Skip to content

Cyclobenzaprine

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Cyclobenzaprine does in the body

Cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride extended-release capsules are indicated as an adjunct to rest and physical therapy for relief of muscle spasm associated with acute, painful musculoskeletal conditions.

From the FDA-approved label: Cyclobenzaprine relieves skeletal muscle spasm of local origin without interfering with muscle function. Cyclobenzaprine has not been shown to be effective in muscle spasm due to central nervous system disease. In animal models, cyclobenzaprine reduced or abolished skeletal muscle hyperactivity. Animal studies indicate that cyclobenzaprine does not act at the neuromuscular junction or directly on skeletal muscle. Such studies show that cyclobenzaprine acts primarily within the central nervous system at the brain stem as opposed to the spinal cord level, although an overlapping action on the latter may contribute to its overall skeletal muscle relaxant activity.

Why people take it. Cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride extended-release capsules are indicated as an adjunct to rest and physical therapy for relief of muscle spasm associated with acute, painful musculoskeletal conditions.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 0VE05JYS2P · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C20H21N·HCl, weighing 311.9.

    US prescribing information · 259fb05a-4f45-9c8e-e063-6294a90a4484 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 161 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Subject-rated global impression of change from baseline, after seven days of treatment

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00246389
How many people
1000
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Proportion of Patients With ≥30% Pain Improvement

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02436096
How many people
519
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change From Baseline to Week 14 in the Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Weekly Average of Daily Self-reported Average Pain Severity Scores.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04508621
How many people
514
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change From Baseline to Week 14 in the Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Weekly Average of Daily Self-reported Average Pain Severity Scores.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04172831
How many people
503
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change From Baseline to the Week 14 Endpoint in the Diary NRS Weekly Average of Daily Self Reported Average Pain Severity Scores.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05273749
How many people
457
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Change in the mean number of pills per opioid prescription

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03825549
How many people
452
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride extended-release capsules are indicated as an adjunct to rest and physical therapy for relief of muscle spasm associated with acute, painful musculoskeletal conditions. Improvement is manifested by relief of muscle spasm and its associated signs and symptoms, namely, pain, tenderness, and limitation of motion.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness of cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride extended-release capsules have not been studied in pediatric patients.”

    US prescribing information · 259fb05a-4f45-9c8e-e063-6294a90a4484 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride extended-release capsules did not include sufficient numbers of patients aged 65 and over to determine the safety and efficacy of cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride extended-release capsules in the elderly population.”

    US prescribing information · 259fb05a-4f45-9c8e-e063-6294a90a4484 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Available data from case reports with cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride extended-release capsules use in pregnancy have not identified a drug-associated risk of major birth defects, miscarriage, or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes.”

    US prescribing information · 259fb05a-4f45-9c8e-e063-6294a90a4484 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of cyclobenzaprine in either human or animal milk, the effects on a breastfed infant, or the effects on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 259fb05a-4f45-9c8e-e063-6294a90a4484 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “The use of cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride extended-release capsules is not recommended in patients with mild, moderate, or severe hepatic impairment [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 ) and Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].”

    US prescribing information · 259fb05a-4f45-9c8e-e063-6294a90a4484 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S3.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, capsule, extended release, tablet, film coated, tablet, orally disintegrating, given by the oral, sublingual route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 259 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 259 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72603-311 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, extended release, powder, tablet, tablet, film coated and tablet, orally disintegrating, taken oral and sublingual.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72603-311 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is centrally-mediated muscle relaxation [pe] and muscle relaxant [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72603-311 · read 2026-08-29

  • 192 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 192 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 4dcbdf8f-37ce-0f90-e063-6394a90ae83c · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 4dcbdf8f-37ce-0f90-e063-6394a90ae83c · read 2026-08-29

  • Cyclobenzaprine Hydrochloride is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Extended-release capsules in the following strengths: 15 mg: Capsules are orange/orange and are embossed in blue ink with “15 mg” on the body, and Cephalon “C” logo, “Cephalon,” and a dashed…, recorded as fda label in effect 2024-10-29 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 259fb05a-4f45-9c8e-e063-6294a90a4484 · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 0.01695–0.24024 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 82 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Cyclobenzaprine studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Cyclobenzaprine are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 190 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 165 of them state the same bioavailability, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
0VE05JYS2P
RxNorm concept
828348

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S3.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

  1. Withdrawn in United States, 2025, for "Labeling: Label Mix Up; Bottles of Meloxicam USP, 7.5mg, 90-count tablets (yellow in color), were labeled as Cyclobenzaprine Hydrochloride Tablets USP, 10 mg 90-count tablets (blue in color)." (openFDA drug enforcement Class I recall)

What the approval register records

  • 27 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA017821, approved 19770826 to JANSSEN RES AND DEV.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA017821 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued, none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA017821 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19820101.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72603-311 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Cyclobenzaprine label: indicated for what?


"Cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride tablets, USP are indicated as an adjunct to rest and physical therapy for relief of muscle spasm associated with acute, painful musculoskeletal conditions. Improvement is manifested by relief of muscle spasm and its associated signs and symptoms, namely, pain, tenderness, limitation of…": indications and usage on Cyclobenzaprine's label. DailyMed label · e4ed7ad2-cf58-4fdb-bc8c-d89f23b01210 · 2026-08-17

34 registered trials of Cyclobenzaprine — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
21 of 34

34 registered studies of Cyclobenzaprine: 10 phase3, 9 phase1, 5 phase2, 4 na, 4 phase4, 3 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

55 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase3
    10
  • phase1
    9
  • phase2
    5
  • na
    4
  • phase4
    4
  • na or unstated
    3
5 more recorded rows
  • completed
    22
  • terminated
    6
  • recruiting
    4
  • not yet recruiting
    1
  • unknown
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

6 of Cyclobenzaprine's trials stopped: futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, other?


futility/efficacy (2), accrual/recruitment (3) and other (1): Cyclobenzaprine's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"ran out of funding short of enrollment expected"; 6 of 34 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01041495
    terminated; "ran out of funding short of enrollment expected"
  • NCT01151787
    terminated; "Study was never initiated under new location/provider group. Contract to continue was never signed between TEVA and Kennedy Headache Center"
  • NCT01921296
    terminated; "Accrual terminated early because of poor accrual"
  • NCT03110575
    terminated; "Stopped early due to inadequate separation on primary efficacy endpoint in the lead-in HONOR study, TNX-CY-P301"
  • NCT03127592
    terminated; "recruitment difficulty"
  • NCT03841773
    terminated; "Interim Analysis results"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Cyclobenzaprine used Cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride 10 mg tablet — over how long?


studies of Cyclobenzaprine used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

16 recorded entries; human; tablet; also "Cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride 10 mg tablet", "cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride is Amrix 15mg/daily", "SL TNX-102 2.4 mg at pH 3.5"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00778037
    tablet; Cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride 10 mg tablet
  • NCT01151787
    cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride is Amrix 15mg/daily
  • NCT01634412
    SL TNX-102 2.4 mg at pH 3.5
  • NCT01634412
    SL TNX-102 2.4 mg at pH 7.1
  • NCT01689259
    SL TNX-102 at 2.4 mg
  • NCT01689259
    SL TNX-102 at 4.8 mg
10 more recorded rows
  • human NCT01689259
    SL TNX-102-A at 2.4 mg
  • human NCT01889173
    TNX-102 SL Tablets at 2.8 mg
  • human NCT01889173
    TNX-102-B SL Tablets at 2.8 mg
  • human NCT01889173
    TNX-102-C SL Tablets at 2.8 mg
  • human NCT02403687
    Cyclobenzaprine hydrochloride 2%
  • human NCT02589275
    TNX-102 SL Tablet 2.8 mg
  • human NCT03353922
    Cyclobenzaprine 10 Mg Oral Tablet
  • human NCT03443960
    TNX-102 SL 5.6 mg
  • human NCT03443960
    Amrix 30 mg
  • human NCT04407377
    Cyclobenzaprine Hydrochloride 10 MG

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Cyclobenzaprine's half-life is 18 hours — which schedules were studied?


