Skip to content

Enasidenib

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Enasidenib does in the body

Relapsed or refractory acute myeloid leukemia (AML) with an isocitrate dehydrogenase-2 (IDH2) mutation as detected by

From the FDA-approved label: Enasidenib is a small molecule inhibitor of the isocitrate dehydrogenase 2 (IDH2) enzyme. Enasidenib targets the mutant IDH2 variants R140Q, R172S, and R172K at approximately 40-fold lower concentrations than the wild-type enzyme in vitro. Inhibition of the mutant IDH2 enzyme by enasidenib led to decreased 2-hydroxyglutarate (2-HG) levels and induced myeloid differentiation in vitro and in vivo in mouse xenograft models of IDH2 mutated AML. In blood samples from patients with AML with mutated IDH2, enasidenib decreased 2-HG levels, reduced blast counts and increased percentages of mature myeloid cells.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 3T1SS4E7AG · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C19H17F6N7O∙CH3SO3H, weighing 569.48 g/mol.

    US prescribing information · a5b4cdf0-3fa8-4c6c-80f6-8d8a00e3a5b6 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The recorded explanation is written in label language rather than for a beginner. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 122 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Proportion of patients for whom molecular, immunophenotypic, and/or biochemical studies are completed in < 7 calendar days for assignment of treatment

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03013998
How many people
3000
Study design
Phase 1/Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Timing of treatment Substudy or Tier Advancement Pathway (TAP) assignment

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05564390
How many people
2000
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Event-free survival (EFS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03839771
How many people
968
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Recommended phase II dose (RP2D)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02813135
How many people
472
Study design
Phase 1/Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Phase 1 Dose Escalation: Number of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01915498
How many people
345
Study design
Phase 1/Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Overall Survival (OS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02577406
How many people
319
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • IDHIFA is an isocitrate dehydrogenase-2 inhibitor indicated for the treatment of adult patients with relapsed or refractory acute myeloid leukemia (AML) with an isocitrate dehydrogenase-2 (IDH2) mutation as detected by an FDA-approved test ( 1.1 ).

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness of IDHIFA in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · a5b4cdf0-3fa8-4c6c-80f6-8d8a00e3a5b6 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “No dosage adjustment is required for IDHIFA based on age.”

    US prescribing information · a5b4cdf0-3fa8-4c6c-80f6-8d8a00e3a5b6 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Based on animal embryo-fetal toxicity studies, IDHIFA can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman.”

    US prescribing information · a5b4cdf0-3fa8-4c6c-80f6-8d8a00e3a5b6 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of enasidenib or its metabolites in human milk, the effects on the breastfed child, or the effects on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · a5b4cdf0-3fa8-4c6c-80f6-8d8a00e3a5b6 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4, S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, tablet, film coated, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 2 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 2 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 59572-710 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as tablet, film coated, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 59572-710 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is isocitrate dehydrogenase 2 inhibitor [epc] and isocitrate dehydrogenase 2 inhibitors [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 59572-710 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · a5b4cdf0-3fa8-4c6c-80f6-8d8a00e3a5b6 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · a5b4cdf0-3fa8-4c6c-80f6-8d8a00e3a5b6 · read 2026-08-29

  • Idhifa is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS IDHIFA is available in the following tablet strengths: • 50 mg enasidenib tablet: Pale yellow to yellow oval-shaped film-coated tablet debossed "ENA" on one side and "50" on the other side.…, recorded as fda label in effect 2025-01-16 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · a5b4cdf0-3fa8-4c6c-80f6-8d8a00e3a5b6 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Enasidenib studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

How much did people take in the studies?

The sources RNAWiki checked hold nothing for this field.

Why it matters. A result belongs to an amount. Without the amount the result floats free.

What would answer it

A stored source that records it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Enasidenib are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
3T1SS4E7AG
CAS registry number
1446502-11-9
PubChem compound
89683805
ChEBI
145374
WHO international nonproprietary name list entry
10162
RxNorm concept
1940332
EMA substance identifier
100000175231
DrugBank
DB13874

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4, S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 1 approved application covers products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA209606, approved 20170801 to BRISTOL MYERS SQUIBB.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA209606 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA209606 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20170801.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 59572-710 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Enasidenib label: indicated for what?


