Skip to content

Dopamine

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Dopamine does in the body

Dopamine Hydrochloride in Dextrose Injection is indicated to improve hemodynamic status in patients in distributive shock, or shock due to reduced cardiac output.

From the FDA-approved label: Dopamine is a natural catecholamine formed by the decarboxylation of 3,4-dihydroxyphenylalanine (DOPA). It is a precursor to norepinephrine in noradrenergic nerves and is also a neurotransmitter in certain areas of the central nervous system, especially in the nigrostriatal tract, and in a few peripheral sympathetic nerves. Dopamine elicits its pharmacological action by activating dopamine D1 and D2 receptors, beta-1 receptors and alpha-1 receptors. The activation of different receptors leading to its effects are dependent on dopamine dose.

Why people take it. Dopamine Hydrochloride in Dextrose Injection is indicated to improve hemodynamic status in patients in distributive shock, or shock due to reduced cardiac output.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · VTD58H1Z2X · read 2026-08-29

  • The supplement label database classes it as non-nutrient/non-botanical, under the name Dopamine.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 4132 · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 139 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Postoperative Acute Kidney Injury

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02726620
How many people
22435
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Composite outcome of death and major adverse events requiring intensive life supports

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06702553
How many people
3650
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

To study specific genotypes, biochemical and imaging phenotypes of patients with various pheochromocytomas and paragangliomas.To stuty potential treatment options for metastatic pheochromocytoma and paraganglioma using cell cultures, cell ...

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00004847
How many people
3000
Study design
Phase 1
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

The distribution of glycemic status at 1 year after randomization

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05749874
How many people
2024
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

The incidence of post-operative complications

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05728645
How many people
2022
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

incidence of Postoperative myocardial injury after non-cardiac surgery(MINS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05635877
How many people
2000
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • & USAGE Dopamine Hydrochloride in 5% Dextrose Injection, USP is indicated for the correction of hemodynamic imbalances present in shock due to myocardial infarction, trauma, endotoxic septicemia, open heart surgery, renal failure and chronic cardiac decompensation as in refractory congestive failure.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Dopamine HCl infusions have been used in pediatric patients from birth through adolescence.”

    US prescribing information · 08f23f6e-150d-45ea-098e-f2edf64c21a1 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of dopamine did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · 08f23f6e-150d-45ea-098e-f2edf64c21a1 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no human data with dopamine use in pregnant women.”

    US prescribing information · 08f23f6e-150d-45ea-098e-f2edf64c21a1 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data regarding the presence of dopamine in human milk, the effects of dopamine on the breastfed infant, or the effects of the drug on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 08f23f6e-150d-45ea-098e-f2edf64c21a1 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as injectable, injection, solution, injection, solution, concentrate, liquid, given by the injection, intravenous, oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 84 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 32 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0409-7809 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as injection, injection, solution, injection, solution, concentrate, liquid, pellet and powder, taken intravenous and oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0409-7809 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is catecholamine [epc] and catecholamines [cs].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0409-7809 · read 2026-08-29

  • 54 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 24 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 9989b253-dcf5-7318-e053-2995a90a2890 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human otc drug and human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 9989b253-dcf5-7318-e053-2995a90a2890 · read 2026-08-29

  • 188 marketed supplement labels list this ingredient, classed as botanical with nutrients, other combinations and non-nutrient/non-botanical.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 214584 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels carry all other, nutrient and structure/function claims. A claim of that kind is written by the manufacturer and is not assessed by any regulator, so its presence says nothing about whether it is true.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 214584 · read 2026-08-29

  • Dopamine Hydrochloride in Dextrose is intravenous at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS The following strengths of Dopamine Hydrochloride in 5% Dextrose Injection, USP, are supplied in single-dose flexible plastic containers (the solutions are clear to slightly yellow in appear…, recorded as fda label in effect 2026-05-12 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 08f23f6e-150d-45ea-098e-f2edf64c21a1 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Dopamine studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

How much did people take in the studies?

The sources RNAWiki checked hold nothing for this field.

Why it matters. A result belongs to an amount. Without the amount the result floats free.

What would answer it

A stored source that records it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Dopamine are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 19 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 7 of them state the same volumeOfDistribution, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
VTD58H1Z2X

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 37 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA017395, approved 19740225 to HOSPIRA.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA017395 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA017395 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19840815.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0409-7809 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Dopamine label: indicated for what?


"Dopamine HCl Injection is indicated to improve hemodynamic status in patients in distributive shock or shock due to reduced cardiac output. Dopamine HCl Injection is a catecholamine indicated to improve hemodynamic status in patients in shock.": indications and usage on Dopamine's label. DailyMed label · 1f306ad2-3606-4525-5a8a-ce78f426c1a2 · 2026-05-13

36 registered trials of Dopamine — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
30 of 36

36 registered studies of Dopamine: 14 na, 9 phase4, 6 phase3, 4 phase1, 4 phase2, 1 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

4771 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • na
    14
  • phase4
    9
  • phase3
    6
  • phase1
    4
  • phase2
    4
  • na or unstated
    1
7 more recorded rows
  • completed
    15
  • unknown
    9
  • recruiting
    4
  • not yet recruiting
    3
  • terminated
    3
  • active not recruiting
    1
  • suspended
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

4 of Dopamine's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, other?


accrual/recruitment (3) and other (1): Dopamine's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"no further funding available for recruiting and testing participants"; 4 of 36 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00126087
    terminated; "no further funding available for recruiting and testing participants"
  • NCT01482559
    terminated; "Study ceased enrolling due to poor overall recruitment. Long-term follow up of enrolled participants ongoing."
  • NCT02428062
    suspended; "Pending Pilot study results evaluation"
  • NCT06611423
    terminated; "The Sponsor encountered difficulties in recruiting patients for clinical trial D8330C00004 and decided to end the study earlier for business reasons not affecting the benefit-risk balance."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Dopamine's half-life is 5 to 11 minutes — which schedules were studied?