18 hours, the half-life Cyclobenzaprine's label states: "Cyclobenzaprine is eliminated quite slowly, with an effective half-life of 18 hours (range 8 to 37 hours; n=18); plasma clearance is 0.7 L/min." DailyMed label · e4ed7ad2-cf58-4fdb-bc8c-d89f23b01210 · 2026-08-17

bioavailability 33 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    18 hours; Cyclobenzaprine is eliminated quite slowly, with an effective half-life of 18 hours (range 8 to 37 hours; n=18); plasma clearance is 0.7 L/min.
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    33 %; Estimates of mean oral bioavailability of cyclobenzaprine range from 33% to 55%.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Cyclobenzaprine is extensively metabolized, and is excreted primarily as glucuronides via the kidney.

recorded 2026-08-17 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 13 trials of Cyclobenzaprine posted no result?


Posted no result
13 of 13 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00246389, NCT00778037, NCT01634412, NCT01689259, NCT01889173 and NCT01081990, and 7 more
Completion dates
oldest 2004-07; newest 2023-04-26
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00246389
    2004-07
  • NCT00778037
    2006-11
  • NCT01634412
    2014-01
  • NCT01689259
    2014-03
  • NCT01889173
    2014-03
  • NCT01081990
    2014-08-01
7 further recorded trials
  • NCT02974166
    2016-08
  • NCT02403687
    2017-02
  • NCT03443960
    2018-04-09
  • NCT04164719
    2019-12-24
  • NCT03025113
    2020-03-27
  • NCT04407377
    2021-03-31
  • NCT04771741
    2023-04-26

At the median, Cyclobenzaprine's trials enrolled 60.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
60.5
Largest enrolment
1600
Registered trials counted
34

What do 3158 spontaneous reports say about Cyclobenzaprine — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Cyclobenzaprine appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 3158 reaction mentions were counted: drug hypersensitivity 599; pain 388; constipation 361; hypotension 311. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200636 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug hypersensitivity
    599
  • pain
    388
  • constipation
    361
  • hypotension
    311
  • fall
    275
  • toxicity to various agents
    269
4 more recorded rows
  • sedation
    250
  • cognitive disorder
    244
  • balance disorder
    231
  • orthostatic hypotension
    230

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Cyclobenzaprine's label not list?


balance disorder, cognitive disorder and constipation and 7 more reported for Cyclobenzaprine, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200636 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; e4ed7ad2-cf58-4fdb-bc8c-d89f23b01210

Show the evidence
  • balance disorder
    count not stated
  • cognitive disorder
    count not stated
  • constipation
    count not stated
  • drug hypersensitivity
    count not stated
  • fall
    count not stated
  • hypotension
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • orthostatic hypotension
    count not stated
  • pain
    count not stated
  • sedation
    count not stated
  • toxicity to various agents
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered

Where it’s registered

Withdrawn in United States, 2025, for "Labeling: Label Mix Up; Bottles of Meloxicam USP, 7.5mg, 90-count tablets (yellow in color), were labeled as Cyclobenzaprine Hydrochloride Tablets USP, 10 mg 90-count tablets (blue in color)." (openFDA drug enforcement Class I recall)

Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200636
PubChem CID
22576
CAS number
6202-23-9
RxCUI
52101
InChIKey
JURKNVYFZMSNLP-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
CYCLOBENZAPRINE HYDROCHLORIDE, tnx-102 sl, Ciclobenzaprina, miosan, CYCLOBENZAPRINE HYDROCHLORIDE [MART.], CYCLOBENZAPRINE HYDROCHLORIDE [MI], CYCLOBENZAPRINE HYDROCHLORIDE [ORANGE BOOK], CYCLOBENZAPRINE HYDROCHLORIDE [USAN], CYCLOBENZAPRINE HYDROCHLORIDE [USP IMPURITY], CYCLOBENZAPRINE HYDROCHLORIDE [USP MONOGRAPH], CYCLOBENZAPRINE HYDROCHLORIDE [USP-RS], CYCLOBENZAPRINE HYDROCHLORIDE [VANDF]
Trade name
Amrix, Flexeril, Tonmya, Fexmid
Salt form
Cyclobenzaprine hcl, MK-130 HYDROCHLORIDE, cyclobenzaprine 5 mg oral tablets, Cyclobenzaprine HCL ER, Cyclobenzaprine Hydrochloride / Amrix / Flexeril / Tonmya / Fexmid
Development code
MK-130 [AS THE BASE], NSC-169900, NSC-173379, NSC-78206, MK-130 (AS THE BASE), TNX-102
Sources (7)

Sources

1 more source

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work · openFDA enforcement — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 7 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.