Skip to content

Dinoprostone

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Dinoprostone does in the body

CERVIDIL is indicated for the initiation and/or continuation of cervical ripening in pregnant women at or near term in whom there is a medical or obstetrical indication for the induction of labor.

From the FDA-approved label: Dinoprostone is found in low concentrations in most tissues of the body and functions as a local hormone. In pregnancy, dinoprostone is secreted continuously by the fetal membranes and placenta and plays an important role in the final events leading to the initiation of labor including cervical ripening. Dinoprostone stimulates the production of prostaglandin F 2α ( PGF 2α), which sensitizes the myometrium to endogenous or exogenously administered oxytocin. Available evidence indicates that dinoprostone, in the concentrations found during the early part of labor, plays an important role in cervical ripening without affecting uterine contractions.

Why people take it. CERVIDIL is indicated for the initiation and/or continuation of cervical ripening in pregnant women at or near term in whom there is a medical or obstetrical indication for the induction of labor.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · K7Q1JQR04M · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C20H32O5, weighing 352.47.

    US prescribing information · f3bc9031-0620-4a50-b440-f661cadfeb1d · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 175 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Maternal oral and tympanic temperature

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01708668
How many people
12000
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Vaginal

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Cesarean for all indications

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01765881
How many people
1700
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Vaginal

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Cesarean delivery rate

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04949633
How many people
1494
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Vaginal

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Time to Vaginal Delivery During the First Hospital Admission

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01127581
How many people
1358
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Vaginal

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Minutes From Drug Insertion to Vaginal Delivery

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00308711
How many people
1308
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Vaginal

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Caesarean section rate for non-reassuring fetal status.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02907060
How many people
1224
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Vaginal

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • CERVIDIL is indicated for the initiation and/or continuation of cervical ripening in pregnant women at or near term in whom there is a medical or obstetrical indication for the induction of labor. CERVIDIL is a prostaglandin analog indicated for the initiation and/or continuation of cervical ripening in pregnant women at or near term in whom there is a medical or obstetrical indication for the induction of labor.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of CERVIDIL have not been established in pregnant girls.”

    US prescribing information · f3bc9031-0620-4a50-b440-f661cadfeb1d · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary CERVIDIL is indicated for the initiation and/or continuation of cervical ripening in pregnant women at or near term in whom there is a medical or obstetrical indication for the induction of labor.”

    US prescribing information · f3bc9031-0620-4a50-b440-f661cadfeb1d · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary Concomitant administration of CERVIDIL is not indicated in breastfeeding women.”

    US prescribing information · f3bc9031-0620-4a50-b440-f661cadfeb1d · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Vaginal

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as suppository, gel, insert, extended release, insert, given by the vaginal, endocervical route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Vaginal

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 7 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 7 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 68245-0015 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as gel, insert and powder, taken vaginal.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 68245-0015 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is prostaglandin analog [epc] and prostaglandins [cs].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 68245-0015 · read 2026-08-29

  • 2 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 2 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · f3bc9031-0620-4a50-b440-f661cadfeb1d · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · f3bc9031-0620-4a50-b440-f661cadfeb1d · read 2026-08-29

  • CERVIDIL is vaginal at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Vaginal Insert: 10 mg of dinoprostone (release rate approximately 0.3 mg/hour up to 12 hours) in a hydrogel polymer., recorded as fda label in effect 2023-06-02 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · f3bc9031-0620-4a50-b440-f661cadfeb1d · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Dinoprostone studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Dinoprostone are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
K7Q1JQR04M
RxNorm concept
597957

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 3 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA017810, approved 19770823 to PFIZER.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA017810 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA017810 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19921209.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 68245-0015 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Dinoprostone label: indicated for what?


"CERVIDIL is indicated for the initiation and/or continuation of cervical ripening in pregnant women at or near term in whom there is a medical or obstetrical indication for the induction of labor. CERVIDIL is a prostaglandin analog indicated for the initiation and/or continuation of cervical ripening in pregnant women…": indications and usage on Dinoprostone's label. DailyMed label · f3bc9031-0620-4a50-b440-f661cadfeb1d · 2023-06-02

67 registered trials of Dinoprostone — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
59 of 67

67 registered studies of Dinoprostone: 25 na, 18 phase4, 15 phase3, 8 phase2, 2 na or unstated, 1 phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

200 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • na
    25
  • phase4
    18
  • phase3
    15
  • phase2
    8
  • na or unstated
    2
  • phase1
    1
5 more recorded rows
  • completed
    42
  • unknown
    16
  • terminated
    5
  • recruiting
    3
  • active not recruiting
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

5 of Dinoprostone's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


accrual/recruitment (2), funding/business (1) and other (2): Dinoprostone's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Study was early terminated due to problems enrolling adequate number of patients"; 5 of 67 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01190163
    terminated; "Study was early terminated due to problems enrolling adequate number of patients"
  • NCT02649920
    terminated; "Delayed inclusion"
  • NCT02888041
    terminated; "Not enough patients"
  • NCT02956785
    terminated; "Inability to recruit more women because of the COVID-19 and staffing/resources issues"
  • NCT05622968
    terminated; "Poor recruitment"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Dinoprostone used 10 mg dinoprostone vaginal insert — over how long?


