Skip to content

Ceritinib

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Ceritinib does in the body

Metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) whose tumors are anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK)-positive as detected by

From the FDA-approved label: Ceritinib is a kinase inhibitor. Targets of ceritinib inhibition identified in either biochemical or cellular assays at clinically relevant concentrations include ALK, insulin-like growth factor 1 receptor (IGF-1R), insulin receptor (InsR), and ROS1. Among these, ceritinib is most active against ALK. Ceritinib inhibited autophosphorylation of ALK, ALK-mediated phosphorylation of the downstream signaling protein STAT3, and proliferation of ALK-dependent cancer cells in in vitro and in vivo assays.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · K418KG2GET · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

The recorded explanation is written in label language rather than for a beginner. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 101 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Progression-free survival (PFS)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04322890
How many people
6000
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

16 weeks clinical response

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04817956
How many people
3000
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Dose limiting toxicities (DLTs) (Phase 1)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05384626
How many people
840
Study design
Phase 1/Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

To assess the feasibility of high throughput molecular analysis (next generation sequencing exome [NGS]

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03784014
How many people
603
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of days from start of therapy to date of first relapse

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02559778
How many people
500
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Progression Free Survival (PFS) by Blinded Independent Review Committee (BIRC)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01828099
How many people
376
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • ZYKADIA ® is indicated for the treatment of adult patients with metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) whose tumors are anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK)-positive as detected by an FDA-approved test [see Dosage and Administration (2.1)].

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of ZYKADIA in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · fff5d805-4ffd-4e8e-8e63-6f129697563e · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Of the 925 patients in clinical studies of ZYKADIA, 18% were 65 years or older, while 5% were 75 years or older.”

    US prescribing information · fff5d805-4ffd-4e8e-8e63-6f129697563e · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Based on animal studies and its mechanism of action [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.1)] , ZYKADIA can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman.”

    US prescribing information · fff5d805-4ffd-4e8e-8e63-6f129697563e · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “For patients with severe hepatic impairment (Child-Pugh C), reduce the dose of ZYKADIA [see Dosage and Administration (2.5)] .”

    US prescribing information · fff5d805-4ffd-4e8e-8e63-6f129697563e · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, capsule, tablet, film coated, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 3 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 3 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 66828-0254 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder and tablet, film coated, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 66828-0254 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is cytochrome p450 2c9 inhibitors [moa], cytochrome p450 3a inhibitors [moa] and kinase inhibitor [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 66828-0254 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · fff5d805-4ffd-4e8e-8e63-6f129697563e · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · fff5d805-4ffd-4e8e-8e63-6f129697563e · read 2026-08-29

  • ZYKADIA is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Capsules: 150 mg hard gelatin capsule with opaque blue cap and opaque white body containing a white to off-white powder., recorded as fda label in effect 2025-12-15 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · fff5d805-4ffd-4e8e-8e63-6f129697563e · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Ceritinib studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
K418KG2GET
RxNorm concept
2121059

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 2 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA205755, approved 20140429 to NOVARTIS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA205755 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA205755 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20180326.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 66828-0254 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Ceritinib label: indicated for what?


"ZYKADIA ® is indicated for the treatment of adult patients with metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) whose tumors are anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK)-positive as detected by an FDA-approved test [see Dosage and Administration (2.1)] . ZYKADIA is a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of adults with…": indications and usage on Ceritinib's label. DailyMed label · fff5d805-4ffd-4e8e-8e63-6f129697563e · 2025-12-15

37 registered trials of Ceritinib — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
24 of 37

37 registered studies of Ceritinib: 16 phase2, 12 phase1, 5 na or unstated, 3 phase3, 1 early phase1, 1 phase4. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

41 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    16
  • phase1
    12
  • na or unstated
    5
  • phase3
    3
  • early phase1
    1
  • phase4
    1
7 more recorded rows
  • completed
    16
  • terminated
    9
  • active not recruiting
    4
  • recruiting
    3
  • withdrawn
    3
  • no longer available
    1
  • unknown
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

11 of Ceritinib's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


accrual/recruitment (5), funding/business (1), sponsor decision unspecified (1) and other (4): Ceritinib's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Study was terminated due to low enrollment"; 11 of 37 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02186821
    terminated; "Study was terminated due to low enrollment"
  • NCT02289144
    withdrawn; "study was on hold for protocol redesign; decided to not move forward with study."
  • NCT02343679
    withdrawn; "No accrual due to rarity of disease."
  • NCT02374489
    terminated; "ROS1 in IHC and gene rearrangement result can not match。No tumor response。"
  • NCT02513667
    terminated; "The study was terminated after UTSW was informed by Novartis that further support for the study would not be provided"
  • NCT02587650
    terminated; "Funding"
5 further recorded trials
  • NCT02638909
    terminated; "Lack of Enrollment"
  • NCT02729961
    withdrawn; "Administrative closure"
  • NCT02780128
    terminated; "The goals of Part 1 (molecular screening) were met, but lack of therapies to match molecular aberrations made Part 2 (treatment) no longer feasible."
  • NCT03087448
    terminated; "Low Accrual"
  • NCT03737994
    terminated; "Inadequate accrual rate"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Ceritinib used ceritinib 750mg — over how long?


studies of Ceritinib used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

1 recorded entry; human; also "ceritinib 750mg"

Show the evidence
  • human NCT02605746
    ceritinib 750mg

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Ceritinib's half-life is 41 hours — which schedules were studied?


