Skip to content

Crizotinib

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Crizotinib does in the body

XALKORI is a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of • adult patients with metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) whose tumors are anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) or ROS1-positive as detected by an FDA-approved test.

From the FDA-approved label: Crizotinib is an inhibitor of receptor tyrosine kinases including ALK, Hepatocyte Growth Factor Receptor (HGFR, c-Met), ROS1 (c-ros), and Recepteur d'Origine Nantais (RON). Translocations can affect the ALK gene resulting in the expression of oncogenic fusion proteins. The formation of ALK fusion proteins results in activation and dysregulation of the gene's expression and signaling which can contribute to increased cell proliferation and survival in tumors expressing these proteins.

Why people take it. XALKORI is a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of • adult patients with metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) whose tumors are anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) or ROS1-positive as detected by an FDA-approved test.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 53AH36668S · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 151 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Central and local clinical genotyping to facilitate accrual to the adjuvant Intergroup studies, E4512 and A081105

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02194738
How many people
8300
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Objective response rate (ORR)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02465060
How many people
6452
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Progression-free survival (PFS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04322890
How many people
6000
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of patients that are treated based on their molecular tumor profile

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02925234
How many people
1550
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Objective Response Rate

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00932451
How many people
1069
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Dose limiting toxicities (DLTs) (Phase 1)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05384626
How many people
840
Study design
Phase 1/Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • XALKORI is a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of • adult patients with metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) whose tumors are anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) or ROS1-positive as detected by an FDA-approved test. ( 1.1, 2.1 ) • pediatric patients 1 year of age and older and young adults with relapsed or refractory, systemic anaplastic large cell lymphoma (ALCL) that is ALK-positive.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness have not been established in pediatric patients younger than 1 year of age with ALCL or with IMT, or in any pediatric patients with NSCLC.”

    US prescribing information · 2a51b0de-47d6-455e-a94c-d2c737b04ff7 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Of the total number of patients with ALK-positive metastatic NSCLC in clinical studies of XALKORI (n=1669), 16% were 65 years or older and 3.8% were 75 years or older.”

    US prescribing information · 2a51b0de-47d6-455e-a94c-d2c737b04ff7 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Based on findings from animal studies and its mechanism of action, XALKORI can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.1) ] .”

    US prescribing information · 2a51b0de-47d6-455e-a94c-d2c737b04ff7 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There is no information regarding the presence of crizotinib or its metabolites in human milk, or the effects on the breastfed child or on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 2a51b0de-47d6-455e-a94c-d2c737b04ff7 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “Crizotinib concentrations increased in patients with pre-existing moderate (any AST and total bilirubin greater than 1.5 times ULN and less than or equal to 3 times ULN) or severe (any AST and total bilirubin greater than 3 times ULN) hepatic impairment [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] .”

    US prescribing information · 2a51b0de-47d6-455e-a94c-d2c737b04ff7 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “Increased exposure to crizotinib occurred in patients with pre-existing severe renal impairment (CL cr less than 30 mL/min calculated using the modified Cockcroft-Gault equation for adult patients and the Schwartz equation for pediatric patients) not requiring dialysis, therefore reduce dosage of XALKORI in these patients [see Dosage and Administration (2.8) , Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] .”

    US prescribing information · 2a51b0de-47d6-455e-a94c-d2c737b04ff7 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as capsule, capsule, pellets, capsule, coated pellets, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 11 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 11 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 53869-2231 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, capsule, coated pellets and powder, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 53869-2231 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is cytochrome p450 2b6 inhibitors [moa], cytochrome p450 3a inhibitors [moa] and kinase inhibitor [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 53869-2231 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 2a51b0de-47d6-455e-a94c-d2c737b04ff7 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 2a51b0de-47d6-455e-a94c-d2c737b04ff7 · read 2026-08-29

  • Xalkori is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Capsules: • 200 mg: hard gelatin capsule, size 1, white opaque body and pink opaque cap, with "Pfizer" on the cap and "CRZ 200" on the body. • 250 mg: hard gelatin capsule, size 0, pink opaq…, recorded as fda label in effect 2025-07-22 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 2a51b0de-47d6-455e-a94c-d2c737b04ff7 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Crizotinib studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Crizotinib are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
53AH36668S
RxNorm concept
1148498

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 2 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA202570, approved 20110826 to PF PRISM CV.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA202570 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA202570 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20110826.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 53869-2231 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (11)

On the Crizotinib label: indicated for what?


