Skip to content

Elafibranor

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Elafibranor does in the body

Primary biliary cholangitis

From the FDA-approved label: Elafibranor and its main active metabolite GFT1007 are peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor (PPAR) agonists, both of which activate PPAR-alpha, PPAR-gamma, and PPAR-delta in vitro. However, the mechanism by which elafibranor exerts its therapeutic effects in patients with PBC is not well understood. Pharmacological activity that is potentially relevant to therapeutic effects includes inhibition of bile acid synthesis through activation of PPAR-alpha and PPAR-delta. The signaling pathway for PPAR-delta was reported to include Fibroblast Growth Factor 21 (FGF21)-dependent downregulation of CYP7A1, the key enzyme for the synthesis of bile acids from cholesterol.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 2J3H5C81A5 · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C22H24O4S, weighing 384.49 g/mol.

    US prescribing information · d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 111 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Number of Elafibranor-treated Participants Relative to Placebo Achieving Resolution of Nonalcoholic Steatohepatitis Without Worsening of Fibrosis

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02704403
How many people
2157
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Event-Free Survival

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT07387549
How many people
350
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Event-free survival

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06016842
How many people
276
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Responders With Disappearance of Steatohepatitis Without Worsening of Fibrosis (ie, Participants no Longer Meeting the Criteria for Steatohepatitis)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01694849
How many people
275
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Safety parameters such as adverse event monitoring, vital signs, ECG, and clinical laboratory tests (Study Part I)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02091310
How many people
200
Study design
Phase 1
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants With Response to Treatment Based on Cholestasis Response at Week 52

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04526665
How many people
161
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • IQIRVO is indicated for the treatment of primary biliary cholangitis (PBC) in combination with ursodeoxycholic acid (UDCA) in adults who have had an inadequate response to UDCA, or as monotherapy in patients unable to tolerate UDCA. This indication is approved under accelerated approval based on reduction of alkaline phosphatase (ALP) [see Clinical Studies (14) ].

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of IQIRVO have not been established in pediatric patients.”

    US prescribing information · d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Of the 108 IQIRVO-treated patients with PBC, 25 (23%) were 65 years of age and older, while 1 (1%) was 75 years of age and older.”

    US prescribing information · d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Based on data from animal reproduction studies, IQIRVO may cause fetal harm when administered during pregnancy.”

    US prescribing information · d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data available on the presence of elafibranor or its metabolites in human or animal milk, or on effects of the drug on the breastfed infant or the effects on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “The safety and efficacy of IQIRVO in patients with decompensated cirrhosis have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “The recommended dosage in patients with mild, moderate, or severe renal impairment is the same as in patients with normal kidney function [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] .”

    US prescribing information · d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S3.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, tablet, film coated, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 2 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 2 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 15054-0080 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder and tablet, film coated, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 15054-0080 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is cytochrome p450 3a4 inducers [moa], peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor agonist [epc] and peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor agonists [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 15054-0080 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25 · read 2026-08-29

  • IQIRVO is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Tablets: 80 mg, round, orange, film-coated tablets, debossed with "ELA 80" on one side and plain on the other side., recorded as fda label in effect 2026-08-11 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Elafibranor studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
2J3H5C81A5
RxNorm concept
2684946

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S3.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 1 approved application covers products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA218860, approved 20240610 to IPSEN.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA218860 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA218860 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20240610.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 15054-0080 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (11)

On the Elafibranor label: indicated for what?


