Skip to content

Deferasirox

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Deferasirox does in the body

Chronic iron overload due to blood transfusions

From the FDA-approved label: Deferasirox tablets for oral suspension are an orally active chelator that is selective for iron (as Fe 3+ ). It is a tridentate ligand that binds iron with high affinity in a 2:1 ratio. Although deferasirox has very low affinity for zinc and copper there are variable decreases in the serum concentration of these trace metals after the administration of deferasirox. The clinical significance of these decreases is uncertain.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · V8G4MOF2V9 · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C21H15N3O4, weighing 373.4 g/mol.

    US prescribing information · e365e748-4b61-94f2-fb7a-f81919eaccaa · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 93 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

To evaluate if fixed starting doses of ICL670, based on transfusion history and subsequent dose titration can provide clinically acceptable chelation as measured by serum ferritin

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00171821
How many people
1784
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Safety Profile of Deferasirox Based Upon Drug Administration and Reporting of Serious Adverse Events

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00235391
How many people
1683
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Demonstrate non-inferiority to deferoxamine in its effects on liver iron content (LIC)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00061750
How many people
595
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Long Term Safety and Tolerability Profile of ICL670 Based on the Number of Participants Who Experienced Any Adverse Event

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00171210
How many people
506
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Successfully Chelated Patients

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01825512
How many people
435
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

F 2 -isoprostanes pg/mL

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04292314
How many people
350
Study design
Phase 2/Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Deferasirox tablets are an iron chelator indicated for the treatment of chronic iron overload due to blood transfusions in patients 2 years of age and older. ( 1.1 ) Deferasirox tablets are indicated for the treatment of chronic iron overload in patients 10 years of age and older with non-transfusion-dependent thalassemia (NTDT) syndromes, and with a liver iron (Fe) concentration (LIC) of at least 5 mg Fe per gram…

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness have not been established in pediatric patients less than 2 years of age for the treatment of transfusional iron overload.”

    US prescribing information · e365e748-4b61-94f2-fb7a-f81919eaccaa · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Four hundred thirty-one (431) patients greater than or equal to 65 years of age were studied in clinical trials of deferasirox in the transfusional iron overload setting.”

    US prescribing information · e365e748-4b61-94f2-fb7a-f81919eaccaa · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no studies with the use of deferasirox in pregnant women to inform drug-associated risks.”

    US prescribing information · e365e748-4b61-94f2-fb7a-f81919eaccaa · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “Avoid the use of deferasirox in patients with severe (Child-Pugh C) hepatic impairment.”

    US prescribing information · e365e748-4b61-94f2-fb7a-f81919eaccaa · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “Deferasirox is contraindicated in patients with eGFR less than 40 mL/min/1.73 m 2 [ see Contraindications (4)].”

    US prescribing information · e365e748-4b61-94f2-fb7a-f81919eaccaa · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, tablet, for suspension, granule, tablet, film coated, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 113 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 113 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72205-389 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as granule, powder, tablet, tablet, film coated and tablet, for suspension, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72205-389 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is cytochrome p450 1a2 inhibitors [moa], cytochrome p450 2c8 inhibitors [moa] and cytochrome p450 3a4 inducers [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72205-389 · read 2026-08-29

  • 32 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 32 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · e365e748-4b61-94f2-fb7a-f81919eaccaa · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · e365e748-4b61-94f2-fb7a-f81919eaccaa · read 2026-08-29

  • Deferasirox is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS • 125 mg tablets White to off white, round, flat, uncoated tablets, with debossing “D” on one side and “125” on other side. • 250 mg tablets White to off white, round, flat, uncoated tablets…, recorded as fda label in effect 2020-12-30 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · e365e748-4b61-94f2-fb7a-f81919eaccaa · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 0.875–1.33993 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 15 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Deferasirox studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Deferasirox are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 31 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
V8G4MOF2V9
RxNorm concept
597768

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 38 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA021882, approved 20051102 to NOVARTIS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021882 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021882 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20051130.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72205-389 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (11)

On the Deferasirox label: indicated for what?