"XALKORI is a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of • adult patients with metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) whose tumors are anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) or ROS1-positive as detected by an FDA-approved test. ( 1.1 , 2.1 ) • pediatric patients 1 year of age and older and young adults with…": indications and usage on Crizotinib's label. DailyMed label · 2a51b0de-47d6-455e-a94c-d2c737b04ff7 · 2025-07-22

115 registered trials of Crizotinib — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
66 of 115

115 registered studies of Crizotinib: 48 phase2, 39 phase1, 19 phase3, 11 na or unstated, 4 phase4, 2 na, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

199 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    48
  • phase1
    39
  • phase3
    19
  • na or unstated
    11
  • phase4
    4
  • na
    2
9 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    1
  • completed
    59
  • active not recruiting
    14
  • unknown
    14
  • terminated
    11
  • recruiting
    10
  • no longer available
    3
  • withdrawn
    3
  • not yet recruiting
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

10 of Crizotinib's trials stopped: safety, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


safety (3), accrual/recruitment (3), funding/business (1) and other (3): Crizotinib's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Termination of further treatment on the study due to the availability of commercial supply or a rollover study (NCT05160922) that will allow active subjects to continue receiving treatment."; 10 of 115 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01121588
    terminated; "Termination of further treatment on the study due to the availability of commercial supply or a rollover study (NCT05160922) that will allow active subjects to continue receiving treatment."
  • NCT01548144
    terminated; "PI request"
  • NCT02074878
    terminated; "Poor accrual so the study was halted on May 16, 2017."
  • NCT02134912
    terminated; "science has moved forward and there is no intent to complete the study"
  • NCT02511184
    terminated; "Decision based on the low enrollment mainly due to high efficacy drugs available in 1st line ALK-positive NSCLC (eg alectinib), not due to any safety concerns"
  • NCT02584634
    terminated; "The study was terminated since there was no need for further safety or efficacy data to be collected. The participants having benefit from the Investigational treatments have been moved to a continuation study (NCT05059522)"
4 further recorded trials
  • NCT02612194
    terminated; "Study closed to accrual due to low accrual numbers."
  • NCT03672643
    terminated; "The trial is terminated based on business decision, not due to safety concerns or regulatory requirements."
  • NCT03737994
    terminated; "Inadequate accrual rate"
  • NCT04030429
    terminated; "Patients were recruited during screen phase but fewer patients met criteria."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Crizotinib used XALKORI® Capsule 200 mg/XALKORI® Capsule 250 mg — over how long?


studies of Crizotinib used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

11 recorded entries; human; also "XALKORI® Capsule 200 mg/XALKORI® Capsule 250 mg", "Crizotinib prototype microsphere 0.529 mg/mg", "crizotinib prototype microsphere 0.470 mg/mg"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT01597258
    XALKORI® Capsule 200 mg/XALKORI® Capsule 250 mg
  • NCT02006277
    Crizotinib prototype microsphere 0.529 mg/mg
  • NCT02006277
    crizotinib prototype microsphere 0.470 mg/mg
  • NCT02006277
    crizotinib prototype microsphere 0.420 mg/mg
  • NCT02006277
    crizotinib prototype microsphere 0.529 mg/mg
  • NCT02074878
    Crizotinib (Xalkori) 200 mg twice daily
5 more recorded rows
  • human NCT02074878
    Crizotinib & Sunitinib 37.5 mg Cohort 3
  • human NCT02074878
    Crizotinib (Xalkori) 250 mg
  • human NCT04030429
    Crizotinib 250 MG
  • human NCT04030429
    Xalkori 250 MG
  • human NCT06082635
    Crizotinib 250 mg BID (twice a day)

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Crizotinib's half-life is 42 hours — which schedules were studied?


