Skip to content

Collagenase

  • Biologic
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Collagenase does in the body

Dupuytren’s contracture with a palpable cord

From the FDA-approved label: Collagenases are proteinases that hydrolyze collagen in its native triple helical conformation under physiological conditions, resulting in lysis of collagen deposits. Injection of XIAFLEX into a Dupuytren’s cord, which is comprised mostly of collagen, may result in enzymatic disruption of the cord. The signs and symptoms of Peyronie’s disease are caused by a collagen plaque. Injection of XIAFLEX into a Peyronie’s plaque, which is comprised mostly of collagen, may result in enzymatic disruption of the plaque. 2)].

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as mixture.

    FDA substance registry · 9X7O8V25IT · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 100 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Percent Change From Baseline in Total Fixed Flexion

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01674634
How many people
715
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03526549
How many people
483
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

2-level Composite Responders for the Target Buttock

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03428750
How many people
423
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

2-level Composite Responders for the Target Buttock

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03446781
How many people
422
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage Change From Baseline in Penile Curvature

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01221623
How many people
418
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage Change From Baseline in Penile Curvature

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01221597
How many people
418
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • XIAFLEX is indicated for the treatment of adult patients with Dupuytren’s contracture with a palpable cord. XIAFLEX is indicated for the treatment of adult men with Peyronie’s disease with a palpable plaque and curvature deformity of at least 30 degrees at the start of therapy.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of XIAFLEX in pediatric patients less than 18 years old have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 805cecd0-fd1f-11dd-87af-0800200c9a66 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Of the 249 XIAFLEX-treated patients in the double-blind, placebo-controlled, clinical trials in Dupuytren’s contracture (Studies 1 and 2), 104 (42%) were 65 years of age or older and 9% were 75 years of age or older.”

    US prescribing information · 805cecd0-fd1f-11dd-87af-0800200c9a66 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Category B There are no adequate and well-controlled studies of XIAFLEX in pregnant women.”

    US prescribing information · 805cecd0-fd1f-11dd-87af-0800200c9a66 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “It is not known whether collagenase clostridium histolyticum is excreted in human milk.”

    US prescribing information · 805cecd0-fd1f-11dd-87af-0800200c9a66 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S5.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as solution, ointment, cream, given by the injection, topical, extracorporeal route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 4 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 3 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 55718-150 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as cream, injection, powder, lyophilized, for solution, ointment and powder, taken extracorporeal and topical.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 55718-150 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is collagen-specific enzyme [epc] and collagenases [chemical/ingredient].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 55718-150 · read 2026-08-29

  • 3 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 2 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 6b6fbfc6-98fa-46aa-88ef-ab00fbb08ffd · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human otc drug and human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 6b6fbfc6-98fa-46aa-88ef-ab00fbb08ffd · read 2026-08-29

  • 4 marketed supplement labels list this ingredient, classed as mineral, non-nutrient/non-botanical and other combinations.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 2129 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels carry all other, nutrient and structure/function claims. A claim of that kind is written by the manufacturer and is not assessed by any regulator, so its presence says nothing about whether it is true.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 2129 · read 2026-08-29

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Collagenase studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Collagenase are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
9X7O8V25IT
CAS registry number
9001-12-1
ChEMBL
CHEMBL2108709
RxNorm concept
898492
EMA substance identifier
100000079798
DrugBank
DB00048

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S5.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

  1. Withdrawn, in European Union; no reason is published (EMA Medicine.csv)

What the approval register records

  • 1 approved application covers products containing this substance. The earliest was BLA125338, approved 20100202 to AUXILIUM PHARMS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · BLA125338 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · BLA125338 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20061018.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 55718-150 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Collagenase label: indicated for what?


"XIAFLEX is indicated for the treatment of adult patients with Dupuytren’s contracture with a palpable cord. XIAFLEX is indicated for the treatment of adult men with Peyronie’s disease with a palpable plaque and curvature deformity of at least 30 degrees at the start of therapy.": indications and usage on Collagenase's label. DailyMed label · 805cecd0-fd1f-11dd-87af-0800200c9a66 · 2026-04-22

84 registered trials of Collagenase — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
40 of 84

84 registered studies of Collagenase: 26 phase4, 22 phase2, 19 phase3, 8 phase1, 7 na, 4 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

224 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase4
    26
  • phase2
    22
  • phase3
    19
  • phase1
    8
  • na
    7
  • na or unstated
    4
7 more recorded rows
  • completed
    59
  • unknown
    7
  • terminated
    6
  • active not recruiting
    5
  • withdrawn
    5
  • recruiting
    1
  • suspended
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

