Skip to content

Cobicistat

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Cobicistat does in the body

Systemic exposure of atazanavir or darunavir

From the FDA-approved label: Cobicistat is a mechanism-based inhibitor of cytochrome P450 3A (CYP3A). Inhibition of CYP3A-mediated metabolism by cobicistat increases the systemic exposure of CYP3A substrates atazanavir and darunavir.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · LW2E03M5PG · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C40H53N7O5S2, weighing 776.0.

    US prescribing information · 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The recorded explanation is written in label language rather than for a beginner. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 49 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Formulation

A formulation is the exact made-up form a substance comes in.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the difference between a whole bean and instant coffee.

Where that stops being true. Coffee tastes different. A formulation can change how much reaches the blood.

What people get wrong. Two products with the same name are assumed to behave the same. They often do not.

The specific composition and physical form of a product, including salt, excipients and release profile.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

clinical response

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04064632
How many people
1609
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants With HIV-1 RNA < 50 Copies/mL at Week 48

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01815736
How many people
1443
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants With Virologic Rebound (HIV-1 RNA >=50 Copies/mL) Cumulative Through Week 48

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02269917
How many people
1149
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants Achieving HIV-1 RNA < 50 Copies/mL at Week 48

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01797445
How many people
872
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants With HIV-1 RNA < 50 Copies/mL at Week 48

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01780506
How many people
872
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants With Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)-1 Ribonucleic Acid (RNA) Less Than (<) 50 Copies Per Milliliter (Copies Per mL) (Virologic Response) at Week 48 Defined by Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Snapshot Approach

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02431247
How many people
725
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • TYBOST is a CYP3A inhibitor indicated to increase systemic exposure of atazanavir or darunavir (once daily dosing regimen) in combination with other antiretroviral agents in the treatment of HIV-1 infection in adults and in pediatric patients weighing at least 14 kg.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The use of TYBOST with atazanavir and emtricitabine/tenofovir alafenamide (FTC/TAF) was studied in pediatric participants weighing at least 14 kg to less than 35 kg.”

    US prescribing information · 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical trials of TYBOST did not include sufficient numbers of participants aged 65 years and older to determine whether they respond differently from younger participants.”

    US prescribing information · 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “TYBOST use during pregnancy has been evaluated in a limited number of individuals as reported by the APR, and available data show no significant difference in the rate of overall birth defects for cobicistat compared with the background rate for major defects of 2.7% in a U.S. reference population of the Metropolitan Atlanta Congenital Defects Program (MACDP) ( see Data ).”

    US prescribing information · 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There is no information regarding the presence of cobicistat in human milk, the effects on the breastfed infant, or the effects on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “No dosing adjustment of TYBOST is necessary for patients with mild-to-moderate hepatic impairment.”

    US prescribing information · 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “No dosage adjustment of TYBOST is required in patients with renal impairment, including those with severe renal impairment.”

    US prescribing information · 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

A different form was studied

The studied form is not the form on the shelf.

On this record: This record is linked to 1 related forms. Evidence does not carry across all of them.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (10)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, for suspension, tablet, tablet, film coated, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 21 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 8 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 61958-1401 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder, tablet, tablet, film coated and tablet, for suspension, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 61958-1401 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is breast cancer resistance protein inhibitors [moa], cytochrome p450 2d6 inhibitors [moa] and cytochrome p450 3a inhibitor [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 61958-1401 · read 2026-08-29

  • 7 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010 · read 2026-08-29

  • Tybost is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS TYBOST, 150 mg: Orange, round, biconvex, film-coated tablets debossed with "GSI" on one side and plain faced on the other side of the tablet., recorded as fda label in effect 2026-02-10 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

Names and forms linked to this record

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Cobicistat studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Cobicistat are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
LW2E03M5PG
RxNorm concept
1551993

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 8 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA203100, approved 20120827 to GILEAD SCIENCES INC.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA203100 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA203100 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20120827.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 61958-1401 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Cobicistat label: indicated for what?


"TYBOST is a CYP3A inhibitor indicated to increase systemic exposure of atazanavir or darunavir (once daily dosing regimen) in combination with other antiretroviral agents in the treatment of HIV-1 infection in adults and in pediatric patients weighing at least 14 kg. ( 1.1 ) Limitations of Use : TYBOST is not…": indications and usage on Cobicistat's label. DailyMed label · 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010 · 2026-02-10

103 registered trials of Cobicistat — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
57 of 103

103 registered studies of Cobicistat: 36 phase1, 34 phase3, 18 phase4, 12 phase2, 5 na or unstated, 3 na, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

146 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase1
    36
  • phase3
    34
  • phase4
    18
  • phase2
    12
  • na or unstated
    5
  • na
    3
7 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    1
  • completed
    81
  • terminated
    8
  • unknown
    7
  • recruiting
    4
  • withdrawn
    2
  • active not recruiting
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

