Skip to content

Diazepam

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Diazepam does in the body

Entry of chloride ions causes an inhibitory potential that reduces the ability of neurons to depolarize to the threshold potential necessary to produce action potentials.

From the FDA-approved label: Although the precise mechanism by which diazepam exerts its antiseizure effects is unknown, animal and in vitro studies suggest that diazepam acts to suppress seizures through an interaction with γ-aminobutyric acid (GABA) receptors of the A-type (GABA A ). GABA, the major inhibitory neurotransmitter in the central nervous system (CNS), acts at this receptor to open the membrane channel allowing chloride ions to flow into neurons. Excessive depolarization of neurons is implicated in the generation and spread of seizures.

Why people take it. Anxiety disorders for the short-term relief of the symptoms of anxiety

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · Q3JTX2Q7TU · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C16H13ClN2O, weighing 284.7 g/mol.

    US prescribing information · 1a8bcc90-68fa-474d-832c-0df01e825f39 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

A person wrote this explanation into the record, with the studies named in the path below.

The recorded use, written for a reader without medical training. Not signed off.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 129 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

AIM 1. Test CHATO's effects on Behavioral and Psychological Symptoms of Dementia (BPSD) - Change in MDS E0200 at 3 and 6 months

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04610944
How many people
5043
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Test CHATO's effects on Behavioral and Psychological Symptoms of Dementia (BPSD) - Change in MDS E0200 pre/post intervention

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06636214
How many people
1200
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Visual analogue scale (VAS)-3H

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06293989
How many people
1000
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Area Under the Serial FEV1-time Curve (AUC 0-12h)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02260492
How many people
879
Study design
Phase 1
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Superiority of mean change in the percentage of TIR [3.9-10.0 mmol/L (70-180 mg/dL)]

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06671587
How many people
678
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of patient who needed additional IV medication for cataract surgery

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03653520
How many people
651
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Diazepam is indicated for the management of anxiety disorders for the short-term relief of the symptoms of anxiety. Anxiety or tension associated with the stress of everyday life usually does not require treatment with an anxiolytic.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness of VALTOCO in pediatric patients below the age of 2 years have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 1a8bcc90-68fa-474d-832c-0df01e825f39 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of VALTOCO did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · 1a8bcc90-68fa-474d-832c-0df01e825f39 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in women exposed to antiepileptic drugs (AEDs), such as VALTOCO, during pregnancy.”

    US prescribing information · 1a8bcc90-68fa-474d-832c-0df01e825f39 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary Diazepam is excreted in human milk.”

    US prescribing information · 1a8bcc90-68fa-474d-832c-0df01e825f39 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, injectable, concentrate, capsule, extended release, given by the oral, injection, rectal route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 141 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 141 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71610-270 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as gel, injection, injection, solution, powder, solution and solution, concentrate, taken intramuscular, intravenous, nasal and oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71610-270 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is benzodiazepine [epc] and benzodiazepines [cs].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71610-270 · read 2026-08-29

  • 90 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 90 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 1a8bcc90-68fa-474d-832c-0df01e825f39 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 1a8bcc90-68fa-474d-832c-0df01e825f39 · read 2026-08-29

  • Valtoco is nasal at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS VALTOCO is available in 5 mg, 7.5 mg, and 10 mg strengths., recorded as fda label in effect 2026-06-03 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 1a8bcc90-68fa-474d-832c-0df01e825f39 · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 0.02162–208.11817 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 40 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

  • Recorded price in US: 0.10847–1.05086 USD per one millilitre, across 3 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Diazepam studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Diazepam are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 89 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 61 of them state the same tMax, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 61 of them state the same proteinBinding, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
Q3JTX2Q7TU
RxNorm concept
2272613

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 100 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA013263, approved 19631115 to WAYLIS THERAP.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA013263 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued, none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA013263 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19631115.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 71610-270 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (11)

On the Diazepam label: indicated for what?