10 of Collagenase's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


accrual/recruitment (6), funding/business (2) and other (2): Collagenase's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"IND moved to sponsor."; 10 of 84 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00261196
    withdrawn; "IND moved to sponsor."
  • NCT00701974
    suspended; "Sponsor's strategy"
  • NCT01208220
    terminated; "Low enrollment of qualified subjects"
  • NCT02250183
    terminated; "Recruitment was too slow due to strict inclusion criteria."
  • NCT02482948
    terminated; "Poor enrollment."
  • NCT02673229
    terminated; "slow enrollment due to cost of medication and conflict of interest enrolling uninsured patients"
4 further recorded trials
  • NCT02716519
    withdrawn; "Business Decision"
  • NCT02718625
    terminated; "Business Decision"
  • NCT03722485
    terminated; "Enrollment challenges and business reasons."
  • NCT05646602
    withdrawn; "No participants enrolled"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Collagenase used AA4500 0.29 mg/1 mL — over how long?


studies of Collagenase used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

8 recorded entries; human; also "AA4500 0.29 mg/1 mL", "AA4500 0.58 mg/2 mL", "AA4500 0.58 mg/1 mL"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT01483963
    AA4500 0.29 mg/1 mL
  • NCT01483963
    AA4500 0.58 mg/2 mL
  • NCT01483963
    AA4500 0.58 mg/1 mL
  • NCT01483963
    AA4500 0.58 mg/0.5 mL
  • NCT03192020
    Collagenase Clostridium Histolyticum (CCH) 2.9 MG/ML [Xiaflex]
  • NCT03767452
    Xiaflex® 0.58 mg
2 more recorded rows
  • human NCT04786106
    Collagenase Clostridium Histolyticum 0.9 MG [Xiaflex] (CCH)
  • human NCT04874870
    Collagenase Clostridium Histolyticum 0.9 MG [Xiaflex]

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 18 trials of Collagenase posted no result?


Posted no result
18 of 18 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00004409, NCT00014742, NCT00261209, NCT01271335, NCT01518907 and NCT01705860, and 12 more
Completion dates
oldest 2004-04; newest 2023-12-01
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00004409
    2004-04
  • NCT00014742
    2004-04
  • NCT00261209
    2008-01
  • NCT01271335
    2012-02
  • NCT01518907
    2013-02
  • NCT01705860
    2013-04
12 further recorded trials
  • NCT02131961
    2015-06
  • NCT01444729
    2015-11
  • NCT02111291
    2015-12
  • NCT02267460
    2016-03
  • NCT01753180
    2016-07
  • NCT01538017
    2016-10
  • NCT02889848
    2018-11-15
  • NCT04963829
    2018-11-28
  • NCT03331926
    2019-12-31
  • NCT03815331
    2020-12-30
  • NCT02647619
    2022-04
  • NCT04874870
    2023-12-01

At the median, Collagenase's trials enrolled 49 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
49
Largest enrolment
715
Registered trials counted
84

What do 1052 spontaneous reports say about Collagenase — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Collagenase appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 1052 reaction mentions were counted: contusion 216; fracture of penis 139; penile swelling 128; penile contusion 89. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL2108709 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • contusion
    216
  • fracture of penis
    139
  • penile swelling
    128
  • penile contusion
    89
  • penile haematoma
    89
  • pain
    83
4 more recorded rows
  • swelling
    82
  • injection site pain
    78
  • penile pain
    78
  • laceration
    70

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Collagenase's label not list?


contusion, fracture of penis and injection site pain and 7 more reported for Collagenase, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL2108709 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 805cecd0-fd1f-11dd-87af-0800200c9a66

Show the evidence
  • contusion
    count not stated
  • fracture of penis
    count not stated
  • injection site pain
    count not stated
  • laceration
    count not stated
  • pain
    count not stated
  • penile contusion
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • penile haematoma
    count not stated
  • penile pain
    count not stated
  • penile swelling
    count not stated
  • swelling
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where do the label and the trials disagree about Collagenase?


"withdrawn" against "approved": withdrawal status vs register status for Collagenase.

EMA_MEDICINE_REGISTER, Drugs@FDA; 1 recorded pair

Show the evidence
  • EMA_MEDICINE_REGISTER EMEA/H/C/002048
    withdrawn; 2026-09-04
  • Drugs@FDA BLA125338
    approved; 2026-08-28
Where it is registered

Where it’s registered

Withdrawn, in European Union; no reason is published (EMA Medicine.csv)

Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL2108709
CAS number
9001-12-1
RxCUI
898492
Also called
COLLAGENASE CLOSTRIDIUM HISTOLYTICUM, Clostridial collagenase, Clostridium histolyticum enzymes, Collagenase clostridium histolyticum aaes, Cordase, Iruxol, Plaquase, cch, cch-aaes, en3835, kollagenase, CLOSTRIDIAL COLLAGENASE HISTOLYTICUM
Development code
AA-4500, AA4500, MZ-004
Trade name
Qwo, Santyl, Xiaflex, Xiapex, Collagenase Santyl, Xiaflex / Collagenase Santyl
Salt form
collagenase santyl ointment
Sources (7)

Sources

1 more source

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · EMA medicine register · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 7 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.