Skip to content

Clevidipine

  • Prescription medicine
  • Given by a clinician
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Clevidipine does in the body

Clevidipine does not reduce cardiac filling pressure (pre-load), confirming lack of effects on the venous capacitance vessels.

From the FDA-approved label: Clevidipine is a dihydropyridine L-type calcium channel blocker. L-type calcium channels mediate the influx of calcium during depolarization in arterial smooth muscle. Experiments in anesthetized rats and dogs show that clevidipine reduces mean arterial blood pressure by decreasing systemic vascular resistance.

Why people take it. Blood pressure when oral therapy is not feasible or not desirable

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 19O2GP3B7Q · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

A person wrote this explanation into the record, with the studies named in the path below.

The recorded use, written for a reader without medical training. Not signed off.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 84 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Incidence of death, stroke, MI and renal dysfunction

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00093912
How many people
739
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Incidence of death, stroke, MI, and renal dysfunction

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00093925
How many people
739
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Incidence of death, stroke, MI and renal dysfunction

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00093886
How many people
629
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Proportion of patients whose SBP fell within the target range (SBP decreased by ≥15% and ≤25% from baseline) within 30 minutes of administration

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05783557
How many people
398
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

the percentage of patients who reach the target range (Systolic Blood Pressure decreased by ≥15% and ≤25% from baseline) within 30 minutes of administration

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05922436
How many people
378
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Target reaching rate within 30 min

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04670809
How many people
262
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Cleviprex is indicated for the reduction of blood pressure when oral therapy is not feasible or not desirable. Cleviprex is a dihydropyridine calcium channel blocker indicated for the reduction of blood pressure when oral therapy is not feasible or not desirable. (1)

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of Cleviprex in children under 18 years of age have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · a6826aa3-fabb-4ff1-a7a3-cd4c34e3a330 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Of the 1406 subjects (1307 with hypertension) treated with Cleviprex in clinical studies, 620 were ≥65 years of age and 232 were ≥75 years of age.”

    US prescribing information · a6826aa3-fabb-4ff1-a7a3-cd4c34e3a330 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Category C There are no adequate and well-controlled studies of Cleviprex use in pregnant women.”

    US prescribing information · a6826aa3-fabb-4ff1-a7a3-cd4c34e3a330 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “It is not known whether clevidipine is excreted in human milk.”

    US prescribing information · a6826aa3-fabb-4ff1-a7a3-cd4c34e3a330 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Given by a clinician

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as emulsion, given by the intravenous route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 8 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 8 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 33656-0013 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as emulsion and powder, taken intravenous.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 33656-0013 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is calcium channel antagonists [moa], dihydropyridine calcium channel blocker [epc] and dihydropyridines [cs].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 33656-0013 · read 2026-08-29

  • 2 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 2 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · a6826aa3-fabb-4ff1-a7a3-cd4c34e3a330 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · a6826aa3-fabb-4ff1-a7a3-cd4c34e3a330 · read 2026-08-29

  • Cleviprex is intravenous at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Cleviprex is a sterile, milky white injectable emulsion for intravenous use, available in the following configurations: 50 mL single use vial with 0.5 mg/mL clevidipine 100 mL single use via…, recorded as fda label in effect 2022-11-09 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · a6826aa3-fabb-4ff1-a7a3-cd4c34e3a330 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Clevidipine studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Clevidipine are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
19O2GP3B7Q
RxNorm concept
1790239

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 1 approved application covers products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA022156, approved 20080801 to CHIESI.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022156 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA022156 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20080801.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 33656-0013 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Clevidipine label: indicated for what?


"Cleviprex is indicated for the reduction of blood pressure when oral therapy is not feasible or not desirable. Cleviprex is a dihydropyridine calcium channel blocker indicated for the reduction of blood pressure when oral therapy is not feasible or not desirable.": indications and usage on Clevidipine's label. DailyMed label · a6826aa3-fabb-4ff1-a7a3-cd4c34e3a330 · 2022-11-09

30 registered trials of Clevidipine — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
22 of 30

30 registered studies of Clevidipine: 13 phase3, 9 phase4, 5 phase2, 2 na or unstated, 1 early phase1, 1 na. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

24 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase3
    13
  • phase4
    9
  • phase2
    5
  • na or unstated
    2
  • early phase1
    1
  • na
    1
6 more recorded rows
  • completed
    15
  • withdrawn
    7
  • terminated
    4
  • unknown
    2
  • not yet recruiting
    1
  • recruiting
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

