MESILATE [JAN], ERIBULIN MESILATE [MART.], ERIBULIN MESYLATE [EMA EPAR], ERIBULIN MESYLATE [ORANGE BOOK], ERIBULIN MESYLATE [USAN], ERIBULIN MESYLATE [VANDF], ERIBULIN MONOMETHANESULFONATE [MI]
Development code
E-7389, E7389, NSC-707389, B-1939, E-7389 FREE BASE, ER-086526
Trade name
Eribulin baxter, Halaven, Mevlyq
Japanese name
Eribulin mesilate
Sources (5)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 5 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.