5 to 11 minutes, the half-life Dopamine's label states: "The reported apparent volume of distribution in neonates was 0.6 to 4 L/kg, leading to an elimination half life of 5 to 11 minutes." DailyMed label · 1f306ad2-3606-4525-5a8a-ce78f426c1a2 · 2026-05-13

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    5 to 11 minutes; The reported apparent volume of distribution in neonates was 0.6 to 4 L/kg, leading to an elimination half life of 5 to 11 minutes.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism About 75% of dopamine is metabolized by monoamine oxidase (MAO) and catechol O‑methyl transferase (COMT) in the liver, kidney, and plasma to the inactive compounds homovanillic acid (HVA) and 3,4‑dihydroxyphenylacetic acid, and about 25% is metabolized to norepinephrine in the adrenergic nerve terminals.

recorded 2026-05-13 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Dopamine could settle lifespan?


NCT05347238 measures All cause in-hospital mortality, reading out 2027-03-31.

2 open trials; n 550; "Dopamine vs. Norepinephrine for Hypotension in Very Preterm Infants With Late-onset Sepsis"

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT05347238
    "Dopamine vs. Norepinephrine for Hypotension in Very Preterm Infants With Late-onset Sepsis"; n 550; "All cause in-hospital mortality"; 2027-03-31
  • NCT07667829
    "Vasopressor Agents in Pulmonary Hypertension Crisis"; n 75; "All-cause mortality within 28 days"; 2029-01-31

Which 7 trials of Dopamine posted no result?


Posted no result
7 of 7 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00874393, NCT01722630, NCT02053935, NCT02730117, NCT01279811 and NCT04536194, and 1 more
Completion dates
oldest 2011-12; newest 2023-09-01
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00874393
    2011-12
  • NCT01722630
    2012-10
  • NCT02053935
    2016-01
  • NCT02730117
    2017-07
  • NCT01279811
    2020-09-30
  • NCT04536194
    2021-09-30
  • 1 further recorded trial NCT06163352
    2023-09-01

At the median, Dopamine's trials enrolled 88 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
88
Largest enrolment
22435
Registered trials counted
36

What do 245 spontaneous reports say about Dopamine — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Dopamine appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 245 reaction mentions were counted: hypotension 60; therapy non-responder 26; cardiac arrest 24; metabolic acidosis 24. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1557 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • hypotension
    60
  • therapy non-responder
    26
  • cardiac arrest
    24
  • metabolic acidosis
    24
  • drug interaction
    20
  • shock
    20
4 more recorded rows
  • acute kidney injury
    19
  • cardiogenic shock
    18
  • bradycardia
    17
  • toxicity to various agents
    17

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Dopamine's label not list?


acute kidney injury, bradycardia and cardiac arrest and 7 more reported for Dopamine, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1557 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 1f306ad2-3606-4525-5a8a-ce78f426c1a2

Show the evidence
  • acute kidney injury
    count not stated
  • bradycardia
    count not stated
  • cardiac arrest
    count not stated
  • cardiogenic shock
    count not stated
  • drug interaction
    count not stated
  • hypotension
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • metabolic acidosis
    count not stated
  • shock
    count not stated
  • therapy non-responder
    count not stated
  • toxicity to various agents
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1557
PubChem CID
65340
CAS number
62-31-7
RxCUI
82010
InChIKey
VYFYYTLLBUKUHU-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
DOPAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE, Cardiosteril, Dopamini hydrochloridum, Inotropin, Tensamin, A-dopamine, Dobutamine a, Dopamina, Medopa, Oxytyramine, low-dose dopamine, DOPAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE [EP MONOGRAPH]
Development code
ASL-279, NSC-169105, NSC-173182
Salt form
Dopamine hcl, Dopamine Hydrochloride in Dextrose 5% in Plastic Container, Dopamine Hydrochloride in Dextrose, Dopamine Hydrochloride in Dextrose 5%, Dopamine Hydrochloride and Dextrose, Dopamine Hydrochloride / Dopamine Hydrochloride in Dextrose 5% in Plastic Container / Dopamine Hydrochloride in Dextrose / Intropin / Dopamine Hydrochloride in Dextrose 5% / Dopamine Hci in 5% Dextrose
Trade name
Dopamin-natterman, Dopmin, Dynatra, Intropin, Neoatricon, Sabax dopamin, Selectajet, Dopamine Hci in 5% Dextrose, DOPAMINE HCI, DOPAMINE PHENOLIC, Dopamine 1515
Sources (5)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 5 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.