Human studies of Dinoprostone used "10 mg dinoprostone vaginal insert". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

12 recorded entries; human; vaginal; also "Dinoprostone 10mg", "Propess-vaginal-insert (Dinoprostone 10mg), Ferring Arzneimittel Ges.m.b.H., 1100 Vienna, Austria", "Propess, (Dinoprostone 10mg), Ferring Arzneimittel Ges.m.b.H., 1100 Vienna, Austria"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00308711
    vaginal; 10 mg dinoprostone vaginal insert
  • NCT01596296
    Dinoprostone 10mg
  • NCT01720394
    vaginal; Propess-vaginal-insert (Dinoprostone 10mg), Ferring Arzneimittel Ges.m.b.H., 1100 Vienna, Austria
  • NCT01720394
    Propess, (Dinoprostone 10mg), Ferring Arzneimittel Ges.m.b.H., 1100 Vienna, Austria
  • NCT02036437
    Dinoprostone 3 mg
  • NCT02956785
    10 mg Dinoprostone; CTS, UK
6 more recorded rows
  • human NCT02956785
    vaginal; 3 mg Dinoprostone vaginal tablet; Pfizer, UK
  • human NCT03111316
    Cervidil 10 MG Vaginal Insert
  • human NCT04280874
    Dinoprostone 0.5 MG
  • human NCT04280874
    Dinoprostone 2 MG/2.5 ML Vaginal Gel/Jelly
  • human NCT04747301
    Dinoprostone 10mg (Propess)
  • human NCT07261332
    0.5mg PGE2 gel

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Dinoprostone's half-life is 2.5 to 5 minutes — which schedules were studied?


2.5 to 5 minutes, the half-life Dinoprostone's label states: "Dinoprostone is metabolized in the tissues of synthesis with the half-life estimated to be 2.5 to 5 minutes." DailyMed label · f3bc9031-0620-4a50-b440-f661cadfeb1d · 2023-06-02

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    2.5 to 5 minutes; Dinoprostone is metabolized in the tissues of synthesis with the half-life estimated to be 2.5 to 5 minutes.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Dinoprostone is metabolized in the tissues of synthesis with the half-life estimated to be 2.5 to 5 minutes.

recorded 2023-06-02 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 32 trials of Dinoprostone posted no result?


Posted no result
32 of 32 completed trials
Registrations
NCT03489928, NCT00602095, NCT00504465, NCT00355966, NCT01384812 and NCT00355303, and 26 more
Completion dates
oldest 2000-12-01; newest 2024-06-10
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT03489928
    2000-12-01
  • NCT00602095
    2007-03
  • NCT00504465
    2007-04
  • NCT00355966
    2008-09
  • NCT01384812
    2011-07
  • NCT00355303
    2013-05
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01765881
    2015-09
  • NCT01962831
    2016-06
  • NCT02856724
    2016-10
  • NCT03320187
    2017-09-21
  • NCT01596296
    2017-10
  • NCT03744364
    2017-11-01
  • NCT02861079
    2017-12-25
  • NCT03067597
    2018-02-24
  • NCT02416583
    2018-07
  • NCT03067727
    2018-08-30
  • NCT02618096
    2018-10
  • NCT03686085
    2019-03-10
  • NCT04079140
    2019-12-10
  • NCT04045548
    2020-01-05

At the median, Dinoprostone's trials enrolled 162 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
162
Largest enrolment
1700
Registered trials counted
66

What do 273 spontaneous reports say about Dinoprostone — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Dinoprostone appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 273 reaction mentions were counted: caesarean section 52; uterine hyperstimulation 35; premature separation of placenta 31; uterine hypertonus 30. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL548 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • caesarean section
    52
  • uterine hyperstimulation
    35
  • premature separation of placenta
    31
  • uterine hypertonus
    30
  • postpartum haemorrhage
    26
  • uterine rupture
    22
4 more recorded rows
  • disseminated intravascular coagulation
    22
  • foetal heart rate deceleration abnormality
    20
  • foetal distress syndrome
    19
  • apgar score low
    16

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Dinoprostone's label not list?


apgar score low, caesarean section and disseminated intravascular coagulation and 7 more reported for Dinoprostone, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL548 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; f3bc9031-0620-4a50-b440-f661cadfeb1d

Show the evidence
  • apgar score low
    count not stated
  • caesarean section
    count not stated
  • disseminated intravascular coagulation
    count not stated
  • foetal distress syndrome
    count not stated
  • foetal heart rate deceleration abnormality
    count not stated
  • postpartum haemorrhage
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • premature separation of placenta
    count not stated
  • uterine hyperstimulation
    count not stated
  • uterine hypertonus
    count not stated
  • uterine rupture
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL548
PubChem CID
5280360
CAS number
363-24-6
RxCUI
3478
InChIKey
XEYBRNLFEZDVAW-ARSRFYASSA-N
Trade name
Cervidil, Prepidil, Propess, Prostin e2, Prepidil / Cervidil / Prostin E2, Cerviprime, Cerviprost
Also called
Dinoprostona, Enzaprost e, Minprostin e2, Prostaglandin e2, controlled release dinoprostone, dinoprostone vaginal insert, pge2, pge2 vaginal insert, prostin, vaginal dinoprostone, Alprostadil Impurity G [EP IMPURITY], DINOPROSTONE [EP MONOGRAPH]
Japanese name
Dinoprostone beta-cyclodextrin clathrate
Development code
NSC-165560, NSC-196514, U-12,062, U-12062
Salt form
pge2 gel
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.