42 hours, the half-life Crizotinib's label states: "Elimination The mean apparent plasma terminal half-life of crizotinib was 42 hours following single doses of crizotinib in patients." DailyMed label · 2a51b0de-47d6-455e-a94c-d2c737b04ff7 · 2025-07-22

tmax 4 to 6 hours; bioavailability 43 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    42 hours; Elimination The mean apparent plasma terminal half-life of crizotinib was 42 hours following single doses of crizotinib in patients.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    4 to 6 hours; Absorption A single crizotinib capsule dose was absorbed with median time to achieve peak concentration (T max ) of 4 to 6 hours, and the mean absolute bioavailability of 43% (range: 32% to 66%).
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    43 %; Absorption A single crizotinib capsule dose was absorbed with median time to achieve peak concentration (T max ) of 4 to 6 hours, and the mean absolute bioavailability of 43% (range: 32% to 66%).
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Crizotinib is predominantly metabolized by CYP3A.

recorded 2025-07-22 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Crizotinib could settle lifespan?


NCT02767804 measures Progression-free survival (PFS), reading out 2025-12-31.

9 open trials; n 290; "eXalt3: Study Comparing X-396 (Ensartinib) to Crizotinib in ALK Positive Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) Patients"

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02767804
    "eXalt3: Study Comparing X-396 (Ensartinib) to Crizotinib in ALK Positive Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) Patients"; n 290; "Progression-free survival (PFS)"; 2025-12-31
  • NCT06140836
    "A Study of Repotrectinib Versus Crizotinib in Participants With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI)-naïve ROS1-positive Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) (TRIDENT-3)"; n 190; "Progression-free Survival (PFS) as per Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR) according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v1.1"; 2027-03-15
  • NCT06254599
    "A Study Of SY-3505 Versus Crizotinib In First Line Treatment Of Patients With ALK-Positive NSCLC"; n 255; "Progression-free survival (PFS) assessed by independent radiology review (IRC) based on Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1 (v1.1) criteria."; 2027-05-01
  • NCT05014464
    "ALK Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitors in ALK-rearranged Advanced Squamous Cell Carcinoma"; n 90; "Progression-free survival (PFS)"; 2027-08-08
  • NCT04322890
    "Treatment Strategies and Survival Outcome for Non-small Cell Lung Cancer With Oncogenic Mutation"; n 6000; "Progression-free survival (PFS)"; 2027-12-24
  • NCT04603807
    "A Study to Compare the Efficacy and Safety of Entrectinib and Crizotinib in Participants With Advanced or Metastatic ROS1 Non-small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) With and Without Central Nervous System (CNS) Metastases"; n 217; "Progression-free survival (PFS) in participants with central nervous system (CNS) metastases at baseline"; 2028-01-29
3 further recorded trials
  • NCT06082635
    "TGRX-326 Chinese Phase III for Advanced Non-small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)"; n 321; "Progression Free Survival (PFS) by independent review committee (IRC)"; 2028-11-30
  • NCT03052608
    "A Study Of Lorlatinib Versus Crizotinib In First Line Treatment Of Patients With ALK-Positive NSCLC"; n 296; "Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Based on Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR) Assessment"; 2028-12-31
  • NCT02201992
    "Crizotinib in Treating Patients With Stage IB-IIIA Non-small Cell Lung Cancer That Has Been Removed by Surgery and ALK Fusion Mutations (An ALCHEMIST Treatment Trial)"; n 166; "Overall survival (OS)"; 2036-05-01

Which 20 trials of Crizotinib posted no result?