10 of Cobicistat's trials stopped: safety, futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


safety (2), futility/efficacy (1), accrual/recruitment (4), sponsor decision unspecified (1) and other (2): Cobicistat's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"No participants enrolled"; 10 of 103 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02470650
    withdrawn; "No participants enrolled"
  • NCT02503462
    terminated; "No additional patients fulfilling the inclusion criteria"
  • NCT02697851
    terminated; "Insufficient enrolment and "business reasons""
  • NCT03493568
    terminated; "The futility analysis on 24-week results estimated that there was only 2% probability of verifying the study hypothesis of a higher proportion pat. with no residual viremia through 48w in arm E/C/F/TAF"
  • NCT03877536
    withdrawn; "Feeder cohort study closed."
  • NCT04236453
    terminated; "COVID-19 pandemic impacted the BE assessment of the trial. The clinical team decided to terminate the trial in order to start a new pivotal BE trial"
4 further recorded trials
  • NCT04240210
    terminated; "Lack of eligible enrollees/ Halted by Primary Sponsor"
  • NCT04518228
    terminated; "The study was closed to accrual early based on Study Monitoring Committee review indicating that the study objectives had either been achieved or could not be met within a reasonable timeframe for the then-open arms."
  • NCT05458102
    terminated; "Sponsor's decision to change the clinical development plan of this molecule. This decision is not based on efficacy or safety concerns."
  • NCT05494866
    terminated; "lack of efficacy paired with high toxicity"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Cobicistat used Genvoya 150Mg-150Mg-200Mg-10Mg Tablet — over how long?


Human studies of Cobicistat used "Genvoya 150Mg-150Mg-200Mg-10Mg Tablet". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

3 recorded entries; human; tablet; also "Cobicistat 150 MG", "Tybost 150 mg tablet, GILEAD"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT03493568
    Genvoya 150Mg-150Mg-200Mg-10Mg Tablet
  • NCT04322214
    Cobicistat 150 MG
  • NCT06726382
    tablet; Tybost 150 mg tablet, GILEAD

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Cobicistat's half-life is 3 to 4 hours — which schedules were studied?


3 to 4 hours, the half-life Cobicistat's label states: "Elimination The terminal plasma half-life of cobicistat following administration of TYBOST is approximately 3 to 4 hours." DailyMed label · 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010 · 2026-02-10

tmax 3.5 hours.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    3 to 4 hours; Elimination The terminal plasma half-life of cobicistat following administration of TYBOST is approximately 3 to 4 hours.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    3.5 hours; Absorption In a trial where participants were instructed to take coadministered TYBOST and darunavir with food, median cobicistat peak plasma concentrations were observed approximately 3.5 hours postdose.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Cobicistat is metabolized by CYP3A and to a minor extent by CYP2D6 enzymes and does not undergo glucuronidation.

recorded 2026-02-10 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 36 trials of Cobicistat posted no result?


Posted no result
36 of 36 completed trials
Registrations
NCT01619527, NCT02203461, NCT02277600, NCT02325934, NCT02475135 and NCT02565888, and 30 more
Completion dates
oldest 2012-08; newest 2023-11-30
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01619527
    2012-08
  • NCT02203461
    2014-10
  • NCT02277600
    2015-01-12
  • NCT02325934
    2015-02
  • NCT02475135
    2015-08-14
  • NCT02565888
    2016-01
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT02578550
    2016-02
  • NCT02589158
    2016-03
  • NCT02818348
    2016-11-23
  • NCT02556268
    2016-12-07
  • NCT01896622
    2017-01-17
  • NCT02984852
    2017-02
  • NCT02351908
    2017-04
  • NCT03092206
    2017-07-28
  • NCT02661373
    2018-03-09
  • NCT03094507
    2018-03-17
  • NCT02660905
    2018-06
  • NCT02998320
    2018-09-30
  • NCT03101644
    2019-06-12
  • NCT02987530
    2020-01-31

At the median, Cobicistat's trials enrolled 55 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
55
Largest enrolment
1443
Registered trials counted
103

What do 799 spontaneous reports say about Cobicistat — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Cobicistat appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 799 reaction mentions were counted: drug interaction 198; weight increased 151; viral load increased 89; blood creatinine increased 83. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL2095208 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug interaction
    198
  • weight increased
    151
  • viral load increased
    89
  • blood creatinine increased
    83
  • blood hiv rna increased
    59
  • cushing's syndrome
    52
4 more recorded rows
  • immune reconstitution inflammatory syndrome
    48
  • drug resistance
    46
  • cd4 lymphocytes decreased
    37
  • virologic failure
    36

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Cobicistat's label not list?


blood creatinine increased, blood hiv rna increased and cd4 lymphocytes decreased and 7 more reported for Cobicistat, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL2095208 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010