10 of Clevidipine's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


accrual/recruitment (3), funding/business (2), sponsor decision unspecified (3) and other (2): Clevidipine's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Difficult enrollment parameters, subsequently low enrollment. Decision to terminate trial."; 10 of 30 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00978822
    terminated; "Difficult enrollment parameters, subsequently low enrollment. Decision to terminate trial."
  • NCT01033370
    terminated; "Project lacked funding."
  • NCT01042574
    withdrawn; "Unable to secure funding"
  • NCT01369147
    terminated; "This study was halted pending additional funding and ultimately was terminated due to difficulties with ongoing recruitment, etc."
  • NCT01480531
    withdrawn; "We elected to stop this study due to our inability to recruit suitable subjects."
  • NCT01526876
    withdrawn; "Terminated by Sponsor"
4 further recorded trials
  • NCT01910532
    withdrawn; "Sponsor discontinued the research"
  • NCT01938547
    terminated; "Sponsor decision"
  • NCT03300479
    withdrawn; "No patient enrolled. No study conduct due to lack of human resources."
  • NCT04592380
    withdrawn; "Product was divested to Chiesi USA, who decided to not move forward with study."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Clevidipine used Clevidipine 0.5 MG/ML Intravenous Emulsion — over how long?


Human studies of Clevidipine used "Clevidipine 0.5 MG/ML Intravenous Emulsion". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

Show the evidence
  • human NCT05168059
    Clevidipine 0.5 MG/ML Intravenous Emulsion

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Clevidipine's half-life is 1 minute — which schedules were studied?


1 minute, the half-life Clevidipine's label states: "The initial phase half-life is approximately 1 minute, and accounts for 85-90% of clevidipine elimination." DailyMed label · a6826aa3-fabb-4ff1-a7a3-cd4c34e3a330 · 2022-11-09

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    1 minute; The initial phase half-life is approximately 1 minute, and accounts for 85-90% of clevidipine elimination.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Clevidipine is rapidly distributed and metabolized resulting in a very short half life.

recorded 2022-11-09 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 trials of Clevidipine posted no result?


Posted no result
10 of 10 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00093262, NCT00093249, NCT00093886, NCT00093925, NCT00093912 and NCT00369837, and 4 more
Completion dates
oldest 2004-10; newest 2024-02-28
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00093262
    2004-10
  • NCT00093249
    2004-11
  • NCT00093886
    2005-04
  • NCT00093925
    2006-09
  • NCT00093912
    2006-11
  • NCT00369837
    2007-02
4 further recorded trials
  • NCT01121458
    2013-04
  • NCT05168059
    2019-09-01
  • NCT03719001
    2022-06-15
  • NCT05175547
    2024-02-28

At the median, Clevidipine's trials enrolled 35 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
35
Largest enrolment
1018
Registered trials counted
30

What do 109 spontaneous reports say about Clevidipine — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Clevidipine appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 109 reaction mentions were counted: hypotension 18; ventilation perfusion mismatch 16; hypoxia 14; atrial fibrillation 12. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1237132 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • hypotension
    18
  • ventilation perfusion mismatch
    16
  • hypoxia
    14
  • atrial fibrillation
    12
  • oxygen saturation decreased
    12
  • extravasation
    10
4 more recorded rows
  • infusion site extravasation
    9
  • blood pressure inadequately controlled
    7
  • blood triglycerides increased
    7
  • product label issue
    4

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Clevidipine's label not list?


atrial fibrillation, blood pressure inadequately controlled and blood triglycerides increased and 7 more reported for Clevidipine, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1237132 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; a6826aa3-fabb-4ff1-a7a3-cd4c34e3a330

Show the evidence
  • atrial fibrillation
    count not stated
  • blood pressure inadequately controlled
    count not stated
  • blood triglycerides increased
    count not stated
  • extravasation
    count not stated
  • hypotension
    count not stated
  • hypoxia
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • infusion site extravasation
    count not stated
  • oxygen saturation decreased
    count not stated
  • product label issue
    count not stated
  • ventilation perfusion mismatch
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1237132
PubChem CID
22884799
CAS number
167356-39-0
RxCUI
1790239
InChIKey
KPBZROQVTHLCDU-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
Clevidepine, Clevidepine butyrate, Clevidipino, clevidipine butyrate, 3,5-PYRIDINEDICARBOXYLIC ACID, 4-(2,3-DICHLOROPHENYL)-1,4-DIHYDRO-2,6-DIMETHYL-, 3-METHYL 5-((1-OXOBUTOXY)METHYL) ESTER, 3,5-PYRIDINEDICARBOXYLIC ACID, 4-(2,3-DICHLOROPHENYL)-1,4-DIHYDRO-2,6-DIMETHYL-, METHYL (1-OXOBUTOXY)METHYL ESTER, CLEVIDEPINE BUTYRATE [VANDF], CLEVIDEPINE [VANDF], CLEVIDIPINE BUTYRATE [ORANGE BOOK], CLEVIDIPINE BUTYRATE [VANDF], CLEVIDIPINE [MART.], CLEVIDIPINE [MI]
Trade name
Cleviprex
Development code
H-324/38, H324/38
Salt form
CLEVIPIDINE
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.