"Deferasirox is an iron chelator indicated for the treatment of chronic iron overload due to blood transfusions in patients 2 years of age and older. ( 1.1 ) Deferasirox is indicated for the treatment of chronic iron overload in patients 10 years of age and older with non-transfusion-dependent thalassemia (NTDT)…": indications and usage on Deferasirox's label. DailyMed label · 2c2842a0-7781-4047-84cd-88bd018e10c7 · 2026-06-18

88 registered trials of Deferasirox — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
48 of 88

88 registered studies of Deferasirox: 44 phase2, 18 phase4, 11 phase3, 10 phase1, 5 na, 5 na or unstated, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

152 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    44
  • phase4
    18
  • phase3
    11
  • phase1
    10
  • na
    5
  • na or unstated
    5
6 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    1
  • completed
    61
  • terminated
    13
  • unknown
    7
  • withdrawn
    5
  • recruiting
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

14 of Deferasirox's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, other?


accrual/recruitment (11) and other (3): Deferasirox's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Due to slow accrual of patients"; 14 of 88 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00602446
    terminated; "Due to slow accrual of patients"
  • NCT00981370
    terminated; "1 consented patient never started on study drug, lost to follow up"
  • NCT01058369
    terminated; "Insufficient patient recruitment (only 2 patients)"
  • NCT01159067
    terminated; "Low enrollment"
  • NCT01326845
    terminated; "The trial was terminated due to insufficient enrollment."
  • NCT01459718
    terminated; "The study terminated due to low enrollment."
8 further recorded trials
  • NCT01818726
    terminated; "Failure to meet the schedule of patient recruitment"
  • NCT01892644
    withdrawn; "Failure to recruit patients with hemochromatosis to the Deferasirox arm"
  • NCT01927913
    withdrawn; "This study was withdrawn until the evaluation of the nonclinical rat findings is complete."
  • NCT02038816
    terminated; "accrual too slow, insufficient patients"
  • NCT02341495
    terminated; "Study was terminated early due to low patient accrual."
  • NCT02943668
    terminated; "Terminated due to low accrual"
  • NCT03203850
    terminated; "Due to enrolment challenge"
  • NCT03920657
    terminated; "enrollment failed"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Deferasirox used Deferasirox 360 MG — over how long?


studies of Deferasirox used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

1 recorded entry; human; also "Deferasirox 360 MG"

Show the evidence
  • human NCT05392101
    Deferasirox 360 MG

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Deferasirox's half-life is 8 to 16 hours — which schedules were studied?


8 to 16 hours, the half-life Deferasirox's label states: "The mean elimination half-life (t 1/2 ) ranged from 8 to 16 hours following oral administration." DailyMed label · 2c2842a0-7781-4047-84cd-88bd018e10c7 · 2026-06-18

tmax 1.5 to 4 hours; bioavailability 52 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    8 to 16 hours; The mean elimination half-life (t 1/2 ) ranged from 8 to 16 hours following oral administration.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    1.5 to 4 hours; Absorption Based on studies in patients with the tablet for oral suspension, deferasirox is absorbed following oral administration with median times to maximum plasma concentration (T max ) of about 1.5 to 4 hours.
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    52 %; Granules The bioavailability (as measured by AUC inf ) of deferasirox oral granules was 52% greater than with deferasirox tablets for oral suspension.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Glucuronidation is the main metabolic pathway for deferasirox, with subsequent biliary excretion.

recorded 2026-06-18 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Deferasirox could settle lifespan?


NCT06784336 measures GVHD-free and relapse-free survival, reading out 2029-10.

1 open trial; n 50; "Phase II Study of Resistant Potato Starch Plus Deferasirox to Improve Outcomes in Patients Undergoing Allogeneic Stem Cell Transplantation"

Show the evidence
  • Trial NCT06784336
    "Phase II Study of Resistant Potato Starch Plus Deferasirox to Improve Outcomes in Patients Undergoing Allogeneic Stem Cell Transplantation"; n 50; "GVHD-free and relapse-free survival"; 2029-10

Which 20 trials of Deferasirox posted no result?


Posted no result
20 of 20 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00379483, NCT00452660, NCT00171821, NCT00432627, NCT01349699 and NCT01369719, and 14 more
Completion dates
oldest 2003-04; newest 2023-09-30
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00379483
    2003-04
  • NCT00452660
    2008-08
  • NCT00171821
    2010-07
  • NCT00432627
    2010-08
  • NCT01349699
    2010-09
  • NCT01369719
    2011-05
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00564941
    2011-07
  • NCT00673608
    2011-09
  • NCT01250951
    2011-09
  • NCT00654589
    2012-01
  • NCT00560820
    2012-04
  • NCT01278056
    2012-07
  • NCT00469560
    2013-11
  • NCT00466063
    2015-07
  • NCT01905774
    2015-08
  • NCT01394029
    2015-10
  • NCT02233504
    2017-10-02
  • NCT03637556
    2021-08-16
  • NCT05392101
    2022-11-20
  • NCT06468423
    2023-09-30

At the median, Deferasirox's trials enrolled 40 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
40
Largest enrolment
1784
Registered trials counted
88

