Skip to content

Daprodustat

  • Prescription medicine
  • Varies by country
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Daprodustat does in the body

Anemia due to chronic kidney disease

From the FDA-approved label: Daprodustat is a reversible inhibitor of HIF-PH1, PH2 and PH3 (IC 50 in the low nM range). This activity results in the stabilization and nuclear accumulation of HIF-1α and HIF-2α transcription factors, leading to increased transcription of the HIF-responsive genes, including erythropoietin.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · JVR38ZM64B · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

The recorded explanation is written in label language rather than for a beginner. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 65 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Time to First Occurrence of Adjudicated Major Adverse Cardiovascular Event (MACE) During Cardiovascular (CV) Events Follow-up Time Period (Non-inferiority Analysis)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02876835
How many people
3872
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Time to First Occurrence of Adjudicated Major Adverse Cardiovascular Event (MACE) During Cardiovascular (CV) Events Follow-up Time Period: Non-inferiority Analysis

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02879305
How many people
2964
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Mean Change in Hemoglobin From Baseline and Over the Evaluation Period (Mean Over Week 24 and 28)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03409107
How many people
614
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Mean Change From Baseline in Hemoglobin Levels Over the Evaluation Period (Week 28 to Week 52)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03400033
How many people
407
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Mean Hemoglobin (Hgb) During the Primary Efficacy Evaluation Period (Weeks 40 to 52) in ND Participants

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02791763
How many people
355
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Mean Change From Baseline in Hemoglobin (Hgb) During Evaluation Period (Week 28 to Week 52)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03029208
How many people
312
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • JESDUVROQ is indicated for the treatment of anemia due to chronic kidney disease (CKD) in adults who have been receiving dialysis for at least four months. Limitations of Use JESDUVROQ has not been shown to improve quality of life, fatigue, or patient well-being. JESDUVROQ is not indicated for use: • As a substitute for red blood cell transfusions in patients who require immediate correction of anemia.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness of JESDUVROQ in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · d82aa06e-5a33-4844-99b7-4701313455a4 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Of the total number of subjects treated with JESDUVROQ in the ASCEND-D study (n = 2,964), 480 (32%) subjects were aged 65 years and older, and 159 (11%) were aged 75 years and older.”

    US prescribing information · d82aa06e-5a33-4844-99b7-4701313455a4 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Available data with JESDUVROQ use in pregnant women are insufficient to establish a drug associated risk of major birth defects, miscarriage, or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes.”

    US prescribing information · d82aa06e-5a33-4844-99b7-4701313455a4 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of daprodustat in human milk, the effects on the breastfed child, or the effects on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · d82aa06e-5a33-4844-99b7-4701313455a4 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “No adjustment of the starting dose is required in patients with mild hepatic impairment (Child-Pugh Class A).”

    US prescribing information · d82aa06e-5a33-4844-99b7-4701313455a4 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Varies by country

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S6.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, tablet, film coated, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 16 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 16 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 11014-0497 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder and tablet, film coated, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 11014-0497 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is hypoxia-inducible factor prolyl hydroxylase inhibitors [moa] and hypoxia-inducible factor prolyl hydroxylase inhibitor [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 11014-0497 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · d82aa06e-5a33-4844-99b7-4701313455a4 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · d82aa06e-5a33-4844-99b7-4701313455a4 · read 2026-08-29

  • Jesduvroq is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Tablets: • 1 mg, gray, biconvex, round film-coated tablets debossed with “GS KF” on one face. • 2 mg, yellow, biconvex, round film-coated tablets debossed with “GS V7” on one face. • 4 mg, w…, recorded as fda label in effect 2023-08-30 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · d82aa06e-5a33-4844-99b7-4701313455a4 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine, withdrawn medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Daprodustat studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
JVR38ZM64B
RxNorm concept
2628215

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S6.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 1 approved application covers products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA216951, approved 20230201 to GLAXOSMITHKLINE.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA216951 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA216951 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20230201.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 11014-0497 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Daprodustat label: indicated for what?


"JESDUVROQ is indicated for the treatment of anemia due to chronic kidney disease (CKD) in adults who have been receiving dialysis for at least four months. Limitations of Use JESDUVROQ has not been shown to improve quality of life, fatigue, or patient well-being.": indications and usage on Daprodustat's label. DailyMed label · d82aa06e-5a33-4844-99b7-4701313455a4 · 2023-08-30

36 registered trials of Daprodustat — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
10 of 36

36 registered studies of Daprodustat: 12 phase1, 12 phase2, 9 phase3, 1 na, 1 na or unstated, 1 phase4. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

23 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase1
    12
  • phase2
    12
  • phase3
    9
  • na
    1
  • na or unstated
    1
  • phase4
    1
3 more recorded rows
  • completed
    30
  • not yet recruiting
    3
  • terminated
    3

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

2 of Daprodustat's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment?


accrual/recruitment (2): Daprodustat's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Difficulty enrolling last cohort of subjects"; 2 of 36 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01406340
    terminated; "Difficulty enrolling last cohort of subjects"
  • NCT03446612
    terminated; "The study is terminated due to feasibility in recruitment."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Daprodustat used 5 mg GSK1278863 — over how long?