"INDICATIONS Valium is indicated for the management of anxiety disorders or for the short- term relief of the symptoms of anxiety. Anxiety or tension associated with the stress of everyday life usually does not require treatment with an anxiolytic.": indications and usage on Diazepam's label. DailyMed label · 260e2041-2bb3-482f-850e-b5d47a7bdbe6 · 2026-08-11

62 registered trials of Diazepam — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
41 of 62

62 registered studies of Diazepam: 19 phase2, 15 na, 13 phase4, 10 phase3, 6 phase1, 3 early phase1, 3 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

2339 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    19
  • na
    15
  • phase4
    13
  • phase3
    10
  • phase1
    6
  • early phase1
    3
6 more recorded rows
  • na or unstated
    3
  • completed
    43
  • terminated
    8
  • unknown
    7
  • recruiting
    2
  • withdrawn
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

3 of Diazepam's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment?


accrual/recruitment (3): Diazepam's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Lack of enrollment"; 3 of 62 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02904265
    terminated; "Lack of enrollment"
  • NCT04216797
    withdrawn; "Enrollment was initially suspended due to COVID pandemic. As the number of cases subsided, enrollment was reopened but never regained momentum. PI has left the site."
  • NCT05361447
    withdrawn; "Study population was difficult to identify for enrollment interest."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Diazepam used Apo-Diazepam 5mg and 2mg — over how long?


studies of Diazepam used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

11 recorded entries; human; tablet, vaginal; also "Apo-Diazepam 5mg and 2mg", "Diazepam tablet, 5 mg, vaginal", "Diazepam Suppository, 5 mg, vaginal"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT01675648
    Apo-Diazepam 5mg and 2mg
  • NCT01696825
    tablet; Diazepam tablet, 5 mg, vaginal
  • NCT01696825
    vaginal; Diazepam Suppository, 5 mg, vaginal
  • NCT01696825
    Diazepam Cream, 5 mg, Vaginal
  • NCT02177955
    10 mg diazepam
  • NCT02935972
    Diazepam and Lidocaine 1%
5 more recorded rows
  • human NCT03165500
    Diazepam 5mg
  • human NCT03293017
    Diazepam 10 MG
  • human NCT04570436
    diazepam 20 mg
  • human NCT06190483
    Diazepam 5 Mg Oral Tablet
  • human NCT06293989
    Diazepam 10 mg

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Diazepam's half-life is 1 hour — which schedules were studied?


1 hour, the half-life Diazepam's label states: "The initial distribution phase has a half-life of approximately 1 hour, although it may range up to >3 hours." DailyMed label · 260e2041-2bb3-482f-850e-b5d47a7bdbe6 · 2026-08-11

tmax 1 – 1.5 hours.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    1 hour; The initial distribution phase has a half-life of approximately 1 hour, although it may range up to >3 hours.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    1 – 1.5 hours; Absorption After oral administration >90% of diazepam is absorbed and the average time to achieve peak plasma concentrations is 1 – 1.5 hours with a range of 0.25 to 2.5 hours.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Diazepam is N-demethylated by CYP3A4 and 2C19 to the active metabolite N-desmethyldiazepam, and is hydroxylated by CYP3A4 to the active metabolite temazepam.

recorded 2026-08-11 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Diazepam could settle lifespan?


NCT05715229 measures Progression Free Survival (PFS), reading out 2027-04-28.

1 open trial; n 108; "Immune Profile Selection By Fraction of ctDNA in Patients With Advanced NSCLC Treated With Immunotherapy"

Show the evidence
  • Trial NCT05715229
    "Immune Profile Selection By Fraction of ctDNA in Patients With Advanced NSCLC Treated With Immunotherapy"; n 108; "Progression Free Survival (PFS)"; 2027-04-28

Which 27 trials of Diazepam posted no result?