Show the evidence
  • blood creatinine increased
    count not stated
  • blood hiv rna increased
    count not stated
  • cd4 lymphocytes decreased
    count not stated
  • cushing's syndrome
    count not stated
  • drug interaction
    count not stated
  • drug resistance
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • immune reconstitution inflammatory syndrome
    count not stated
  • viral load increased
    count not stated
  • virologic failure
    count not stated
  • weight increased
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Cobicistat and CYP3A, CYP2D6 and BCRP: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A, CYP2D6 and BCRP appear in Cobicistat's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 3784c35c-e87f-410c-900b-8fd6313c6010 · 2026-02-10

CYP1A2, CYP2B6, CYP2C19, CYP2C9, CYP2D6, CYP2D6; 19 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    TYBOST, in combination with atazanavir or darunavir, can alter the concentration of drugs metabolized by CYP3A or CYP2D6.
  • drug_interactions
    Drugs that induce CYP3A can alter the concentrations of TYBOST, atazanavir and darunavir.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 4 , 5.3 , 7 , 12.3 ) 7.1 Potential Effect of Cobicistat (Coadministered with Atazanavir or Darunavir) on the Pharmacokinetics of Concomitant Drugs Cobicistat is an inhibitor of CYP3A and CYP2D6.
  • drug_interactions
    The transporters that cobicistat inhibits include p-glycoprotein (P-gp), BCRP, OATP1B1, and OATP1B3.
  • drug_interactions
    The plasma concentration of drugs that are primarily metabolized by CYP3A or CYP2D6, or are substrates of P-gp, BCRP, OATP1B1, or OATP1B3 may be increased if those drugs are coadministered with TYBOST.
  • drug_interactions
    Based on in vitro data, cobicistat is not expected to induce CYP1A2 or CYP2B6 and based on in vivo data, cobicistat is not expected to induce MDR1 or, in general, CYP3A to a clinically significant extent.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    The induction effect of cobicistat on CYP2C9, CYP2C19, or UGT1A1 is unknown, but is expected to be low based on CYP3A in vitro induction data.
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Coadministration of TYBOST with atazanavir or darunavir with drugs highly dependent on CYP3A for clearance and for which elevated plasma concentrations are associated with serious and/or life-threatening events is contraindicated.
  • CYP1A2
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole
  • CYP2B6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Sofpironium, Bupropion, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine
  • CYP2C19
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Etravirine
  • CYP2C9
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine

CYP2D6

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine

CYP3A

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib

BCRP

  • TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Eravacycline, Omadacycline
  • TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Eravacycline, Omadacycline

OATP1B1

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Eravacycline
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Eravacycline

OATP1B3

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Eravacycline
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Eravacycline

P-gp

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Vincristine
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Vincristine
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Vincristine

recorded 2026-02-10 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL2095208
PubChem CID
25151504
CAS number
1004316-88-4
RxCUI
1306284
InChIKey
ZCIGNRJZKPOIKD-CQXVEOKZSA-N

Relations

Trade name
Cobicistat component of evotaz, Cobicistat component of genvoya, Cobicistat component of prezcobix, Cobicistat component of rezolsta, Cobicistat component of stribild, Cobicistat component of symtuza, Tybost, Genvoya, Stribild, Rezolsta, Evotaz, Symtuza
Also called
Cobicistat on silicon dioxide, cobi, d/c/f/taf, darunavir/cobicistat, e/c/f/taf, e/c/f/tdf, (1,3-THIAZOL-5-YL)METHYL (5S,8R,11R)-8,11-DIBENZYL-2-METHYL-5-(2-(MORPHOLIN-4-YL)ETHYL)-1-(2-(PROPAN-2-YL)-1,3-THIAZOL-4-YL)-3,6-DIOXO-2,4,7,12-TETRAAZATRIDECAN-13-OATE, 1,3-THIAZOL-5-YLMETHYL ((2R,5R)-5-(((2S)-2-((METHYL((2-(PROPAN-2-YL)-1,3-THIAZOL-4-YL)METHYL)CARBAMOYL)AMINO)-4-(MORPHOLIN-4-YL)BUTANOYL)AMINO)-1,6-DIPHENYLHEXAN-2-YL)CARBAMATE, 2,7,10,12-TETRAAZATRIDECANOIC ACID, 12-METHYL-13-(2-(1-METHYLETHYL)-4-THIAZOLYL)-9-(2-(4-MORPHOLINYL)ETHYL)-8,11-DIOXO-3,6-BIS(PHENYLMETHYL)-, 5-THIAZOLYLMETHYL ESTER, (3R,6R,9S)-, COBICISTAT ON SILICON DIOXIDE [EMA EPAR], COBICISTAT [JAN], COBICISTAT [MI]
Development code
GS-9350
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.