Skip to content

Dehydrated Alcohol

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Dehydrated Alcohol does in the body

Dehydrated alcohol injection is indicated to induce controlled cardiac septal infarction to improve exercise capacity in adults with symptomatic hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy who are not candidates for surgical myectomy.

From the FDA-approved label: Dehydrated alcohol is a tissue toxin that produces a myocardial infarction when injected through an intra-arterial catheter into a target septal vessel, which causes the hypertrophied septum to thin.

Why people take it. Dehydrated alcohol injection is indicated to induce controlled cardiac septal infarction to improve exercise capacity in adults with symptomatic hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy who are not candidates for surgical myectomy.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 3K9958V90M · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C2H6O, weighing 46.07.

    US prescribing information · 372d3eb5-78ee-414c-a146-4a19e2266184 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 102 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Incidence of suicide attempts (completed suicides and suicide attempts except mild case )

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00737165
How many people
1951060
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intra-arterial

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Vulcan QAIAx v4.0x (Beta ISAC) for AI-119 and AI Wat (1498) patent series for Private, Public, and Military sectors (Change from Baseline in Participant Lifestyle Efficiency, Behavioral Stability, & Sovereign Resource Allocation via Vulcan QAIAx v4.0)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT07661823
How many people
1000000
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intra-arterial

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Proportion of patients screened for alcohol

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01135654
How many people
639613
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intra-arterial

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Rate of new drug use disorder treatment using modified HEDIS criteria.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06249542
How many people
363936
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intra-arterial

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Nosocomial MRSA isolation rate (expressed as the monthly rate of MRSA in clinical isolates divided by the number of susceptible patients per hundred)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00685867
How many people
126750
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intra-arterial

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Fragility fracture

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02536898
How many people
94260
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intra-arterial

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Dehydrated alcohol injection is indicated to induce controlled cardiac septal infarction to improve exercise capacity in adults with symptomatic hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy who are not candidates for surgical myectomy.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 372d3eb5-78ee-414c-a146-4a19e2266184 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “A comparison of the outcomes in patients with hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy in patients < 60 years old and in patients ≥ 60 years old showed similar improvement in exercise capacity after ablation.”

    US prescribing information · 372d3eb5-78ee-414c-a146-4a19e2266184 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary The concentrations of alcohol in blood after PTSMA were not measured, but dehydrated alcohol injection, is not expected to increase significantly the systemic concentrations of endogenous alcohol following administration into a septal artery during percutaneous transluminal septal myocardial ablation.”

    US prescribing information · 372d3eb5-78ee-414c-a146-4a19e2266184 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Dehydrated alcohol injection is not expected to increase significantly the systemic concentrations of endogenous alcohol following administration into a septal artery during percutaneous transluminal septal myocardial ablation and breastfeeding is not expected to result in exposure of the child to the drug.”

    US prescribing information · 372d3eb5-78ee-414c-a146-4a19e2266184 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Intra-arterial

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as solution, injection, solution, given by the intra-arterial, intravenous, percutaneous route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Intra-arterial

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 1 product lists this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 1 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50742-539 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as injection, solution, taken percutaneous.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50742-539 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 1d5ec6f9-d58f-4651-a4a1-93fec13fd438 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 1d5ec6f9-d58f-4651-a4a1-93fec13fd438 · read 2026-08-29

  • 10226 marketed supplement labels list this ingredient, classed as botanical and other combinations.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 263423 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels carry all other and structure/function claims. A claim of that kind is written by the manufacturer and is not assessed by any regulator, so its presence says nothing about whether it is true.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 263423 · read 2026-08-29

  • Dehydrated Alcohol is percutaneous at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Injection: 5 mL of ethyl alcohol ≥ 99% by volume as a clear, colorless liquid in a single-dose glass vial., recorded as fda label in effect 2025-12-17 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 372d3eb5-78ee-414c-a146-4a19e2266184 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Dehydrated Alcohol studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Dehydrated Alcohol are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
3K9958V90M
RxNorm concept
2048982

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 6 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA207987, approved 20180621 to BPI LABS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA207987 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA207987 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20250709.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50742-539 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (8)

On the Dehydrated Alcohol label: indicated for what?


"Dehydrated alcohol injection is indicated to induce controlled cardiac septal infarction to improve exercise capacity in adults with symptomatic hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy who are not candidates for surgical myectomy. Dehydrated alcohol injection is an ablative agent indicated to induce controlled cardiac…": indications and usage on Dehydrated Alcohol's label. DailyMed label · 1d5ec6f9-d58f-4651-a4a1-93fec13fd438 · 2025-07-11

199 registered trials of Dehydrated Alcohol — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
153 of 199

199 registered studies of Dehydrated Alcohol: 78 na, 55 phase1, 26 phase2, 18 phase3, 14 early phase1, 11 phase4, 8 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

4 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • na
    78
  • phase1
    55
  • phase2
    26
  • phase3
    18
  • early phase1
    14
  • phase4
    11
10 more recorded rows
  • na or unstated
    8
  • completed
    124
  • recruiting
    25
  • unknown
    17
  • terminated
    12
  • active not recruiting
    8
  • not yet recruiting
    5
  • withdrawn
    5
  • suspended
    2
  • enrolling by invitation
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