41 hours, the half-life Ceritinib's label states: "Elimination Following a single 750 mg ZYKADIA dose under fasted conditions, the geometric mean apparent plasma terminal half-life (t 1/2 ) of ceritinib was 41 hours in patients." DailyMed label · fff5d805-4ffd-4e8e-8e63-6f129697563e · 2025-12-15

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    41 hours; Elimination Following a single 750 mg ZYKADIA dose under fasted conditions, the geometric mean apparent plasma terminal half-life (t 1/2 ) of ceritinib was 41 hours in patients.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism: In vitro studies demonstrated that CYP3A was the major enzyme involved in the metabolic clearance of ceritinib.

recorded 2025-12-15 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 6 trials of Ceritinib posted no result?


Posted no result
6 of 6 completed trials
Registrations
NCT02422589, NCT02292550, NCT02227940, NCT02605746, NCT02299505 and NCT03546894
Completion dates
oldest 2017-12-12; newest 2023-02-13
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02422589
    2017-12-12
  • NCT02292550
    2018-09-26
  • NCT02227940
    2019-02-12
  • NCT02605746
    2019-07-12
  • NCT02299505
    2020-03-06
  • NCT03546894
    2023-02-13

At the median, Ceritinib's trials enrolled 42.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
42.5
Largest enrolment
5279
Registered trials counted
36

What do 951 spontaneous reports say about Ceritinib — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Ceritinib appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 951 reaction mentions were counted: diarrhoea 186; nausea 173; malignant neoplasm progression 157; vomiting 113. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL2403108 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • diarrhoea
    186
  • nausea
    173
  • malignant neoplasm progression
    157
  • vomiting
    113
  • dyspnoea
    66
  • metastases to central nervous system
    60
4 more recorded rows
  • abdominal pain
    55
  • decreased appetite
    49
  • non-small cell lung cancer
    47
  • alanine aminotransferase increased
    45

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Ceritinib's label not list?


abdominal pain, alanine aminotransferase increased and decreased appetite and 7 more reported for Ceritinib, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL2403108 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; fff5d805-4ffd-4e8e-8e63-6f129697563e

Show the evidence
  • abdominal pain
    count not stated
  • alanine aminotransferase increased
    count not stated
  • decreased appetite
    count not stated
  • diarrhoea
    count not stated
  • dyspnoea
    count not stated
  • malignant neoplasm progression
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • metastases to central nervous system
    count not stated
  • nausea
    count not stated
  • non-small cell lung cancer
    count not stated
  • vomiting
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Ceritinib and CYP3A, CYP2C9 and CYP3A4: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A, CYP2C9 and CYP3A4 appear in Ceritinib's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · fff5d805-4ffd-4e8e-8e63-6f129697563e · 2025-12-15

CYP2C9, CYP3A, CYP3A, CYP3A, CYP3A4, P-gp; 6 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    CYP3A Inhibitors and Inducers : Avoid concurrent use of ZYKADIA with strong CYP3A inhibitors or inducers.
  • drug_interactions
    If concurrent use of a strong CYP3A inhibitor is unavoidable, dose reduce ZYKADIA.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 2.4 , 7.1 ) CYP3A Substrates : Avoid coadministration of ZYKADIA with sensitive CYP3A substrates.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.2 ) CYP2C9 Substrates : Avoid coadministration of ZYKADIA with CYP2C9 substrates for which minimal concentration changes may lead to serious toxicities.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.2 ) 7.1 Effect of Other Drugs on ZYKADIA Strong CYP3A Inhibitors A strong CYP3A4/P-gp inhibitor (ketoconazole) increased the systemic exposure of ceritinib [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] , which may increase the incidence and severity of adverse reactions of ZYKADIA.
  • drug_interactions
    Avoid concurrent use of strong CYP3A inhibitors during treatment with ZYKADIA.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    If concurrent use of strong CYP3A inhibitors is unavoidable, reduce the ZYKADIA dose [see Dosage and Administration (2.4)] .
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Do not consume grapefruit and grapefruit juice as they may inhibit CYP3A.
  • CYP2C9
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine

CYP3A

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • CYP3A4
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • P-gp
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Vincristine

recorded 2025-12-15 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL2403108
PubChem CID
57379345
CAS number
1032900-25-6
RxCUI
1535457
InChIKey
VERWOWGGCGHDQE-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
4MK, Ceritinib[mi], CPD 15, LDK 378, LDK378, NVP-LDK-378-NX, NVP-LDK378-NX, ZYKADIA, CERITINIB [JAN], CERITINIB [ORANGE BOOK], CERITINIB [USAN], CERITINIB [VANDF]
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.