"IQIRVO is indicated for the treatment of primary biliary cholangitis (PBC) in combination with ursodeoxycholic acid (UDCA) in adults who have had an inadequate response to UDCA, or as monotherapy in patients unable to tolerate UDCA. This indication is approved under accelerated approval based on reduction of alkaline…": indications and usage on Elafibranor's label. DailyMed label · d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25 · 2026-08-11

16 registered trials of Elafibranor — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
12 of 16

16 registered studies of Elafibranor: 6 phase1, 6 phase3, 4 phase2. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

6 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase1
    6
  • phase3
    6
  • phase2
    4
  • completed
    8
  • active not recruiting
    3
  • terminated
    3
1 more recorded row
  • recruiting
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

3 of Elafibranor's trials stopped: safety, other?


safety (2) and other (1): Elafibranor's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Study did not meet the predefined primary surrogate efficacy endpoint, no safety issues identified"; 3 of 16 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02704403
    terminated; "Study did not meet the predefined primary surrogate efficacy endpoint, no safety issues identified"
  • NCT03883607
    terminated; "Due to lack of efficacy (but not due to safety) in a Phase 3 trial of elafibranor in adult participants with NASH and fibrosis, this study in pediatric NASH was prematurely terminated"
  • NCT03953456
    terminated; "Continuation of the trial cannot serve a scientific purpose"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Elafibranor used Elafibranor 80 mg — over how long?


studies of Elafibranor used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

7 recorded entries; human; also "Elafibranor 80 mg", "Elafibranor 120 mg", "Elafibranor 80mg"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT03124108
    Elafibranor 80 mg
  • NCT03124108
    Elafibranor 120 mg
  • NCT03883607
    Elafibranor 80mg
  • NCT03883607
    Elafibranor 120mg
  • NCT03953456
    elafibranor 120mg
  • NCT05627362
    Placebo Matched to Elafibranor 80 mg
1 more recorded row
  • human NCT05627362
    Placebo Matched to Elafibranor 120 mg

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Elafibranor's half-life is 70.2 hours — which schedules were studied?


70.2 hours, the half-life Elafibranor's label states: "Elimination Following a single 80 mg dose under fasted conditions, median elimination half-life was 70.2 hours (range 37.1 to 92.2 hours) for elafibranor, and 15.4 hours (range 9.39 to 21.7 hours) for major active metabolite GFT1007." DailyMed label · d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25 · 2026-08-11

tmax 1.25 hours.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    70.2 hours; Elimination Following a single 80 mg dose under fasted conditions, median elimination half-life was 70.2 hours (range 37.1 to 92.2 hours) for elafibranor, and 15.4 hours (range 9.39 to 21.7 hours) for major active metabolite GFT1007.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    1.25 hours; SS= Steady State Elafibranor 802 (443) 3758 (1749) 2.9 (0.86- to 13) GFT1007 2058 (459) 11985 (7149) 1.3 (0.6- to 3) Absorption Following once daily dosing of 80 mg in patients with PBC, median time to peak plasma concentrations (T max ) of elafibranor and GFT1007 was 1.25 hours (range: 0.5-2 hours).
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Elafibranor is extensively metabolized to form a major active metabolite, GFT1007.

recorded 2026-08-11 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Elafibranor could settle lifespan?


NCT06016842 measures Event-free survival, reading out 2029-05-31.

2 open trials; n 276; "A Long-Term Study of Elafibranor in Adult Participants With Primary Biliary Cholangitis"

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT06016842
    "A Long-Term Study of Elafibranor in Adult Participants With Primary Biliary Cholangitis"; n 276; "Event-free survival"; 2029-05-31
  • NCT07387549
    "A Study to Assess How Well and Safely Elafibranor Works in Adult Participants With Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis"; n 350; "Event-Free Survival"; 2031-05-31

Which 6 trials of Elafibranor posted no result?


Posted no result
6 of 6 completed trials
Registrations
NCT03765671, NCT03844555, NCT04171752, NCT03985969, NCT05564208 and NCT05543369
Completion dates
oldest 2019-06-14; newest 2023-03-10
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT03765671
    2019-06-14
  • NCT03844555
    2020-03-21
  • NCT04171752
    2020-03-30
  • NCT03985969
    2020-03-31
  • NCT05564208
    2023-01-14
  • NCT05543369
    2023-03-10

At the median, Elafibranor's trials enrolled 39.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
39.5
Largest enrolment
2157
Registered trials counted
16