"IDHIFA is an isocitrate dehydrogenase-2 inhibitor indicated for the treatment of adult patients with relapsed or refractory acute myeloid leukemia (AML) with an isocitrate dehydrogenase-2 (IDH2) mutation as detected by an FDA-approved test ( 1.1 ). 1.1 Acute Myeloid Leukemia IDHIFA is indicated for the treatment of…": indications and usage on Enasidenib's label. DailyMed label · a5b4cdf0-3fa8-4c6c-80f6-8d8a00e3a5b6 · 2025-01-16

42 registered trials of Enasidenib — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
37 of 42

42 registered studies of Enasidenib: 23 phase1, 23 phase2, 2 phase3, 1 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

19 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase1
    23
  • phase2
    23
  • phase3
    2
  • na or unstated
    1
  • completed
    15
  • recruiting
    13
5 more recorded rows
  • active not recruiting
    7
  • withdrawn
    3
  • terminated
    2
  • no longer available
    1
  • suspended
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

6 of Enasidenib's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


accrual/recruitment (3), funding/business (1) and other (2): Enasidenib's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Accrual goal met"; 6 of 42 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT03728335
    suspended; "Accrual goal met"
  • NCT03878524
    terminated; "Low accrual"
  • NCT03881735
    withdrawn; "no accrual"
  • NCT04092179
    terminated; "Insufficient Funding"
  • NCT04655391
    withdrawn; "Drug availability"
  • NCT04955938
    withdrawn; "unable to accrue"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Enasidenib's half-life is 7.9 days — which schedules were studied?


7.9 days, the half-life Enasidenib's label states: "Elimination Enasidenib has a terminal half-life of 7.9 days and a mean total body clearance (CL/F) of 0.70 L/hour (CV% 62.5)." DailyMed label · a5b4cdf0-3fa8-4c6c-80f6-8d8a00e3a5b6 · 2025-01-16

tmax 4 hours; bioavailability 57 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    7.9 days; Elimination Enasidenib has a terminal half-life of 7.9 days and a mean total body clearance (CL/F) of 0.70 L/hour (CV% 62.5).
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    4 hours; After a single oral dose, the median time to C max (T max ) is 4 hours.
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    57 %; Absorption The absolute bioavailability after 100 mg oral dose of enasidenib is approximately 57%.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Enasidenib accounted for 89% of the radioactivity in circulation and AGI-16903, the N-dealkylated metabolite, represented 10% of the circulating radioactivity.

recorded 2025-01-16 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Enasidenib could settle lifespan?


NCT06176989 measures Progression Free Survival (PFS) in all study participants, reading out 2030-12-31.

2 open trials; n 40; "Enasidenib in IDH2-Mutated Malignant Sinonasal and Skull Base Tumors"

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT06176989
    "Enasidenib in IDH2-Mutated Malignant Sinonasal and Skull Base Tumors"; n 40; "Progression Free Survival (PFS) in all study participants"; 2030-12-31
  • NCT03839771
    "A Study of Ivosidenib or Enasidenib in Combination With Induction Therapy and Consolidation Therapy, Followed by Maintenance Therapy in Patients With Newly Diagnosed Acute Myeloid Leukemia or Myedysplastic Syndrome EB2, With an IDH1 or IDH2 Mutation, Respectively, Eligible for Intensive Chemotherapy"; n 968; "Event-free survival (EFS)"; 2034-09-19

Which 9 trials of Enasidenib posted no result?