16 of Dehydrated Alcohol's trials stopped: safety, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


safety (1), accrual/recruitment (6), funding/business (2) and other (7): Dehydrated Alcohol's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"poor recruitment"; 16 of 199 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00437606
    terminated; "poor recruitment"
  • NCT00680459
    terminated; "inability to enroll adequate number of patients"
  • NCT01057355
    withdrawn; "slow accural"
  • NCT01101412
    withdrawn; "Study was not opened."
  • NCT01229592
    terminated; "The non significative reduction of CRBSI adverse events,the need for a high frecuency of catheter manipulations"
  • NCT01525706
    terminated; "Poor recruitment"
10 further recorded trials
  • NCT01974284
    terminated; "Lack of patient enrollment"
  • NCT02227329
    terminated; "Publication of guidelines advising against the use of ethanol locks."
  • NCT02488889
    withdrawn; "Investigator left institution prior to enrollment of study participants"
  • NCT03085004
    terminated; "Grant ended"
  • NCT03169530
    terminated; "NIH decision"
  • NCT03736343
    terminated; "The COVID-19 outbreak began, precluding further participant recruitment for this protocol, which could only be conducted in-person. A decision was made that ample data was available to end data collection earlier than anticipated."
  • NCT05273658
    withdrawn; "Termination of funding"
  • NCT05935644
    suspended; "Lapse in funding"
  • NCT06091189
    terminated; "Does not align with current administration priorities."
  • NCT06143059
    suspended; "PI transferring work elsewhere"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Dehydrated Alcohol used alcohol(0.02%, 0.05%, 0.08% and 0.10%) and placebo — over how long?


Human studies of Dehydrated Alcohol used "alcohol(0.02%, 0.05%, 0.08% and 0.10%) and placebo". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

4 recorded entries; human; also "25% ethanol", "70% ethanol", "10 g ethanol"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00477984
    alcohol(0.02%, 0.05%, 0.08% and 0.10%) and placebo
  • NCT00948441
    25% ethanol
  • NCT01472965
    70% ethanol
  • NCT02311686
    10 g ethanol

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 75 trials of Dehydrated Alcohol posted no result?


Posted no result
75 of 75 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00001925, NCT00037141, NCT00666796, NCT00167115, NCT00247585 and NCT00477984, and 69 more
Completion dates
oldest 2002-07; newest 2024-08-31
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00001925
    2002-07
  • NCT00037141
    2004-03
  • NCT00666796
    2005-05
  • NCT00167115
    2005-09
  • NCT00247585
    2006-06
  • NCT00477984
    2008-03
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00652405
    2008-07
  • NCT00887367
    2008-12-03
  • NCT00720551
    2009-02
  • NCT01054859
    2010-01
  • NCT00471679
    2010-02
  • NCT00616746
    2010-06
  • NCT01788670
    2010-06
  • NCT00967421
    2010-11
  • NCT00888342
    2011-07
  • NCT01426022
    2011-12
  • NCT01097213
    2012-04
  • NCT00681655
    2012-04-14
  • NCT00784433
    2012-05
  • NCT01708369
    2012-05

At the median, Dehydrated Alcohol's trials enrolled 40 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
40
Largest enrolment
1460
Registered trials counted
197

What do 3205 spontaneous reports say about Dehydrated Alcohol — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Dehydrated Alcohol appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 3205 reaction mentions were counted: suicide attempt 635; drug abuse 403; toxicity to various agents 353; somnolence 349. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL545 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • suicide attempt
    635
  • drug abuse
    403
  • toxicity to various agents
    353
  • somnolence
    349
  • hypotension
    291
  • coma
    289
4 more recorded rows
  • vomiting
    265
  • tachycardia
    237
  • alcohol abuse
    198
  • agitation
    185

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Dehydrated Alcohol's label not list?


agitation, alcohol abuse and coma and 7 more reported for Dehydrated Alcohol, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL545 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 1d5ec6f9-d58f-4651-a4a1-93fec13fd438

Show the evidence
  • agitation
    count not stated
  • alcohol abuse
    count not stated
  • coma
    count not stated
  • drug abuse
    count not stated
  • hypotension
    count not stated
  • somnolence
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • suicide attempt
    count not stated
  • tachycardia
    count not stated
  • toxicity to various agents
    count not stated
  • vomiting
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL545
PubChem CID
702
CAS number
64-17-5
RxCUI
448
InChIKey
LFQSCWFLJHTTHZ-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
ALCOHOL, Alcohol 190 proof, Alcohol 95%, Alcohol, absolute, Alcohol, dehydrated, Alcohol denat., Alcohol denatured, Alcohol determination--alcohol, Alcohol,ethyl, Alcohol,sda, Alcoholum, Dehydrated ethanol
Trade name
Ablysinol, Alcohol component of avagard, Alcohol component of hbn-1 ethanol, Methylated mineral, Spirigel, Surg
Salt form
Alcohol anhydrous, Anhydrous ethanol, Ethanol, anhydrous
Development code
B3324, FEMA NO. 2419, NCI-C03134, NSC-85228, PM-6193-200
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.