studies of Daprodustat used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

9 recorded entries; human; tablet, oral; also "5 mg GSK1278863", "GSK1278863 75 mg", "GSK1278863 500 mg"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT01406340
    5 mg GSK1278863
  • NCT02293148
    GSK1278863 75 mg
  • NCT02293148
    GSK1278863 500 mg
  • NCT02371603
    GSK1278863 25 mg Tablet
  • NCT02791763
    1 to 4 mg tablets of GSK1278863
  • NCT02791763
    tablet; 6 mg GSK1278863 tablet
3 more recorded rows
  • human NCT03239522
    oral; Daprodustat 6 mg oral tablet
  • human NCT03493386
    tablet; Daprodustat 2 mg tablet
  • human NCT03493386
    tablet; Daprodustat 4 mg tablet

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Daprodustat's half-life is 1 hour — which schedules were studied?


1 hour, the half-life Daprodustat's label states: "Elimination The terminal elimination half-life of daprodustat is approximately 1 hour to 4 hours." DailyMed label · d82aa06e-5a33-4844-99b7-4701313455a4 · 2023-08-30

tmax 1 hour; bioavailability 65 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    1 hour; Elimination The terminal elimination half-life of daprodustat is approximately 1 hour to 4 hours.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    1 hour; Absorption Following oral administration, daprodustat is readily absorbed with median time to peak concentration (T max ) in healthy subjects ranging from 1 hour to 4 hours.
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    65 %; The absolute bioavailability of daprodustat is 65%.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism: In vitro, daprodustat is primarily metabolized by CYP2C8 (95% contribution), with a minor contribution by CYP3A4 (5%).

recorded 2023-08-30 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 6 trials of Daprodustat posted no result?


Posted no result
6 of 6 completed trials
Registrations
NCT01376232, NCT01673555, NCT02293148, NCT02231190, NCT02371603 and NCT05951192
Completion dates
oldest 2010-12-20; newest 2024-02-14
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01376232
    2010-12-20
  • NCT01673555
    2012-11-19
  • NCT02293148
    2015-03-10
  • NCT02231190
    2015-06-12
  • NCT02371603
    2015-08-12
  • NCT05951192
    2024-02-14

At the median, Daprodustat's trials enrolled 67.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
67.5
Largest enrolment
3872
Registered trials counted
36

What do 24 spontaneous reports say about Daprodustat — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Daprodustat appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 5 most-reported reaction terms, 24 reaction mentions were counted: acute psychosis 6; hallucination, auditory 6; mobility decreased 6; conjunctival disorder 3. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL3544988 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • acute psychosis
    6
  • hallucination, auditory
    6
  • mobility decreased
    6
  • conjunctival disorder
    3
  • rhinovirus infection
    3

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 5 reactions does Daprodustat's label not list?


acute psychosis, conjunctival disorder and hallucination, auditory and 2 more reported for Daprodustat, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL3544988 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 5 reported and unlisted; d82aa06e-5a33-4844-99b7-4701313455a4

Show the evidence
  • acute psychosis
    count not stated
  • conjunctival disorder
    count not stated
  • hallucination, auditory
    count not stated
  • mobility decreased
    count not stated
  • rhinovirus infection
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Daprodustat and CYP2C8: shared by which compounds?


CYP2C8 appear in Daprodustat's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · d82aa06e-5a33-4844-99b7-4701313455a4 · 2023-08-30

CYP2C8, CYP2C8; 2 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    • Moderate CYP2C8 Inhibitors: Reduce starting dose.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.1 ) • CYP2C8 Inducers: Monitor hemoglobin and adjust the dose of JESDUVROQ as appropriate.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.2 ) 7.1 CYP2C8 Inhibitors Concomitant administration of strong CYP2C8 inhibitors (e.g., gemfibrozil) with JESDUVROQ is contraindicated due to a marked increase in daprodustat exposure [see Contraindications ( 4 ), Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] .
  • drug_interactions
    Concomitant administration of moderate CYP2C8 inhibitors (e.g., clopidogrel) increases daprodustat exposure [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] .
  • drug_interactions
    Reduce the starting dose of JESDUVROQ by half when initiating treatment in patients on clopidogrel or a moderate CYP2C8 inhibitor except in patients whose starting dose is already 1 mg.
  • drug_interactions
    Monitor hemoglobin and adjust the dose of JESDUVROQ when initiating or stopping therapy with clopidogrel or a moderate CYP2C8 inhibitor during treatment with JESDUVROQ [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.6 )] .
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    7.2 CYP2C8 Inducers CYP2C8 inducers (e.g., rifampin) may decrease daprodustat exposure, which may result in loss of efficacy.
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Monitor hemoglobin and adjust the dose of JESDUVROQ when initiating or stopping therapy with CYP2C8 inducers during treatment with JESDUVROQ [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] .

CYP2C8

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Lapatinib, Tivozanib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Lapatinib, Tivozanib

recorded 2023-08-30 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL3544988
PubChem CID
91617630
CAS number
960539-70-2
RxCUI
2628215
InChIKey
RUEYEZADQJCKGV-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Development code
GSK-1278863, GSK1278863
Also called
Jesduvroq, DAPRODUSTAT [JAN], DAPRODUSTAT [USAN], Daprodustat [MI], Daprodustat [WHO-DD], daprodustat [INN]
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.