What do 4843 spontaneous reports say about Deferasirox — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Deferasirox appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 4843 reaction mentions were counted: diarrhoea 868; sickle cell anaemia with crisis 639; pyrexia 524; vomiting 508. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL550348 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • diarrhoea
    868
  • sickle cell anaemia with crisis
    639
  • pyrexia
    524
  • vomiting
    508
  • serum ferritin increased
    502
  • abdominal pain
    476
4 more recorded rows
  • blood creatinine increased
    447
  • haemoglobin decreased
    371
  • abdominal pain upper
    264
  • alanine aminotransferase increased
    244

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Deferasirox's label not list?


abdominal pain, abdominal pain upper and alanine aminotransferase increased and 7 more reported for Deferasirox, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL550348 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 2c2842a0-7781-4047-84cd-88bd018e10c7

Show the evidence
  • abdominal pain
    count not stated
  • abdominal pain upper
    count not stated
  • alanine aminotransferase increased
    count not stated
  • blood creatinine increased
    count not stated
  • diarrhoea
    count not stated
  • haemoglobin decreased
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • pyrexia
    count not stated
  • serum ferritin increased
    count not stated
  • sickle cell anaemia with crisis
    count not stated
  • vomiting
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Deferasirox and CYP1A2, CYP2C8 and CYP3A4: shared by which compounds?


CYP1A2, CYP2C8 and CYP3A4 appear in Deferasirox's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 2c2842a0-7781-4047-84cd-88bd018e10c7 · 2026-06-18

CYP1A2, CYP1A2, CYP2C8, CYP2C8, CYP3A4; 5 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    7.2 Agents Metabolized by CYP3A4 Deferasirox may induce CYP3A4 resulting in a decrease in CYP3A4 substrate concentration when these drugs are coadministered.
  • drug_interactions
    Closely monitor patients for signs of reduced effectiveness when deferasirox is administered with drugs metabolized by CYP3A4 (e.g., alfentanil, aprepitant, budesonide, buspirone, conivaptan, cyclosporine, darifenacin, darunavir, dasatinib, dihydroergotamine, dronedarone, eletriptan, eplerenone, ergotamine, everolimus, felodipine, fentanyl, hormonal contraceptive agents, indinavir, fluticasone,…
  • drug_interactions
    7.3 Agents Metabolized by CYP2C8 Deferasirox inhibits CYP2C8 resulting in an increase in CYP2C8 substrate (e.g., repaglinide and paclitaxel) concentration when these drugs are coadministered.
  • drug_interactions
    Closely monitor patients for signs of exposure related toxicity when deferasirox is coadministered with other CYP2C8 substrates [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].
  • drug_interactions
    7.4 Agents Metabolized by CYP1A2 Deferasirox inhibits CYP1A2 resulting in an increase in CYP1A2 substrate (e.g., alosetron, caffeine, duloxetine, melatonin, ramelteon, tacrine, theophylline, tizanidine) concentration when these drugs are coadministered.
  • drug_interactions
    Avoid the concomitant use of theophylline or other CYP1A2 substrates with a narrow therapeutic index (e.g., tizanidine) with deferasirox.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Closely monitor patients for signs of exposure related toxicity when deferasirox is coadministered with other drugs metabolized by CYP1A2 [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    7.5 Agents Inducing UDP-glucuronosyltransferase (UGT) Metabolism Deferasirox is a substrate of UGT1A1 and to a lesser extent UGT1A3.

CYP1A2

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole

CYP2C8

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Lapatinib, Tivozanib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Lapatinib, Tivozanib
  • CYP3A4
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2026-06-18 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL550348
PubChem CID
135566034
CAS number
1233196-92-3
RxCUI
597768
InChIKey
BOFQWVMAQOTZIW-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Trade name
Deferasirox accord, Deferasirox mylan, Exjade, Jadenu, Jadenu sprinkle, Deferasorox
Development code
ICL-670, ICL670, ICL-670A, ICL670A
Also called
Osveral, deferasirox fct, dfx, BENZOIC ACID, 4-(3,5-BIS(2-HYDROXYPHENYL)-1H-1,2,4-TRIAZOL-1-YL)-, DEFERASIROX [EMA EPAR], DEFERASIROX [EP MONOGRAPH], DEFERASIROX [HSDB], DEFERASIROX [JAN], DEFERASIROX [MART.], DEFERASIROX [MI], DEFERASIROX [ORANGE BOOK], DEFERASIROX [USAN]
Salt form
Deferasirox Oral Granules, Deferasirox oral, Jadenu / Exjade / Jadenu Sprinkle / Deferasorox / Deferasirox Oral Granules
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.