Posted no result
9 of 9 completed trials
Registrations
NCT02443168, NCT02387866, NCT03290443, NCT04310527, NCT03515512 and NCT04573582, and 3 more
Completion dates
oldest 2015-07-21; newest 2024-07-24
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02443168
    2015-07-21
  • NCT02387866
    2015-07-27
  • NCT03290443
    2018-10-26
  • NCT04310527
    2019-12-09
  • NCT03515512
    2023-02-13
  • NCT04573582
    2023-03-08
3 further recorded trials
  • NCT04075747
    2023-09-12
  • NCT03720366
    2023-12-22
  • NCT04522895
    2024-07-24

At the median, Enasidenib's trials enrolled 40 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
40
Largest enrolment
3000
Registered trials counted
41

What do 115 spontaneous reports say about Enasidenib — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Enasidenib appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 115 reaction mentions were counted: differentiation syndrome 30; febrile neutropenia 26; sepsis 13; thrombocytopenia 12. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL3989908 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • differentiation syndrome
    30
  • febrile neutropenia
    26
  • sepsis
    13
  • thrombocytopenia
    12
  • blood bilirubin increased
    8
  • cardiomyopathy
    6
4 more recorded rows
  • ejection fraction decreased
    6
  • acute myeloid leukaemia
    5
  • septic shock
    5
  • acute promyelocytic leukaemia differentiation syndrome
    4

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Enasidenib's label not list?


acute myeloid leukaemia, acute promyelocytic leukaemia differentiation syndrome and blood bilirubin increased and 7 more reported for Enasidenib, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL3989908 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; a5b4cdf0-3fa8-4c6c-80f6-8d8a00e3a5b6

Show the evidence
  • acute myeloid leukaemia
    count not stated
  • acute promyelocytic leukaemia differentiation syndrome
    count not stated
  • blood bilirubin increased
    count not stated
  • cardiomyopathy
    count not stated
  • differentiation syndrome
    count not stated
  • ejection fraction decreased
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • febrile neutropenia
    count not stated
  • sepsis
    count not stated
  • septic shock
    count not stated
  • thrombocytopenia
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Enasidenib and CYP1A2, CYP3A and BCRP: shared by which compounds?


CYP1A2, CYP3A and BCRP appear in Enasidenib's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · a5b4cdf0-3fa8-4c6c-80f6-8d8a00e3a5b6 · 2025-01-16

CYP1A2, CYP1A2, CYP2C19, CYP3A, BCRP, OATP1B1; 7 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    • Certain CYP1A2 and CYP2C19 Substrates: Avoid concomitant use unless otherwise recommended in the Prescribing Information ( 7.1 ).
  • drug_interactions
    • Certain CYP3A Substrates: Avoid concomitant use unless otherwise recommended in the Prescribing Information ( 7.1 ).
  • drug_interactions
    • Certain OATP1B1, OATP1B3, and BCRP Substrates: Avoid concomitant use unless otherwise recommended in the Prescribing Information ( 7.1 ).
  • drug_interactions
    7.1 Effect of IDHIFA on Other Drugs Certain CYP1A2 Substrates Avoid concomitant use with IDHIFA unless otherwise recommended in the Prescribing Information for CYP1A2 substrates where minimal concentration changes may lead to serious adverse reactions.
  • drug_interactions
    Enasidenib is a CYP1A2 inhibitor.
  • drug_interactions
    Concomitant use of IDHIFA increases the exposure of CYP1A2 substrates [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] , which may increase the risk of adverse reactions related to the substrates.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Certain CYP3A substrates Avoid concomitant use with IDHIFA unless otherwise recommended in the Prescribing Information for CYP3A substrates where minimal concentration changes may lead to reduced efficacy.
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Do not administer IDHIFA with anti-fungal agents that are substrates of CYP3A due to expected loss of antifungal efficacy.

CYP1A2

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole
  • CYP2C19
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Etravirine
  • CYP3A
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • BCRP
    TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Eravacycline, Omadacycline
  • OATP1B1
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Eravacycline
  • OATP1B3
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Eravacycline

recorded 2025-01-16 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL3989908
PubChem CID
89683805
CAS number
1446502-11-9
RxCUI
1940332
InChIKey
DYLUUSLLRIQKOE-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
Ag 221, ENASIDENIB MESYLATE, Enasidenib mesilate, Enasidenib methanesulfonate, ENASIDENIB [MI], ENASIDENIB [USAN], Enasidenib [WHO-DD], enasidenib [INN]
Development code
CC-90007 Free Base, CC-90007
Salt form
AG-221 mesylate
Trade name
Idhifa
Sources (5)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 5 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.