Posted no result
27 of 27 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00004297, NCT00523185, NCT00127257, NCT00696033, NCT01939093 and NCT00621478, and 21 more
Completion dates
oldest 1999-02; newest 2023-03-24
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00004297
    1999-02
  • NCT00523185
    2004-11
  • NCT00127257
    2006-06
  • NCT00696033
    2008-12
  • NCT01939093
    2011-09
  • NCT00621478
    2012-05
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01438749
    2012-05
  • NCT02177955
    2012-09
  • NCT01759706
    2013-01
  • NCT01318369
    2013-05
  • NCT02935972
    2015-01
  • NCT01675648
    2015-07
  • NCT01652326
    2015-09
  • NCT02769390
    2015-11
  • NCT04777552
    2016-05
  • NCT02663999
    2016-06
  • NCT02242955
    2016-07
  • NCT03996564
    2016-12-12
  • NCT03165500
    2017-05-04
  • NCT03653520
    2017-11-04

At the median, Diazepam's trials enrolled 65.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
65.5
Largest enrolment
46899
Registered trials counted
62

What do 9134 spontaneous reports say about Diazepam — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Diazepam appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 9134 reaction mentions were counted: drug abuse 1525; somnolence 1374; coma 1310; toxicity to various agents 1171. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL12 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug abuse
    1525
  • somnolence
    1374
  • coma
    1310
  • toxicity to various agents
    1171
  • suicide attempt
    879
  • hypotension
    668
4 more recorded rows
  • drug dependence
    625
  • sopor
    561
  • confusional state
    547
  • agitation
    474

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Diazepam's label not list?


agitation, coma and confusional state and 7 more reported for Diazepam, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL12 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 1a8bcc90-68fa-474d-832c-0df01e825f39

Show the evidence
  • agitation
    count not stated
  • coma
    count not stated
  • confusional state
    count not stated
  • drug abuse
    count not stated
  • drug dependence
    count not stated
  • hypotension
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • somnolence
    count not stated
  • sopor
    count not stated
  • suicide attempt
    count not stated
  • toxicity to various agents
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Diazepam and CYP3A4 and CYTOCHROME P450: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4 and CYTOCHROME P450 appear in Diazepam's recorded interaction sentences, 3 in all. DailyMed label · 260e2041-2bb3-482f-850e-b5d47a7bdbe6 · 2026-08-11

CYP3A4; 1 shared nodes; drug_interactions, pharmacokinetics, clinical_pharmacology

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Compounds Which Inhibit Certain Hepatic Enzymes There is a potentially relevant interaction between diazepam and compounds which inhibit certain hepatic enzymes (particularly cytochrome P450 3A and 2C19).
  • pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Diazepam is N-demethylated by CYP3A4 and 2C19 to the active metabolite N-desmethyldiazepam, and is hydroxylated by CYP3A4 to the active metabolite temazepam.
  • clinical_pharmacology
    Metabolism Diazepam is N-demethylated by CYP3A4 and 2C19 to the active metabolite N-desmethyldiazepam, and is hydroxylated by CYP3A4 to the active metabolite temazepam.
  • CYP3A4
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2026-08-11 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL12
PubChem CID
3016
CAS number
439-14-5
RxCUI
3322
InChIKey
AAOVKJBEBIDNHE-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Trade name
Alupram 10, Alupram 2, Alupram 5, Apozepam, Atensine, Dialar, Dialar fte, Diastat, Diastat acudial, Diazepam intensol, Dizac, E-pam
Also called
Ansiolisina, Centrazepam, Diacepin, Diazepam civ, Libervant, Nrl-1, Servizepam, Tranquase, benzodiazepines, dbf, diazepam buccal film, Diazepam CIV [USP-RS]
Development code
LA III, NSC-169897, NSC-77518, RO 5-2807, RO-52807, WY-3467
Salt form
diazepam nasal spray, DIAZEPAM ORAL, DIAZEPAM ORAL SOLUTION (CONCENTRATE)
Sources (7)

Sources

1 more source

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 7 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.