What do 47 spontaneous reports say about Elafibranor — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Elafibranor appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 8 most-reported reaction terms, 47 reaction mentions were counted: pruritus 9; alanine aminotransferase increased 6; aspartate aminotransferase increased 6; constipation 6. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL3707395 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • pruritus
    9
  • alanine aminotransferase increased
    6
  • aspartate aminotransferase increased
    6
  • constipation
    6
  • product dose omission issue
    6
  • weight increased
    6
2 more recorded rows
  • blood alkaline phosphatase increased
    5
  • hepatic cirrhosis
    3

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 8 reactions does Elafibranor's label not list?


alanine aminotransferase increased, aspartate aminotransferase increased and blood alkaline phosphatase increased and 5 more reported for Elafibranor, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL3707395 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 8 reported and unlisted; d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25

Show the evidence
  • alanine aminotransferase increased
    count not stated
  • aspartate aminotransferase increased
    count not stated
  • blood alkaline phosphatase increased
    count not stated
  • constipation
    count not stated
  • hepatic cirrhosis
    count not stated
  • product dose omission issue
    count not stated
2 more recorded rows
  • pruritus
    count not stated
  • weight increased
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Elafibranor and CYP2C8, CYP3A4 and UGT2B7: shared by which compounds?


CYP2C8, CYP3A4 and UGT2B7 appear in Elafibranor's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · d78aa14f-6ec1-4b1d-a4ae-e48658137a25 · 2026-08-11

CYP1A2, CYP2B6, CYP2C19, CYP2C8, CYP2C8, CYP2C8; 11 shared nodes; drug_interactions, pharmacokinetics

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    ( 5.1 , 7.1 ) Strong CYP2C8 Inhibitors: Avoid concomitant use with strong CYP2C8 inhibitors (e.g. gemfibrozil).
  • drug_interactions
    Table 3: Clinically Significant Interactions Affecting Other Drugs Hormonal Contraceptives Clinical Impact IQIRVO is a weak CYP3A4 inducer [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] .
  • drug_interactions
    Table 4: Clinically Significant Interactions Affecting IQIRVO Strong CYP2C8 Inhibitors Clinical Impact The major active metabolite of elafibranor, GFT1007, is a CYP2C8 substrate.
  • drug_interactions
    Concomitant use with a strong CYP2C8 inhibitor may increase systemic exposure of GFT1007 [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] , which may increase the risk of IQIRVO adverse reactions.
  • drug_interactions
    Intervention Avoid concomitant use of IQIRVO with strong CYP2C8 inhibitors (e.g. gemfibrozil).
  • pharmacokinetics
    Elafibranor was also metabolized by CYP2J2, and uridine diphosphate (UDP)-glucuronosyltransferase (UGT) isoforms, UGT1A3, UGT1A4, and UGT2B7.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement pharmacokinetics
    GFT1007 was further metabolized by CYP2C8 (27.2%), UGT1A6 (39.7%), and UGT2B7 (14.1%).
  • Interaction statement pharmacokinetics
    Drug Interactions Effect of IQIRVO on the Pharmacokinetics of Other Drugs In vitro Studies: Elafibranor, GFT1007 and GFT3351 did not inhibit CYP1A2, CYP2B6, CYP2C8, CYP2C9, CYP2C19, CYP2D6, and CYP3A4.
  • CYP1A2
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole
  • CYP2B6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Sofpironium, Bupropion, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine
  • CYP2C19
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Etravirine

CYP2C8

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Lapatinib, Tivozanib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Lapatinib, Tivozanib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Lapatinib, Tivozanib
  • CYP2C9
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine
  • CYP2D6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine
  • CYP2J2
    Ponesimod, Florbetaben (18f), Levomilnacipran

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2026-08-11 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL3707395
PubChem CID
9864881
CAS number
923978-27-2
RxCUI
2684946
InChIKey
AFLFKFHDSCQHOL-IZZDOVSWSA-N
Development code
GFT-505
Also called
Gft505, Iqirvo, ELAFIBRANOR [USAN], Elafibranor [WHO-DD], elafibranor [INN]
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.