Posted no result
20 of 20 completed trials
Registrations
NCT01125904, NCT01549574, NCT01419041, NCT02006277, NCT02435108 and NCT01712217, and 14 more
Completion dates
oldest 2010-06; newest 2023-12-06
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01125904
    2010-06
  • NCT01549574
    2012-05
  • NCT01419041
    2012-08
  • NCT02006277
    2014-03
  • NCT02435108
    2016-07-15
  • NCT01712217
    2017-05-16
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT03137134
    2017-10-17
  • NCT01998126
    2018-03-29
  • NCT02142036
    2018-08
  • NCT01644773
    2018-09-28
  • NCT01744652
    2019-03
  • NCT02183870
    2020-02-29
  • NCT02270034
    2020-10-26
  • NCT01531361
    2021-01-13
  • NCT04856293
    2021-12-15
  • NCT02207504
    2022-01-03
  • NCT01524926
    2022-10-30
  • NCT02419287
    2022-12
  • NCT02664935
    2023-11-29
  • NCT02034981
    2023-12-06

At the median, Crizotinib's trials enrolled 66 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
66
Largest enrolment
8300
Registered trials counted
112

What do 3245 spontaneous reports say about Crizotinib — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Crizotinib appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 3245 reaction mentions were counted: nausea 589; disease progression 466; diarrhoea 435; neoplasm progression 394. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL601719 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • nausea
    589
  • disease progression
    466
  • diarrhoea
    435
  • neoplasm progression
    394
  • vomiting
    367
  • visual impairment
    230
4 more recorded rows
  • oedema peripheral
    213
  • constipation
    196
  • decreased appetite
    187
  • lung neoplasm malignant
    168

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Crizotinib's label not list?


constipation, decreased appetite and diarrhoea and 7 more reported for Crizotinib, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL601719 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 2a51b0de-47d6-455e-a94c-d2c737b04ff7

Show the evidence
  • constipation
    count not stated
  • decreased appetite
    count not stated
  • diarrhoea
    count not stated
  • disease progression
    count not stated
  • lung neoplasm malignant
    count not stated
  • nausea
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • neoplasm progression
    count not stated
  • oedema peripheral
    count not stated
  • visual impairment
    count not stated
  • vomiting
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Crizotinib and CYP3A: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A appear in Crizotinib's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 2a51b0de-47d6-455e-a94c-d2c737b04ff7 · 2025-07-22

CYP3A, CYP3A, CYP3A; 3 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    • Strong CYP3A Inhibitors: Avoid concomitant use.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 2.9 , 7.1 ) • Strong CYP3A Inducers: Avoid concomitant use.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.1 ) • CYP3A Substrates: Avoid concomitant use with CYP3A substrates, where minimal concentration changes may lead to serious adverse reactions.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.2 ) 7.1 Effect of Other Drugs on XALKORI Strong or Moderate CYP3A Inhibitors Concomitant use of crizotinib with strong CYP3A inhibitors increases crizotinib plasma concentrations [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] , which may increase the risk of adverse reactions of XALKORI.
  • drug_interactions
    Avoid concomitant use of strong CYP3A inhibitors.
  • drug_interactions
    If concomitant use of strong CYP3A inhibitors is unavoidable, reduce the XALKORI dosage [see Dosage and Administration (2.9) ] .
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Use caution with concomitant use of moderate CYP3A inhibitors.
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Strong CYP3A Inducers Concomitant use of crizotinib with strong CYP3A inducers decreases crizotinib plasma concentrations [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] , which may decrease the efficacy of XALKORI.

CYP3A

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib

recorded 2025-07-22 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL601719
PubChem CID
11597571
CAS number
877400-66-3
RxCUI
1148498
InChIKey
KTEIFNKAUNYNJU-GFCCVEGCSA-N
Development code
NSC-756645, PF-02341066, 1066
Also called
Pf-2341066, fc, CRIZOTINIB [JAN], CRIZOTINIB [MART.], CRIZOTINIB [MI], CRIZOTINIB [ORANGE BOOK], CRIZOTINIB [USAN], CRIZOTINIB [VANDF], Crizotinib [WHO-DD]
Trade name
Xalkori
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.